Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shokugeki no Souma


Alternative Titles

English: Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma
Synonyms: Shokugeki no Soma, Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma
Japanese: 食戟のソーマ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2015 to Sep 26, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:25 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Ecchi, School, Shounen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 300,050 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #54
Members: 518,455
Favorites: 12,903

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 1, 2015
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma (Food Wars) is an anime about battles of cooking as the title suggests. The anime adaption of the popular manga of the same name has received the same kind of reception as its manga version did in terms of popularity as well as critique. But is it any good or is it just another one of those popular but dull anime, that I will discuss in this review.

Story - 8/10

From the synopsis itself, you must have realized that the anime revolves around Soma Yukihira who wants to become a cook and surpass his father in cooking. Some stuff happens and Soma read more
Nov 25, 2015
-Remix- (All reviews)
Sorry everyone, I honestly don't know why this show is so highly ranked as it is.

Shokugeki no Souma is a train wreck. And when I say this I don't say it lightly - what started out glowing with great potential came crashing and burning once the show got a little over half-way into the season.

The biggest and most saddening part of Shokugeki is the very poor (or lack of) character development. By throwing way too many characters into the mix, there is simply not enough screen time for most of the main characters. The only person who I would argue went under the most significant read more
Sep 25, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma also goes by the name, Food Wars. However, I’d like to call it more as Food Gasm. The reason being is that the character reactions to food is not what you may expect. Or maybe you will once you see how ridiculously delicious the food actually is. What this show brings forth to the table is more than just a delicious meal though. Shokugeki no Souma is a satirical battle shounen that emphasizes more than just cooking.

Based on the popular manga written by Yuto Tsukuda, the series is adapted into a 2 cour (24 episodes) of the same name. What started read more
Sep 25, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Imagine that you have a typical tournament-based battle shounen. Now replace the fighting... with food porn. The result is basically Shokugeki no Souma.

The story takes place at an elite culinary school called Tōtsuki Academy; a place so competitive that only about 10% of its students are estimated to ever graduate from it. Enter Yukihira Souma: a confident 15-year-old boy who dreams of becoming a full-time chef at his father's restaurant. In order to do so, Souma enrolls in the prestigious school and has to go through all the ruthless challenges it has to offer as he seeks to slowly but surely climb his way to read more
Dec 16, 2015
nelsonemo96 (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma actually surprised me, i was really with the foot back if i would watch it or not but it ended up being very good.

The story was different, started not really well because it seemed standard at the beginning but soon the story evolved to really better, until the point you just want watch episode after episode.
The art was very well made, the main character seemed to have evolved by the show which made the character more interesting and the other characters also had an evolution on their personalities.

I really want to watch second season now, excited to watch it.
Oct 1, 2015
rtil (All reviews)
One positive thing I can say about Shokugeki no Souma is that it's an anime that knows exactly what it is - a ridiculously over-the-top sports/battle shounen with cooking as the centerpiece.

In the beginning, the plot seems familiar, but inviting - our hero Souma is faced with his first opponent - an aggressive businesswoman looking to put his father's humble diner out of commission to make way for her development plans. We all know she's simply a stepping stone into the universe of this anime. Predictably, she agrees to step down if Souma can impress her with his cooking. And, of course, he defeats read more
Dec 20, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

When I was a kid, I was one of the pickiest eaters known to man. My diet consisted of essentially three edibles: cheese sandwiches, yogurt, and liquids. A cheese sandwich is exactly that: two pieces of cheese resting between two slices of white bread (it had to be white bread). The yogurt was devoid of seeds and covered in sprinkles (it had to have sprinkles). As for the liquids, I stuck mostly to Coca-Cola because it was sugary, sweet, and caffeinated which, considering everything else, was probably providing me the most nutrition.

I did not eat hamburgers read more
Sep 25, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Anime and manga are known to have the potential to make a subject that for most audiences is uninteresting to a compelling, enjoyable experience: such is the case of cooking. This theme has been explored before with less succesful titles such as "Koufuku Graffiti" or "Bonjour Koiaji Patiesere", but with Shokugeki no Soma it seems to have a huge success among the audiences, but why?

~Story~

The story of Shokugeki no Soma is quite straightforward: Yukihira Soma pursues to become a full-time chef in the restaurant of his father, the reason why he has to surpass his father's culinary skill. In order to achieve his goals, read more
Jan 6, 2016
TheHonestThief (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma. . . Where do I begin with this show? Well, let's start with the common description that's been drifting around the internet since its airing-- "Food Porn". It's an understandable title, really. Every episode features numerous mouth watering dishes that we the audience can't help but lust after. With most (if not all) episodes also featuring a foodgasm it's an apt moniker. That may cause some misconceptions however. By that description alone you may assume this to just be another throw away ecchi show. I won't lie, I had similar thoughts after the first episode that featured a truly terrifying scene involving read more
Sep 26, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Culinary prowess has taken a decently large foothold in the world that we know today. With many a aspiring chef coming to showcase their culinary chops, we follow the story today of an anime character named Souma, and his road to culinary greatness in, Shokugeki no Souma, Food Wars! Let's dig in!

Story: Yukihira Souma is the son of the man Yukihiro Junichiro, a man who owns only but a lowly diner. Being an aspiring chef, Souma wishes nothing more than to best his father and proudly take over the diner as its head chef and owner. After being confronted by some read more
Dec 10, 2015
Pdev0797 (All reviews)
This anime is a disappointment.I'm a big fan of the manga and was thoroughly saddened by this poor adaption.

It starts out well enough but slowly deteriorates into a pile of anime cliches, poor comedy, and agonizing slowness.

While the anime stuck to the basic plot, it changed many important scenes from the manga.Serious scenes were made into cheap comedy, comedy scenes were cut out, and they added a few tiny details which completely neutralized the effect of important character development scenes.Then, the pace was reduced to that of a snail and every scene was elongated more than necessary.

The character development that was supposed to happen read more
Nov 16, 2015
cardcaptorkyo (All reviews)
I honestly went blind into this anime and had no idea what to expect well except for food. But, my reason for continuing to watch this show was because of I can’t believe I am saying this – the parts where people become stark naked and have orgasms from the food they eat. Not to mention, that the tentacle porn like scenes also made me question how this show would go down. No kidding!

But, even though that’s one aspect of this anime that grabbed my attention- but yet it still wasn’t obviously enough for me to consider food wars even as a decent anime at read more
Dec 4, 2015
SheepEtiquette (All reviews)
Preliminary
Woah.
Okay, so if you asked me a couple of days ago if I'd watch a cooking anime, I'd probably say, "The closest thing to cooking I'd watch is Asuna's cooking skill in SAO."
But then I watched Shokugeki no Souma.
This isn't just a cooking anime. This is a work of art! The characters' personalities all work off each other, with each one having a backstory (that isn't too in-depth, I hate long and boring backstories) that helps develop the character. Oh yeah, and there is:
-Cooking!
-Learning how to cook!
-Cutting with different types of knives!
-And cooking speeches so awesome that Kamina would say them if he were a read more
Sep 25, 2015
StigmataSasha (All reviews)
Before watching Shokugeki, I did not know how to cook. After watching Shokugeki, I don’t know shit about food at all.

Food so real, you’re going to cry - Shokugeki no Souma review

The story begins with a cooking face off between Yukihira Souma and his father, Yukihira Joichiro. Ever since Souma began cooking, he has always wanted to surpass his father and take the mantle of the head chef of their family restaurant. Souma is 15 and his father has enrolled him into Totsuki academy, the top culinary school in Japan, in order to expand his cooking skills and experience a whole new world of cooking. read more
Oct 9, 2015
Growler (All reviews)
Gastronomy, a way for us to bombard our brains with sensations while stuffing our guts to survive. It started when lightning stroke a tree and the primordial humans sought it out of curiosity. Some have elevated cooking to art, yet others would consider it cruel to do so by regarding the famine that is grasping many others.

How do you measure or weigh the life of a teenager? The answer is simple, you use their dreams and aspirations as a scale unit. Such is the tale of Yukihira Souma and his ilk. They are all brought together by the same dream and climb up the ladder read more
Oct 18, 2015
lyov (All reviews)
If you want to be entertained, this is one of the right show to watch. No need to be a culinary expert, as long as you're fond of eating and anime. You might end up hungry after watching every episodes. Souma (MC) isn't the main source of comedy here, he's not even a wacky character like luffy. He's a smooth operator, i like that his character was already built as a good cook from the start, though still lacking of experience. Unlike other anime with MC having good potential but fundamentally zero background/basics about their stuff. Most of read more
Dec 6, 2015
NuxTaku (All reviews)
Shokugeki No Souma or FOOD WARS is the number 1 ecchi/comedy/shounen of all time, period.
To see a spoof on it plz check out my HONEST ANIME TRAILER on Shokugeki no Soma on YouTube, but only if u watched the series, because there will be spoilers.
it follows a very cliche OP protagonist in the art of cooking, with the goal to be the very best. The best there ever was. To cook it was his real test. To serve it was his cause.
The story bases itself on many hilarious characters each with great personality (except for maybe Megumi) and the clash of personalities was so great read more
Jul 22, 2016
Swordarc (All reviews)
Preliminary
Summary of Shokugeki no Souma:

Pros:
+Realistic cooking challenge
+nice cooking sound effects

Cons:
-repetitive cooking
-shallow story development
-characters are not well described

I would say Shokugeki no Souma is a cooking show in an anime world,rather than other genre.

Story:(35%)(4/10)
Well,story is lacking of excitement due to the repetitive cooking challenges,feels bored for me.And for the protagonist Soma is a talented cook,the story development is pretty shallow due to repetitive cooking.Also,the reaction that characters had after eating soma's dishes feels annoyed to me and feel wasting time.

Character:(25%)(4/10)
Pretty shallow.All I know is that soma is a talented cook and had few problems when dealing some of the cooking challenges.

For other characters,frankly the read more
Nov 2, 2015
QuentinHahn (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Soma, is a cooking oriented anime that focuses on the growth of our main protagonist Soma as an aspiring chef who goes from working in his family dinner to enrolling in an upper tier cooking school. Now you might be thinking to yourself: "great another boring high school slice of life show with a hint of cooking in it". Now that is where you would be terribly wrong. When this show was first announced (being an avid reader of the manga series) I was with one of my friend and I almost slapped him for not being excited over its adaptation's release. Luckily read more
Mar 11, 2016
Hermainesay (All reviews)
Cooking; one of the hardest genres to make out into an anime (just because animating food is a pain) - I thoroughly enjoyed Shokugeki no Soma. I feel like the story is one of a kind and I love the drama they pour in when the food is being critiqued by a certain person - I also follow the manga very closely, thus, explaining why the score for Story is not that great; the characters develop so much more in the manga which cant be captured in 24 episodes. Personally, I find the art amazing, as I said before, I find food one of the read more