Manga Reviews

21 minutes ago
Kitsune no Akuma to Kuroi Grimoire (Manga) add
This story revolves around a spirit fox bound to a human male. It's a relatively short story, but moves along at a solid pace and provides some closure. It's not great, but this manga was clearly meant to build a world and fill things out later.

There's not a lot of time for character development and most characters come off as bland.

The artwork is decent enough. Backgrounds aren't very detailed, but I can always tell what's going on and who says what.

There is a lot of "stumble and fall into someone's breasts/crotch" ecchiness. Rather than complementing the story it distracts. It's crass, out of place, and serves no purpose.

All-in-all it's a decent enough manga. I love books and the notion of an infinite library residing within someone is seductive. I was a little disappointed upon reaching the end and discovering no more chapters. This series introduced an intriguing world and fed my imagination. I'd like to read more about this universe.

Kitsune would be a better series if it were longer and spent time fleshing out its inhabitants. Unfortunately worlds are prematurely discarded all the time. This is an abandoned world. It had the potential for more, but in its current state Kitsune is only average.
I found this review Helpful
5 hours ago
Love Lab (Manga) add
It's my first time to make a review so sorry if i'm not so thorough with my analysis. But here's my take on this.

Story: 9
First and foremost, this manga is not a yuri. Yes, the lead characters being all girls may be misleading but i assure you it's not yuri. Love lab is about Student council members of a prim all girl's middle school studying about love and along the way, trying them out with their limited male acquaintances aka love interests. In the most hilarious way. In a way, i find the plot to be plausible and the story progresses rather nicely.
Art: 9
The art is pretty good. The chibi look of the characters actually suits the cute, comic storyline and you could easily tell whose who because they look substantially different. It would have been 10 if Yan-san look not like a background character.

Character: 10
I love all the characters. Each one have their own individual characteristics and antics that makes the story so much more funny and entertaining.

Enjoyment: 10
It never fails to make me laugh. Especially the poop prince picture part. I hope y'all get to read that. And i love the romance that blossoms as the story goes on. Kilig much!!

So overall, i give it a 9.5 rating. If you want an innocent shoujo-type manga that could give you a good laugh and not bore you to tears, then you should try Renai Lab.

I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 8:58 PM
Gurenki (Manga) add
After putting the manga on hold for an year I decided to came back and finish it, and I must say I m very pleased in making this choice, but also sadened to have finish the last chapter, seeing where it could have gone too... it would have been amazing, but due to situations the mangaka cancelled the manga after hiatus.

Why do I care, to even write this? Because this is a gem among yuri reads.
There is alot of yuri, yet the story doesnt rely on it solely to grab the viewers attention.
Neither is Suou and Creo the only pair that should be mentionated, as characters like Kiki and Urara really became very amusing to see, on later chapters the story presents even more unique fellas.
But Suou x Creo and Kiki x Urara were the biggest joy I had reading Gurenki.
Their relationship and behavior, ranged from the extremely cute Suou, the funny Kiki, and the cool and powerfull Creo, which even leads into some fights, in a scale never seen before on a yuri manga, kinda epic, yes a yuri that screams EPIC, such is Gurenki.

The art was very good, minor Creo's huge racket that was unbelieveble too big.
Cute and expressive faces, nice background, magic effects and cool fighting scenes, the art is a treat once you get used to it.
And the yuri scenes can make you even blush. <//<

Storywise, you can count on some very enjoyable and unexpected twists, with really saddening and brutal moments, the direction the plot takes can positively surprise you at times.
I felt the pacing was great too, a story that never got boring to read, and characters that developed accordingly with it.

Gurenki is a very charming and engaging read, but the biggest flaw is that it ended prematurely, with so many promises of even more greatness, never to be drawn.
The cliffhanger about Kiki and Urara only made me feel like wanting to read more too, since in a way at least Creo and Suou plotline gets developed to a more decent (still halted) outcome, than Kiki's and Urara's.

Such premature death to a manga, clearly affects the score, since otherwise it would be a must read to everyone that likes action/yuri.

Despite that, I still consider Gurenki worthy of your time, if you like yuri, you can read this, but understand that you wont reach any kind of conclusion taht will give you pure joy, but at least reading the omake extra chapter after ch10 should help in such regards, making the end of chapter 10 less negative. It is not that it ends badly, it is jus that it ends with obvious intentions of continuing on a possible chapter 11! Takes this to mind, and decide for yourself.

Yuri has potential to be so much more than just yuri, and Gurenki is the living proof of such concept, dont miss it, if you are up to a unique and refreshing yuri read.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 6:46 PM
Yu☆Gi☆Oh! GX (Manga) add
After reading the manga for the third time, I've decided to write a review on it.

Plot and story:
The Yu-Gi-Oh GX manga has one long story, unlike the anime where there's a new 'story' for each season.
The story follows Jaden on his journey to become like his idols - Yugi and Koyo.
The antagonist is the father of one of the characters and is being possessed by the shadows. He uses the power of the shadows to take control of strong duelists and use them as puppets for his plan of gaining ultimate power.
One minor problem the story has is that they don't show when Jaden starts at the academy and meets the other characters.
I mean, I know how Jaden met them since I've watched the anime. But what about the people who haven't watched it?
However, they made a good choice in introducing the characters as the story progresses rather than introducing everyone at once.

In the anime, Jaden is somewhat of an OP character who almost never loses and we don't get to see much of his past. Here, they show more about Jaden's past. Like where he got the Elemental Heroes from and why dueling is so important to him. Jaden also (Spoiler), with one of them being a (Spoiler). This story made it much easier to relate to him.
The manga version of Chazz, Jaden's rival, is much better than his character in the anime. He's not a lovestruck goof, he's actually more powerful than Jaden and he has a good development. He also has a better reason of wanting to become a pro duelist than in the anime.
Even Syrus has a better character in the manga. Unlike in the anime where Syrus constantly is in need of help and doubts himself, Syrus has a strong will to surpass his older brother and is confident.
Alexis is not a damsel in distress anymore. She can take care of herself just fine. However, they didn't show anything of Alexis' past, what her goal is or her bond with Atticus.
Bastion is more powerful than in the anime and they make a better job with showing Bastion's analyzing skills.
Jesse was kind of disappointing, which bothers me since he's my favorite character in Yu-Gi-Oh GX. We don't get to see anything of his past, we have no idea what his goal is, he doesn't have the Crystal Beasts anymore and he doesn't have a strong bond with Jaden. But he remains as his adorkable self.
Adrian is a sweetheart compared to how he is in the anime. In this story, Adrian's goal is to become a pro duelist like Aster so he can get money for his little brother's surgery. Isn't that better than sacrificing someone for power?
As for the new characters; Koyo, Midori, Mac and David - The only person who wasn't really developed was David. The others were developed and relevant to the story.
But why wasn't Hassleberry there? And why did Zane duel only once?

Design and art:
Most of them look the same as in the read more
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 5:08 PM
Osananajimi wa Onnanoko ni Naare (Manga) add
Osananajimi wa onnanoko ni naare also known as My Childhood friend turned into a girl,
Is the story of a really bad friend and an annoying fairy Forcing a a guy to turn into a girl because Fairy rules.
When i first went into this i thought it was god awful, the art style was kinda bland and the fanservice was really forced not to mention the fact that they were basically torturing the guy.
But then the yuri flags came and it turned out to be not that bad.

The ending was a bit....Horrible and unsatisfying but hey fanfics can be made.
Would reccomend.......
well not really.
The characters are mostly very bad and annoying, especially the Fairy and Glasses whose name i forgot.
But they do show that he still cares about his friend and doesn't really wanna date him
He just wants that major boobage.

Dunno give it a look
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 12:40 PM
Boku wa Ookami. (Manga) add
This manga was really good! I love romance anime/manga and I'm surprised this manga isn't on a higher list. I loved it and it's really good! It's a shame though that is it kinda short. I feel like the story could make into a really good anime later on. Just a shame it's to short! The ending felt a little rushed tbh. Would of been better if there was more backstory and maybe more character development. I would of liked to have more chapters because I enjoyed reading it so much! I was alittle disappointing how one of the characters was treated like and would of liked to seen a better ending with him. Though I would highly suggest you reading this if your looking for a somewhat short romance manga.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 11:49 AM
Me ni wa Sayaka ni (Manga) add
Why is there no anime adaptation of this manga?

Plot and story:
The story follows the two best friends, Kaichi and Akira, where one of them can see spiritual things like ghosts and fairies.
The manga is very short, but is able to show us how the two characters became friends, how close they are now, (Spoiler) and (Spoiler). That's quite impressive for such a short manga.
Another thing I like about this manga is that they switch protagonist. The first chapter follows Kaichi while in the chapter after it, we get to follow Akira. This lets us, the readers, see the story from both characters' point of view.

Kaichi is a bit of an idiot who can't think before acting, is quite blunt and loves to tease Akira while Akira is somewhere between a kuudere and a tsundere. He's quite distant, only opens up to friends and doesn't smile often. While being around Kaichi, Akira kinda acts like a tsundere sometimes. But not too much.
I really liked how they added flashbacks of them becoming friends where we also get to see the first time Akira showed Kaichi the spiritual creatures he can see.
I'm not a big fan of Tachikawa though. That man really needs to pull himself together.

Design and art:
Pretty decent. It's not the best artstyle I've seen, but it's not the worst either. The characters' appearances go well with their personalities and is overall fine to look at.

I'm not going to spoil what happens in the end, but I can at least say how I felt when I finished reading it.
I was relieved to see that Japan actually CAN create a cute shounen-ai manga between two best friends rather than the typical giant age difference they mostly have or the overdone Manly Man x Girly Guy trope.
At the same time, I was also sad about the manga being so short. I want to see more of this pairing. They're adorable together.

How can something so disturbing as Boku no Pico get its own anime while this adorable romance between two classmates didn't?
Despite being so short, the manga has enough material in it for at least three OVAs or a movie.
And they would easily be able to add new things to make it longer. Akira can see spirits, for God's sake. Why not use that?

I'm giving this manga a 7. I enjoyed reading it and I reread it every now and then because of how cute it is.
Just don't expect too much from it. After all, the manga is short and the story isn't that deep. But overall, it was pretty good for such a short manga.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 9:09 AM
Tensei Shoujo no Rirekisho (Manga) add
At the time I am writing this review, this novel has only 49 members on MAL. Somehow, this isn't a very popular series here, so if people are really undecided on whether to invest some time into reading this manga, let me say right now: give it a try. I hope to convince you why through this review.

To begin with this novel beats all the cliches and tropes associated with rebirth and Isekai novels out of the water. It takes a much more down-to-earth look at what life as a reincarnated person in another world would be like. Moreover, our protagonist is not reborn to a noble family, or born with OP powers, or even born with some quest to kill a demon lord. Rather, the villain in this novel is much more subtle. Yes, if I had to name a villain here, it would be society itself, or the people in history who allowed such a society to come into existence. It takes a look at inequality, aristocracy or landed gentry and discrimination based upon magical power in such a world quite realistically. Imagine an alternate world where the magic is beginning to dry up and the people, long accustomed to using magic to solve all their problems, are now facing an insurmountable wall. The protagonist, being a reincarnated individual with knowledge of science can possibly be a boon in this world. The story thus revolves around her and her interactions with people around her as she introduces new solutions to a inert and sluggish place.

The person who carries this story through is definitely the MC, Ryou. So far, we do not receive POVs from other characters. The MCs primary struggle in this alternate world is finding her place in a loving family. The story shows how poverty and ambition drives people to use her to fulfil their wishes. Even people who we think are very close to her might suddenly show themselves to have thought of her as an object to be monopolized, rather than a person. This repeated rejection has understandably given the MC feelings of inferiority and jealousy, but as of now, she might have found at least 3 people who care about her deeply, which is comforting.

I believe this novel makes us side with the MC very effectively by showing us a world very divorced from our modern ideals of universal education, equality and right to private ownership and entrepreneurship. We look at this sluggish world and wish the MC could be a positive force here and make a living and positive contribution in this world.

The plot is not particularly adventurous or filled with slaves and elves and beastmen falling in love. TO begin with, the protagonist is a girl. Ad right from the start, she has to come to terms with some of the realities of being born so in a poor family. It is quite serious and the themes get quite dark. However, Ryou's positive attitude in all of that is read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Seimei desu ga Nani ka? (Manga) add
Yuuichirou has always been able to see demons, because he is from a family that descends from a very famous exorcist named Abe no Seimei. His faith in the great Seimei slowly decreases, and he has issues with his father. A visit from Seimei himself turn everything around.

Story: 4/10
The actual plot felt somewhat hidden. It was a little messy, but not all that bad.

Art: 6/10
A little different from the usual, the art complemented the manga very nicely. It suited the characters, making the demons look bad and the good guys look good.

Character: 5/10
Not bad, not good either. There isn't much to say about them. They felt very one dimensional.

Enjoyment: 5/10
It was an ok read. Wouldn't particularly recommend it, though.

Overall: 5/10
If the plot interests you, you can give it a try, but don't expect the story to deliver more than the premise gives you.
I found this review Helpful
Mamiya dies in a train accident and ends up going to hell. Since he is hell's millionth visitor, he gains the chance to go back to life in an event: he has to defeat heaven's millionth visitor.

Story: 5/10
The plot has an intereseting premise, but it ended up going in another direction. I'm not entirely sure if I like or dislike it.

Art: 6/10
Slightly better than average, it delivered nicely when it came to fighting scenes.

Character: 5/10
You get to know a little bit about the MC, and that's about it. There isn't any development, but the character's aren't all that bad themselves.

Enjoyment: 6/10
The plot premise distracted me a bit, but I still enjoyed it for what it was.

Overall: 5/10
It was an ok manga. I'd recommend it to those who like action scenes, since it is a really short read.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Caste Heaven (Manga) add
Holy shit. I have never seen a more offensive and angering manga i have ever seen. And to belive that this manga has a astronomacilly high 7.82 and is the 10th most viewed yaoi series in manga here. But i will try to explain why I despise this manga more then any other piece of fiction in a countdown.

1.PLOT HOLES- why the authorties are usless? why is azusa enjoying his position in ch 4? whydoes the card in ch 1 is a jack and in ch 5 is a 8? why doesnt any student at all call the fucking police? well thats enough for now. You see what i mean? why i find that this story feels so uncared and stupid? I swear the autor didnt know her own story when relasing.

2. NOTHING FUCKING HAPPENS- did i mention that ch 1-4 are the only time when the manga has the time move? yes after ch 4 the manga focuses on not one, but three diffrent couples for no reason which happen in the time of ch 1-4. if the charcters were good i would be intrested but...

3. THE CHARCTERS- while not the worst, the charcters are complete archetypes. karino- rapist seme, azusa- "badass" straight uke , kuze- the nice romantic seme(subverted to overprotective seme), kuskabe- nerd uke and so on... its not that their concept is bad, it is just that i cant take thier story and suffering seriously if i am supposed to have a boner reading this.

4. THE TONE- the tone is messy as hell. i dont get why this serious manga which wants to be a charcter explaroitans is also an attractive porn. this is a problem with all yaoi, but here it is overlly noticble. if u wanna be porn, be porn. the art isnt that bad. if u wanna be an edgey story then be that. but dont mix togther because it dosent work.

5. HOMOPHOBIA AND SEXISM- the sexism part i dont need to talk about, anyone with half a brain could see where it is presented. but the homophobia is kind of weird. while i normally forgive yaoi for having the idea of being gay not a thing, but this is where i draw the line. being gay is represented as such a terrrible thing. either youre a rapist or a slut or an overprotecive little shit. and you know why this angers me? well its because stuff like this make the gay community looke like a bunch of rapist and sluts. this is why we are jokes, monsters or disgusting. so if you want to defend this bhy saying that i should turn my brain off,well, i cant. i dont mind most yaois if they have the charcters have sex every chapter. its porn. but when stuff like this comes out and pepole defend it,then i cant handle it.

so, i acctualy do recomend this manga, so that you will see the horro of this. and hey, if read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Hoshikuzu to Hanayome (Manga) add
This oneshot is surprisingly amazing. It tells you the story of a girl who is marrying someone so her family can be fine financially, while discarding her own feelings. A man comes into her life, and makes her question her decision of locking up her feelings.

Story: 6/10
The story is quite cliché, but still feels very nice to read. The ending makes your heart feel lighter and that is what made me really like the manga.

Art: 7/10
I'd give it a higher score if the art felt constant. The main characters were really beautiful to look at, and Kuzu was one character I fell in love at first sight. Other than the MCs, everything else felt a bit average.

Character: 7/10
There isn't much space for development because it is a oneshot, but it still happens! And it is pulled off in a way that doesn't feel too rushed. The characters are relatable, although Kuzu feels a bit questionable. Overall, the characters feel real and are well written.

Enjoyment: 10/10
I'm not one to give perfect scores, but this series definetely got me off guard and delivery a really nice experience.

Overall: 7/10
This is one I'd highly recommend to read. It may be a little cliché, but it gives off a really happy vibe. I liked it a lot.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
SOLD OUT! (Manga) add
Sold Out! tells the story of a girl who falls in love with the manage of a store, and then decides to work at said store. This manga can be described as the author telling her own stories through a manga.

Story: 3/10
While it attempts to have somewhat a plot, it fails because the author tries to put too much of herself into it. The story is very short, and it ends abruptly, giving no closure or whatsoever.

Art: 3/10
It isn't the worst art I've seen through mangas, but it is still bad. This can be explained as this is the author's very first work, but it doesn't serve as any sort of excuse. It is very shoujo generic.

Character: 2/10
Honestly, the MC feels forced to be the way she is. She doesn't seem to be all that relatable, feeling very unreal. The manager acts randomly, probably because the author tried to go for the cool dude vibe that comes off on shoujos.

Enjoyment: 3/10
I can't say I hated it, but honestly this manga felt like nothing to me. A short story that didn't have a proper ending. That's all it meant to me.

Overall: 3/10
Having no good points to try and hide its flaws, I think the manga failed at delivering anything. I would recommend skipping over this one.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Kamisama no Omamori (Manga) add
Story: 5/10
A very simple story about the feelings of a girl who comes to work in a temple because she liked one of the priests.

Art: 5/10
The art felt a bit minimalistic, but still nice to look at.

Character: 6/10
Can't say much about this aspect without giving away too much about the story, there is a certain development within the MC.

Enjoyment: 6/10
This is one of the kind of stories that work better as a oneshot. If it went longer than that, I feel like I'd not have enjoyed as much of it.

Overall: 5/10
The manga isn't a great work of art, and it isn't a bad story either. It's just a really short story about a girl's feelings. Since it is really short, I'd recommend people to check it out, as it is worth the quick read.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Mahou no Iroha! (Manga) add
Naoki is the kind of guy that doesn't do a lot with his time, and because of this he ends up living an average life. In the future, he discovers magic and becomes a tyrant who is feared by his people. To avoid such future, a daughter of his comes back to the past to change his father's way of living.

Story: 5/10
The manga revolves a lot around comedy, but it still has a steady plot line. Most of it feels pretty stale, given the manga focuses on its comedy side. By the end, it feels somewhat rushed and I didn't particularly like the end.

Art: 4/10
The manga was made in 2009, and I can name a good bunch of other series that had way better art. It feels really old, and if it wasn't such a recent series, I'd give off a better score.

Character: 3/10
The characters didn't feel too real. Some of them were blatant plot devices. But then again, it is a comedy manga, so it wasn't the overall focus.

Enjoyment: 9/10
The comedy felt light and refreshing. The manga went over my expectantions, and it delivered a whole bunch of fun moments.

Overall: 5/10
While it was a very fun story to read, its flaws can't be ignored when it comes to giving it a score. Although I'm giving it such a low score, I highly recommend reading it! It can surprise you with its different plot.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Takane to Hana (Manga) add
I laughed so much reading the first chapter that I wanted to review it immediately. However, I waited patiently and now that I'm finally caught up, I can honestly say that this is one of the funniest mangas I've ever read. Rather than having spurs of comic relief every now and then, this has a lot of funny moments - accentuated by the expressions and actions of each individual character.

Background and Characters:
The main characters end up meeting each other as potential marriage prospects and although are very different from each other in age and behavior, end up triggering each others interest in a rather unconventional way. Both are witty, calculating (in a fun way), and unwilling to conceded defeat. What unravels as a result is a series of hilarious instances where they try to outdo each other; while of course developing feelings. Most of the story so far has been centered around them going out on "dates" and slowly getting a glimpse of each others lives - including their families and friends. The story development is going very well.

Now, the male lead is good looking, suave, rich and popular with the women (duh!) and is a well established business tycoon. The female, on the other hand, is a cutesy high school student. Nonetheless, she is very smart, witty and comical. The age gap between the characters was a bit weird at first - simply cause the female lead is actually portrayed as a normal 16 year old (with a cute baby face) rather than some fully grown woman, which I have to admit - made the story realistic. It also makes their relationship rather interesting and funny. I cannot wait to see how the story unfolds.

Also, the side characters are pretty funny too.. my favorite side characters are the female lead's BFF's (Friend A and Friend B ;) ) Give it a chance, read the first chapter; and if you like it, you will love the entire series!
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Seitokai Yakuindomo (Manga) add
This is the best manga I've ever read. It cracks me up every time with it's dirty jokes, and it's randomness.
Story: This is a comedy 4koma in a high school setting. There's not much to talk about story since it's not the manga's main point.
Art: It's seems a little simple, and the style is not quite beautiful, but it managed to please the eye with the character design.
Character: Every one has a specific character and each have there own purpose, all which makes the manga feels completed.
Enjoyment: Words cannot describe the amount of humor in this manga. But numbers can. Solid 10/10
Overall: 10/10 best 4koma definitely would read again.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2016
Oyasumi Punpun (Manga) add
I feel like I was reading a book rather than a manga. Oyasumi Punpun is one of the things I've read that changed my way of looking at the world and reality. At the beginning I knew that I wouldn't enjoy reading this, but I was mistaken. I enjoyed it a lot. Although it was a little bit slow, but I genuinely wished there were more chapters. Back to the days when I was still reading Oyasumi Punpun, I used to read it every time I can't sleep. One more chapter, I always tell myself. But I was never truthful. That's how I much loved it.

The art was classic; and just by looking at it I knew very well it was Asano Inio's work. It was beautifully realistic and as for Punpun's character design, I must say it was a great metaphor to picture him as a bird (and a triangle, a pyramid, a horned-creature as well).

Asano is a genius, a maestro. The plot was so amazing that I have exactly no words to put it. Sometimes it was puzzling and weird, but that's what makes it very, very enjoyable.

I must say, it was quite disturbing. Some pictures are abstract and a little bit disturbing. Especially that 'God'. I always feel uneasy when I see him. Besides, the theme is so dark.

Punpun is a complex character. I don't understand him very much, but he has a pretty good character development. Although I'm not very fond of him, I think he's okay.

Seki and Shimzu's relationship is what matters to me the most. They care about each other so much, why don't they get more scenes and appreciation? I'm kind of confused though...did Shimizu die?

I also love Sachi and Punpun's relationship. Sachi really cares about Punpun, although she might be a little bit harsh at times. I really wished Sachi had more time to appear!

Long story short, Oyasumi Punpun is a must-read.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Tenshi Kinryouku (Manga) add
Warning this review may contain spoilers.

First impressions, so after watching the less than subpar anime version of this
I became increasingly interested in what happens next and all that jazz.

Story, 7/10

Heaven is a place that many try to reach But sadly fail,
Some try to get in though good deeds,
Others try to get in though there righteousness.
Then happens if this heaven is actually just another hell with a different cote of paint on it.
Are story starts with the powerful angel alexiel an angel who loved God and protected heaven from all those who would attack it.
But as timed passed she became to be disgusted with the behavior of the Angels around her,
She decided to start a rebellion against God Which sadly failed.
For her punishment her spirit was sent to earth to live as a human and experience a cycle of tragic lives that will never end.
We Come to her latest reincarnation are main character Setsuna Mudo a hot blooded troubled teen who is in love with is sister sara.
While setsuna is trying to live his life.
dark forces close In an order to awaken alexiel and start the rebellion anew.

Now just before I start I would like to add that I am probably going to generalize a lot so please ber with me.

The first half is basically setsuna is starting to awaken to his destiny and him also coming to turn that he actually in love with his sister.
While is every day life is starting to fall more apart.
It Also him starting to take responsibility for his actions
And what he has done.
While he goes to the under world to try and save his sister soul.
While meeting some old friends and Gaining the skills he needs to be a true hero.

The second half is basically more about the Angel and demon worlds and in How both of them work.
And how the Angel world has gone very bad and
And setsuna embraces this destiny in order to save the world and his sister,
Which is basically him a bunch of demons and Angels fighting God.

So the story basically boils down to his that God is a evil prick that needs to be stopped.
Now even though it dose basically boil down it.
It is actually interesting because,
Because heaven and hell aren't as black and white as they seem.

Because most of the Angels have become quite brutal in how they do things and In some cases have come nothing more than monsters that live to kill even being more savage than the demons they actually fight.
Also heaven for some angels is actually more hellish than hell itself.
for quite a few of the Angels more like a golden cage than anything else because there not aloud to experience any kind of earthy desires and if you brake one of there rules and you basically get killed on the spot.

The demon even though are just as savage at times,
At lest read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Akatoki Hoshi Residence (Manga) add
Ah, the classic sci-fi plot; aliens who come to earth because their planet is near extinction... with a twist.
Let me say something before this review, this manga is not for everyone, but I'm positive that everyone will enjoy it to some extent. It will only take you 30 minutes to read, so there is no loss. (Unless you are currently studying for something important.)

Story - 7
The story was good and interesting, I was surprised at how well each of the stories had linked together. Of course, there were plot holes, and the comedic atmosphere had ruined some moments, but it was a good story overall. I really liked how it displayed human emotions in a way that it was something that only humans had, and it touched me.

Art - 4
The artwork was... pretty bad. The eyes were poorly drawn, there was little detail and the tones weren't used to their full potential, the anatomy was also off. However, I don't think I can do any better, so I can't complain. The art is readable and won't affect the experience in any way. It sometimes flows well with the half comedy half tragedy story.

Character - 8
My favourite aspect of this manga; the characters. Each character had different experiences and interacted differently. The one thing that they agreed on was that they all wanted to stay on earth. Let me honest here, the characters flawed, but because of the length of the story, these flaws did not affect anything in a major way.

Enjoyment - 9
I thoroughly enjoyed this series, especially the way that the aliens reacted to the human emotions. Once again, I would definitely recommend this series to anyone who has some spare time.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Koiseyo Moyashi (Manga) add
A short story about a young boy who thinks only about studying, and questions why young people devote so much time to "useless" things like sport. He is then forced to question his own logic after a series of events.

Story: 5/10
The plot is a little mix of romance, comedy and slice of life. There isn't much to it, as it is definetely the manga's weakest point.

Art: 5/10
The artstyle feels pretty much like any other manga, without any good or bad remarks.

Character: 7/10
The MC represents a good portion of the youth. Being too focused only on studies, they eventually lose out the fun part of youth. In this sense, the is forced to question his own logic when in front of the other kids, who are out there doing things he consider useless but at the same having a lot more fun than he is.

Enjoyment: 9/10
This one strikes home so much. I've been in the MC situation and it felt very relatable, thus really enjoyable.

Overall: 6/10
Compared to other oneshots, Koiseyo Moyashi is a lot shorter, but it is definetely worth the read!
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Unreal (Manga) add
Unreal is set in a future world where everything that is nowadays feared (food shortage, overpupulation, energy problems, etc) has come true, and humanity is forced to find a solution. Thus, humans try and digitalize themselves.

Story: 6/10
Unreal gives the vibe of a videogame, whilst having an okay story. It has a nice progression, but it feels more focused on both the actions and feelings of the main characters.

Art: 7/10
The strong point of the manga. It doesn't have a spectacular art, but it is very pleasant to read.

Character: 7/10
Both the main characters seem to stay true to themselves until the end. Given it is a oneshot, there is not much space for development. However, they feel somewhat relatable.

Enjoyment: 5/10
I feel like as a oneshot, I've read more interesting stories.

Overall: 6/10
While there is not many remarkable aspects to Unreal, I feel like it was worth the quick read. The ending might not be all that likable, but it reminds us that even people who hold the future of the world in their hands are still human, capable of mistakes.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Living Game (Manga) add
I loved the comedy. I loved the romance. Fuwa and Izumi were great characters. The office workers were great characters. I loved all the characters except Tokiko & her husband. They are the very definition of a dysfunctional marriage. They are what ruins it from being perfect. He's a complete scumbag who neglects & hits her and she's an idiot for going back to him time and time again because she does this soooo many times. Most of the time it came off as a joke that she would leave her husband, but honestly that just made it worse. I started to drift when it became more and more about them. She was a likeable character at first until it got more into her story with the husband and then it spiraled. There were times where you were supposed to feel bad for the husband, but again he just came off as a complete scumbag. Worst of all [spoiler]she gets pregnant with that scumbag's baby and of course goes back to him and then after she leaves with him, they joke about her running away again.[/spoiler] I've never seen a more frustrating couple in a manga than I have with Tokiko and her husband.The last 2 volumes were good because you didn't see them until the end [spoiler]where she comes back AGAIN, pregnant & talking about divorce and her idiot husband right behind coming to argue with her.[/spoiler] All in all, a really good romance slice of life where its perfection is ruined by 2 highly unlikable characters. I know this review is mostly about ranting Tokiko and her husband, but seriously, they are the one flaw of this manga.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Fujiyama-san wa Shishunki (Manga) add
Amazing. Unbelievably, unexpectedly – amazing. And the most surprising thing is that I can say it without any concessions to the romance genre. Fujiyama-san wa Shishunki is a manga you want to dissolve in, to live in, so consistently good its writing and its art are.

Lemme start with the characters, after all, the premise of a romance between a short guy and a tall girl is what would make the synopsis of this manga anywhere. But it’s not Love Com, and the difference in height quickly becomes secondary for their budding feeling. Boy, do the characters feel human, do they feel alive. A big chunk of characterization is indirect, comes through art and little details, and it works wonders, you recognize human types and millions of little qualities that they imply. It is especially true for the titular Fujiyama-san, who we study and admire. The male main character, whose pov we follow, is more of self-insert (that made me think that the author is male at first, but nope, it’s a woman), yet very down to earth and a bit of an underdog, which makes donning his skin inviting and rooting for him easy. The rest of characters fall to the background, but not having a secondary friend romance or triangles in this case is a bless. The “farthest” cast, people defined by few characteristic features, are also done perfectly, very readable. The supporting, closer characters are, perhaps the weakest in terms of personality, but can hold their own in most cases.

Fujiyama-san wa Shishunki excels in its’d depiction of Japanese life and life in general. The art for the world is stellar, the detalization is beyond anything I could expect when I picked up this manga – some pages are hard to turn, so lush and vibrant they are. You may doubt me because of the covers, but they’re painfully non-representative, the one and only thing that isn't drawn amazingly. The amount of graphical content and skill here is close to current Asano, on the level of the best modern movie-like seinen. Since we've touched the topic of art - art-wise this manga has it all: striking two-pages spreads, powerful facial expressions, good anatomy, beautiful landscapes, clever mood-setter panels, steady panelwork.

The author creates beautiful genre scenes, brimming with life in its little details. The winter scenes in the house of Fujiyama’s grandmother especially stand out for me – it felt as if you can smell and touch the things in this warm older lady’s home, with its carefully kept old things in covers, neat mementos on shelves, stale candy and, of course, festive cooking. A year goes by, scenes change in small beautiful vignettes, mundane life distilled and turned by the author’s love and effort in eternal moments – a shrine in autumn covered in gingko leaves, a neingbourhood city’s summer empty library, a schooltrip to Kyoto, city streets gone empty because of a typhoon. Usually it’s about Fujiyama, her family, while she herself is a quietly shining presence, and read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Owari to Hajimari no Miles (Manga) add
I start to have a feeling that Kitoh Mohiro really isn’t “my” author, but maybe I’ll still present this manga for potential readers (I don’t see a raving crowd of competitors anyway). It is a complex case after all – it has an amazing world and pretty art, which sometimes leads to breathtaking panels, but it’s also curiously messed up, at least in my eyes.

So, yeah, the world of Owari to Hajimari no Miles is highly imaginative. Visually it’s all about air, sublime void, on which the islands people live on float, which people traverse in different, often whimsical ways, in which vehicles hang, barely caught by straps. The latter is because they get second-hand spiritual tech from what seems to be our poor Earth. Floating cars and girls going through emptiness on a bicycle, the sense of mundanity in the crazy is what Owari to Hajimari no Miles is about and should be read for, in my opinion. And I don’t give you details, because learning them first-hand is the best thing about this manga.

The art is very nice, especially when it bothers with backgrounds, surprisingly flowy and lightweight, yet detailed. Though the designs of characters are a bit simplistic for my taste.

Two aspects especially stand out and may be to the liking of some readers.

The first is military tech. Planes, warships, tanks, cars merge in interesting ways in the unusual atmosphere and the alien laws of the new world. The manga offers military action, especially dogfights. War tech of different epochs, roughly - from WW2 to modern, is drawn with gusto and a lot of love. Owari to Hajimari no Miles may be a good find for arms otaku and enthusiasts.

The second is sex, never graphical, but always present as a topic, implied action or sex jokes. Sometimes it’s done cleverly, like with a girl carrying around special “maiden” panties just in case, sometimes it’s over the top, as with a guy, whose most cherished childhood memories end up being hardcore porn. It may be stimulating, though I am not entirely sure, what’s the point of the off-screen sex scenes, which just happen, not offering even any foreplay eroticism.

The mixed bag is the characters. Now maybe that’s me. Bokurano didn’t work for me as well – and here I see the same unengaging cast of mildly-concerned looking people, who start to have character-driven moments much earlier than I am ready to view them as relevant characters. I don’t even know who’s supposed to be our anchor, since Miles, who is the closest to the protagonist, has the least amount of features. The main couple is too OP, the secondary has issues that I don’t catch on, the rest have been statists so far.

Nonetheless they seriously clutter the story, making it slow. Two straight infodumps in 12 chapters were necessary to present the world, yet there were some scenes that were completely unnecessary, going in the rhythm of a watered-down 100+ chapter slice of life. The main character sees read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Nisekoi (Manga) add
Story 7
It gets repetitive at time and you can kinda just know the way a new female character will join the harem. Even though it's genre includes harem, it totally doesn't feel like it most of the time while reading.

Art 8

Character 8
There is actual and great character development, especially near the end and during the story as well, most are great and a few could've been done better.
How the girls were able to settle their feelings and meet up with each other again was'll have to read to see.

Enjoyment 8
Jokes get repetitive, but still enjoyable. Would've given it a 7 if it wasn't for the ending. Story in the around the middle half is pretty slow paced too.

Overall 8
Highly recommend it.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2016
Hunter x Hunter (Manga) add
Hunter X Hunter is a manga that I both love and hate.

I loved the parts before the Chimera ants, and I hate everything about it after the Chimera ants.

Everything felt fresh and new, and the author feels like he gave up on the manga after Greed Island.

It becomes apparently because the quality of his artwork drops and it starts looking like scribbles then the plot suddenly has huge changes, characters get killed off before they do anything.... it feels like a giant mess; it felt like he wanted to restart the story.

Then all of a sudden even the main character undergoes a big change, he finds what he wanted to find, and then the story starts to take influence from like Toriko where you find out there's a whole new world out there.

Like what am I reading? Did you even plan this story out? Why is there suddenly a whole new world and everyone's dead/disabled/not talked about anymore?
I found this review Helpful
Oct 24, 2016
Hanazamurai no Sahara (Manga) add
It´s hard to write a Review of Sahara the flower samurai mostly because is not your regular manga. Sahara it´s a manga that might really work as a anime movie screen play with a 170 pages long story that knows where it´s going since it´s first panel.

Story-wise the plot centers on a post apocalyptic world similar to Trygun or Desert Punk where deserts cover the land. Our main heroin Yae is a young girl who wants to take her father ashes back to a legendary forest. A mysterious and easygoing man called Sahara will decide to help her in her journey. The story is really fast-paced, something that we hardly ever see except when mangas are getting canceled, but when the author actually wanted it this way you can feel that there is something special about this manga.

The Art is outstanding and is probably the best feature of this manga. The author being an assistant Eiichiro Oda and Kouhei Horikoshi you can tell that he knows how to design his characters. The strong point of this manga is the character design, from Sahara and Yae, to robots and the main antagonist. The dessert setting keeps the environment simple and clean while at the same time helps create an amazing contrast every time trees and flowers appear.

The Characters on the other side are simple and somewhat cliché, but is probably for the best. In a short story highly character driven we need to know from the begginnig who are this characters and how will they interact with people. There is no time to growth or learning in this format so in my opinion keeping it simple is the best way to go. Sahara is your regular hero, easygoing, selfless, strong, a little clumsy. Yae is strong willed, a bit tsundere and admires the hero as most girls in shonen manga.

In conclusion i really enjoyed Sahara the flower samurai, it´s not your every day manga. In a world where authors want their series to break the 500 issues a short story with a amazing art, clean storytelling and a satisfying ending can become a little gem or at least an enjoyable reading for all.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 24, 2016
Smile Brush: My Old Pictures (Manga) add
[The same review of the prequel I've posted]

There is a chapter when Waroo explains why he doesn't cut his hair. Why he stopped caring how his hair looks. And that made me tear up, at that point I realised... how emotionally invested I was in this manga.

This is a beautiful piece of work. The art, monologues, story....everything is simple & minimal. But as we all know, the heaviest impact isn't done with overcrowded art. I wonder if that caricatured & childish self-representation of Waroo in those panels gave the author some form of relief and refuge while painting his own memories and experiences.

We all have nostalgia about our childhood, the lost sense of wonder. Too often we adults realise the implications of each action and words we have now. Or how often we keep reminiscing the happy memories, or memories that left us with a sense of incompleteness. How much would you change if you could go back in time? Don't you often have the urge to share something unremarkably amazing? These days, you don't even have to put a simple thought in documenting you experiences, your smartphone's camera, the social media apps do take care of almost everything. All your creativity zipped and simplified within 140 characters.

And that's when I envy the author of this manga. I'd give anything to be able to put out my own experiences & memories in such way.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 24, 2016
Smile Brush (Manga) add
There is a chapter when Waroo explains why he doesn't cut his hair. Why he stopped caring how his hair looks. And that made me tear up, at that point I realised... how emotionally invested I was in this manga.

This is a beautiful piece of work. The art, monologues, story....everything is simple & minimal. But as we all know, the heaviest impact isn't done with overcrowded art. I wonder if that caricatured & childish self-representation of Waroo in those panels gave the author some form of relief and refuge while painting his own memories and experiences.

We all have nostalgia about our childhood, the lost sense of wonder. Too often we adults realise the implications of each action and words we have now. Or how often we keep reminiscing the happy memories, or memories that left us with a sense of incompleteness. How much would you change if you could go back in time? Don't you often have the urge to share something unremarkably amazing? These days, you don't even have to put a simple thought in documenting you experiences, your smartphone's camera, the social media apps do take care of almost everything. All your creativity zipped and simplified within 140 characters.

And that's when I envy the author of this manga. I'd give anything to be able to put out my own experiences & memories in such way.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 24, 2016
Sakura-gari (Manga) add
WARNING: If you're looking for a happily ever after this is not for you!


This manga is well done. The plot is good. It was well executed. Everything had been address properly, all the twist and turn.
This is not a cutesy love story. Its deep and almost dark.
Main character do find love in the end, with each other. But... they don't end up together.
Its like when you thought , 'finally! Something good!" A very depressing/dark part will follow.
Yes, one of the main character died, and thats on the last scene.
They don't end up with each other, because obviously one of them died.
And while one died, the other has no idea he was dying.

This manga brough me a whirlwind of emotion. I get sad and angry. I get hopeful. I get depressed. And just when I thought everythings going to be fine, boom!

I don't mind tragic ending, but.... but i think just when this someone was starting to live a life, he was killed. And its annoying that that is the end. It breaks my heart, specially when one of them was shown crying. Crying because he thought he wont see the other anymore, but not in the way of death. If he only knew. :(

So so so sad.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Not Simple (Manga) add
Not Simple, a title that fits the description of the story well.

I have always been a fan of works that are depressing in nature. But when I try to revisit a story, it just seems to have a less impact to me. Maybe it’s the realization that the story could have proceeded in a less tragic direction. Some just lack the essence of catharsis, making it feel like the whole story is just a misery fest for the reader. You get overwhelmed the first time but it doesn’t feel special anymore the second time around. However, Not Simple has been a very rare exception to this trend. Even after reading it for the fifth time, it still manages to widen the gaping hole it initially left within me.

The structure of the storyline is like a downward spiral, as it transitions back to the start after you reach the end. There are time skips, emphasizing only the key events while subtle implications of lesser details are still relevant story-wise. We witness the life journey of the protagonist Ian, a boy who comes from a complicated family. His childhood is no ordinary, a constant wreck to the point he’s completely desensitized. You might expect that he’s pessimistic because of his tragic backstory when in fact he’s the opposite. He is an aspiring athletic runner and strives hard for that goal. He eagerly travels across America in search for her sister. He makes a promise to a stranger he met in his journey to see each other again three years later. It’s that sense of optimism and innocence slowly being burned out as the story progresses that makes the story a real downer. Life just seems to be consistently screwing him over, like bashing him with a board sign “Your existence is a mistake”. However, he doesn’t give up easily and seeing him trying to live out his fractured life is such a bittersweet experience. Perhaps his passion for running stems from his desire to reach a destination, a place where he can really call home. In it, he seeks a confirmation that it is alright for him to exist and live with hope for the future.

The idea of broken family ties is portrayed well in the story. The father lives in Australia and the mother lives in London, they are divorced. Her sister jumps between those two areas in addition to America and always gets into trouble for the sake of making ends meet. Ian travels between those places and it symbolizes a family drifting apart, once intact but now in pieces because he was brought up to this world. In order for Ian to reach either of his parents, he needs to travel a great mile to meet them personally. This represents that his relationship with his parents are far from close, not a trace of familial love. There are noticeable efforts to make amends, re-uniting individual ties, but the cruelty of life halts that direction.

One strange thing about read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Nisekoi Doumei. (Manga) add
If there's anyone reading this manga and loving it, by all means, go do whatever you want; however, for people looking for a new manga

I would not recommend this one

Usually with manga and anime, I relate to the main characters a lot. In this manga, I wasn't even close.
This girl sucks at making decisions

She takes her sweet, precious time making up her mind about things, while the reader has to deal with skipping through the boring parts of her thinking about life.The plot moves in little sprints, like "oh, she's sitting on her butt one moment, and then she's confessing her love the next."

They also do non-school things. No tests, no exams, no clubs....What kind of school do they even go to? All they do is sit around, text, cry, kiss, and go on dates.

So if you think this is going to be another romance like Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama or Nisekoi [False Love], you might want to second guess this one.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Happiness (Manga) add
This is a review counting 21 Chapters.

Warning, minor profanity included.

I have read Aku no Hana and I remember being entranced by the story like it haunted me in a way. It had a captivating drive that I could not understand.

With Happiness, it's less, but that captivating essence is still there.

There is no central plot or story. There is no final goal, there is no happy ending. This is a story where different characters collide and shit goes to hell. There is no good or evil, there is no 'hero' and there is no 'villain'. There is no superhero.
Everyone just lives theirs lives as like anyone else would, but when shit starts blowing up, there is no return.

That is the charm, the essence of this story that captivates me. Most stories have a sense of security, where you know the characters will be okay. But here, no one is safe. It's dark and gruesome, there is no room for empathy, only fear. Past, present and future all destroyed in a blink of an eye, there is no more happiness.

That fear of complete destruction to the point of no return, with every action leading to a series of never ending consequences, knowing you will never be the same ever again. This is the type of mental and psychological fear that entrances you to read more and more.

This is no average shounen manga, the main character is no super hero, just an average everyday loser, a loser that continues to lose.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Ten: Tenhou-doori no Kaidanji (Manga) add
Ten is a manga series by Nobuyuki Fukumoto (who is most well-known for Kaiji and Akagi.) It’s story is centred around the japanese board game mahjong and it’s gambling purposes. This means that readers will have to learn the complex rules of mahjong before reading this or else they would have difficulty following the games that occur in the series.

On the surface, the general plot of Ten is nothing particularly complex or creative; it can really be summarised as an underground mahjong tournament between two opposing teams. Despite the simple plot, various complex strategies are used throughout the series in order to reflect on the characters’ playstyles and keep the series interesting. The area where Ten is really strong however is it’s themes, the strongest theme in particular being how one properly lives life and it very well executes such by using competitive mahjong as a template. The overall themes become more apparent throughout the series, especially during the much more philosophical finale.

The themes in Ten are also effectively executed through it’s characters. The main character, Ten, is a mahjong rep player who often cheats at the game and often get into dangerous situations. Hiroyuki on the other hand, is a much more ordinary character in comparison who plays mahjong through fair means. Both characters create a primary contrast that is presented throughout the series along with other characters who play mahjong for various means of living. By far the most effective character in the series is Akagi, a laid-back professional mahjong rep player who, unlike many others, plays through extreme/insane means. His character is greatly expanded upon around the end of the series where he reveals his various viewpoints of life and reputation through his actions, thus embodying the core themes of the series. He is easily the series’ strongest point and arguably one of the best-written characters I’ve seen.

In conclusion, Ten is a fantastic manga series that provides great gambling and philosophy. I personally recommend watching the anime series Touhai Densetsu Akagi before reading this as it allows viewers to better familiarize themselves with mahjong and Akagi’s character.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Hatsukoi Monster (Manga) add
This is a Review on the Anime not the Manga

I'm going to start off by saying I liked this anime because of its lightheartedness and would give it a 7 out of 10. Though the anime did have its problems, since some of the main characters are in primary school they're going to act like children, including childish behavior, antics and ect. There also was many times that the characters themselves didn't make sense and things occurred that wouldn't happen in real life but what anime doesn't do that?.
For the romance part of this anime it did a good job of making you want their relationship to work out despite their age gap. The anime also has a great humor about it.
So all in all this anime had its downfalls and upsides but both these things together make this anime lighthearted and comedic. I would not recommend this anime for someone looking for a serious anime or a nail biting romance though it is still one worth checking out.

I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Shiro no Keiyaku (Manga) add
Within the first few pages of this oneshot I was a bit confused seeing a boy and a girl interacting, thinking that it didn’t start from the beginning of the manga. The main character was supposed to be a crow that turned into a human later, but it was a unique drawing concept—in a lot of the scenes, the main character and even some other crows were drawn as miniature humans with crows’ wings. I suppose it made it easier to distinguish the black crows from each other, but for Shiro it made no difference. They were not human-like all the time; in a few scenes they were drawn as simple crows.

It gave me a thought, though. Drawing them looking like humans makes these animals more relatable to us. It makes us think that someone like Shiro really could act like a human if he appeared to be one. Additionally, it’s a silly idea to think an animal could fall in love with a human, isn’t it? I’ve heard of this kind of story before, but not with crows. That gives the plot some more humor rather than choosing some other majestic animal.

Other than the fact that he’s a crow, I find Shiro to be a different protagonist from the others. First of all, hardly any shoujo have male protagonists. Second, he’s a bit simple-minded with one goal he wants to achieve: capturing the heart of this human girl. He isn’t he smartest bird of the bunch, but he has the most courageous heart of them all. He shows sympathy for his tormentors and boundless adoration for a girl he has yet to know. It’s impressive how much he sacrifices to come into contact with her.

Of course, his contract with the devil is a burden for him. Given the kind of personality Shiro has, doing a bad deed every day isn’t an easy task, but it’s something he must do in order to maintain his human body and keep seeing the girl of his dreams. It’s interesting to see how far Shiro would go to keep himself a human and to grab her attention. Furthermore, putting a crow in a human’s body in this situation is so much like a boy trying to woo a girl without knowing how girls are, which keeps that familiar and innocent shoujo feel to it.

I love how the author intersperses comedic moments with more serious moments. In one instant Shiro’s mocking some of his tormentors, and in another he’s staring at the human girl from a distance with such longing. It’s great storytelling about a crow feeling out the ways of humans, how they feel and what they do. Also, seeing this girl from the eyes of a human is a different from seeing her as a crow. I suspect Shiro falls more in love with her every day.

This is definitely one of the better oneshots I’ve read, though it still doesn’t have the best ending. It makes slightly more sense than other read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 23, 2016
Pokémon Special (Manga) add
Ok, literally, i don't know how to start this, i really love pokémon games, and i hate pokémon anime (XY included), but the manga show me a really great world, something different with Pokémon.

Warning: I don't talk english, probably this review it's going to be hard to read (Google translate + My english = A really bad english)

Story: The story of the manga it's the best story in the Pokémon's world, i don't know how to explain it, but it's so different of the anime, it strives to create a good story based on the videogame's events.

Art: At the beginning, the art it's not the best, but it change, in the good way of the word, the pokémon drawings are better, and the characters take the original games style.

Characters: Ok, the characters are normally good and memorables, but, for example, Red, at the beginning, is literally "I'm the best and i'm going to save the world!" and oh my god EMERALD WHY?, i really hate Emerald, in my opinion, it's one of the worst characters in the manga.

Enjoyment: I really enjoy when i'm reading this manga, i don't have more to say.

Conclusion: This is a really good manga, the best in Pokémon's world (in my opinion), with a good story, art and, normally, really cool characters, I recommend this manga, especially if you're a Pokémon fan.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Berserk (Manga) add
I don't consider myself to be much of a contrarian, so it is with little pleasure that I add this score to one of the highest rated series on this website.

I think Berserk is GROTESQUELY overrated, pointless misery porn with some very nice illustrations. The violence is hideously over the top, the worst of which is reserved specifically for its female characters, the sheer darkness of the setting mutes any of the story's supposed triumphs, and as far as I'm concerned you lose any potential allegorical worth to the brutality of the real world when you have demon rapist horses and giant rape machines to breed demon armies. I cannot see this work appealing to anyone other than voyeurs who delightf in gratuitous, inhuman suffering. Perhaps it takes a turn for the less depraved further on, but at this point I've lost interest, and at the rate Miura puts out chapters, frankly, it's not worth sticking around for.

Oh, but the art is impressive. There's that.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Naruto (Manga) add
Yes, Naruto is my favourite series. But not because of that I am going to just talk about how good it is. I will try to not spoil anything or act like a fanboy.

Story: A simple story with a lot of elements from other series that make it unique. Even though it is generic, it is well written and almost everything has an explanation. "What makes this story so special?" You will find out right before the final arc. You know what I am talking about. 8-10

Art: An original and outstanding art. At first, it might not be that good, but after the timeskip, it is gorgeous. Character desings are all different and unique. No one looks similar unintentionally. The background are not that good, and that's why I gave it a 8-10.

Character: Character designs are good but just the way characters act are a problem. Their personalities are bad. Kishimoto doesn't know how to write good characters. They do not act like real people and I'm not saying that's a problem, but, they do not have much character development after Shippuden. 6-10

Enjoyment: I enjoy this series a lot. Reading it is relaxing, satisfying in a way. The fights are awesome, the conversations are interesting. I can't explain who much I enjoyed this series, both anime and manga.

Overall it is a good series that can get anyone into anime. If you are an anime elitist you will not like it. 8-10
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Akai Mi Hajiketa (Manga) add
tl;dr : An amazing episodic, atmospheric and short manga. It's meant for you to relax and enjoy yourself. I recommend Mushishi if you like this kind of manga.

Story : 9
- This manga has no coherent "plot" or continuous plot line , but instead a series of random short and different stories written on various chapters, in other words, it's an episodic manga. You can still enjoy yourself without worrying about not understanding the plot when you read a random chapter. While some people dislike this kind of format, I personally really like this. Each chapter is a new and exciting story, waiting to be told. As there's no plot, the story is very atmospheric and will make you experience a full roller-coaster of emotions every single chapter. I probably rant too much on this but the final does pay off and probably leave you in a bittersweet feel.
Art : 10
- The art is arguably one of the best thing about this series . It's very clean , and very gorgeous. It gives off a weird yet wonderful feeling how the characters appear Japanese while having many features that would make them Western , and the style blends neatly between being old-fashioned and modern. It's a feast to the eyes.
Characters : 10
- The series is short, so the characters do not get that much screentime. However, the author did a fine job of giving them character-developments , along with the giving us the essences of each character. You can clearly understand them, their actions, their emotions , their personalities in a very short time. This is a rare case of you just wanting to cheer and root for every characters (At least in my case, but i'm sure the majority of people will agree with me)
Enjoyment: 10
- It's the kind of series that you enjoy yourself with some relaxing slow jazz music, along with your favorite drink and some snacks. It's episodic, it's atmospheric and it's short , so if you are bored/lonely on a free evening, give yourself a treat and read this.
Overall : 10
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
5-ji kara 9-ji made (Manga) add
I'm writing this review after I've just finished reading the 19th chapter.
Reading "5-ji kara 9-ji made" the sentence "Bad love isn't better than none" constantly come to my mind. But first things first.

In the beginning the setting seemed interesting.
While I read the first chapters I had to laugh at the kind of "reverse harem" vibe the manga gave off, with so many love interests being available for Junko.
Junko seemed like a smart person, but I soon began to doubt that.
I don't want to spoil anything specific, but after some stuff the male protagonist pulled off, Junko still didn't cut ties with him. Even though that guy was clearly obsessive - not in a good way, but in a plain creepy "better call the cops" way.
How could anyone - even for a second - consider a relationship with someone who doesn't accept any boundaries and doesn't accept your dreams? Who instead wants you to "reflect" on yourself and change you to his kind of "ideal wife", which is highly delusional and oppressive behaviour?
The only thing that kept me going, were the side stories with the supporting characters, which were funny and entertaining, as well as the hope, that Junko would made a decent choice for once.
After reading 19 chapters I only feel annoyed about the main characters and that the story is going nowhere/in circles.

With that I conclude my review.
Kind of sad that I have to say that "5-ji kara 9-ji made" is one of the worst manga, and most certainly the worst Josei manga I've ever read.
But don't let this stop you from reading the manga.
Read it and create your own opinion.

I'm sorry for any grammar/spelling mistakes - English isn't my native language.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Gantz:G (Manga) add
Since there's not a single review on the spin-off i thought i should write one
I never wrote a review before but since im a big fan of gantz i thought i should guide the fans of the Gantz
Story is like the same as the main series its a spin-off but we get to see one character from the main series more like his/her existense was proved so i cant say if its an alternate reality.Hopefully it will be revealed.
Art kinda looked like shoujo when i started reading it but now i think its normal though its not that good compared to main series tbh
i dont wanna write much since its just started i'll just tell u guys one thing if u liked Gantz u should probably give this spin off a try since its really enjoyable and dont get too attached too the characters cuz u know Gantz.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Blue (Manga) add
In Blue, Nananan Kiriko, takes a simple story, pairs it with simple yet deep art, and leaves you with a manga that takes your breath away without you really understanding how she managed to do it. Perhaps it was the stark contrast between the brilliantly white paper and black images (no shades of gray here). Or maybe it the was the minimalistic narration--a few words here, a few words there.

Or maybe it was the story itself? Who cannot relate to finding a friendship that you do not want to end? To acting like the friend in order to feel closer? To truly believing that the rest of the world means nothing as long as you are together? Who hasn't neglected past friends to be with a new one that is somehow closer in a shorter period of time? Who hasn't felt jealousy when they were left behind?

All of these things are found in Blue, and presented in a very straightforward and yet subtle manner. Interwoven with friendship is the intimacy that young women sometimes share, intimacy that is somewhere in between being the closest of friends and lovers.

Blue was different from any other manga I've ever read. Trying to come to grips with the art style and the almost nonexistent exposition was challenging, and yet by the end, I felt rewarded. I had not read the greatest story ever told, but I had read a story that touched my heart. It was a story that I could feel (even though I've never experienced anything similar) and could empathize with. Even with its starkness, the characters, the drawings, and the story still reached out to me.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Sugar Princess (Manga) add
Sugar Princess is a surprisingly short series, especially compared to the other well-known series by Nakajo Hisaya, Hana-Kimi. It is a very condensed story but some how doesn't feel rushed. Instead, it feels abbreviated, like you're not quite getting the real meat of the story.

The characters are likable enough, but ultimately flat due to the lack of space to fully develop them. Maya is the stereotypical shoujo heroine: vapid, klutzy, but ultimately determined to beat the odds no matter how little she actually knows about what she's doing. Meanwhile, her male counterpart, Shun, is aloof, cold, and always badgering Maya about her faults and referring to her stupidity. Anyone else tired of this formula?

Oddly, romance never really transpires, but rather the skating partnership is addressed instead. This is the one somewhat unique aspect of the story, and I'm curious as to whether their skating partnership was supposed to be a metaphor for romance.

You have to suspend belief when reading Sugar Princess, given that Maya can do a double axel just from watching a skating program the very first time she takes to the ice. At least the final performance is supposed to be fairly 'simple' so it doesn't completely jump the shark (but it sure does get close.)

While the story and characters are shallow, one thing shines brightly and that is Nakajo's love of figure skating. Her notes, sidebars, and chapter art make it abundantly clear that she loves to watch figure skating and that this was a project to express that love.

I appreciate Nakojo's earnest desire to create a series about something she loves, and seizing the opportunity to do so when it came along (Japan's churned out some excellent skaters in the past two Winter Olympics.) However, as stronger story is a must for a quality series. Short doesn't have to mean shallow, but unfortunately that's what Sugar Princess is.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Line (Manga) add
Short, sweet, and to the point, Line has more potential than it has actual content. That doesn't make it bad though. On the contrary, Line's potential is such that I can't help but feel the 1-volume series was quite good, based more on that potential than the content. It had the right idea going, a good sense of suspense building, and managed to do it all in a few short chapters.

Chiko's a pretty typical party girl. A little shallow, sure, but she knows subtle ways to deter bullying and is good at self-deprecating humor. When she finds a lost cell phone and decides to turn it in, her life changes. The phone rings and on the other end is someone who starts telling her locations where people are about to die and that she's the only one who can stop them. With the assistance of a classmate, Bando, she starts racing around Tokyo trying to prevent people from killing themselves.

I think what I liked most was that she didn't always succeed. Sometimes she simply didn't get there in time, no matter how hard she tried. For awhile she simply gave up in frustration. She questioned why any of this mattered to her, they were strangers. And yet she realized that it would make her just like the people who saw someone about to jump and yet did nothing to try to stop them. She didn't want to be someone who could just look away and pretend not to see things.

The other thing I liked was that she never learned who Task was, and didn't know that he presumably killed himself at the end (based on an undescribed image.) Perhaps he thought she could find him and rescue him as well, perhaps not. But at least she didn't have that hanging over her as well.

I really think this could have been stretched into a longer series with character development. Slowing the pacing of the suicides, giving Chiko and Bando a chance to form a relationship and for Chiko to come to terms with her position would have been wonderful. Still, even in its condensed form I found this to be a worthwhile read. For all the darkness, it was still bittersweetly uplifting in the end.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Aisubeki Musumetachi (Manga) add
I have always been a fan of short stories, particularly when they're loosely tied together through an anthology. That's just one of the reasons I found myself enjoying All My Darling Daughters.

[Read more…]

In addition to the interconnected stories, there's also the art to love. Yoshinaga's gentle strokes are both soft and vibrant. Emotions are well expressed. Of course, the art is also the one thing I disliked. Her comedic-style often came out of nowhere, and while I liked it on its own, it felt completely out of place amongst the rest of it.

The simple poignancy of the stories, and emotional attachment to the characters that Yoshinaga so skillfully builds are other reasons that I enjoyed this series. It was easy to find a character to identify with, or to find one that reminded me of friends or acquaintances. She built truly believable characters, which can often be quite the feat. The stories also were imbued with realism, heartbreakingly so, in some cases. Sayoko's story was especially painful, and yet in its own way deeply believable. The intensity of the characters was gripping.

I'm not sure how well this would go over with the teen set, but it really is an excellent choice for women. It feels familiar, even if it's your first time reading it (or reading anything from Yoshinaga). It's tales from our lives, but ones that are rarely seen in manga that have been brought to the States, particularly not by mainstream publishers like Viz. Good on them for taking the chance, I know I can't be the only woman who greatly appreciates it.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Sousakusha (Manga) add
The Quest for the Missing Girl has a lot of potential, and it's not that it doesn't capitalize on it. Unfortunately, what it doesn't do is fully expound upon the emotions involved. While Shiga's anguish is shown, it doesn't quite seem real. The lack of scenes of Megumi in her situation also form a disconnect, not allowing the reader to fully build the necessary empathy. Additionally, the translation by Fanfare/Ponent Mon in this work feels a bit clunky and perhaps just a bit too literal. There needed to be a bit of editing to make the dialogue sound natural.

That said, Shiga's a solid lead. The underbelly of Shibuya is only shown briefly, but quite interestingly. The final climb is drawn out, building up a bit of tension (and since this is a series for adults, there isn't a guarantee of success). It really just felt that if there'd been another volume, the pacing would have worked better, allowing for a deeper look into the situation than what was provided. That probably would have fixed many of my criticisms. And for all those criticisms, this is still one of the better manga you'll pick up. It just didn't knock my socks off like A Distant Neighborhood did.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Monokuro Kinderbook (Manga) add
Clearly written for women and for those who want an alternative/experimental art-style, Kinderbook has many outstanding characteristics, but also many flaws.

The style of storytelling is succinct, pulling in a range of emotions in just a few short pages. The stories also allow the reader to draw her own conclusions as to their meanings as well. Though the stories all tie into concepts of love, they tackle very different aspects of it from old love, new love, jealousy, agape, and obsession. Beyond love, other topics are touched upon, including the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in 2001 and how that affected the psyches of those living as far from ground zero as Japan.

Strong as it was, Kinderbook's flaws were nearly as numerous. Takahama's drawings often went beyond "experimental" to just plain sloppy. It was almost impossible to tell which character was speaking when the details of the outfit changed from image to image, and facial features were blurred to the point that a man and woman talking looked nearly identical. This also made it a bit hard to follow the story. I could guess the point she was getting across, but since I might have confused a character, maybe I got it completely wrong. Also, I'm not sure if it's the fault of the translator or the fault of the artist, but the dialogue was often really choppy and difficult to read. I'm not sure if Takahama just writes that way, or if the translator was going for too literal of a translation. Plus, the speech bubbles seemed to be inconsistent. Sometimes you read them one way, another time they had to be read in a different order for the discussion to make any sense. This made reading the volume a little confusing and tedious.

Overall, I wanted to like Monokuro Kinderbook more than I actually did. I like the topics that were tackled and the stories told, but the art was too off-putting and broke up the overall flow of the story.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 22, 2016
Kitchen no Ohimesama (Manga) add
The search for a "prince" based on a trinket left behind is a pretty common troupe in shoujo manga, but as overused as it might be, it doesn't seem to take too much away from the story. After all, it is a classic device, used long before comics were popular in such fairy tales as Cinderella. However, it does begin setting the tone for Kitchen Princess: predictable, but warmly familiar so it can mostly be overlooked.

It's some of the other tropes, such as the "poor" girl in a rich school being bullied, all the boys falling in love with her and causing all the girls to hate her that get tiresome quickly. However, the cast of characters help ease some of the agitation from seeing the same story yet again. Najika is extremely optimistic (she's somewhat a combination of Usagi of Sailor Moon and Tsukushi of Boys over Flowers) but she occasionally suffers from doubts and tough decisions which keep her from being completely unbelievable. The various love interests have fairly set personalities (the serious intellectual, the supposedly care-free athlete, and the aggressive snob), but thankfully each archetype is slightly softened, allowing there to be at least a hint of mystique to them.

Where Kitchen Princess really shines, however, is not the story or characters, but rather in the art and the decision to include recipes of the foods featured in each chapter. The art isn't terribly unusual, you can definitely pinpoint it as a mid-2000s shoujo series, but it's always carefully drawn with a great deal of attention to details. And as for the recipes, it's a very unique idea to include them, allowing readers to try to recreate the foods constructed by their beloved characters.

In the end, the series is utterly predictable, and yet, it doesn't feel as if that's a problem. You know who she's going go choose from volume 1, but the path getting there is warm and familiar, like a trip down memory lane of shoujo manga. It isn't tedious, but rather enjoyable. And even knowing what the ending would be, it was fun reading it. A nice addition to the reading list of any shoujo romance fan.
I found this review Helpful
[1] 2 3 ... 20