Manga Reviews

4 hours ago
Red Sprite (Manga) add
LardYen
I have read 6 manga chapters and really liked it, I'll be letting down what I am thinking of the first impressions of this manga that if you continue the way it is, will have a great future ahead

A great story with a Shounen main character, but this mc has an skill and charisma higher than expected, a manga with great potential, let's wait and see. do not have a pre-conception, you will enjoy this.




I'll keep reading and i hope that the story is still as good or better than it is, and i will be hoping that this manga will have a successful anime.

I found this review Helpful
5 hours ago
One Piece (Manga) add
TheCatanese93
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!

THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
THE BEST MANGA EVER !!!
I found this review Helpful
10 hours ago
Go Ahead (Manga) add
LuanaSenpai
Go Ahead is a sixteen manga chapters created by Daisuke Higuchi. It follows the relationship between Yuuki Izaki and Gouhei Aiba (student and teacher).

So all starts when, years ago, on his student days, Gouhei Aiba realized that he must do what HE wants to do (go to another school to play against strong hockey players), but his friend dies. So he decided to stay. Years after this dramatic moment Gouhei becomes a teacher and one of his students is Yuuki Izaki who loves hockey...

As you can see, this is pure drama. And, honestly, this could be pretty good. However, the story misses something, misses the click. In my opinion, the story don't explored the sport (hockey) in a deep way, so, it ended failing. And, yeah, this isn't so good how i expected that could be.
I found this review Helpful
11 hours ago
Kanata kara (Manga) add
LuanaSenpai
Kanata Kara was created by Kyouko Hikawa in 1991 and it follows a girl named Noriko Tachiki who was living a normal life before she unexpectedly arrive in different world only to discover that she's the Awaken. Along the journey, she was rescued by Izark who is somehow related with her and she also meet new friends that help her. And, yes, i also thought this could be just another "growing a heart and all that", but i realized that the story has something much darker and bright than i expected. So, this is definitely a handsome time travel mangá, it is romantic and it shows that bravery is one of the most valuable things in world.
I found this review Helpful
Today, 12:08 AM
Bitter Short Cakes (Manga) add
animeotaku4911
Okay, this is my first review so give me some grace. Well...Let's start!

Story

Score: 4 I thought it was a decent story, though I didn't like the idea of a high school girl going after a "married" man.

Art

Score: 7 I actually liked the art. It was nice and reminded me of some other Hana to Yume publications. But it was not 10-star material.

Character

Score: 5 The characters were secondhand and left me unimpressed. As I said before the idea of a high schooler after a "married" man disturbed me a bit and the blushing throughout the whole chapter did not help her case. The man, however, was rather comical and helped the story to continue, though I have seen this character in mangas many times. In all, though, they were mediocre characters.

Enjoyment

Score: 5 Overall the enjoyment of the manga was decent. It was one of those mangas where you don't love, it but you have time on your hands.


Final Score: 5
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 5:47 PM
Obito no Hime to Kubinashi Kishi (Manga) add
Inayasha25
I'm not going to talk about the story because it is only 4 chapters but I have to say I thought that it would be worse.
I never read a short manga before, because I never thought you could write a good story in only 1 volume. However this manga is not that bad as you may think.

Yes it's short, it doesn't give time to develope the characters or even the story but it was interesting enough to keep me reading it.

Art is amazing, handsome guys, the girl is not week as tipical shoujos. I recommend this manga if you are looking for a short shoujo serie. (:
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 4:21 PM
Platinum End (Manga) add
jaxtoru
Well, I started to read this when the 4th, 5th Chapter got out, right now I've read for about 8 Chapters (?)

Note that the creators of this manga are the same creators from Death Note and Bakuman, both really good and known by almost everyone (Even though I haven't watch/read Bakuman until the end). So, as may think, this manga has a great potential and also, became popular because of their creators.

Moving forward, I enjoyed the beginning of the story, it was interesting, depressive boy wants to die, an angel saves him and boom, magic happens, all that thing about being the god and introducing the villain was also fun and interesting to read.

Summing this up, I enjoyed what I've read until now, and I am expecting it to become better as more chapters are published, ( even though I don't remember some things already because it takes a long time for chapters to get out haha)

Last question: Would you recommend reading it?
A: I totally recommend you to read this manga if you like the stuff that they made before, and I would also recommend you to watch/read Death Note and Bakuman ( I failed in this one xx)

It was my first review, so, I am sorry if I messed up at some point.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 8:13 AM
Katayoku no Labyrinth (Manga) add
Ignatia
I'm surprised no one has written a review of this OUTSTANDING manga yet.

Story: 10/10
~ The story is unique and mysterious. I'm sure anyone who love and enjoy time leap stories will enjoy this as much I enjoyed this.

Art: 10/10
~ Oh boy! The art is so cuteeeeeeee! I love how they are drawn and express their emotions . They're so lovely ♥

Character: 10/10
~ I love all the characters. The MC here is not that cliche girl in shoujo mangas. I love the character developments.

Enjoyment: 10/10
~ I superrr enjoyed it! I really wanted more T^T

I highly recommend this manga for everyone


I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Koizora: Setsunai Koimonogatari (Manga) add
kay-love
This manga had such an unexpected emotional response from me. To put it simply, I cried like a bitch.

In the beginning, the story develops pretty nicely. The relationship that developed between the main characters was organic and it was not forced or unrealistic. From there you get the typical drama that comes with romance manga. Love triangles, false betrayals, misunderstandings, crazy exes blah blah blah.

All of a sudden though, it becomes super dark and unexpected. SPOILER----> the rape scene was so frustrating on so many levels. The story makes it super light, as if its no big deal and all is forgiven just because the crazy ex felt some type of way. WTF lol. Moving along after that, things were just moving way too fast and the drama seemed forced. The main character has some of the worst friends of all time lol.. seriously. They constantly blame her for things she had no kind of control over.

As far as the main characters go, they are annoying too. The female lead is wayyyyy too forgiving in my opinion. She also causes way more drama for herself by just not being upfront about what's going on. The male lead is also annoying because he constantly takes the stance of lying to you or not being honest all in the name of protecting you. Also causes more drama for himself than necessary.

After all that you get to the biggest part of the story, and that's when the crying like a bitch commences. Even though the story as a whole was not that great, I couldn't help but get super emotional towards the end. Primarily because of the subject matter, i think most people would feel emotional when something so uncontrollable occurs. Because it made me so emotional, I bumped it up to a 7. Other than that, I would've probably gave it a 5 or 6.

All in all, if you need a good cry. Just stick with it, because it will get you there.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Knight Run (Manga) add
Quoo
If I were to describe Knight Run quickly to someone it would be "Halo the manga with an amazing personal story of tragedy and loss". So if that doesn't sound like your cup of tea, look elsewhere.

This is a review of the first season. (first 76 chapters) It might seem odd to only review a part of the manga, but I believe that the first season holds up well on it's own as a self contained story that ties up everything very well with a fantastic, satisfying ending. In fact the ending was so satisfying for me that I felt no urge to continue reading the subsequent seasons which has never happened to me for something I really enjoyed reading. (I will still read the new seasons, but my point is that the first season of Knight Run is best enjoyed on it's own as a self contained story imo)

Pros:
- Fantastic ending
- Very well fleshed out relationship between the two main characters
- Great flashback scenes that flesh out the characters and their pasts very nicely
- Interesting sci-fi, space opera setting and pretty good world-building
- The story has a very epic, large scale feel
- Very good at building up tension and threat of the enemy (You never get bored thinking the good guys will win easily)
- The art and action scenes are amazing when it counts
- Great 1v1 and sword action
- Mature depiction of war

Neutral:
- Large cast of supporting characters that are pretty cool, but never really fleshed out (main focus is on the main characters)
- Art can be hit or miss (miss is mostly in space battles and large scale battles)
- Scenes switch between multiple viewpoints and between present and past a lot which makes it easy to get lost, but if you don't get lost and manage to follow along it makes for a more interesting story structure and read imo.

Cons:
- There are a lot of sci-fi terms and names specific to the manga that are thrown at you without explanation that compounded with a pretty terrible English translation makes it hard to follow what is going on sometimes.
- The timing of the flashback scenes is quite poor and sudden, sometimes you don't even notice that a flashback is happening (tip: pay attention for the white to black background panel colour transition which signifies that a flashback scene is happening)
- Large scale space battles are a mess (especially the art) and it's very hard to follow what is going on
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san (Manga) add
QrXtuV
Soo this is my first review, so I don't really know how to write one but meh this'll be live practice or something.
All I can say is this manga is amazing. I picked it up awhile back since it was recommended after I finished like Koe no Katachi or something I forgot xd but I glad I did, because after every chapter I felt good for some reason. Like it has everything I need basically to keep on living (dw not litera-). Even though it kind of repeats the same plot, Nishikata super sure he can prank Takagi that day but always fails like no matter what and at the same time Takagi's way of beating him hits the heart spot. The uh, heart strings I think that's what it is welp off topic ;3. Even though these events mostly occur in each chapter, it's still entertaining and heartwarming since the entire time your always thinking 'ok these 2wo better get married or I'm gonna come over to the writer and wan paaaaaawnch.' Just, idk why I love this so much but if you haven't read it yet PLEASE DO!!!
Nishikata, having planned something: "let's play a game, you can choose! Hehe"
Takagi: "hmm... Fine, if you can kiss me, you win!"
Nishikata, flustered: "wha..?! ...T-that's not fair!"
Takagi grins: "mm, ok then if I can kiss you, then I, win."
N-nishikata: h-huh?!!? >//w//<
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Orihara Izaya to, Yuuyake wo (Manga) add
Nocturnal
The Sunset with Orihara Izaya is the first instalment of a spin-off series belonging to the very popular Durarara!! series. As the title entails it stars Orihara Izaya, the mischievous informant who is the source of so much trouble, as the main character.

In this volume we get to see Izaya outside of his usual environment. Instead of the frantic, high-paced urban setting of Narita's Tokyo with all its supernatural chaos, rival gangs, yakuza wars and the vast quirky cast readers have come to associate with Ikebukuro; we are introduced to a mining town locked in a fierce tug-of-war between two factions.

This change allows Izaya a lot of leeway. As stated in the postscript, Izaya's ability to function as a free agent is somewhat limited in the main series as his very name carries the reputation of danger. But in the town, by the name of Bunokurashi, Izaya is a stranger and several of its citizens struggle to come to terms with what exactly an informant is, what his goals may be, and what kind of backing he has.
Such a sense of bafflement before the convoluted plots that Izaya weaves is nothing new but it reaches a different level of intensity as the battling factions try to place Izaya in their own conflict.

The town, that goes by the name of Bunokurashi, is a place of darkness in its own right. Unlike the zany, often dizzying atmosphere of Durarara!!'s Tokyo, Bunokurashi is a claustrophic town locked in a long strife between the Adamura, a land owner family and the Kiyojima, connected more to the political classes. Both resort to severe means of repression including bribing, doing away with troublemesome indivuals and not even stopping at murder.

It is a much more realistic scenario and the new cast is also for the most part more believable than the highly eccentric gang from Dura!!. The way Izaya plays these characters, ranging from the patriarchs to the younger generation, as well as dirty cops and foot soldiers, is brilliant as ever.
As for the old cast, it is not entirely absent. A series of interviews on the topic of Orihara Izaya was intermingled with the action proper and in these the characters of Duararara!! expound on their opinions of who Izaya is. These vignettes, short as they are, offer some very interesting insight made all the more so since the characters are not clearly identified. Those familiar with the franchise will easily figure out who is speaking but the process is a fun one that fully engages the reader.

If Izaya has a greater latitude of action, he is also limited in a very tangible way. Izaya is in a wheelchair, a debilitating situation that makes for some rare- and for that reason precious- moments of self-reflection as Izaya ponders on the psychological aspect of his condition. These are often framed by Izaya's interaction with a band of allies of sorts, a group of very different people whose interests end up matching Izaya's.
As it is so often the read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Dungeon Meshi (Manga) add
deadoptimist
As much as it pains me to say so, this work is mediocre – enjoyable while you are reading it, but not gripping enough. The characters are nice, the art is the reason I don’t have the heart to give this manga a 5, I liked the mangaka’s other works, but during all my time with this series I was unsure, whether I want to read on or prefer to drop it for good.

The problem is that the core idea is weak. I don’t see comedic potential in the concept of heroes eating monsters. So what? Most of us have done so in video games, DnD sessions or in fantasy fiction. And Dungeon Meshi for the most part is just that – a stroll through the dungeon, which is not that big of a problem for the party, and a parody on a cooking show. Or maybe a cooking show, I am not sure how much of this manga can be translated to real-life cooking (personally, I don’t think that it’s worth it anyway, since they cook from what they have and on the move). Reading more of the same mangaka made me understand better the type of crazy-turned-straight punchline she enjoys, but while I see a point in the normalizing subversion, it doesn’t make me excited as a reader. The characters as well initially are too sketchy: each is defined by a quirk, usually an obsession with one topic.

Why have I read the available chapters? Mostly for the art (I’ll come back to it) and because somehow, each time I became critically disheartened, manga offered the bare minimum of material to hold me. The plot has its brighter moments – when it revisits some of the previously established rules, so that you’re as “on”, as the characters, when it allows the characters to lose face, putting them in more surreal situations, or when danger spices things up. Danger tends to be engaging by itself, but what’s more important “cooking in a very dangerous dungeon” or “adventurer party being so strong that it turns things that kill others in a picnic” have that spark.

Currently the story is at its turning point – they’ve reached a conclusion for the first arc. It’s unclear what will happen next, but there’re hints on a broader overarching plot forming. It looks like it involves fantasy politics, namely another iteration of scheming elves, and personally I am not sure I look forward to it.

My opinion on worldbuilding is mixed. The world of Dungeon Meshi is not as MMO as those in many fantasy mangas nowadays – there’re no damage numbers or stats – but there’re regen spells and dungeon levels. Also I don’t think that I can call a fantasy world consistent, when characters sleep in an armor you can hardly sleep in or use modern-term terms and theories, like ecosystem or nutrition. A lot of effort was put into explaining food, monsters and food out of monsters, making it look plausible and similar read more
I found this review Helpful
ProtoDrive
Kaguya Wants To Be Confessed To is basically just the battles from Jojo's Bizarre Adventure, except the goal is not "I have to defeat the enemy and his/her Stand!", it's "I have to make him/her confess to me!".

Kaguya Wants To Be Confessed to is a comedy/romance manga, that bases most of its humor off the over-the-top styles of action in shounen manga. Saying something really minor dramatically! Reciting an entire paragraph in one's mind in just a milisecond!

I actually didn't go into this series expecting to really like it - I'm not a romance person, y'know? But I must say after giving it a shot that it's a lot, lot better than it initially appears.

Story: 10
The chapters are episodic, and features the two main characters trying to get the other to confess their feelings first. It's overly exaggerated, but that's what makes it fun, right?

Art: 9
It's pretty good, no glaring derp panels so far.

Character: 10
Both characters are... unique in their own way. Miyuki Shirogane gives off a vibe that he's a natural genius, but he's actually just a really, hardworking student who comes from a humble family. Kaguya Shinomiya is a daughter belonging to a rich family, but because of this, she also lacks what some people would call common knowledge.
There's also the secretary, Chika Fujiwara. She's cute.
Oh and their treasurer starts appearing later on too.

Enjoyment: 10
Everything is enjoyable, be it the over exaggerated monologues of the two characters, or just Chika ruining their plans unknowingly.

Overrall: 10
I really recommend this manga, even if you're not a fan of romcoms. Give it a try!



I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
L'Etoile Solitaire (Manga) add
Hibi3060
A manga full of cheesy events and wonky faces.

Story-4.
The story to this manga are just full of cheesy events and clique themes.
This isn't always a bad thing, but when it comes to the story of this manga it could've been executed much better.

art-3.
The main reason this is so low will be summed up in two words: Chins & panels! The art isn't all that bad and it does have some very nice panels from time to time. But overall even the artstyle is cheesy and tries to much to be so, seriously if you look at the seme, it looks like his chin could chop a watermelon in half, all the characters had the ability to look a bit wonky at times, but they did have nice panels as well.

Character-3.
Again, to cheesy! The main characters feel like if they were taken out of a time where all mangas looked and had the same story and in my opinion they fell in love to quickly, which just added to the list of cliques this manga had to offer.

enjoyment-5.
Despite all I said, it's still enjoyable if you like this kind of story, but it's defenetly not everyones cup of tea.

Score-4.
It's overall a decent manga, but it tries to be to much what it already is and that ruins alot of something that could have been executed very well but ended up not to.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Kankei wa Mada Lv.1 (Manga) add
Hibi3060
A bundle of stories to make your boring day of nothing to read a bit better.

Story-5.
The reason this only got 5 is because alot of them aren't anything new or special. It's more overused themes executed in a fairly good way.
However I did find myself giggle alot of times when reading this manga, so it's still quite enjoyable.

Art-6.
The art is nothing special, but it's not anything to complain about, as you can tell just from seeing the cover that it's Kazuhiko Mishima's artstyle. Even if this is the first manga by them that you read, you'll soo enough be able to recognize the artstyle, which all in all is not a bad thing.

Characters-5.
The characters are all average, nothing special, but some of their personalities are enjoyable and will surely make you laugh.
The most difficult part about reading one of Mishima's works, are the fact that alot of the characters look similar and in the end this may confuse you to some degree.

Enjoyment-6.
I enjoyed this manga fairly well and I'm sure that it may infuse some giggles out of you to.

Score-6.
Overall it's a manga you should read when you have nothing else to read or if you're just a fan of manga with average plot and characters, it's still a nice read either way.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Harem de Hitori (Manga) add
Hibi3060
What would happen if you were to mix beautiful fairy tale settings with yaoi? If done correctly, beautiful works such as Harem De Hitori would be made.

Story - 9.
The stories are all very enjoyable and well written, especially if you like the 'old school fairy tale' feel to a manga. However the two last chapters didn't go very well with the book, as it breaks of the fantasy stories and suddenly turns in to any other school yaoi, romance story. The pacing of the story also flows on in a very good way, otherwise the pacing would have been either to slow or to quick.

Art - 10.
As always Lily Hoshino's art is far to beautiful. Alot of people don't appriciate her art as the characters are to petite and look like 'women', I say otherwise, as I think this is what defines her artstyle and to be honest it's not a characters outer appearance that makes them such lovely characters, it's what message they bring to our hearts. Overall the art is very pretty and clean, not once were I dissatisfied with what my eyes were seeing across the pages.

Characters - 7.
The funny thing about this manga, is that you don't need to know barely anything about the characters to understand the stories. You don't get any special backstory or complicated past explained, what you do get is simple characters with the ability to portray the emotions of the romance aspect very well. The characters do develop very little as it's a collection of several stories all with different characters, but you'll probably still like at least one of the characters.

Enjoyment - 8.
I am sure alot of people could enjoy these stories as long as they know what the genres indicate. Alot of the stories in this book will always be close to my heart and I'm sure it could be to others as well. It truly is a collection of beautifuly told fairy tales.

Score - 9.
The only reason I don't give this a 10 is because of the last two chapters. Making a fantasy book and then putting a non fantasy story at the end of it felt a bit dissapointing. It kind of takes away the heartfelt feeling you get from the rest of the stories, it was still nice, but it would have been better as a full on fantasy in fairy tale settings.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 26, 2016
Koko ni Iru yo! (Manga) add
Anna_Tony
When I first stated to read this felt that the story was kind of bland and boring it felt predictable but no matter how hard I tried I couldn't put it down and it rely started to grow on me. even though its not the most original thing I ever saw the manga was just so enjoyable and light hearted it ended up being one of my favorite manga of all times.



Story 6/10: The story was kind of predictable but it was not to the point where it ruined the whole manga.


Art 8/10: I rely loved how the manga was drawn in this it was just so pretty and well done.


Characters 7/10:The characters were kind of unoriginal first you have a shy girl that is never noticed by anyone,Then you have the kind popular boy and his other very popular friend who is a trouble maker and as you go on the characters seem a little generic.


Enjoyment 8/10: I loved the relaxing warm and fuzzes the show made you feel and when i read it it made me relay happy and i just relay enjoyed it.


Over all i would have to give it an 8/10 because even though the story was pretty generic it also gave of this very relate able and happy feeling.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 26, 2016
Boy Skirt (Manga) add
taffydmonkey
I'm really glad to see and read stories as this, but the more I read the story the more I feel indifferent about it.

I am enjoying the development of each characters, but the problem goes when the story per chapter ends. IT ALWAYS GIVES ME A CLIFFHANGER! And I'm not sure if it's a good thing or not because once you read the story you will happen to want something more about the characters, about the story! which is I think the author is preventing. The author does not want me to meet my expectations, or the way I want to see the story . But on the other side, the author, Tomohiro-sensei gave me another possibility on the outcome of the story which is more practical and close to reality and that's what I admired about her.

I really get sad about the ending, I mean two volumes is not enough to see the development of Izumi and the other characters! I WANT MORE! I think if this gives another two volumes, it will satisfy me. Maybe this is the reason why I feel indifferent. I think Tomohiro-sensei wants more too!

I liked the story, and the most precious thing I like about the story is that the school lets a guy to cross-dress inside the campus. And I wish all of the high schools are like that!
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Akagami no Shirayuki-hime (Manga) add
mavley
"Red is supposed to be the color of fate, right? Even if it’s annoying now, it might connect to something good when you least expect it."

Sure, but 79 chapters in and it's still pretty annoying. Alas, Akagami no Shirayukihime. I've finished you. I came on to read other reviews following my finishing of the manga and show and I've got to say, I'm extremely confused. This manga is rated relatively high for being pretty mediocre at best. Let's dive in, shall we?

Story: There's close to zero plot. I've honestly never felt that a plot could have been so easily resolved dozens of chapters prior. It's really just your average Mary Sue-type, boring protagonist who happens upon a prince whilst fleeing from another prince because something about her makes her special i.e. her hair (go figure). It's red as an apple which sure, red hair may be appealing, but it's literally just hair. But whatever. The rest of the story is pretty much just her making her way into the castle in Clarines and falling in love with a prince who falls in love with her too, all the while learning to be a pharmacist and whatnot. That's it. That's literally the entire plot. Here and there they run into problems because of her hair, but that's it. It's not creative at all and the parts about her job are ridiculously boring.

Art: Average. Nothing special or specifically appealing about any of it.

Characters: Alright, I have a lot to say about the characters. First, let's start with the main protagonist: Shirayuki. Booooooooooring. Wow. I have never been so bored and utterly puzzled by how much the other characters swoon for her. She's not particularly interesting to say the least. She works with medicine and plants and that's really all she's got going for her. The other characters tend to think she's unique and headstrong, but I don't really see it. She's pretty average. She could really be a side character. I mean, yeah, she's nice and intelligent, but that's all. Anyway, she's in love with the prince and I don't know, she has zero character development whatsoever. I can say that she does somehow help other characters develop in their own way. I guess she's influential and inspiring, so she has that going for her. Next up: Zen the prince. He's somewhat interesting, but not really. He's kind and genuinely makes an effort to be a good prince and succeeds. It's pretty admirable. But when it comes to Shirayuki... VOMIT. He's annoying. He's weirdly obsessed with her in a way and overprotective as hell; Always forcing one of his people to follow her around (though I'm not complaining cause that character is awesome, but we'll get there). He wants to marry her and make out with her and whatever, but gets weird and shy about it all the time. They've kissed before, but when his hand bumps into hers, he turns bright red. Why? Next up, we'll do two characters read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Subaru (Manga) add
czxcjx
Subaru outlines one of the greatest paradoxes of a certain kind of person in the most revealing light possible – namely it’s a fact that there are people who receive the greatest talent, and are hopelessly bored with it. This is because that mere fact has shuttled them into one – and only one – path in life. Society cannot view them as anything other than what they have been gifted with.

Exemplar of this would probably be Rimbaud, who had a ridiculously natural ear for poetic cadences to the point where he created his major output during his teenage years, and then abruptly quit the profession in order to travel.

It also aims to outline one of the greatest paradoxes of genius overall – the fact that a lot of them are just plain assholes. Why was Rilke one of the best poets out there, and also a horrible father? Why was Mozart an infantile scatologist despite being able to generate the most wonderful cadences of music? Why was Dali a perpetually kooky shit-stirrer and pervert? Why was Proust a pervert and masturbator? Why was Picasso a womanizer, and why was he able to create such amazing paintings despite some of them being mere caricatures of ex-lovers he hated? Why is Woody Allen, a director who is able to depict such mature examinations of romance and endlessly makes fun of human foibles and infidelity – such an utter calamity in his own personal life?

Some of these questions are actually answered within Subaru. The manga is able to create a vision of that idealized transcendent reaching out that occurs with genius, while still showing its utterly banal reality.

For one, being born with a talent that immediately places you on the top without much effort, that makes both eager businessmen and admirers fall into your lap (while the rest of the world has to struggle to reach that post) is bound to make you think – oh wow, how easy this thing called life is! All Mozart had to do was to do that thing that appeared so naturally inside his head, and he received access to the highest courts of German Aristocracy. No matter how you wish for them to be humble and compassionate – there is literally no reason for them to feel that way. The marketplace and auctionhouse is separate from morality – if you don’t want to patronize Picasso and get a slice of the pie from his ‘production’, then you lose out. If a Mozart should appear in this era and be a complete jerk, and your orchestral house denies him entry – all he has to do is to go to one whereby the need to get tickets is more pressing than the need to cater to some higher ‘compassionate sensibility’.

There’s a moment in Subaru where our protagonist has just given one of the most stunning performances of her lifetime, and she turns to the side and just says something along the lines of “all in read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Sayonara, Hero. (Manga) add
LoveLifeForever
I absolutely loved this manga. I remember thinking "Why not? It's just a few chapters," then I read it. I've never written a review before but this book was so beautiful I was just compelled to write a review. I found myself surprised when I realized I loved it just as much is not more than my favorite manga.

The plot immediately caught my eye because I've been into this kind of stuff for a while. This was so unique and not cheesy at all. The very beginning was just average for me, but towards the middle of the first chapter is wen I started to love it. The beginning was beautiful and the middle was just so sad. But the end was sad and happy and I just loved it. "What a beautiful story" is what I thought.

The art was pretty good. The only reason I won't give it a ten was because I've seen better. But the tears were so nice and the expressions were drawn like they were real and coming alive on the page. The back round was amazingly drawn and it just added to the beautifulness of the story.

The characters were realistic and loveable and I could just feel like I was relating to them. They both got sad and although it moved fast, it fit and was very nicely done for the few chapters it had. They were so likeable and I found myself loving them every second of the way. I never disliked a character, I always loved them.

I definitely enjoyed the story. I feel so happy to have found this and read it. I'm still so happy I read it. I feel so peaceful now. I love this manga so much.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Osakana wa Ami no Naka (Manga) add
Jiwoo
Osakana wa Ami no Naka is a very confusing manga and I'd recommend watching the anime adaption before reading the manga since it's kind of a "prequel".


Story - 6/10
The story is really confusing and I didn't know what happened most of the time, but even so it was fairly enjoyable.


Art - 7/10
I enjoy old manga a lot because the art got a different feeling to it, especially when it comes to yaoi and shõnen-ai. The characters have long and slim faces with sharp eyes, with an exception to the younger characters who have rounder and more child like eyes.


Character - 6/10
There were so many characters introduced and it was really difficult to keep track of them all, it came to the point where I couldn't tell the difference between the main characters and the support characters. The relationship between the characters were also a bit difficult to make out, but what I could understand was that most of them were assholes.


Enjoyment - 6/10
Even if the manga was super confusing, then I did get some kind of enjoyment out of it. It's not the worst thing I've read.


Overall Score: 6
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Sansho wa Kotsubu de (Manga) add
monosyllable
A good sexy yaoi love story featuring two muscular - burly is definitely the right word - bara hunks as they discover that it doesn't matter whether you're short or tall, the important things in a relationship are being incredibly well hung and able to dom your uke well. Quality artwork by Tsukasa Matsuzaki; a good story of a burgeoning relationship; interesting, beefy characters and some enjoyable sex scenes with nice domming from the pint-sized seme add up to an enjoyable read. Recommended for fans of bara, romance, and anyone who ever looked at the eggplant emoji and wanted to be non-metaphorically fucked by one.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Orange Marmalade (Manga) add
Choco_Pocky
Lets get straight to the point here,
The story is a cliche', that anyone would enjoy.
Personally I like manga that give me feels, this manga Orange Marmalade.
It made me cry,laugh, and feel sorrow for characters that are fictional.
And trying to put their places, in real life.
Since a vampire and human romance, is a great classic that doesn't have many about.
I really liked it because the art was also outstanding, and it was in color.
I gave characters a 9, because even though the characters were nicely done.
They didn't have a chance to really explain the other characters, and only focused on the mains.
And 2 words to describe this manga is, "MORE" & "WOW"
This is one of my favorite manga, and personally i'm really picky about my character development and plot, etc.
But even though it was a cliche' story, with not that good of a development.
I enjoyed it, and I think you can too!
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Museum (Manga) add
bruno_segovia
Museum is a work of art, it is so perfect, only its name describes its interior. It is to put it in a museum. First of all, I can tell you that I read much manga (more than four volumes per month) and I consider myself more or less understood that part of the culture. And well. Does that museum that makes it so special? As its characters and its exceptional drawing. Never had the feeling of having the oppressed heart without being me which starred in this story. Museum is a very common theme in detective rasters, but curiously has a factor that is; a frantic development until it concludes the series. I recommend that you read museum.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Virgin Ripper (Manga) add
MortalMelancholy
So first off, I'd just like everyone to know, that this manga does not contain the ripping of any virgins, LOL. If you were looking for some horrible kinky hentay shit that involves ripping virgins, you're out of luck
But yeah, the title's a huge misnomer, because "reaper" is pronounced the same way (as ripper).

Anyhow, it's about some reaper, who's a virgin at reaping (reaping souls), probably because she gets ridiculously sidetracked instead. It's pretty average as far as manga goes; about as average as it gets I guess? Pretty typical shoujo-esque manga. The outfits actually kinda stand out as somewhat interesting, but yeah, average aside from that.
I found this review Helpful
TheRightList
SPOILERS FREE!

This Manga series starts with this arc the onikakushi - hen or abducted by demons arc.
I know it looks kind of childish maybe a typical highschool manga or maybe I don't know boring? but it really isn't. This manga series which was taken from a Virtual Novel by the same name is my favourite manga series and I couldn't stop reading it. There are 8 main arcs anda few arcs which add to it and I have read all 8 (4 question arcs and 4 answer arcs) and the dice killing arc at the end. I think the name question arc and answer arc is giving the wrong idea as the answer arc do not just go and give you the answers to the question arcs but add an entire story that captures you within the first word of it.
I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS MANGA SERIES ENOUGH. and I'm sure you will absolutely love it take my word for it and you will not regret it.
I will keep it short so the story is placed in japan within a village called Hinamizawa while is placed outside of the main action in Japan one day, Keiichi who just came to the village stumbles upon news of a murder that had occurred in Hinamizawa. From this moment, things go down quickly and you will not be able to move your eyes from the page. This story is successful as it is very clever and the very attentive readers will be rewarded and mysteries are in every corner and evrytime I tried to understand something and was certain I was right. I was punched in the face and mocked as the truth is something else and the worst part was it all made sense and cleverly thought.
OVERALL 10/10
'I wanna take it home' again.
have a great day!
I found this review Helpful
Sep 25, 2016
Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet (Manga) add
CalmCall
Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet started as a one-shot I absolutely loved and is a modern take on the Romeo&Juliet formula.If you like that stuff this is right up your ally. If you don't wait a second before clicking off of this page.
While it has a dated formula I've seen used so many fucking times(and the cockblocks are unreal) it's still an entertaining show.
The chapters are pretty long and focus mainly on the main couple as they try and keep their relationship secret from(mostly) everybody as new characters are introduced and their relationship deepens. It has some comedy, and can be pretty funny.
The main&side characters are pretty decent. Art is good and cute but I just think my standards are too low on that part since I really don't give a shit about art as long as it's not OPM webtoon level.
Overall good show,it still doesn't have a lot of chapters but the show is pretty fast paced and keeps you hooked as the plot thickens.To wrap this short review up this manga is worth reading.Some people might not like it but for me it's a very good manga.
Story 7/10.
Art 9/10.
Character 8/10.
Enjoyment 9/10.
Overall 8/10.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Body Crawl (Manga) add
monosyllable
A tiny (four page!) story - more of a scene, or the kind full-colour introduction that you'd usually see before a more complete black and white chapter - depicting a rather bizarre lactatory method of improving swim times that is ultimately a pretext for showing off a very nicely rendered female swimmer's body. And the art is, ultimately, the only good thing going for such a slight piece of work. It probably would have been better as a textless series of pinup style artworks. The main character's body is nubile and delectable, the supporting male character a mere cipher. Barely worth looking at even if lactation is your kink.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Arachnid (Manga) add
Sophia_PineApple
Overall it was a great manga and sadly we won't be able to read about the whole story.
R.Ip
Now to start with the reasons:
Story* - I though it was pretty original, the whole based off of people/assassins acting as insects for and as there type of killing style. Though the whole stuck stuck in the school thing not so much, and I thought it could've been expressed better on to whats happening. Totally loved the mix of Slice-of-life, horror, josei.
(trying to keep this as none spoilery as much as possible).

Art - For the most part the art was very great actually. The characters kinda needed more distinction or more "pop" though. The reason is because most of them looked the same in my opinion.

Characters - Honestly the characters are pretty much like any other manga you read except with a twist.

Enjoyment - I loved reading it an I wanna read more of it in the future but sadly most likely not going to happen considering the "Writer Murata, Shinya" died.

I liked the manga and I'm going to keep it on my favorites, plus give it a overall rating of 10. Hope you read and enjoy it. I kinda recommend reading the Spin-Off "Caterpillar" first.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Kaihatsu♂Muramura Mode (Manga) add
monosyllable
I'm really not into the classically elegant bishonen type, so I may have graded the artwork on this more harshly than it deserves (7/good). Regardless, this is a solid cute/romantic series of stories from author and artist Makoto Itsuki. The characters and their developing high school relationships are sweet, and the stories are engaging. The artwork, as I said, isn't really my thing, so not as sexy as I'd like - bishies just look like mannequins to me - but it has some decent (or indecent) moments. Recommended for yaoi fans, but if you prefer something on the harder end of the spectrum, it's a probable pass.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Netsuzou TRap (Manga) add
xGoldenDarkness
unfortunately this is my first review this is more my thoughts than a review so im am going to cut it short and just get into I dont read alot of manga but i can tell good ones from bad ones

But first things first (PLEASE TAKE NOTE NTR GENRE is known to make people hate or fill people with anger read at ur own discretion it means to steal someones lover)

if u just want my overall of what i gotta say about this show then just look at the last paragraph and save yourself the trouble

the story starts off in a karaoke place with the two main characters and their boyfriends while one of the main characters gets touchy touchy while its safe to say the protag. at the start seems straight she gets use to her friend being the way she is thats my summary of the first chapter

Story:
the story is ur typical NTR but with a twist its reverse NTR girl steals girl from boy and their daily lives so far with a little drama thats basically not needed
(so far im in chapter 11 and no progress was ever made thats made me think its been a good story)

Art:
one thing i do like from this manga is the art characters look amazing and alot of detail in the yuri-ness

Characters:
this ties up from story I feel nothing for these characters so far nothing has brought me to feel for them sympathy or their persona or i should say character theres nothing special about them we dont know much about them nothing

overall:
I gotta say if your a fan of the NTR then this might be for you
but if you dont like cheating girlfriends this is not for you
I took a try at this Manga because I thought that since this is a Yuri NTR i would probably like it but I cant and I couldnt get into this
the NTR genre fills most people with hate and anger and i fall into this cata.

for a more detailed review check out Zadion
I found this review Helpful
monosyllable
Once you get past the fact that this series starts with the hanging suicide of a young boy, it's surprisingly sexy and amusing. The sexually-frustrated soul of the comatose car accident victim who possesses the child's body makes the most of his second chance by seducing the boy's mother and his aunt in a series of erotic escapades that raise philosophical questions about the nature of incest, but are nevertheless consistently erotic* (*chapter five unfortunately being an exception). Quality artwork of buxom women easily seduced by the entertaining young (and hung) protagonist make this tale of pseudoincest a worthwhile read. Enjoyed and recommended.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Priapus (Manga) add
monosyllable
Mentaiko's (Itto's) ongoing saga of a priapus's (a hypersexual being from the Greek pantheon's) quest to turn the world gay, one conquest at a time. The story is amusing - I like the running series of silly supernatural gadgets that aid Tarou's mission - and also sexy, playing with the ongoing theme of introducing straight guys to the pleasures of gay sex and converting them to the religion of homosexuality, usually falling in love with the divinity by the end of their encounter. Mentaiko's artwork will, as always, make you drool, full of his hung hypermasculine bara jocks fucking with gusto. Enjoyed and recommended.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Ma no Kakera (Manga) add
Kotoneko-chan
Story 7/10

Ma no Kakera has stand-alone chapters, with pretty simplistic stories, so don't expect something which will blow you away. Despite that lack of complexity, I didn't find most of the stories really predictable. They usually have a twist, which in some cases will leave you like WTF? (specially Nanakuse Kyokumi and Haunted Wood Mansion stories)

Art 10/10

I find Ito Junji's art really great, and Ma no Kakera is not a exception. It fits the story well and creates a proper atmosphere.

Characters 6/10

The worst part of Ma no Kakera. They have no depth and are completly forgettable. However, being a totally plot-driven manga, the characters aren't really important to enjoy it, so the lack of characterization doesn't affect the quality of the story.

Enjoyment 10/10

Despite its flaws, I truly enjoyed this manga. I got hooked on it and I didn't stop reading until I finished it. It certainly is not a masterpiece, but will give you a good time.

Overall 8/10

If you liked other Ito Junji's works, specially his stand-alone manga, give Ma no Kakera a try. I'm almost sure you'll enjoy it.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
The Breaker (Manga) add
ThaInfinite
ALERT: The following review may contain SPOILERS.
Also, english is not my native language, so I'm really sorry if you'll find any error.

Story 8/10

The story is great. There's no other word to define that. It deals with a bullied boy, who after seeing his new english teacher beating up a couple of gangsters, decided to make him his new martial arts master, no matter if the teacher doesnt want to.
He will get rapidly involved with the "Murim", the martial arts world, that's not so kind, specially with Chun-Woo, the teacher, who's actually the "Nine arts dragon", one of the stronger, if not the strongest of them all.
The premise is really simple, but it's told in such an effective way, and becomes so much complicated... Despite all, the story is certainly the weakest part of this manwha. Do not misunderstand, it really is great, but from the beginning to the very end, it seems like a great prologue for the next part: The Breaker New Waves, although I havent read it yet. The way the manwha proceeds, the way it ends, all seems to let you think that that's not the end, that's only the beginning, and what will happen next is actually the main plot. And at the end of the manwha, I wasnt fully satisfied..

Art 10/10

Never seen such beautiful pages, such amazing splash arts... The artist is a prodigy. The fighting scenes were so good, I wanted more and more of them, they did never bore me. This is absolutely the strongest point of the manwha.

Characters 9/10

Uhm... I don't really know how to say that, but this is the first manga in which I couldn't find a single annoying character. They were all fun, even if they were depressed (like the main protagonist in the first 10/20 chapters), or weak (like Soseol), they all managed to amaze me and, like the drawings, they did never bore me.

Enjoyment 9/10

As I said, the fighting scenes were next level, but that's not the only reason why I gave 9 out of 10 to "Enjoyment". This manga was actually quite funny. The jokes or funny moments were never put in wrong places, they were actually fun and managed to break the monotony of that scene or that situation.
A character also broke the fourth wall!

"Hey calm down! We're here at the ocean and should be having fun. And the authors even made the effort to use color pages for fan service..."
"Dammit. What's with the sudden ocean thing? I understand we've been starving for color pages, but..."



Overall 9/10
I really, really, really wanted to give this manwha 10/10, but the constant prologue feeling didn't let me do so. This had the potential to become the greatest manga/manwha I've ever read, but it didnt manage to do so. I'm hoping that if the writer's purpose was really to write a prologue, "The Breaker: New Waves" will be able to meet my expectations.



I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Buster Keel! (Manga) add
MetalCrow448
This is basically Fairy Tail, if you like that steaming pile of garbage, you'll love this. Back in 2010-11, when I was a wee little lad, I read this, and because of that, its hard for me to bash this series, as much as it deserves to be bashed. If FT had failed like this series did, and this series had gotten as big as FT is, I'd probably be saying that FT isn't as bad as BK, just because its less offensive by virtue of not being obnoxiously omnipresent. As you can probably tell the art is pretty average for this kind of lowest common denominator shounen. The characters are all remarkably static, which obviously isn't helped by the fact that this series was cut short of because it couldn't catch on, somewhat ironically, because of FT's meteoric rise.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Berserk (Manga) add
tuant
First of all, keep in mind that I'm a bit older than average manga readers.

Art: It's bad. Character models and drawings are nowhere near good enough. When in action, it's very difficult to see what's going on, especially in early volumes. It's slowly improved but at the end it's still just at an acceptable level.

Story: Good for the most part. It's terrible at the first 3 volumes but then the story goes back to the beginning and things are well explained. This is the best part of the story (golden age). After that, when Guts found new companions, story got illogical and boring. At times, it feels like Moon's Sailor.
The author's obsession with sex and rape causes excessive uses of these in the manga. At times it feels like porn.

When I got to volume 30, I lost all my interest and just skimmed quickly to the end. The ending is non sense.
Not recommended obviously for grown-up readers.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Sabaku no Harem (Manga) add
cindang
Story - 7

Overall the story is pretty simple with subplots woven in to compliment the bigger picture and introduce characters as well as elaborate on the desert setting to which the story takes place. I found the subplots very short though and wish they had been a little more drawn out. It was definitely a bit rushed and lacking some substance at times.

Art - 8

This is primarily what drew me to pick it up - though I was hesitant of it being another harem anime, the detail of the faces, flowing hair, and elaborate clothing is what made it so enticing. While I wish there was more body diversity (given the setting), I like how Yumeki (artist) portrays the hierarchy of the characters through their clothing styles and tends to make Mishe (heroine) look a little bit more tom-boyish (in a non-traditional shoujo way). One of the bothersome things to me is the placement of lace on clothing throughout the series as I find lace a more European fabric, as opposed to more traditional Middle-Eastern patterns that probably could have been utilized. There was also not a lot of facial diversity and the mangaka's style of thin, tall characters was prevalent.

Character - 8

The main characters are well-rounded and have very specific personalities and react to the situations in a very believable way. Unfortunately, I found that not as much care was taken into the background characters (among them, the 30 wives) and I felt particularly let down in some instances given the filler characters performances showing flat/no real merit. I also was confused on the names of the characters not flowing (they are a mix of Middle Eastern, English, and Scandanvian/European names). The heroine Mishe does take the cake and tends to shine outside of the traditional helpless shoujo trope - she is shaped by her experiences and learns to transgress her hurtful past, as do other main characters.

Enjoyment - 8

I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it so memorable and shared it with my significant other as soon as I had the chance (he doesn't read anything outside of DBZ, but enjoyed my excitement over this series). If I owned it I probably would give it another good read and would just be comfortable knowing it was in my collection.

Overall - 8
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari (Manga) add
CyanPile66
Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari is a great manga based on a web novel and it was truly one, if not the most favourite manga for some time because of the story and the main character.
Story may seem cliché as the setting which is used here is very common but it has some terrific moments.
What I liked in the main character is that he was presented as a normal boy. Well, of course he is MC so there has to be something special to him but what I meant by saying "normal" is the way in which he is presented. Normal boy in different world who is struggling to survive.
If I it was my favourite manga then why is the overall score so low ? Story. Story was killed by the manga adaptation. I read web novel after 20 chapters of manga or so, and I found out how much they've skipped. Whole story arc (200+ pages in A4 more or less), almost at the very beggining was reduced to not even a single page in manga adaptation. I had a feeling that they've cut it a bit but what they did with it is way beyond that.
If you can, read web novel, from what I see it is fully translated into english now, don't even bother with manga and the remnants of the plot. It is really not worth it as the plot is really one of the strongest pros here.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
3-gatsu no Lion (Manga) add
czxcjx
The failure of a sports manga, or a sports story, comes when the activity is segregated from human perception and life itself.

There’s one scene in the completely over the top TV series Aoi Honoo where Honoo realizes that the secret to Adaichi Mitsuru’s success as a sports writer was that he wasn’t writing sports manga at all – but school manga. This, to me, is the secret to making a sports story shine – the activity must be an excuse to develop human emotions, because this aspect is where it really sticks inside your head beyond the mere manipulation of parts.

I find the same idea applies to mystery fiction, although a lot less people have opened up to this. The ingenuity of a trick is only one level, but when it becomes intertwined with heartfelt psychologies – like Isin’s mysteries or Hyouka – you have a way for the work to break its genre boundaries.

Genre exists because people have realized that a certain kind of narrative structure can be abused to invoke certain pleasures inside a human being, and a limited genre writer is basically a person who sticks to a baseline abuse without allowing it to be seen in a different light. I’m not saying this is a bad thing though, since those who pull it off the best will be representative of the genre, but although they win over a certain segment of experience – they cannot ever develop a full scope of it.

So mysteries would be abusive of the pleasure that one gets from a logical twist as well as fitting together disparate elements. Fantasy & Sci-Fi are abusive of the discovery of new worlds, ideas and cultures, while frequently forgetting that merely creating a new culture and explicating on it with high exposition is never going to ground it beyond anything other than a novelty. Slice of Life works on tranquility and nostalgia – but such a mood can be easily dissipated if it doesn’t allow for these moments to build upon one another.

The moment one extracts the core abstract concept of a genre – that allows for it to be broken and utilized, while still retaining the pleasures of the genre itself. This is the core strength of 3-Gatsu no Lion. Like Chihayafuru, it develops the community around the activity and focuses on the lives of these professionals who have devoted themselves to such a narrow scope of activity.

3-Gatsu no Lion’s primary strength as a Manga, and maybe even moreso than Chihayafuru, comes from Umino Chika’s talent for characterization and the kind of sentimental poetic mood that fits Shoujo Manga so perfectly. This gives it that atmosphere of ‘life itself’ – something which may deflect many viewers from enjoying it fully, but gives a resoundingly good payoff should one understand what it’s building up to.

A sign that this approach is working is when you look back upon a character and realize that this character has developed without you realizing it. Like life itself, read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Nii-chan to!! (Manga) add
monosyllable
A cute, entertaining and quite sexy one shot hentai from the talented Mentaiko (Itto). The characters are well-drawn, as you'd expect from the author, likeable and relatable, and the plot, such as it is - the young, curious neighbour Kenta seducing his older nii-chan - is amusing and amiable, without any darker elements intrinsic to the action (although "nii-chan" has concerns that make him initially hesitant). Overall, the tone is light (I laughed out loud at one incident). This 2011 manga was, the author notes, his first humorous book in a while - it's simply two muscular, masculine bara guys having a good time. Enjoyed and recommended.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Hanafuda (Manga) add
monosyllable
A remarkably beautiful book, filled with gorgeous, stylish erotic full-colour illustration throughout that easily earns a ten for the quality of its artwork. It would be great to see more in this style from author and artist Okama. The tale itself is interestingly mythological and rewarding to read, telling a moving and well-crafted period story of kitsune-human love. The characters are fascinating both in personality and design. The erotic scenes are mostly more disturbingly beautiful than arousing (bright purple penises aren't very titillating, not to mention the whole snake thing). Strongly recommended for lovers of Japanese folklorific stories and fine art.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
B-Chiku♥ (Manga) add
monosyllable
A moderately entertaining seven chapter vanilla hentai anthology from the pseudonymous author/artist DISTANCE. All of the stories are good, none outstandingly so. The artwork is perhaps the best element, above average, with busty and attractive but not particularly interesting characters disporting themselves themselves in a series of workmanlike sexual encounters. Some nice, almost tangible x-ray work was my favourite art element. I might be a little jaded, and didn't find any of the chapters more than mildly spicy, but they hit all the right notes if you're a vanilla fan. Solidly good hentai: recommend, but you can probably do better.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2016
Cream Pie (Manga) add
monosyllable
The cover art alone should be sufficient clue that this one-shot is a rape story, one of Mentaiko's (Itto's) explicit-but-not-erotic tales. Despite the protagonist being raped-until-he-cums-despite-himself, and an arguably (but ambiguous) happy ending, the story sits on the disturbing side of the line most of the way through. If being raped with a monster cock is your thing, you might get more from it than I did. Gorgeously illustrated by the talented author - that cover with its degraded bara boy is delicious - Cream Pie did keep my interest through its admittedly brief length. Recommended for fans of the author or disturbing tales.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2016
Shishunki Bitter Change (Manga) add
MaskettaSenpai
"Shishunki Bitter Change", or "Gender Bender: Can't Return to Sender" isn't great. I'd hesitate to call it good, but I certainly can't call it bad, either. It's just serviceable. It's a light, breezy read with some chuckles and a few moments of genuine pathos but there's little else too it than that.

Maybe that's all you want, but personally I like a little cheese on my crackers.

Having the characters swap at an early age and then committing to it as they continue to age up through High School, with all the angst that comes with, is an interesting direction to take, and there's plenty of room to mine for drama or comedy, but it feels like it only skims the surface more often than not. The drama's never too deep and the comedy's never uproarious, so it often treads this middle ground of being just funny or compelling enough to keep you reading, but not enough to leave any lasting impression or have more than a handful of effective moments.

How many times can two characters stand face to face, cry, hug, and completely wall up before we've gone through every variation?

The pace is blistering fast, and that might keep SBC from taking the time to mine the premise for all its worth, but the bigger issue is likely the characters. The two leads are great. They're cliches, yeah, but they an earnest sort of chemistry and bounce off each other well. The problem is more with the rest of the cast, and by that I mean there isn't one. Most everyone else here is entirely flat, one-note, and forgettable. If you're on this site, you know these character types by heart. Don't expect surprises.

Also, the whole world knows your taste is shit and sniggers behind your back.

The biggest hindrance point is the art. I'd call it bog standard but I think bogs have more detail and variety. Backgrounds and foregrounds are sparse and bare, utterly devoid of character, the paneling is flat and rarely changes, and there's so much filler that it makes you wonder how long each chapter would be if you just cut every panel of white space and by the numbers establishing shots.

They photoshop the plaid patterns on the pants. Come on, it's 2016, people. Have you not noticed the year in which we are living, which is the current one?

It gets the job done, it rides the threshold of competence, but it's so lackluster and phoned in that it's almost superfluous. Why bother if you're not going to bother at all? We got books now.

For all the shit-picking and nit-flinging this is still enjoyable. Like I said, there are some nice moments; it's never quite touching, but it's close enough that you can give it credit and round up. SBC's amusing enough, but what could've been a real neat sort of story just ends up being alright. It okay.

If SBC happens to tumble onto your screen and that red x button at the top of your read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2016
Akuma na Eros (Manga) add
kay-love
I gave this manga a rating of "good" only because the concept was interesting. Other than that, I would say its just "fine." Something to read when you're bored and feel like reading something for the sake of just reading something.

The concept of the whole story is pretty interesting. A young girl is manipulated into making a deal with the devil to get her crush to notice her...that is how it all begins. Now I would like to say where the rest of the story goes, but I think there was an element of surprise in how things progressed so I will refrain. However, I like how layers and layers were added to the original plot. That is what made the story interesting. It has quite a few biblical references and creates conflict between the concept of evil and good in a romantic way.

With that being said, this story lacks a lot. Firstly, there is not much depth at all. The dialogue between the characters is quite cheesy and as some others said, comical. The characters lack the complexity that a story like this would require to make it epic. It is all pretty basic and bland, so don't expect much. It sucks to say that because again, I really think the concept was the best part, but it lost the potential to be awesome because of how basic and quick everything was.

The art style really is not bad, I don't think there was much issue with this. It was easy to follow along, and the panel was done properly.

The characters, you have one bad guy, one good guy, one naive girl and a crow. There is not much else to say, nothing too major with these characters because they do follow their typical roles.

Like I said, this story had major potential but it wasn't executed that well, with that being said, it was not horrible.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2016
Nipple Boy Fragments (Manga) add
monosyllable
A great collection of salacious shota stories, each cute, amusing and sexy. The artwork is superb, full of vivid, erotically-charged sex scenes and cute supple characters overwhelmed by the intensity of sensation, with nipple play a consistent, though not overwhelming, theme (concentrated strongly in the three elaborately kinky and standout nipple boy stories, obviously). There's at least a passing nod to a wide variety of kinks, so something for everyone. Also notable is the liquidity of the encounters, with drool and assorted other fluids lavishly rendered as they gush, drip or ooze (always good to see a nice sloppy kiss). Strongly recommended.
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2016
Pure Days (Manga) add
monosyllable
Very enjoyable ten-chapter anthology of stories by Shinichi Makinosaka, all amusing and erotic, exploring various themes from incest to crossdressing. Personal favourite would probably be story six, Futari dake no Island (An Island Only for Us). A minor weakness of the collection would be the previously mentioned crossdressing-themed maid cafe stories, which disappoint in not engaging with the fetishistic aspects of transvestism (the element is used more as a disguise). Great, sexy artwork, full of voluptuous girls and cute guys who are all revealed to possess unexpectedly large, engorged, somehow angry-looking cocks. Sex scenes are well-illustrated and laid out for impact. Strong recommend.
I found this review Helpful
[1] 2 3 ... 20