Mushoku Tensei: Isekai Ittara Honki Dasu
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Mushoku Tensei: Isekai Ittara Honki Dasu

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation
Japanese: 無職転生 ~異世界行ったら本気だす~

Information

Type: Novel
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 23, 2014 to ?
Genres: FantasyFantasy
Authors: Rifujin na Magonote (Story), Sirotaka (Art)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 87168,716 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #992
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #385
Members: 26,375
Favorites: 1,646

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Sep 14, 2014
AixDivadis (All reviews)
If you are a tl;dr person, just scroll down to the very bottom where I have included a summary. This is a review of the web light novel.

I know I'm going to get a lot of hate for giving such a low score, but I'd greatly appreciate it if you commented to me why you disagree with my points and you could convince me of my errors. There are no spoilers in this review, I am writing this mostly for the sake of those who are considering reading this.

First thing you should know is that Mushoku Tensei is escapist literature - wish fulfilment - read more
Sep 23, 2014
JustMayonnaise (All reviews)
WARNING: This novel contains mature content and many plot twists!

"This time I'll really live my life to the fullest with no regrets!" -Rudeus Greyrat

Normally, a review that is written before the manga/novel is finished should be considered incomplete. Having a review written when it lack of information lacks credibility and is unable to judge the worth of the entire story. I wrote this review because the current reviews do not give the novel justice as they're all reviews with a similar point of view. Noticing the lack of variety I decided to post my own review which will side with the other half of the read more
Dec 9, 2015
hoopla123 (All reviews)
Edit (11/18/2016): This review has been edited to reflect on the series as a whole after the latest arcs that have not been included in this review during the time it was written (the arcs being Overthrow the King Dragon King, Jobless Oblige, The Ancient Dragon's Old Tale and a bunch of Redundancy Chapters.)

If you have stumbled upon this review, you are probably having trouble deciding whether or not to read this novel. This is where I come in and let you know why I believe this novel is one of the best Web Novel/Light Novel the medium has to offer.

-THE FOLLOWING IS A read more
Nov 7, 2014
Robertest (All reviews)
This one is a "Must Read book".
Is well written with a lot of details to help you get immerse in the story and the world of Rudeus.
realistic character development not just the MC but also the other characters, it is a slow change resulting of the different realizations that each character reach as they grow up and not just a twist of personality caused by a major event. Great twists in the story. Well is not finish that's is the only bad point and that the MC is a pervert. I pretty much read every chapter publish so a can assure you the quality read more
Nov 24, 2015
Aszao (All reviews)
Moderator Edit: This review may contain spoilers.

Hi there, you want to know if this novel is worth it? Then let me tell you the reasons why this novel is overrated and why the MC is one of the worst that exist.

First of all, i read many volumes, at least 200+ chapters. I thought that i should give it a chance, maybe the story and the MC will improve. But that was unfortunately not the case.

The MC: Rudeus Greyart - A NEET, who masturbates on the funeral of his parents. Ok. This is how the novel starts. I think, wait what??!?! Why?! Did his parents do read more
Oct 3, 2014
ththth12 (All reviews)
This is both my review and the answer to some other reviews, so here it goes;

1. The world in these novels shares a lot of common things with other fantasy stories, yet has enough unique features to make it interesting to read. It’s very fun to learn and experience it together with the main character.

2. This story is certainly wish fulfillment; just like almost every fantasy story. Most blatant ones being something like Harry Potter. And that’s perfectly fine, because we read these stories to experience wish fulfillment. MC in this story is not Gary Stu; just having powerful magic power does to make you one. He read more
Oct 27, 2014
Vudude (All reviews)
Mushoku Tensei is the kind of story you read when you want to escape from reality for a bit. It's a wish fulfillment fantasy in the ultimate sense.

Story 9/10
The story is well-written with good pacing and interesting twists and turns. Some parts of the story drag on a bit with very obvious foreshadowing with a "reveal" at the end, but these parts aren't long compared to the rest of the story.

Art 8/10
Not really relevant seeing how it's a novel, but the cover pages looked nice I suppose?

Character 8/10
The characters are an interesting bunch, at some times being well-written and well-developed, and other times being read more
Dec 1, 2015
Quintenzee (All reviews)
[suggestions and advice concerning this review and especially my use of English are always welcome]

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"This time I'll really live my life to the fullest with no regrets!" ~Rudeus Greyrat.
The quote included in the top review is, while being representative for the novel, annoying. Rudeus does indeed exactly as he stated he would, he just doesn't deserve it.

Mushoky Tensei is one of the more well known and popular reincarnation stories, and I don't know why. Maybe everyone started reading back when the story hadn't progressed much and was still interesting, but apart from the first few volumes, there isn't much interesting to see.

Character: 4
The main character read more
Feb 2, 2016
Guity3 (All reviews)
Should you read this? That's sorta the big question here and for those of you who only want to know that it should be covered in the first part very rapidly. If you want more in depth this will be getting rather long as I explain each point a little more. For a story such as this I don’t think a number scale really shows a good representation of whether or not to read the series, this story is incredibly long and a wish fulfillment to the extreme, as such I would say it is more important to be the target audience than an objective read more
Mar 26, 2015
blazingraz36 (All reviews)
|| Novel Recommendation And Review ||

Novel - Mushoku Tensei: Isekai Ittara Honki Dasu
Authors - Rifujin na Magonote (Story), Sirotaka (Art)
Genres - Action, Adventure, Fantasy, War, Tragedy etc.

(Note - this review is made till i read till volume 9)

Introduction :-
The Moment when you get the chance to relive your life, What will you do? Not only that, you are reincarnated in the world of fantasy, will you try to get back? will you become the strongest in the universe? will you enjoy life like a normal? there are countless possibilities you could choose from. But, Not for the main protagonist, his life sucked in his previous read more
Nov 5, 2015
justanotherhuman (All reviews)
Ive read up to volume 19, and here's a very honest review. Trust me, you must read mine. There's no major spoilers.
Im not writing about the summary of the volumes, so dont worry, im reviewing how bad and good the volumes are.

Volume 1 -
very good. It made me want to read more, character development was good. Makes you think of all the possibilities Rudi could become.

volume 2 until maybe volume 10 and 11 -
panties, perverted stuff, sexual desires more perverted stuff. Pretty much no character development. Did I mention panties? its like reading 50 shades of gray but worst. seems like the author read more
Jul 27, 2015
MadDemon1237 (All reviews)
It is every fantasy reader’s dream to be able to go to another world. However, in this Japanese light novel series, readers can actually learn what it could be like to be born in one. Mushoku Tensei—Isekai Ittara Honki Dasu, or just Mushoku Tensei, is written by Rifujin na Magonote. I loosely translate the full title to mean Jobless Reincarnation—Living Seriously If Going to Another World. This tale of swords and magic features a man from the modern world that is reincarnated into a baby of the Asura Kingdom, a nation within a fantasy world. The good points of this read more
Jul 8, 2016
Xaractis (All reviews)
"Roxy's Extra Virgin Olive Oil has disappeared, and it has lost its divinity" - Rudeus

Hey everyone, in my review I will be write about the best things of Mushoku Tensei and why I enjoyed it so much. Starting off we'll introduce the plot briefly.
So Mushoku Tensei is about a story of a 33 year old NEET who dies in a Truck accident and is sent to another world. Seems like your ordinary Reincarnation story right? Well its true, the concept seems pretty ordinary compared to most isekai stories out there but I would say this isekai stands out the most as it boasts a read more
Dec 15, 2016
unknownzzz (All reviews)
Everyone who reads this will be like:

"I would be completely satisfied if my life's biography was like this".

____

I am a speed reader. I Read all the 261 chapters within 7 days.
Story flow is great, timeline is great; A real piece of art.

Notes:
1) When characters are brought in, enough history is mentioned for a smooth transaction (unlike bleach).

2) TIME DOES PASS, sections can be spans of time from hours to years. This really makes these novels stand out. Maturing and growing takes time.
(the reader is kept in the loop with things like, "It's been 3 months since ____")

3) Everyone has skills in their read more
Apr 19, 2016
JoeMacedon (All reviews)
Tl;dr: Mushoku Tensei, behind the apparent otaku-pandering, is a satisfyingly concluded magical fantasy coming of age story full of action, laughs, and thought-provoking feels.
_______________________________
WARNING: INCOMING WALL OF TEXT, AND SOME SPOILERS. This review may be bit hefty, but I feel compelled to explain why this series deserves to be read.
_____________________________________________________

At first glance, Mushoku Tensei: Isekai Ittara Honki Dasu looks like another one of those "modern person gets a 2nd chance at life in a magical fantasy setting" stories that has seen countless incarnations in past years. Having read the web novels to the main story's conclusion as of 2016, I can say that it is read more
Dec 12, 2015
Pdev0797 (All reviews)
I love this novel.I haven't read anything so well planned and descriptive in a long time.What I've observed is this novel is a hit-or-miss. I've only met people who either think that it's awesome or those that think it utterly sucks.I've never met anyone who thinks it's just average.

The story and setting are great.
The style it's written in is fantastic.

Be warned, this novel is written in first-person with a lot of fleeting thoughts, so you need to keep in mind that a lot of things in the novel are just random thoughts of the protagonist, and nothing serious.

The novel is a roller coaster, encompassing various read more
Jul 20, 2020
SirCrepes (All reviews)
Despite being a web novel, I have never, until now, experienced a sustained exertion of the act of reading as I have now with this novel. On average, I've found myself reading at least 3 hours every day, focused on this one epic, for at least 3 weeks.

Initially, it was the wonder - like many of the reincarnation genre, it places the perspective of the reader into a fantasy world. Open the wardrobe, and see yourself as the main character. This inviting sensation is difficult to get rid of, but as the books pile on, the effect wears away. As the main character slowly gets read more
Sep 13, 2015
metafalica (All reviews)
Mushoku Tensei is the story of a NEET (Not in Employment, Education, or Training) who is kicked out of his house and then almost immediately dies saving a few kids. He is then reincarnated in another world of sword and sorcery as Rudeus Greyrat. In this new world, Rudi attempts to become a better person and accomplish what he was not able to in his old life. There are some twists that push Rudi along a certain direction in his life.

What Mushoku Tensei does well is that it attempts to cover a large portion of Rudi's life, from childhood to adulthood. During this time, we read more
Aug 25, 2017
NaKriminal (All reviews)
First time writing a review on first time finishing a light novel + web novel. It had a very good start, read the manga, enjoyed it very much, so decided to read the light novel. But through out the story, the whole mood, or type of story changed. First it was OP guy type of thing, but then it turned into some sort of romance??? i think...... the pace was very weird and got boring a few times. But then after going back to the op thing it changed to mystery sort of story. The pace was like me running. Going fast for a read more