Houseki no Kuni
Land of the Lustrous
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Houseki no Kuni

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 宝石の国
English: Land of the Lustrous
German: Das Land der Juwelen
Spanish: La tierra de las gemas
French: L'Ère des Cristaux
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Oct 25, 2012 to ?
Genres: Action Action, Drama Drama, Fantasy Fantasy
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Afternoon
Authors: Ichikawa, Haruko (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.901 (scored by 2323923,239 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #182
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #139
Members: 75,337
Favorites: 8,445

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 29, 2020
somedudelmao (All reviews)
Evokes a sense of dread that few things can. Every new chapter things get a little bit worse, and worse. It's a slow buildup to complete and total disaster, and at the center is Phos. The art in this manga is absolutely phenominal, and it would behoove me to not mention the amazing adaptation of it that at the very least matched the art. The mangaka has a mastery over expression to the point that she can accurately depict what the reader is feeling as they're reading the chapters. It can easily stand side by side with things like Punpun for that alone.
Dec 26, 2017
AmyKodokuna (All reviews)
This review is spoiler-free, I won't give you any information you wouldn't find out by searching it or by reading the first chapters.

An absolute joy to read, both on it's visuals and the writing.

"Land of the Lustrous" is captivating, it looks like nothing i have ever seen and has an amazing use of the constant black background to craft loads of striking scenes coupled with dialogue that perfectly fits what it's trying to convey, this wouldn't be nearly as much of a masterpiece if didn't had this specific artwork. While it may not be as detailed as most manga are, this kind of composition works read more
Mar 2, 2017
fancyjasper (All reviews)
This is one of my top manga series of all time.It's going to be getting an official English release this year and despite the series not being finished yet, i thought it'd be a good time to write a review of it for anyone who's curious about it.
------------------
Story+Characters
------------------
The story is very interesting and contains a lot of mysteries. It presents many questions about this world and it's characters. Like, who and what are the moon people? What is the managers goal? Where do these gems come from? and is there anyone else on this world?The series is not all dark and depressing either,as there is read more
Nov 11, 2017
youresquiddingme (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

I really do like Houseki no Kuni's wonderful characters and whimsical fantasy tone -- until it loses it along with most of its charm and Phosphophyllite's sanity. From chapter 19 onward, Houseki no Kuni's tone and pacing suffer bouts of schizophrenia. Excessive and often repetitive action scenes drag out the midsection of the currently released chapters, littered with gratuitous "deaths". The most interesting and nuanced characters are sidelined until all that's really left to focus on is Phos, Cairngorm, and Adamant -- and maybe Cinnabar, too, since the mangaka really likes to remind you that Cinnabar exists just as you're about to forget.

Houseki no read more
Apr 5, 2017
J_Kazue (All reviews)
One of my top rated manga, it has an uncommon and interesting story, due to the mysterious vibes it gives off mostly because of the lack of background information. (There are many clues around the series which i personally think that they are currently in a post apocalyptic earth whose humans 'dissapeared')

Character
Although, the change of personality because of a traumatic experience is similar to other mangas such as Tokyo Ghoul. The main character of Houseki no Kuni whose name is Phos has a particular character development that differs from them. Maybe it is probably because of her/his lack of perception and the ways she/he tries read more
Oct 21, 2020
ACunit (All reviews)
This is the one and only manga that I actually read through and finished (well it is ongoing but whatever).
After watching the anime I was basically rolling on the floor drooling for more. The setting, characters, all were so captivating. Not to mention all the Buddhist parallels and symbolism that is integrated into the plot and world. Will not discuss this here it would be way too long, but is is very interesting if anyone is curious.
The art is not the best but whatever.

In short the story is about what it means being human and the question of stagnation and suffering. If that read more
Aug 25, 2019
SsyNoYori (All reviews)
I'm not a huge fan of the way the plot has been progressing lately (spoil chapter 80).

I like this series, but I can't help but feel the quality of the writing has degraded ever since Phos went to the moon, so I thought I'd discuss it a little here and get some opinions. This might get a little long, so there's a TL;DR in the bottom.

The major issue with this arc is that we're switching from a mostly character-driven story to a mostly plot-driven story. While LotL obviously has a good plot, most of it came from how characters interact with each other and Phos read more
Jan 13, 2015
Revia (All reviews)
Houseki no Kuni tells a strange story standing somewhere between fantasy and sci-fi, good and bad, strange and yet addicting. It is something with the overall feeling of intertwining sorrow, nostalgia, anger and hope that makes this manga enjoyable, rather than the plot and the characters.

Phos, our main character, is like the ugly duckling of the Gem Kingdom - energetic, nice and loving, but still weak and clumsy, among a nation of fighters. And the plot is straightforward - about the growing of Phos in a strange desert-like world. I would say that the manga indeed lacks something in the development of the read more
Jul 11, 2020
rectified_rascal (All reviews)
Imagine a society where there is no gender, no race, no scarcity of resources and where beings are immortal. How would such a society function? Would such a society be a utopia? Would members of such a hypothetical society still fight with one another? What could even serve as a cause to fight? And if there is fighting, how would members of such a society reconcile with one other? How does one forgive an immortal enemy? These are just some of the heady themes that Houseki no Kuni (Land of the Jewels) has to ask of its reader.

Set on Earth, tens of thousands in read more
Oct 24, 2021
LordSpoice (All reviews)
Slow burn the manga. It takes a while for this manga to pick up the pace and get good, but once it does it is easily one of the greatest manga out right now. The story focuses around a character, Phos, who is trying to find their place in a post-apocalyptic Earth where the only remaining humans are literal rock people, fish, and ghosts from the moon which are trying to collect them. With so much ambiguity, one might get the impression that the author doesn't really know what they're doing, but that is clearly not the case here. I'm gonna be referring to all read more
Sep 13, 2021
mramirez96 (All reviews)
WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAIN SPOILERS

Many people had told me that this manga is one of the best out there and really underrated. When I read it until the last chapter currently published (95), I was really dissapointed, however, there are some funny aspects that I've found during the reading. So let's check it out together:

1. Phos: It's history in the timeline of the series, most of the time, is summarized in: A character X attacks it, someone has the rescue it, lose parts of his body and gain new abilities depending on what the script needs at the moment. This happened a lot of times. read more
Aug 3, 2021
Greppinn (All reviews)
Houseki no Kuni is as beautiful as it is tragic. I tend to try to avoid flowery language in my reviews, and I am a strong proponent that media can just be entertaining and fun, not always necessarily incredibly nuanced. However, I am very much capable of recognizing a distinctly intelligent work when I see it. Houseki no Kuni, on a visual standpoint, is unlike any manga I have ever read, or likely will ever read. Haruko Ichikawa's art is unbelievable, almost (fittingly) alien at times, and yet never feels like it's trying too hard. The character designs are fascinating and varied, and the world read more
Apr 6, 2021
bigbigboyman (All reviews)
Story: 10

While the starting arcs were pretty repetitive I still enjoyed them a lot because the story showed that Phos' actions always had consequences. The way the story evolved was amazing and the series kept my interest with how fast characters and concepts come and go. All the twists were amazing and were very in-your-face kinda like "yeah this is the new normal now fuck you". The plot and progression of this manga are one of the most original i've ever seen.

Art: 9

The art is amazing and extremely unique, the volume covers especially. The cell-shading of the volume covers remind me of read more
Mar 27, 2021
MixalHain (All reviews)
This is a review up to chapter 36, because that's all I've read.

This manga is very interesting. No not interesting because it grabs your attention, but it makes me want to talk about it so much.

Let's start with the art. Although the basic art style is not anything insane, the dark shading and unique character designs are really the main highlights of this manga. Characters look unique, and most of thin and tall, often many of them have very feminine traits, like long hair, smaller hands and longer fingers, as well as more refined and smooth eyes. This adds a layer to the read more
May 14, 2021
Nuclear_Nessa (All reviews)
(TL;DR below)
I watched the anime first and thought I needed more Houseki no Kuni in my life. That was a mistake! Early on, this manga is fantastic. It has really good characters and sets up some fun little plot lines for the growth of those characters. You'll wonder what kind of job Phos will end up finding for themself, or for Cinnabar, for that matter. You'll wonder how Dia will come to grips with their jealousy towards Bort. There's also the matter of Rutile and Padparadscha's complex dynamic of probable romantic feelings and a hopeless medical situation. You'll want a resolution on all these great read more
May 14, 2021
JoakimIT (All reviews)
To me, this was like a somewhat high quality whiskey.
I don't really like whiskey.

I won't talk about specific spoilers, but about the type of manga this is and becomes, which I would consider spoiling it quite a bit.

The story is intriguing when it makes any progress, and I was really curious about how things would end up. The author has a general plan from the start, where he starts off with a lighthearted tone with some serious parts and then pumps up the grittyness more and more as it goes on. It was well excecuted, but not to my liking at all. Reminded me of read more
Mar 28, 2021
BasicallyAnybody (All reviews)
Ok, so, this is a really hard one to talk about.

I'm mostly writing this review because most of the ones published are from earlier points of the story and considering how everything changes through ths story it seemed fitting to do one in it's actual point.

To describe the plot, it's centered on a main character called phosphophilite. In personality is pretty much like Akko Kagari, at least on the start, and it's goal is to find a job that it can do to help the other and find it's own place in the group.

This androginous gem is in a world where they are in constant read more
Jun 19, 2021
_Alysha_ (All reviews)
Underneath this colourful tapestry lays a demonstrably elongated conspiracy draped in the epitome of the term 'existentialism'. The self is a very daunting conception. Who are we really and what can we become. Not physically, mentally.

Houseki no Kuni delves into a state of existentialism which is profound and accepting because the characters themselves are not only mentally developed individuals but their assets as beings themselves are quite unique. I've seen a lot of people discuss this series as being the 'Steven Universe' anime just because the characters are associated with gems. This nonsensical unironic claim couldn't be further from the truth. There is so much read more
Aug 13, 2021
Reissan (All reviews)
Houseki no kuni is the one of best manga i ever read, it have an interisting story and some mysterious vibes. More i read it the more interisting. I first know houseki no kuni from the anime and then continue read the manga.

[Characters]
I like phos characteristic and some gems too, phos is the most cute gems than the other gems, but sadly when the second change of phos i started didn't that.
The other gems is good to each other, even though they hide theit true nature. like their kinship is lacking

[Story]
The story is Really Good from the beggining to the middle story. But when phos read more