Houseki no Kuni
Land of the Lustrous
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Houseki no Kuni

Alternative Titles

English: Land of the Lustrous
Japanese: 宝石の国

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Oct 25, 2012 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Ichikawa, Haruko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 8.791 (scored by 1366113,661 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #312
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #183
Members: 45,956
Favorites: 4,951

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 26, 2017
Derykasd (All reviews)
This review is spoiler-free, I won't give you any information you wouldn't find out by searching it or by reading the first chapters.

An absolute joy to read, both on it's visuals and the writing.

"Land of the Lustrous" is captivating, it looks like nothing i have ever seen and has an amazing use of the constant black background to craft loads of striking scenes coupled with dialogue that perfectly fits what it's trying to convey, this wouldn't be nearly as much of a masterpiece if didn't had this specific artwork. While it may not be as detailed as most manga are, this kind of composition works read more
Nov 11, 2017
youresquiddingme (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

I really do like Houseki no Kuni's wonderful characters and whimsical fantasy tone -- until it loses it along with most of its charm and Phosphophyllite's sanity. From chapter 19 onward, Houseki no Kuni's tone and pacing suffer bouts of schizophrenia. Excessive and often repetitive action scenes drag out the midsection of the currently released chapters, littered with gratuitous "deaths". The most interesting and nuanced characters are sidelined until all that's really left to focus on is Phos, Cairngorm, and Adamant -- and maybe Cinnabar, too, since the mangaka really likes to remind you that Cinnabar exists just as you're about to forget.

Houseki no read more
Mar 2, 2017
fancyjasper (All reviews)
This is one of my top manga series of all time.It's going to be getting an official English release this year and despite the series not being finished yet, i thought it'd be a good time to write a review of it for anyone who's curious about it.
------------------
Story+Characters
------------------
The story is very interesting and contains a lot of mysteries. It presents many questions about this world and it's characters. Like, who and what are the moon people? What is the managers goal? Where do these gems come from? and is there anyone else on this world?The series is not all dark and depressing either,as there is read more
Apr 5, 2017
J_Kazue (All reviews)
One of my top rated manga, it has an uncommon and interesting story, due to the mysterious vibes it gives off mostly because of the lack of background information. (There are many clues around the series which i personally think that they are currently in a post apocalyptic earth whose humans 'dissapeared')

Character
Although, the change of personality because of a traumatic experience is similar to other mangas such as Tokyo Ghoul. The main character of Houseki no Kuni whose name is Phos has a particular character development that differs from them. Maybe it is probably because of her/his lack of perception and the ways she/he tries read more
Aug 25, 2019
SsyNoYori (All reviews)
I'm not a huge fan of the way the plot has been progressing lately (spoil chapter 80).

I like this series, but I can't help but feel the quality of the writing has degraded ever since Phos went to the moon, so I thought I'd discuss it a little here and get some opinions. This might get a little long, so there's a TL;DR in the bottom.

The major issue with this arc is that we're switching from a mostly character-driven story to a mostly plot-driven story. While LotL obviously has a good plot, most of it came from how characters interact with each other and Phos read more
Jan 13, 2015
Revia (All reviews)
Houseki no Kuni tells a strange story standing somewhere between fantasy and sci-fi, good and bad, strange and yet addicting. It is something with the overall feeling of intertwining sorrow, nostalgia, anger and hope that makes this manga enjoyable, rather than the plot and the characters.

Phos, our main character, is like the ugly duckling of the Gem Kingdom - energetic, nice and loving, but still weak and clumsy, among a nation of fighters. And the plot is straightforward - about the growing of Phos in a strange desert-like world. I would say that the manga indeed lacks something in the development of the read more
Feb 2, 2019
kozygirl (All reviews)

"If every part of a ship is replaced, is it still the same ship?"

Now, this is only my second review, so bear with me here!

To preface, this manga series is one of, if not, my favorite. However, I won't let my bias towards this series get in the way of this review. This is a REVIEW, after all.

Story - 7

To start this out: This series looks like K-ON! + the rock exhibit at your local museum, doesn't it? Well, then you'd be wrong. Very, very, very, very wrong.

Now, I'm not going to summarize the story, for that would be getting into spoiler territory. But, read more
Jul 11, 2020
rectified_rascal (All reviews)
Imagine a society where there is no gender, no race, no scarcity of resources and where beings are immortal. How would such a society function? Would such a society be a utopia? Would members of such a hypothetical society still fight with one another? What could even serve as a cause to fight? And if there is fighting, how would members of such a society reconcile with one other? How does one forgive an immortal enemy? These are just some of the heady themes that Houseki no Kuni (Land of the Jewels) has to ask of its reader.

Set on Earth, tens of thousands in read more