Chainsaw Man
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Chainsaw Man

Alternative Titles

Japanese: チェンソーマン
English: Chainsaw Man
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 97
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 3, 2018 to Dec 14, 2020
Genres: Action Action, Adventure Adventure, Award Winning Award Winning
Themes: Gore Gore, Mythology Mythology
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)
Authors: Fujimoto, Tatsuki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.731 (scored by 260088260,088 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #442
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #5
Members: 419,033
Favorites: 57,489

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary Show Spoilers
Dec 14, 2020
phori (All reviews)
EDIT 06/28: As CSM is a very intense story which deals with a lot of graphic violence and difficult themes, I feel it's appropriate to provide some content warnings. Please be aware that Chainsaw Man features child neglect/abuse, gore, vomiting, grooming/psychological manipulation, and pedophilia (there's nothing explicit, but there are two adult female characters who frequently make sexual advances on Denji). If any of these things upset you or are triggers for you, then please tread carefully. With that said, here's my review! <3

--

I hate reviews that start off with unnecessary prose, so let's skip all that and get to the meat of things!

Chainsaw Man read more
Dec 16, 2020
Cindy-Uchiha (All reviews)
While rating this I've pulled out my shounen wow-those-fights-are-so-cool heart in order to review this as fair as possible for the mangaka. Still couldn't give this a high mark.

Story:
The story and worldbuilding are so incredibly weak. The mangaka pushes you straight into action and from that point on you're in a rollercoaster that's only going hard downwards with no rest, meaning that there's no time to rest and therefore no time to enjoy the hype (no light without darkness yknow).

Towards the end, the story underwent an acceleration. The story that didn't even have anything to offer, underwent a goddamn acceleration. I couldn't even believe read more
Jul 22, 2020
BlackStarxo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Chainsaw man, It always had style but it took freaking ages for its plot to come together. Nothing safe to assume about this manga, But one thing is safe to say for sure, Explosive Events and Hype =/= Good Writing. I can't blame people who came for action it's all a fast read but coming for an actual story. SORRY you're fooling yourself.

The action and setting are alright, the story and characters are forgettable and nothing more than a modern fan service for teens to relate to. Like" I want to touch some boobs"

Will Power finally freaking do something? Denji fights are getting read more
Dec 14, 2020
NextUniverse (All reviews)
(TLDR review at the bottom, as always, thanks in advance for reading)
(Major edit at the bottom lol)

If you told me to describe Chainsaw Man in one word I would grab the nearest megaphone and microphone, place the megaphone in between my mouth and the microphone, switch both devices on, and start screaming,
"AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH"

Yes. There the word 'madness' or 'chaos' doesn't even fit. The sound does a better job of explaining it. Chainsaw Man is mostly made up of death metal screaming moments and having not read anything close to this other than watching Dorohedoro and maybe reading some of Berserk, Attack on Titan, Akame ga Kill read more
Jun 3, 2021
Oxybuzz (All reviews)
“Chainsaw Man” immediately starts out with a disappointment. In “Fire Punch”, the author’s other work, you have a protagonist who fuses with fire and essentially burns permanently. A protagonist who fuses with a chainsaw and fights with it like a sword sounds less captivating in comparison.

Now this is only a minor issue as it’s not necessarily bad. What ultimately matters is if the whole package is worth it and able to provide unique qualities.

This work's strongest aspect is certainly its interesting and playful concept that becomes fairly clear early on: Humans versus fears. Anything that can plant a sense of fear in the human mind read more
Feb 21, 2021
Mywifesson (All reviews)
I've heard alot of good things about this manga and now that it has finally ended I sat down and read it all in one sitting, surprisingly this did not take much time even though there are 97 chapters the majority of the work is textless whereas some chapters of manga can take upwards of 10 minutes to read due to how dense they are CSM is the complete opposite.

The art and concept are very cool, never saw anything like it before. The problem with this manga is it does not at all live up to the hype I do not understand why its read more
Aug 7, 2020
MaliTigar (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:

Begins with the most generic and stupid moment when devil decides to /for the sake of spoilers lets say/ help MC because he want's to see more of MC dreams (aka wants to see MC achieve his goals/dreams). And what does MC does after that? He decides to make his goal to touch a female. Seriously?

Art:

Character art is meh. Devil art is good. Battle scenes are also drawn pretty good.

Character:

Terrible and unlikeable characters fill this manga. Let's start from MC who is a simp for any type of physical contact with female and would do anything for it. Not only that he is overly read more
Feb 1, 2021
Irumeanie (All reviews)
*This is a spoiler free review*

Let's start with the story/worldbuilding:
While I did find the world they were in interesting at first the author doesn't really tell you anything about how it ended up that way other a few comments here or there slipped in waaay too late into the manga. I was able to piece it together simply, for newer readers it may have been confusing.

Characters:
I don't like Denji. That's it honestly. It's not because he is a pervert, I don't care too much about perverted characters. But it would have been better if he were just a pervert. A character that lets himself be read more
Jul 1, 2020
Yuzu_Citrus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Chainsaw Man is a breath of fresh air in the realm of shounen manga, the premise is wonderfully executed with its wonderful story, characters, atmosphere and overall tone. It is such a fun manga to read and experience through as it grasps your attention and keeps you thrilled throughout.

The characters are one of this manga's main attractions, all of them feel like real people with their own personalities, growth and ambitions. The main cast have the seemingly virtuous duty of killing the powerful and dangerous monsters that are devils, but they are never portrayed as the "good guys," like so many other shounen do. read more
Feb 9, 2019
fettywapfan (All reviews)
Preliminary
With less than 1,000 members and only one other review at the time of posting this, I thought I should write this so that more people will hopefully read it. This is my first review by the way!

Story - 8
The story is pretty simple so far, but that is not a bad thing! It's a shounen jump manga so fight scenes are frequent and there are comedic elements as well. What sets this manga apart though is the characters and the monsters. I'll elaborate on the characters in the "Character" section, but the monsters are really great. Because of the premise, there are pretty much read more
Mar 6, 2022
Huskkay (All reviews)
Plot
Where to start? It's nonsensical.
Pretty much all of it boils down to one thing: The author wanted to progress through the story at Mach speed. Never did he take his time to write compelling plot points or at least some interesting dialogue. Everything about this manga feels like mindless and soulless action fodder. It is just so irritating because the concept behind Chainsaw Man had a lot of potential to be great.
At its core, CSM is an action manga, but the fights are weak. They are over way too fast, every single one of them boiled down to having a one-shot kill conclusion. That is read more
Aug 19, 2021
Nerf_Jesus (All reviews)
Chainsaw Man is a fun read to tag along which I found very, very promising when I first started reading it, seriously, you read the dialogue, which feels contemporary and no-nonsense, you see the AWESOME art behind it, and it does feel like a big time manga, but as you get near the ending.. It first starts sagging, then just slowly descends into an unorganized mess..Please do hear me out, don't just flag me as a "hater" for giving it a low score, I have some things to say; As I was saying, it quickly becomes apparent that there is no 'substance' read more
Sep 13, 2020
Curiouswanderer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've heard of this manga series a good few times by Joey (The Anime Man) and also, people who like No Guns Life. At first it was a pretty good start because we got to explore how our main character, Denji got around to being a chainsaw dude in the first place. I really liked his attitude of being laid back and always saying funny remarks with some of the characters. I did considerably get a few chuckles out of the comedy sides of things involved in this manga. I mean , this manga isn't THAT terrible but I think the boob jokes were rather read more
Jan 7, 2022
Voremio (All reviews)
Vague spoilers will be mentioned
Chainsaw man is a huge waste of time. Had it been written by someone who can write I feel it would have potential. The plot is messy, inconsistent, and confusing and most characters have no real purpose.

The story:
Even if it makes an attempt to deviate from the norm, Chainsaw Man is just another run of the mill “beat em up” shounen manga. It’s very clear that the story was there to accompany the fight scenes and not the other way around. It comes off as lazy, thoughtless, and messy. There were attempts at plot twists and foreshadowing, but almost none read more
Jun 9, 2022
CherryPunch (All reviews)
I really don't even know where to start with this as I've never felt compelled to write a review until now.

I've been told for months that Chainsaw Man was the next "big thing" so I figured hey why not read it, I've never felt so mislead in my entire life.

Story -
I actually love the idea of the story, but it's executed extremely poorly.

The story is generic and moves at a snails pace for the most part, there are random spurts where the pace just flings you through as if you're going through a time skip but you aren't. The last 20 or so read more
Jul 4, 2021
234Mannan (All reviews)
***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS***

Disclaimer "I might get some hate for this"
I heard it alot that Chainsaw man is the best new generation shounen
Was excited? Yeah but in the end
Seriously...
I cant emphasize enough on how flawed that statement was...
It feels as though that the author wanted to show that he could write something different and "adult" when in reality it feels like a story written by a 12 year old with a pathetic attempt to break "common shounen tropes"
Hilariously it does fall into that and i would address that later
CSM is ridiculously dumb and not in a good way(dumb series do end up being read more
Dec 14, 2020
Luubie (All reviews)
Chainsaw Man ends at its peak of popularity and quality and will be missed, as its reading is exclusive among manga. Who knew that Weekly Shounen Jump would hit so well this time, even more with a title above what is expected.

Obviously, everyone who reads the name laughs instantly about what the manga is about, but they are surprised by the boldness that Tatsuki Fujimoto took in building mature and spontaneous content at the same time.

For those who don't know him, he also created Fire Punch, another well-known title. But, what is Chainsaw Man about? Are your fame and positive mentions a complete exaggeration? Or read more
Apr 18, 2022
muchomexicano (All reviews)
It is a very mediocre series that i think is mainly ruined by the hype people have been feeding into it these past few years.

Story 4/10: Its a very generic story that has been done before with very slight variations on what has been done a million times with a very predictable twist in regards to the antagonist.

Art 7/10: The art was very good in terms of composition and detail however what keeps this from being any higher is that as a series focused on battles the fights are very lackluster as the power system is so basic especially in regards to the main character read more
Jan 7, 2022
awesome5 (All reviews)
After a series of 10's, I decided the public deserves a review by someone who is over the age of 14.

Story (3/10)
The beautiful thing about this manga is that the 95% of it can be explained in the following paragraph.

Me main character. Me like boobs. Me use chainsaw to kill demons. Vroom Vroom. Me have other friends who help me kill demons.

That's it. The ending throws an expected twist that really added nothing to the story, which is a shame considering the Gun Demon and Hell Arc are 1000 times better than that ending.

Art (8/10)
I'd say it was really good. Couple of panels were read more
Jun 12, 2019
NorbiSenpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR Chainsaw Man is a one of a lifetime experience. Even though the story at it's core is very simple, it certainly is not generic nor cliché. The plot may surprise even the veterans, yet it does not feel forced thanks to the world's unique atmosphere. Characters are believable, relatable and first and foremost, human. Artstyle is not objectively good, but the character designs are fresh and simply delicious. Humour is edgy and immature, but in those respective categories the comedy is very well delivered.

The Story - It is a simple one, but it serves astoundingly well as a tool to explore the characters. read more