Chikan Otoko
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Chikan Otoko

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Molester Man
Japanese: 痴漢男

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: 21
Status: Finished
Published: , 2004
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Authors: Yokota, Takuma (Story & Art)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 1929719,297 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #932
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #264
Members: 37,626
Favorites: 2,659

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 1, 2013
Ragix (All reviews)
So I know what you're thinking... A 10? Really?

Yes, really and with good reason.

Today if you ask a lot of manga readers what makes all these romance or slice of life manga that take a typical school or 'normal' life setting so infinitely great an answer tends to be "It's not boring like real-life." or "It's so exciting/thrilling compared to how it would happen in reality." Anyone who thinks this way now I'd like you to take a seat and read this manga. Chikan Otoko(Molester Man) is a 21 chapter manga with comedy, romance, drama and so-on. What makes this manga particularly different from read more
Nov 25, 2013
Stellio (All reviews)
There is a common problem with character-driven stories that is often overlooked. They're supposed to engage the characters in various trials and tribulations, and by way of these occurrences, shape them into stronger individuals. It sounds simple, yet so many works fail to create memorable characters, instead relying on banal and insipid cliches to make the work seem more than it is.

Chikan Otoko is the antithesis to this trend.

It relies on the most frivolous acts and interactions between characters to naturally explicate the beauties of everyday life and characters. Moreover, Chikan Otoko never tries to be more than it is; and through its sincerity, it read more
Jan 6, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
The plot is somewhat basic, but it's also unpredictable. There is a highly realistic element to it, accented by the simplicity, which adds to it's emotional impact. Even though Yokota Takuma did not actually invent the story, he does deserve some credit for its pacing and exceptional balance between comedy and drama.


Some might criticize the sketchy art style, but I thought it complimented the minimalist nature of the plot exceedingly well. It got the point across, while managing to make the characters unique and expressive. There was never a part when I was blown away by the art, but never a part when I thought read more
Dec 27, 2012
Hyperbolic33 (All reviews)
Ok so I've never written a review before, but I thought this manga deserved one sooo here I go:

Story (9.5 round it up idk) - The story is freakin hilarious ok. The manga has this slice-of-life feel, but it does have some sort of plot where Molester fumbles through his relationships with this group of girls after he gets mistaken for a molester by one of them (Miss Understanding). It's very realistic and down to earth, like I can really relate to Molester and all his awkward, otaku, nerdyness. At the same time though the story still keeps this manga like feeling that is read more
Jul 27, 2016
Darmaiad (All reviews)
Chikan Otoko was inspired from a post in a certain forum, that read something along the lines of “Today I was mistaken for a stalker”. Indeed that is how the manga begins. Actually, our protagonist seems like a suspicious guy due to his foul bachelor lifestyle; 20 years old, living alone, half-assing his studies, and acts as a woman repellent. His gateway out of his half-hikikkomori, irl-friendless lifestyle is the darkest corner of the forum, where the foulest of bachelor's lurk, ready to troll and humiliate. A most glorious lifestyle. Hail to those of us who have experienced it (except the repellent part. I sure read more
Apr 28, 2013
badgerkins (All reviews)
Molester Man? What is this, some feminist enraging hentai manga involving schoolgirl rape? Absolutely wrong! If the name of this doujin put you off reading it then do not be mistaken as it is nothing like what it sounds and lets be honest; how on earth could a rape hentai make it into the top 10? What you'll get is a funny tale of a lonely otaku man that gets mistaken for being a molester and the events thereafter where he is able to befriend the women that misunderstands him and also falls into her group of friends and eventually finds love with ups and read more
Jan 2, 2013
Sadetion (All reviews)
“You’re so narrow-minded!!”
“I’m broad-minded!!”

Life. What is its meaning? Why are we here? Why were we born? Depending on the one you ask these questions, the answers could be several, or none. However, someone will eventually reply: love. Life is nothing more than a quest for love.
Love is no trifling matter. Sometimes making a relationship work is tough. More common, however, is the problem of actually managing to establish a relationship with someone we love. The focus of this doujinshi is the latter. Our socially awkward main character, a guy in his 20’s with no friends or close ties to his family, boringly attending college every read more
Jan 18, 2013
TAK3Z0 (All reviews)
Story - 8
Basically whole manga is retelling a thread from 2ch where a otaku asks for help because he (Molester Man) was mistaken for molester. He takes a advice from 2ch and tries make a move on girl(Miss Understanding) who mistook him for molester. Thanks to this Molester Man meets new friends and tries to make progress in his relationship with Miss Understanding. He founds out thats not so simple but with advices from 2ch he realizes that there are more doors open for him....

Art - 6
Art is pretty simple and sketchy. At the start it hasn't many backgrounds and mainly focusses on characters, that's read more
Sep 6, 2015
Keatle (All reviews)
There is a bit of profanity in this review, be warned.

Pre-conceptions are a powerful thing, people judge each other fairly quickly, reach conclusions before even talking to someone and let that define their (lack of) interactions. But, sometimes, it is possible to ignore those conceptions and build something new in its place. This is the basis for Chikan Otoko.

Chikan Otoko (Molester Man) is a romance doujin (Japanese indie comic) that adapts a story out of 2chan thread, popularly known as Molester Man. Takuma Yokota, most famous for his work on Onanie Master Kurosawa, adapted the story to the doujin format. Before starting, none of the read more
Jan 9, 2013
whatevere5656 (All reviews)
It all started with my usual habit of checking top anime and top manga sections and i found something unusual. "Chikan Otoko/Molester Man". What's this? I thought it was a hentai manga. How come a hentai manga ends up with a ridiculously high rank? It even surpasses Slam Dunk -Best manga i've ever read. Time passes and here i am writing this sentence. Yes, i am giving it a 9.


Story (9)
A 2chan-er is misunderstood as a stalker/molester by a girl because he is walking behind that girl with an you-know-otaku/molester/stalker-face. For those who have read much hentai manga or such, you are wrong. It's not read more
Jan 1, 2013
animereviewer (All reviews)
Another well drawn by YOKO, based off a 2chan story, similar to train man (densha otoko). Yes, there is sex.

As it starts off, an otaku friendless man is mistaken as a molester during a walk, and the story revolves around the man and his relationships with various people he meets due to the incident.

You can instantly see the art is very similar to Masturbation Master. Rough sketches, no rulers, no ink, all pencil. Not very professional like, but it was a web comic. I actually like this style.

This is a story about relationships. Not like Kimi no Iru Machi with 200+ chapters that drags read more
Dec 4, 2020
playa03 (All reviews)
I'm very conflicted about this story. I didn't really like it, but I couldn't put it down. A large portion of this story is dialogue through texting or online forums, making this story seen much longer than 21 chapters. Each chapter is also pretty long as well. The mc isn't very likable, frankly he's a pos. In the story there are really only 4 important characters, and pretty much everyone else is a gag or only there to move exactly one piece of the plot. I found the story pretty believable, but the whole love triangle felt rushed. I felt the humor was more miss read more
Oct 18, 2020
Havos44 (All reviews)
Molester Man is a manga based on a real story posted on 2ch and tells the story of how the Molester Man (Molester) was mistaken for a stalker by Miss Understanding, and how they overcame their personal challenges while slowly getting closer to each other.

Story: 9/10
One day our protagonist (Molester Man) was walking so happily down the street, when a girl (Miss Understanding) who was walking in front of him starts looking at him worriedly and runs away. He starts looking around and follows her to help her in case there is someone behind her, when that someone, ironically, was him. Immediately the girl started read more
Jan 2, 2013
junglepenguin (All reviews)
So I've noticed that a bunch of people have been giving this the grand and perfect score of 10. I don't doubt that these people have been impressed by this series any less than what would normally be indicated by a score of 10, but I did feel like there was a need to step in and say "calm down, kids".

Before you start picking on the wise guy who came to interrupt the party, I'd like to say that, as someone who had the sheer fortune of finding this gem from the release of its first translated chapter, I've enjoyed myself through and through reading read more
Dec 29, 2015
sayanblaze (All reviews)
Molester Man (Chikan Otoko)

Yes,the name may sound repulsive,weird and undeniably like a hentai but i can assure you that this manga is so much more than just a webcomic people know it for.
"Based off a real story which was posted on 2ch, Chikan Otoko is the story of how Molester Man is mistaken for a stalker by Miss Understanding, and how they overcome their personal challenges while slowly growing closer to each other."- This is what's there in the summary region of every manga site you will find this manga in.Although it sounds a bit far-fetched and unreasonable , molester man brings a whole read more
Aug 21, 2020
Ceryci (All reviews)
This is the kind of romance i wish for in every manga i decide to read.
one where the characters are allowed to develop independent of the relationship that is coming and have full personalities. Creating a much more memorable experience.

Its story kept you guessing and wondering and hoping along its path.
The best girl winning also helps lol

This manga is amazing probably because it was based on a real life story but it also proves why more manga in the romance genre should have some more realism to them.
Its a story of hope that even a shutin anime loving weeb can find someone who read more
Jun 4, 2013
SoushiroNig (All reviews)
well ... what to talk about this manga ...
He can hold you from the beginning of the plot with the confusions that the main character arranges with the development the story.
Chikan Otoko has the right proportion of romance and comedy, making it a very quick read in its 21 chapters.
A manga very recommended!
Jun 16, 2013
nij1030 (All reviews)
NOT WHAT IT SOUNDS LIKE!!! Allow me to explain. Molester man is the story of a young college student named Molester Man (not very creative names here) who is wrongly accused of stalking a girl named Miss Understanding. After things are cleared up with the police, he is free, but is in love with Miss Understanding. For me to go into anymore detail would spoil the fun for anyone who wants to read it. What makes this manga cool is that it isn't a manga, it is a doujin that was written by an artist named Yokota Takuma, who based the story on a 2ch read more
Dec 5, 2016
Profesor_Teto (All reviews)
Como esto está lleno de reviews en inglés me voy a tomar el tiempo para hacer una en español.

Soy un lector recurrente de mangas de romance. El problema principal con estos es que su mayoría son extremadamente comerciales y para alargar la trama o para ''enganchar'' a mas gente le meten excesivo y poco real drama. Casos como ''GOOD ENDING'' y ''HETAKOI'' son claros ejemplos de mangas de romance demasiado dramáticos, quedando como tontos o simplemente infumables.

¿Que cosa no?, un 10 a Molesterman, ¿Por qué será?. Bueno, para comenzar no es nada de lo anteriormente dicho.

Historia:
La historia de Molesterman (''Acosador'' en español y ''Chikan Otoko'' read more
Oct 29, 2017
SeaTactics (All reviews)
Romance… Romance Manga and Anime has been my enemy for quite some time. Not because I don’t like to be swept off my feet, I do, even though it might be a little naive to want that. But, I don’t like Romance stories because, usually, they fall into the same categories, the same tropes. Let’s list them;

Love Triangle
Red Herring Romance
Uninvested Romance
Paint by the Numbers Romance
Ecchi Romance
Main Character Romance
Secondary + Main Character Romance

Usually Romance Fits into these categories, and usually they aren’t good. Most stories rely on heavy use of tropes and cliches. Ever bump into a cute guy/guy and fall in love? Have you ever read more