Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 3: Stardust Crusaders

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 3: Stardust Crusaders

Alternative Titles

English: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 3: Stardust Crusaders
Synonyms: Kuujou Joutarou: Mirai e no Isan
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険 スターダストクルセイダース

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 16
Chapters: 152
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 20, 1989 to Apr 14, 1992
Authors: Araki, Hirohiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 26341 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5072
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #148
Members: 44,365
Favorites: 2,490

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 19, 2009
Chag (All reviews)
The fighting shounen manga is possibly the most widely read and widely published genre in circulation today. Hence, JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders faces a great deal of competition for the attention the reader. However, JoJo's visual flare, entertainment value, and unrelenting creativity make it the cream of the crop among shounen adventures.

The story takes place 40 years after the events of Battle Tendency (the second part of the JoJo saga). The protagonist is none other than the grandson of Joseph Joestar -- Jotaro Kujo. When the coffin of the vampire Dio (the antagonist of part one, rival of Joseph’s grandfather Jonathan Joestar) was excavated read more
Aug 17, 2014
Lindle (All reviews)
Stardust Crusaders is the third, and most famous part of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure. This is for a lot of reasons - it's the arc that introduced Stands, the core mechanic of the series that has stuck with it for the last 25 years. It marks the return of Dio Brando, JJBA's most instantly recognizeable character. It stars the iconic Jotaro Kujo, who is the poster-boy for the series. It was, until recently, the only arc to have an official translation in English, and it produced multiple games based on it.

So, with that in mind, it's kind of surprising that Stardust Crusaders isn't really one of read more
Nov 29, 2012
WandererRedux (All reviews)
By far the most recognised part of the series, Stardust Crusaders is the third part in the long running manga franchise Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure. While Part 3 is a clear step in the right direction for the series to head in, it is not without the stumbles that come from the introduction into a different focus point (namely the Stand based combat) and does affect its overall effectiveness.

Notably the first thing that a fan of the previous two parts will notice right off the bat is that in terms of the narrative’s strength, JJBA is at its most linear in Stardust Crusaders. The story opens read more
Apr 21, 2015
Realhumanbean (All reviews)
The most popular and famous Part of Jojo, Stardust Crusaders is considered one of the most iconic and influential manga ever made. But is it really THAT good?

STORY: 5/10
Stardust Crusaders picks up 48 years after Battle Tendency. In it, an elderly Joseph Joestar teams up with his grandson Jotaor Kujo and others to stop a resurrected DIO, who has cursed the Joestar family and is hiding in Egypt. They go on a 50 day adventure to Egypt fighting DIO's army along the way with newly developed Stands, spiritual forces that live within one and grant a special power or ability.

And what a long read more
May 15, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
Stardust Crusaders is the third part of the JoJo series so please read or watch parts 1 & 2 first.

After the events of Phantom Blood & Battle Tendency, Jotaro Kujo makes his debut as this arc's Joestar who discovers his new STAND power & his visited by his grandfather, Joseph Joestar, warning him of the danger that is DIO Brando. After Jotaro's mom, Holly Joestar, is taken ill by DIO's curse, Jotaro, Joseph, Avdol, Kakyoin, Polnareff & Iggy embark on a road trip to Egypt to put an end to this family feud of The Joestars & The Brandos.

Part 3 is the most hyped read more
Sep 1, 2014
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Stardust Crusaders is by far the most iconic, recognizable and popular part in the Jojo's Bizarre Adventure series. It was very influential and when there is a Jojo reference anywhere, it tends to be this part, particularly to Jotaro who is the most famous Jojo in the entire series.

Unfortunately, the earlier parts of the series have really not stood the test of time, and Stardust Crusaders, especially given its status as the most iconic part, might be the biggest example of this.

The basic idea is fairly sound: Dio returns after being absent in part 2, Joseph and his grandson Jotaro along with a few other read more
Dec 26, 2012
Weewer (All reviews)
Despite this being the original break out part in both Japan and the west, I really feel like the popularity is misplaced when compared to the rest of Jojos. It's a good part, no doubt, and the inclusion of stands was a fantastic idea since Ripple was a very weak, undefined ability.

The story is solid following the long fued of the Joestars and the Brandos and putting a nice epic ending to it all.

Araki's art style is something that takes a long time to get used to, at least I think, but somewhere around Parts 2 and 3, his muscular style definitely started growing read more
Jul 30, 2014
sushiitaco (All reviews)
Not sure why I haven't heard of JJBA until very recently, but I watched the new anime for the first season and decided to try out the manga so I started with part 3 and, let me tell you, it was one hell of a ride.

You should know this already (if you don't then here it is), but here's a quick brush up on what JJBA is. It's a manga that has been around for an extremely long time and is very popular. It contains lots of action, gore/blood shed, super bulked up men, and each protag has the nickname "Jojo" hence why it's called read more
Jan 10, 2015
vaultboyanthony (All reviews)
Art - JoJo's always has great art, and part 3 is no exception. The uniquely styled faces are wonderful and the stylized dramatization of panels are awesome.

Character - The cast of characters in Stardust Crusaders is very good. Each party member is unique and lovable in their own way. DIO is also such an evil character that it's great.

Story - To clarify, I'd rate the story itself about a 7, but the writing is a 9. The way Araki can kill off main characters is great, because one of the worst things is when characters have plot armor because they are main characters.

Overall - The read more
Mar 15, 2019
heartattacks (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is a currently ongoing series with (at the moment of writing), 7 complete parts and one ongoing one. It's important to first make the distinction that this is NOT one ongoing story split into parts, but rather 8 stories in the same universe following the Joestar bloodline, that share similar elements, plot points, and even motivations in some cases.
Due to that, this and my other JoJo reviews will follow an unique JoJo rating system, since in my opinion it cannot be easily compared to other manga, done in a beginner-friendly way so as to illustrate whether or not it is worth read more
Sep 27, 2015
GoyitoSatan (All reviews)
One of the most influential manga of all time. Redefined battle systems in shonen manga and has an actual cast who are useful, a rarity in 80s manga, let alone current ones. Simply a masterpiece, you owe it to yourself to read this at least once in your lifetime.

The art is fantastically detailed and the story is simple and linear, but straight to the point and never pulls any punches. The fights are the biggest highlight of the manga, each one being radically different and unique.

It's JoJo's Bizarre Adventure's rise to greatness and the start of the creative pinnacle that is Hirohiko Araki. READ read more
May 19, 2017
ShadowsOfHell (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really hate to disappoint fans of JoJo's Bizarre's Adventures fans but I really did not enjoy the manga. I do not have the intention to watch the anime either because the hype kills it for me.

Not much to say since I pretty much did not enjoy the first volume. I could have stopped half way if I wanted to but I don't know. I wasn't too convinced to carry on reading the whole series to be honest. I felt like the anime isn't mainly aimed for males.

I'm most likely to give this manga a 2/10. Sorry JoJo fans. I just cannot get into it read more
Feb 23, 2019
sufflaminandus (All reviews)
First chapters of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, pt.3 are disappointing: the concept behind renown stands may seem childish, first battles result in ‘classic’ enemy-becomes-friend scenarios and protagonist Jotaro Kujo reminds too strongly of his predecessor. But hold out for thirty chapters and you will start to realize how brilliant the creation of Hirohiko Araki is. Stands will become just another form of superhuman abilities, shounen tropes fades quickly and and Jotaro will transform into unique, awesome character. In fact, most of characters of Stardust Crusaders are awesome because of Hirohiko Araki one-of-a-kind approach to the story. He never tries to *teach* which opens up an opportunity read more