Pandora Hearts
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Pandora Hearts

Alternative Titles

English: Pandora Hearts
Japanese: PandoraHearts

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 24
Chapters: 107
Status: Finished
Published: May 18, 2006 to Mar 18, 2015
Genres: AdventureAdventure, MysteryMystery, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Mochizuki, Jun (Story & Art)
Serialization: GFantasy

Statistics

Score: 8.601 (scored by 4911049,110 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #792
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #44
Members: 126,928
Favorites: 15,376

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 25, 2010
Neiru2013 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never expected to like Pandora Hearts. I hate the Victorian era, get easily bored by mysteries, and am typically annoyed by fluffy cuteness. I much prefer violence, blood, and deep, dark storylines. And yet, I love Pandora Hearts to pieces!! I think I experience it from a different angle than many other PH fans, so I want to offer my perspective.

I love all the characters here. Really, I've never loved so many characters so much before. They all have very colorful personalities, representing most of the standard animanga archetypes but elaborating on each in unique ways. I connect with all of them very strongly. read more
Apr 19, 2015
hanasmina (All reviews)
I haven't read or seen a PERFECT manga like Pandora Hearts! It's my best manga ever, you can't found a manga with a dark fantasy, black comedy, tragedy, psychological, historical and dramatical like this one, the art is awesome and the story is breathtakingly beautiful to. All the characters are wonderful and handsome, their pasts is so tragic and melancholic too, you can't keep you tears when someone is died, that's what i like the most.
If you haven't even read this manga, you should read it, because you don't know what you're lost.
Jun 15, 2009
shinigamiallie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't stress how completely amaing this manga is. I started out watching the anime and when the episodes wouldn't come fast enough I began reading the manga...and now I'm waiting for each chapter to come out.

I've always liked interesting spins on Alice in Wonderland and this one tops them all for me. All the characters are interesting, deeper than they look, and keep you guessing as to who they really are and what secrets they are hiding. Where some characters may have come off as cliche in the first few chapters it is revealed later on that they have much darker and deeper pasts read more
Apr 2, 2015
WavyBunny (All reviews)
This is my first time ever writing a manga review, so please bare with me.

I want to start saying that this manga may not be the easiest reading; the plot is like a puzzle, at first you get to see the big picture, but without getting into the details, you won't reach the end result. I must say that this may be my favorite part about the series, each little detail is relevant either for the main plot or to get some character development and that enriches the story more and more every time you read. There's actually no time to get bored because everything read more
May 27, 2013
reversereality (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

What would you think when someone just told you that your existence is a sin? That’s practically saying that you should never have been born. Certainly, that isn’t a very nice thing to say, but when people actually start to persecute and throw you into a jail for it, it begs the question: What did I do?!

Paralleling the themes of identity crisis makes a wonderful comeback from Lewis Carroll’s “Alice in Wonderland” into this manga “Pandora Hearts” by Jun Mochizuki, where we have a young 15-year-old noble that read more
Aug 15, 2015
TohyaHachijo (All reviews)
Out of all the anime. manga, visual novels I have read or seen, Pandora Hearts is the one that will always be engraved in my heart and the others as well.

Nothing is stereotyped about this series, there is no lovey-dovey romance for otaku basement-dwellers, instead, this manga focuses on something that has been long overlooked: friendship. It doesn't matter how old one is, its gender or anything else, friendship will always be the greatest form of love and I'm glad the authoress managed to convey this message with such a masterpiece.

Story: 10

Don't let the Tumblr shippers/fangirls fool you, there barely is something that can be read more
Feb 22, 2009
Aris18 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note- I first wrote this review in 2009, but have found some things that needed updating.

I stumbled across the manga because of it's interesting name. And I'm glad to say that the story is just as interesting as the name.
I won't go too much into the plot, as you can read those in other place, so I'll just say that the story line's incredibly original, enjoyable, as well as pretty dark and with many plot twists. The main characters, Oz and Alice, are fairly likable, and the supporting cast, Break, Sharon, and Raven, aren't done to badly either. My favorites are read more
Apr 26, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
I do not really have a ton of specifics to say here because I just really could not care about this...there was nothing to hate and nothing to love. The premise was a little interesting, but this manga prefers to bog itself down with poorly written gags, atrocious dialogue, and frivolous declarations of affirmation than actually focus on either action or story.

The basic premise of the story is nice enough - secret mysterious prison like madman world that exists alongside the normal world and represents awful things for pretty much any human being. Okay, nice enough! Except...they never explain pretty much anything about it in read more
Aug 26, 2014
Evtsynen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll make this review spoiler free. If there's any spoilers, I will warn you of them.

I found this manga by first watching the anime of it. The anime was wonderful even though some moments were stretched. However, the story didn't go all the way to the end and so many questions were left unanswered. This is the first manga I've ever read and so far it's been worth it.

CHARACTERS ~
I think all the characters are wonderful in each aspect and I love that they all have some story arc. They all come back at some point and are not just there for laughs for example. read more
Apr 16, 2015
Terah (All reviews)
"All Good Things Must Come to an End".

It has been a long 5 year journey that Pandora Hearts has taken me on. I am sad that the long years of waiting and excitement when a new chapter for Pandora Hearts was finally released is now gone forever. However along with the sadness, comes the excitement and happiness of finally reaching the one thing that I always wanted since the beginning. The ending.

Art ~ 9

Pandora Hearts starts having decent art in the first chapter. The characters looks nice, and the background is decent. However, as the series continues, you begin the notice the better details, and read more
Mar 16, 2013
TigrexJeff (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review contains spoilers.

Pandora Hearts, whilst boasting an intriguing plot, complex characters and its own blend of simplistic yet detailed art, its most recent chapters have turned down a path only the most hardcore of fans will follow.

I'm not going to bother re-iterating the plot - that's what the description is for. Pandora Hearts begins with the main complication being recovering Alice's memories, for better or for worse. Alice, also known as the Bloodied Black Rabbit (or B-Rabbit, but I think she'll have to argue that one out with Eminem), becomes Oz Vessalius chain in order to pursue her goal in the real read more
Sep 7, 2009
princepupu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I learned about "Pandora Hearts" from this site, because I saw how many people watched/read it. I was not very persuaded to watch it due to the title, but I figured I'd give it a shot. I'm really glad I did.

This anime/manga is by far one of the greatest I've encountered. It is considered by many to be like a "dark Alice in Wonderland" due to the heavy references to the classic tale. The art is excellent, and the characters are beautifully drawn. They also all have depth. The story and the way it unfolds are original and unique. read more
May 25, 2009
alice-heart (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is such a great anime I would a have died if jun Mochizuki never thought of this. you must watch it I just love this anime it has ups and downs but over all it was the best anime of the season and the book is a must read.
Jul 18, 2010
IceAndCream (All reviews)
Preliminary
What's the best way to describe Pandora Hearts? Tough call. Because it's pretty far out there. Think of it as a hybrid of Fullmetal Alchemist and Black Butler. FMA, for the thick plot, mystery, and variety of characters. Black Butler, for the gothic-Victorian-supernatural-fantasy themes and art style. And throw in some character names from Alice in Wonderland. And freakishly creepy doll-monsters. And another dimension....

Despite having an incredible variety of themes, they work together surprisingly well. You get an action/drama/fantasy/mystery. Plot twists or character developments keep coming, so things never get boring. Actually, I read more
Jul 9, 2020
Crash1x (All reviews)
NOTE: There are no spoilers in this review.

"That place is said to be engulfed in darkness. But even if that were really the case, there must be a light somewhere."

Loneliness is strange thing - there are people who like it, there are people who take it painful, and there are people who pretend that they like loneliness, but in fact it hurts them...
Pandora Hearts is the perfect example of how the loneliness that destroyed the soul of a person can literally grow into a great tragedy. Well, let's not waste the time and I will start:

Story/Narrative:
In fact, the plot of Pandora Hearts is a rather read more
Mar 31, 2021
Alice0006 (All reviews)
Pandora Hearts is the most beautiful story I have ever read in my life.

Some people here give bad review because of story telling. If I were you, I will not give review. Why? Because many people here give good review to the point it got score 8.6. The most helpful review give 10 score for this manga. More people understand the story than don't. It means, if you are confused with the story telling, this story is not for you. Just go away.

Pandora hearts is a really complicated psychological dark fantasy with a lot of plot twist. Almost every chapter you will see read more
Dec 3, 2017
dubsnobb (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't really write reviews for manga but quite frankly, it is pretty upsetting to see how many 10/10's this series recieves. Apparently the bar is set pretty low. Pandora Hearts is an explicit adaptation on Alice in Wonderland. It is a pretty standard isekai theme, with nothing that original, with a lot of shota/fujo bait. If that was the only wrong, it wouldn't be that bad.
This series is extremely confusing. Not that it's to intricate to understand, but more in the direction itself. I found myself having a very hard time understanding how the text was supposed to connect with the illustrations. Many times, read more
Jul 29, 2009
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pandoras Hearts is one of those Mangas that has a great storyline with great parts to it, but also some things that can drive the reader nuts.

Story: 6

I found the new use of shingami in the manga to be very unique, unique in the fact that the soul reapers so to speak, aren't really dead souls in the asspect that we usually see, like in Shifumi Letters or Bleach. This was a plus when I first started watching the Anime, which drew me to the Manga.

Also, the storyline is chalk full of references to Alice in Wonderland. Many of the characters and chains are based read more
Apr 13, 2010
Lamyisme (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sorry, I am going to make this review long so i can go into detail forgive me =)
~story~
The story line was brilliant and different from anything i had ever read/heard of and it was amazing. The creepy feel it gives off makes the story line addicting with its twists and turns that leave you amazed and wanting more to its lovable ability to suprise you and never let you guess what happens next the story was much better than most play offs of alice in wonderland plus alot better than the original other worldly alice in wonderland.
~Art~
With amazing character disign and great costumes how read more
Aug 18, 2015
anarrowstrail (All reviews)
It took me awhile to finish and I did have to reread the beginning but once I got into it, I kept wanting to finish it.
The story I thought was simple at first and I thought they would just solve it and it would be over. Of course, there were actually so many things happening and once you put it all together and figure it out, it is pretty elaborate. I got pretty confused at some parts because it did go pretty fast with its story and it was subtle in telling its plot points although thankfully not all the time. I think the read more