Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pandora Hearts

Pandora Hearts

Alternative Titles

English: Pandora Hearts
Japanese: PandoraHearts

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 24
Chapters: 107
Status: Finished
Published: May 18, 2006 to Mar 18, 2015
Authors: Mochizuki, Jun (Story & Art)
Serialization: GFantasy

Statistics

Score: 8.661 (scored by 34408 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #672
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #28
Members: 83,023
Favorites: 11,612

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 25, 2010
Neiru2013 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never expected to like Pandora Hearts. I hate the Victorian era, get easily bored by mysteries, and am typically annoyed by fluffy cuteness. I much prefer violence, blood, and deep, dark storylines. And yet, I love Pandora Hearts to pieces!! I think I experience it from a different angle than many other PH fans, so I want to offer my perspective.

I love all the characters here. Really, I've never loved so many characters so much before. They all have very colorful personalities, representing most of the standard animanga archetypes but elaborating on each in unique ways. I connect with all of them very strongly. read more
Jun 15, 2009
shinigamiallie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't stress how completely amaing this manga is. I started out watching the anime and when the episodes wouldn't come fast enough I began reading the manga...and now I'm waiting for each chapter to come out.

I've always liked interesting spins on Alice in Wonderland and this one tops them all for me. All the characters are interesting, deeper than they look, and keep you guessing as to who they really are and what secrets they are hiding. Where some characters may have come off as cliche in the first few chapters it is revealed later on that they have much darker and deeper pasts read more
May 27, 2013
reversereality (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

What would you think when someone just told you that your existence is a sin? That’s practically saying that you should never have been born. Certainly, that isn’t a very nice thing to say, but when people actually start to persecute and throw you into a jail for it, it begs the question: What did I do?!

Paralleling the themes of identity crisis makes a wonderful comeback from Lewis Carroll’s “Alice in Wonderland” into this manga “Pandora Hearts” by Jun Mochizuki, where we have a young 15-year-old noble that read more
Apr 2, 2015
fuckxyami (All reviews)
This is my first time ever writing a manga review, so please bare with me.

I want to start saying that this manga may not be the easiest reading; the plot is like a puzzle, at first you get to see the big picture, but without getting into the details, you won't reach the end result. I must say that this may be my favorite part about the series, each little detail is relevant either for the main plot or to get some character development and that enriches the story more and more every time you read. There's actually no time to get bored because everything read more
Feb 22, 2009
Aris18 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note- I first wrote this review in 2009, but have found some things that needed updating.

I stumbled across the manga because of it's interesting name. And I'm glad to say that the story is just as interesting as the name.
I won't go too much into the plot, as you can read those in other place, so I'll just say that the story line's incredibly original, enjoyable, as well as pretty dark and with many plot twists. The main characters, Oz and Alice, are fairly likable, and the supporting cast, Break, Sharon, and Raven, aren't done to badly either. My favorites are read more
Aug 15, 2015
TohyaHachijo (All reviews)
Out of all the anime. manga, visual novels I have read or seen, Pandora Hearts is the one that will always be engraved in my heart and the others as well.

Nothing is stereotyped about this series, there is no lovey-dovey romance for otaku basement-dwellers, instead, this manga focuses on something that has been long overlooked: friendship. It doesn't matter how old one is, its gender or anything else, friendship will always be the greatest form of love and I'm glad the authoress managed to convey this message with such a masterpiece.

Story: 10

Don't let the Tumblr shippers/fangirls fool you, there barely is something that can be read more
Aug 26, 2014
Evtsynen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll make this review spoiler free. If there's any spoilers, I will warn you of them.

I found this manga by first watching the anime of it. The anime was wonderful even though some moments were stretched. However, the story didn't go all the way to the end and so many questions were left unanswered. This is the first manga I've ever read and so far it's been worth it.

CHARACTERS ~
I think all the characters are wonderful in each aspect and I love that they all have some story arc. They all come back at some point and are not just there for laughs for example. read more
Apr 19, 2015
hanasmina (All reviews)
I haven't read or seen a PERFECT manga like Pandora Hearts! It's my best manga ever, you can't found a manga with a dark fantasy, black comedy, tragedy, psychological, historical and dramatical like this one, the art is awesome and the story is breathtakingly beautiful to. All the characters are wonderful and handsome, their pasts is so tragic and melancholic too, you can't keep you tears when someone is died, that's what i like the most.
If you haven't even read this manga, you should read it, because you don't know what you're lost.
Apr 26, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
I do not really have a ton of specifics to say here because I just really could not care about this...there was nothing to hate and nothing to love. The premise was a little interesting, but this manga prefers to bog itself down with poorly written gags, atrocious dialogue, and frivolous declarations of affirmation than actually focus on either action or story.

The basic premise of the story is nice enough - secret mysterious prison like madman world that exists alongside the normal world and represents awful things for pretty much any human being. Okay, nice enough! Except...they never explain pretty much anything about it in read more
Jul 15, 2015
OZ_WALD (All reviews)
When reading this felt as if you could feel the emotion of the characters. The story itself is a unique play on Alice in Wonderland as it has a similar feel while being completely unique.

The story immediately takes off in the first volume and keeps a good pace. You can see the art develop over the course of chapters. This mangaka used a lot of inking throughout this work and detail. There is a good balance of action and slower moments and there are no unnecessary lengthy fillers. There is deep character development from all characters but from specifically Oz as he grows more read more
Apr 16, 2015
Terah (All reviews)
"All Good Things Must Come to an End".

It has been a long 5 year journey that Pandora Hearts has taken me on. I am sad that the long years of waiting and excitement when a new chapter for Pandora Hearts was finally released is now gone forever. However along with the sadness, comes the excitement and happiness of finally reaching the one thing that I always wanted since the beginning. The ending.

Art ~ 9

Pandora Hearts starts having decent art in the first chapter. The characters looks nice, and the background is decent. However, as the series continues, you begin the notice the better details, and read more
Aug 18, 2015
anarrowstrail (All reviews)
It took me awhile to finish and I did have to reread the beginning but once I got into it, I kept wanting to finish it.
The story I thought was simple at first and I thought they would just solve it and it would be over. Of course, there were actually so many things happening and once you put it all together and figure it out, it is pretty elaborate. I got pretty confused at some parts because it did go pretty fast with its story and it was subtle in telling its plot points although thankfully not all the time. I think the read more
Aug 14, 2016
Cyokie (All reviews)
Please do not disregard my review simply because I've given the overall rating a straight ten, as well as most of the other aspects of this wonderful manga. (And the only thing not rated a ten is the art, which is given a nine!) I tend to skip over reviews that look like the only thing they will do is rave about the topic myself, but I can assure you I will be as honest and unbiased as possible. After all, PandoraHearts deserves nothing less.

(Yes, "PandoraHearts" is written as a single word with the "H" of "Hearts" still capitalized--the proof stealthily given in a read more
Jul 18, 2010
IceAndCream (All reviews)
Preliminary
What's the best way to describe Pandora Hearts? Tough call. Because it's pretty far out there. Think of it as a hybrid of Fullmetal Alchemist and Black Butler. FMA, for the thick plot, mystery, and variety of characters. Black Butler, for the gothic-Victorian-supernatural-fantasy themes and art style. And throw in some character names from Alice in Wonderland. And freakishly creepy doll-monsters. And another dimension....

Despite having an incredible variety of themes, they work together surprisingly well. You get an action/drama/fantasy/mystery. Plot twists or character developments keep coming, so things never get boring. Actually, I read more
Sep 7, 2009
princepupu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I learned about "Pandora Hearts" from this site, because I saw how many people watched/read it. I was not very persuaded to watch it due to the title, but I figured I'd give it a shot. I'm really glad I did.

This anime/manga is by far one of the greatest I've encountered. It is considered by many to be like a "dark Alice in Wonderland" due to the heavy references to the classic tale. The art is excellent, and the characters are beautifully drawn. They also all have depth. The story and the way it unfolds are original and unique. read more
May 25, 2009
alice-heart (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is such a great anime I would a have died if jun Mochizuki never thought of this. you must watch it I just love this anime it has ups and downs but over all it was the best anime of the season and the book is a must read.
Jul 24, 2016
ManiacalBookUni (All reviews)
"Those who come to the Abyss are all the same. They're all desperate to get something back. But everyone goes mad partway..."

*shock face*

See, I really, really don’t understand how a mangaka and f-ing story writing genius, can immerse readers in something so gloriously messed up, beautiful, emo, crazy, funny, deep, and downright strange like it's nothing. More than just a few times I laughed out loud and shook my head thinking: psshh, that’s absolutely ridiculous and stupid, then turned the page only to stop just short of curling up into a ball in a dark corner, gently caressing the book and whispering softly to read more
Oct 29, 2010
PandaNoms (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off I'd like to say that i know this isn't a completed manga, however I felt it was necessary to write a review, because not too many people actually know about Pandora Hearts(I checked yahoo answers, random websites, ect...). I watched the anime first(which was great as well) and after I was done I couldn't help but be in utter shock, as it was outstanding in everything it portrayed. So I decided to check out the manga and thought that it was going to be a VERY popular manga after a little bit.

I don't believe that I've found another manga quite like this read more
Jul 29, 2009
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pandoras Hearts is one of those Mangas that has a great storyline with great parts to it, but also some things that can drive the reader nuts.

Story: 6

I found the new use of shingami in the manga to be very unique, unique in the fact that the soul reapers so to speak, aren't really dead souls in the asspect that we usually see, like in Shifumi Letters or Bleach. This was a plus when I first started watching the Anime, which drew me to the Manga.

Also, the storyline is chalk full of references to Alice in Wonderland. Many of the characters and chains are based read more
Apr 13, 2010
Lamyisme (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sorry, I am going to make this review long so i can go into detail forgive me =)
~story~
The story line was brilliant and different from anything i had ever read/heard of and it was amazing. The creepy feel it gives off makes the story line addicting with its twists and turns that leave you amazed and wanting more to its lovable ability to suprise you and never let you guess what happens next the story was much better than most play offs of alice in wonderland plus alot better than the original other worldly alice in wonderland.
~Art~
With amazing character disign and great costumes how read more