Oyasumi Punpun
Goodnight Punpun
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Oyasumi Punpun

Alternative Titles

English: Goodnight Punpun
Japanese: おやすみプンプン

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 147
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 15, 2007 to Nov 2, 2013
Genres: DramaDrama, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Asano, Inio (Story & Art)
Serialization: Big Comic Spirits

Statistics

Score: 9.021 (scored by 6318763,187 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #72
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #13
Members: 163,827
Favorites: 22,831

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 14, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Oyasumi Punpun is the best example I have ever found of something which you should not judge by its literal cover. Looking at the picture on MAL, I initially thought the story was about some young girl and a weird penguin/bird thing and only really added it to my list because it’s ranked #15 on this site. It was not until after I read another manga by the author, Asano Inio, called Nijigahara Holograph, and looked more into what this manga was actually about, that I finally decided to read it. And I could not have been more wrong in my initial assumption. But enough read more
Feb 27, 2012
voltadelphine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oyasumi Punpun is one of the greatest coming of age stories told in any form of media. This story is a very relative tale of alienated youth riddled with heavy accuracy. The story is very well developed and is partially due to its long timeline spanning from Punpun's life in elementary school to his early 20's. It deals with many mature issues like sex and depression all told in a frank manner that is coated with a strange dark sense of humor and supreme melancholy. There is a lot going on including a couple of side stories involving people that are or were once in read more
Sep 17, 2014
milkpunk (All reviews)
I really hated Punpun. No, not the manga. The character. I'll get to this in a minute.

I was reluctantly dragged into reading this bizarre tale during its brief boom in popularity. Its ensemble of morally repugnant but nonetheless interesting characters even sort of drove me away at first. The story is not for the faint of heart. The early story deals with themes like domestic abuse, suicide, rape, divorce, and violence to name a few. The minute you start liking a character, they screw up. And you /can't/ like them.

And I hate Punpun. Punpun is a sort of head-in-the-clouds Joe Schmo abstracted as a bird read more
Jun 18, 2015
Simonian (All reviews)
A wise man once told me - "son, you better study hard or I'm going to beat the fuck out of you right here right now". And he did. When I was in middle school a cute girl I really liked went out with the most athletic rugby player who then smugly told me that she moans like a siren in bed. Pshh, asshole. In my college years I consistently woke up to the sounds of my room mate screaming "harder harder!". Sigh. Finally, in my twenties I realised that all those people were gone from my life and despite all they've unwittingly done to read more
Feb 12, 2017
Darmaiad (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

Let me begin by mentioning that I enjoy pessimistic works with nihilistic elements. So given the hype of this manga, I had high expectations. Needless to say, I was disappointed. I would have dropped it before its first quarter was completed, but its extreme high ratings, on both websites I follow, left me with a drifting promise of a hidden depth, or at least of an extraordinary ending. The work was shallow and the ending was horrible, so all that's left for me to do, is to write this review and warn anyone who will listen.

This manga has only one good point; it read more
Jun 11, 2008
psygremlin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Goodnight Punpun is a hard one to classify. Yes, it’s a comedy, but then again it wouldn’t be Inio Asano if it didn’t occasionally throw in surreal or even nightmarish elements. Whilst his previous works have always had a subtle, dark humour underlying the main story, here he brings the comedic elements to the fore, allowing him to play unfettered with the world – both real and imaginary – of small children.

The story revolves around said Punpun, who (along with his family) is depicted as a small, caricatured bird within an otherwise normal human world, and his interactions with his elementary school classmates and the read more
Jan 23, 2018
Stacys__Mom (All reviews)
I didn't enjoy Oyasumi Punpun. Now, I understand that I wasn't supposed to enjoy it. But I didn't enjoy that, either.

[INTRODUCTION]

Oyasumi Punpun (Goodnight Punpun in English) is a slice-of-life seinen manga written and drawn by Asano Inio. It follows the story of the titular Punpun as he grows up in modern-day Japan, focusing on his struggles with depression and his quest for a fulfilling romance. It's also about how he loses his faith in God as he is plunged into the real world, which may or may not be an allegory for the author's stance on escapist manga.

If that all sounds good to you, read more
Aug 23, 2013
czxcjx (All reviews)
Preliminary
(I, sadly, have to make this announcement - Gonensei is more psychologically rigorous than Oyasumi Punpun. Although, Punpun is still the better overall work of art in terms of combining techniques and storylines.)

Once upon a time I wrote a review about Oyasumi Punpun pretty far back. I think it was neither good nor bad. I threw out some stuff about a movement I had only a hazy knowledge of and linked it to a bunch of stuff that had nothing to do with the story and threw out some names definitely in order to appear smarter than I really was. I think it was probably read more
Sep 26, 2018
Shrabster (All reviews)
[SPOILER WARNING]

“Life is immeasurably difficult, things hardly ever work out as planned, and people are generally shitty.” –Goodnight Pun or anyone who has ever worked a 9-5 job.

Goodnight Punpun is the dark coming of age story of some little shit who agonizes over anything and everything.

Goodnight Punpun has three conflicting stories. The first story, told in book one, is about a young boy named Punpun who has a crush on the new transfer student Aiko. Together Punpun and his friends go on all kinds of misadventures like trying to find porn, going to abandoned factories, and etc. Of course, things are not read more
Nov 13, 2014
Dietrologia (All reviews)
(I had written a review for this previously, but I feel that I did not do this series justice. This is my second attempt).

Oyasumi Punpun is, without a doubt, one of the most compelling manga I have ever read, and one of only a handful I would say are seminal masterpieces in the medium. I initially read it based on a recommendation from a friend. The unique design of the main character and initial parts of the series led me to believe that this series was just a fun slice-of-life story about a quirky japanese boy...which is technically accurate, but to reduce it to that read more
Nov 29, 2014
lejdcool (All reviews)
PunPun is one of those manga's that will appeal to some and be completely foreign to others. I caught some of the allegories and symbolism, but at the same time I felt there was a lot that just went completely over my head. Like the author was throwing paint on a canvas and saying it has a deeper meaning.

Let me first say if you aren't one for depressing coming of age stories, this series is not for you. Because this series is as long winded and depressing as they come. Sure, the beginning starts of really interesting, kid goes to elementary and makes friends. read more
Jun 30, 2019
ReallyPatrice (All reviews)
As a writer myself, I'm well-acquainted with the narrative concept of Chekhov's Gun; that is to say, an element deliberately introduced into the story's ecosystem should also be deliberately resolved. Oyasumi Punpun stands as a monumental testament to narrative illiteracy precisely because it fails to realize this fundamental principle -- and this is a terrible shame because it had a genuinely fascinating start. Right from the beginning, the reader's mind will be filled with questions about where this mysterious bird creature has come from, and what role it will play in human society. Is it an alien? A monster? A spirit?

The answer to these read more
Mar 5, 2015
sddsdd (All reviews)
Almost everyone has felt at one point during their lifespan that their lives have hit rock bottom, that the world is conspiring against them, that nobody out there has a worse life than they do. For the most part, of course, this is untrue, save for the one unlucky fellow on the bottom rung of the ladder, and their lives do begin to slowly climb upward again.
Oyasumi Punpun (eng. translation Goodnight Punpun) is a psychological drama/coming-of-age story by realist mangaka Inio Asano (author of another one of my favorite works, Solanin) about that one unlucky fellow who can never seem to catch a break read more
Jun 8, 2015
crystaldawwn (All reviews)
Please read this Manga.
Honestly there's not one thing i'd ask to be changed, it's perfectly polished in all aspects.

Relatively spoiler free.

STORY:
Perfect. There's a raw honest realism to this story, even with some of the crazy things that happen that seem surreal. Nothing is sugarcoated. Even with many of the dark turns that happen in this story there are many things that are relatable to the average person. Which kind of takes this story to a new level.

ART:
Perfect. The way the main character and his direct family is portrayed is wonderfully unique, it gives him an innocence that couldn't be depicted in read more
Jan 7, 2015
killjoi97 (All reviews)
one word describes this manga REAL, Asano Inio has always made manga that had realistic emotion and stories of hardship BUT this manga is far beyond that, with great art style and characters one cant help but keep reading. At first glance it looks like some kid manga right? WRONG this manga is one of the most emotionally intense/depressing manga I've ever read. And this why i use the word REAL the story is not sugar coated there are no happy endings just like REAL life thats what this manga accomplishes the feeling of being able to relate to that characters on such a high read more
Nov 11, 2013
aurorain (All reviews)
NO SPOILER REVIEW

Oyasumi Punpun is such another type of beautiful; catching the essence of our day to day life and the thoughts that we cannot put into words. Punpun is a human portrayed as bird along with his problematic family. He struggles to understand himself and the world. He faces many fights between himself and his hormones. Overall, he is just your average teenager who doesn't know what to do; but the way it is portrayed is just so relatable.

Punpun aside, there are a few side stories that discuss troubles and conflict; some of which is sex. I'm not big on 18+ material but again, read more
Jul 2, 2019
asdfninja (All reviews)
DO NOT READ THIS MANGA!

You might ask why i say such a thing when i've given it a 10/10, it is simple this manga is a captivating story with many more captivating characters. But it will destroy you inside.
I have read thiis twice and i have been destroyed twice. This is a dark beauty best left alone, i have been so broken after reading this I dont think i will even get back what i have lost. This is a beauty you will have to sacrifice parts of yourself to read. This is all i have to say, read at your own risk!
Aug 30, 2013
SilentKatana (All reviews)
Preliminary
Having recently caught up on this... I'll say this, I bloody love this manga.

The story centres around the main character Punpun, who, along with his family, is depicted as a sort of 2d bird… That is most definetely not to say the Mangaka, Inio Asano was lazy in his approach to the art of the manga, on the contrary, Oyasumi Punpun has some gorgeous art, in both the scenery and in his drawings of the other characters, bringing out such glorious emotion in each and every one of his characters.

It starts out as a kind of black comedy, slice of life type manga, looking at read more
Jul 3, 2014
Causther (All reviews)
Over the last decades, a lot of authors have become a inspiration for the manga industry. Asano Inio is a good example of this, with Solanin, Nijigahara Holograph, Oyasumi PunPun or one of his recent works Umibe no Onnanoko. Particulary, Oyasumi PunPun is considered one of his most influential works and it marks a before and after in the history of manga.

If you are acquainted with Inio´s works, you should know what the initial idea of the story is. PunPun and his family are the main characters on this story. At the first view the most remarkable aspect is the appearance of the Onodera Family, read more
Nov 15, 2014
pokeguy123 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As I have dropped this series when completing chater 65, I don't think it I will be able to write a decent review as of now. The reason for the drop is the deep emotional impact and scars it has left me with.
However let me remind you that this one of the most unique mangas out there. This is a must read for everyone and anyone.

Oyasumi Punpun (Goodnight Punpun) can be described as a best selling book when comparing it to Harry potter, however it is in a form of a manga and targets a specific audience. This manga describes REALITY by introducing the main read more