5-toubun no Hanayome
The Quintessential Quintuplets
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

5-toubun no Hanayome

Alternative Titles

English: The Quintessential Quintuplets
Synonyms: Gotoubun no Hanayome, The Five Wedded Brides
Japanese: 五等分の花嫁

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 122
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 9, 2017 to Feb 19, 2020
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen, HaremHarem
Authors: Haruba, Negi (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 3948439,484 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7602
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #91
Members: 74,011
Favorites: 5,594

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 18, 2020
Pipe (All reviews)
I'm living a deja-vu, another great manga with a controversial ending. A conclusion that has several mixed feelings. The ending lacks the charisma and emotion of the entire series. 5-toubun no Hanayome and the 4 broken hearts. 1- I want to get married and the twilight zone where dreams can give us the wrong impression.

First, I want to clarify this; we could have a manga with the "What if" ending. Some will complain and try to indicate that it is not valid. However, Negi said it in an interview where he points that he wants to write an ending that would make everyone happy, and read more
Feb 19, 2020
Rirakkusu (All reviews)
Calling Gotoubun a finished manga is like calling Fuutarou’s lunch a proper meal. It isn’t. It needed at least two more volumes to be finished, and much more to be entertaining. Once held in the highest regard as a romance/harem manga, its journey was cut short, and with it comes a bitter taste—a taste of overwhelming amounts of salt. From screaming fans nonetheless.

It flopped because Negi tried too hard subverting tropes. The ending shouts "haha *she* won you never saw it coming did ya" when in reality it lacked any substance. I started reading the manga when the first season aired, it was like 70 read more
Sep 26, 2018
SiriusTimeKeeper (All reviews)
Preliminary
QUINTUPLETS & THEIR TUTOR'S LOVE INTEREST

**Asking me for any Romcom or Harem recommendations? Yes, this manga is definitely one of them.

Minor spoilers:

If you are interested in how sisters compete against each other knowingly or unknowingly for the love of the protagonist, Fuutarou, then this manga is definitely for you.


Story: 9.5
As a manga in the category for Harem, it is rare to find a manga that DOESN'T FOCUS on a ton of ECCHI moments (such as constantly showing naked girls or girl undies). If you are trying to find pure love development without wasting time on ecchi moments, this is truly the right manga for read more
Feb 19, 2020
Rylston (All reviews)
"Devoting time... Getting to know their behaviours, voices, unconscious habits, would you not say that is love?" -Quintuplets' Grandfather

This has been a ride. Gotoubun no Hanayome, a.k.a The Quintessential Quintuplets, has and is an truly unique take on the harem romance genre. Does it revolutionise the harem genre? Probably not, but it sure does bring some breath of fresh air into this stacked genre. The very first chapter I've read this manga, I knew it was going to be something, and with this review, I'll tell you my thoughts as to why, I think this is a manga series that YOU, should not pass out read more
Jan 13, 2018
noutong (All reviews)
Preliminary
*SLIGHT SPOILERS*

I'll keep this short and simple (if possible). 5-toubun no Hanayome/Gotoubun no Hanayome/The Five Wedded Brides is a very sweet, romantic story thus far about the main protag, Uesugi, and quintuplet sisters who need tutoring in school to pass. Right at the beginning we find out that Uesugi marries one of the 5 sisters, but we don't know who yet which makes it so mysterious and interesting.

The story so far is great! The pacing is perfect in my opinion, and there isn't any filler (so far) to halt the progression of the story/plot. We find out many things about Uesugi and each sister, read more
Feb 18, 2020
the9thone (All reviews)
Well, I didn't cry to this one like I have in the past. This manga had an amazing story. It put a unique twist on a "harem" story. Some arcs were pretty boring having to show every main character's prospective, but that doesn't really take away from the story. The ending though was kinda off putting. I wasn't really sure what had actually happened. I still loved this manga and feel like reading it from start to end again. Everything about this was amazing, however I found another manga with the same concept where the MC is a tutor to a group of girls. I read more
May 1, 2018
TotoroTheGreat (All reviews)
Preliminary
5-toubun no Hanayome has an interesting premise for a harem by having not two nor three sisters, but five sisters as part of the harem. And to top it all off, they are quintuplets. They are each given a personality quirk and an appearance quirk in order for them to stand out. Our male protagonist is a standard, book-smart and uptight guy who has been hired to be a tutor to the sisters. As it turns out, the sisters are really bad when it comes to studying and are reluctant to have him as a tutor. But the guy has to stick to this job read more
Mar 16, 2018
t1han (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rewriting the wheel. In a world where harem has been dogged, overdone and rehashed, 5-toubun no Hanayome is the revival of the harem genre. The story focuses on the protagonist (Uesegi) having to help quintuplet sisters graduate high school. While the premise of the story may not be original (hint hint "We Never Study), it wins in a place so many harems fail: pacing/plot and excessive fan service.

Due to the complexity of love stories, authors constantly dig themselves into a hole and introduce filler arcs, fan service or new girls to slow the story down. These speed bumps lead to a clunky, inconsistent story read more
Feb 18, 2020
LordToine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoiler free review!

Gotoubun no Hanayome, ah...where do we begin. So much here has been excellently executed, yet a few of the most important parts were utterly destroyed. And it's a pity that despite being few in number, the problems are massive. My mind is literally all over the place as I'm writing this because this series had all the hallmarks to be truly special; and I don't mean this the way people did when talking about Nisekoi or whatnot. Gotoubun was literally amazing up to the final eight to ten chapters: what's utterly shocking here is how QUICKLY it stagnated. Feels like the story was read more
Jan 13, 2020
Smugman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 2
The story boils down to another rom com manga. The only "twist" is that the heroines are all quintuplets. What could have potentially been interesting ended up being the same old, safe, uninspired manga I've seen enough times before.

Art: 7
The only decent part of this manga. The art style is appealing and the easiest way to tell all the characters apart.

Characters: 3
The protagonist is another uninteresting, self insert type. His character development is about the same as every other manga of this type I've read - starts off cold and not liking the girls but through many wacky and zany and emotional events he read more
Mar 4, 2020
Nanalogy (All reviews)
*Spoilers ahead for those who have not completed the manga and/or only watched season 1 of the anime*

I wanted to believe that this manga would have been different from the rest of the generic harem trash out there on the market. I so wanted to believe that Negi Haruba would have written the manga in such a way that the ending would be acceptable to most of the fan base surrounding it. BUT NO. He had to fuck up a manga that could have gone down as one of the best harem manga on the market by rushing the ending and completely disregarding the fan's read more
Feb 29, 2020
2shizukasensei88 (All reviews)
Well that was a journey.

This reading this manga is enjoyable.

The characters where likable.

And I am satisfied with the end ship.

Just because I didn't specifically routed for anyone.

Actually I lied, I routed for Ichika to win up until ch.90.

I love the art too.

It is really appealing to the eye.

And the characters designs where nice too.

If not for the disappointing ending, I would have given it a 10/10

Overall I recommend you read this manga, if you are tried of this cookie-cutter shit mangas.

And lastly, don't listen to the community when reading this manga, they just got trolled lmao.
Mar 11, 2020
Ulas_Sar (All reviews)
There are two possible reasons that this series went downhill and they both compliment each other. 1. The writer had no idea how to explain away all the BS he tried to pull. 2. He got lazy and just said screw it.

By god this series was a train wreck. Start was generic but it picked up the pace towards the middle and there are point where i'd considered giving this manga a 10/10 but the last 3rd and ending drag this series all the way down to a 4.

Oh my god the ending... While this series was really good up until the sisters war read more
Dec 12, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh, Quintessential Quintuplets. I've been a fan of you ever since I began watching your anime. You left me with a cliffhanger, but you gave me an opportunity to continue by opening the path of manga for me. Thanks to that, I was able to continue enjoying my experience to the utmost. Up until the latest episode where everything will probably ( and finally ) be concluded. I acknowledge that what I'm going to say will be a very bad comparison. But if I am to describe 5-toubun no Hanayome. I would describe it as "Reverse Nisekoi But Better".

I have always been a fan read more
May 26, 2019
jiroutachi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I first wrote this review when I had read about 80 chapters of Gotoubun no Hanayome and during the height of its popularity. I believed it to be a solid, well-developed, decently-paced school setting romcom - a rare gem for me, considering that I'm usually not a fan of those. I went as far as to say that Gotoubun made other modern popular animanga of the same genre look pathetic in comparison.

But whew... Talk about things that did not age well.

It's not to say that Gotoubun lost all of its value for me. I treasure those first 70-something chapters and the attachment I felt to read more
Feb 23, 2020
tahadzmm (All reviews)
I'm writing this review a few days after reading the last chapter, this manga was one of the greatest work that I have read, it delivered to us a wonderful romance/ harem story, The story in Overall was a masterpiece, but it didn't feel like that starting from the festival arc, I felt like the writer was rushing to finish story as soon as possible, I believe that 10 or 20 more chapters were needed to strengthen the plot, as for the characters I liked most of them, all of them developed in a great way through the manga except for Itsuki, it was like read more
Aug 24, 2020
miccah (All reviews)
Note that his review is going to be incredibly mediocre it's my first review but I'll try my best.
This manga was able to invoke an emptiness in my heart that I haven't felt before. It is able to make you realize how boring your life is and how much you are missing out on. At the same time, the story is comforting and honestly was really good. For me, it really never mattered who won in the end because I always enjoy the journey more than the ending. Each arc developed the quintuplets into being all completely different and unique characters. Some definitely got more read more
Jul 11, 2020
snetygun (All reviews)
Ah, The Quintessential Quintuplets. The journey of this manga makes me sad. A manga that, I personally dare say, was becoming one of the best romantic comedies of the new decade, alongside heavy hitter Kaguya-sama. If it weren't for some very glaring issues, I would've rated this manga even higher than an 8. Unfortunately, I can't talk about what gripes me about the story without a few spoilers here and there, so be prepared when I get to the "Cons" part of the review. I came in late, as I came to read the manga after watching the anime. I'll be referencing the anime in read more
Feb 28, 2020
jaeheek (All reviews)
It's over. After many chapters of lies, deception, severe cockblocking and an ocean's worth of salt, this rollercoaster of a manga is finally over. When I think of this manga, I think of the famous quote by the anime reviewer Glass Arkada, "The ending is paramount". This quote REALLY fits for this series.

Story: 7/10
The story of Go-Toubun no Hanayome is a simple one. It follows a studious high school student named Uesugi Futaro and his new part-time job tutoring the five beautiful Nakano sisters who are all dumb as shit. A “How I met your mother”-esk mystery is present throughout the entire story as read more
Apr 2, 2019
Ikuaya (All reviews)
Preliminary
*VERY MINOR SPOILERS*
(the "spoilers" mentioned are all basic things we learn very, very early on in the manga)

I'm writing this review after watching the anime adaption, as I genuinely loved the anime and wanted to continue the story after. It was very unusual for me as I generally don't read mangas, but the anime was so great I had high expectations for the manga. And let me say - it totally lived up to those expectations.

For those who haven't read the manga OR watched the anime, I'll give a brief overview (I wrote a review on the anime as well, although to be honest read more