Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Solo Leveling

Solo Leveling

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Na Honjaman Level Up, I Level Up Alone
Japanese: 나 혼자만 레벨업

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Mar 4, 2018 to ?
Authors: Chugong (Story), Jang, Sung-rak (Art)
Serialization: Kakao

Statistics

Score: 8.931 (scored by 11357 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #112
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #369
Members: 22,621
Favorites: 2,455

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Sep 26, 2019
BTDee (All reviews)
This isn't your typical "MC becomes crazy OP" story where the OP MC becomes absolutely boring af.

This story is a fucking masterpiece.
You may be skeptical about reading it, perhaps you think it will end up trash like many generic RPG/MMO style anime/manga.
I assure you that that opinion is completely wrong.

The Story: 10/10
Absolutely solid, it flows extremely well and is probably one of the best adaptions of a LN into a Manhwa I've ever seen.
The story is filled with plots that make sense, flowing with extremely well written character development, assisted by very good character interactions.
Of course, like many stories, it starts out slow. When I read more
Sep 28, 2019
abystoma2 (All reviews)
"This isn't solo leveling anymore!"
- Solo Leveling, chapter 46

Ah yes, the highly praised webtoon, Solo Leveling. Now that it started being released physically too, it's finally added to MALs database. Does it live up to expectations? Not really, no.

Solo Leveling is pretty much your typical "zero to hero" story, despite what fans might claim. Protagonist is weak, encounters trouble and is handed down some op abilities out of nowhere. Yes, he technically has to do quest to earn progress, but just the ability to do quests itself is unique to the world and is given to the protagonist with no explanation as to why. (Also read more
Sep 26, 2019
Raito (All reviews)
Solo Leveling does everything it tries to do goddamn right.

You may think the setting has been done a million times and it's just another generic overpowered main character doing what he wants, it's exactly that, but executed absolutely magnificently in every regard.

Story: 10/10
The setting is quite simple, one day gates start appearing all over the world out of nowhere and people start awakening magic abilities in order to close these gates. Our main character is a man dubbed "The Worlds Weakest Hunter", Sung Jin-Woo, who joins these raids in order to pay for his comatose mothers treatment and his younger sisters education. After a raid read more
Sep 27, 2019
we4btr4sh (All reviews)
Solo leveling is a super fun read, where the MC is pretty much op but it never ceases to be boring. The story flows well and is a straightup an upgrade from the LN. Combined with the godly artist every page is just a feast for the eyes. This manhua is an example of op done right.

Story : 9.5
somewhat generic isekai power fantasy but that doesn't really affect the story.Starts off slow but quickly turns into a ride you can't get off. World building is done well in both the LN and manhua.

Art: 10
Most likely one of the best looking manhua/manga I've read besides read more
Oct 1, 2019
Tanooshii (All reviews)
Every. Damn. Time.

I don't understand why this superficial manhwa is so hyped

Solo Leveling tells the story of a mary sue named Sung Jin-Woo who tries to mimic a random isekai plot in search of a hollow character development, it's a kpop version of the Arifureta, but Arifureta can be funny for involuntary moments, but here, the things are they're stupids in a raw way, it's the kind of manga a person would make just to satisfy fetish self insert of a cool edgy guy in another world.

This story has a terrible worldbuilding, I thought it would show you at the beginning of your journey how read more
Sep 27, 2019
-Nate-River- (All reviews)
*Contains No Spoilers*

Story: 10
This isn't your average mediocre manhwa about some guy who becomes overpowered, everyone thinks is week but is super strong, and gets all the girls! This is about a guy who is overpowered and everyone thinks is weak (Only in the beginning arcs) but is done PERFECTLY. The arcs just keep getting better and is very difficult to find any major flaws. In my opinion i think the description of the manhwa is more than enough to get you to at least check it out.

Art: 10
The art is the second best part about this manhwa. The art is absolutely beautiful, the read more
Sep 27, 2019
Cynical-Psycho (All reviews)
OH boy. Its finally here. The most hyped webtoon currently airing. In the sea of straight 10s this is about to receive, I just wanna say if this really deserves it.
Story: 7
First of all, if you aren't in the mood to read a complete zero to the absolute hero story then don't bother. In terms of story, Solo leveling doesn't do things that are too different or too unique but has enough fresh elements to keep the reader engaged. Our MC is very close to being the generic cool and overpowered light novel protagonist that we have come to accept. What makes him stand read more
Oct 28, 2019
RewriteGonnaSuck (All reviews)
This Manhwa is only on top manga board because it was doing all the cliche, plot point of all the other shounen, OP main character trope from all the trend Sao, One punch man, Overlord,Moon light sculpture very well and all the new reader who was not feed up or familiar with the older would not understand how much this Manhwa suck dick. This Manhwa is just stalling time bomb, the MC keep getting stronger with little to no risk or stake, and the MC is just a cookie cutter guy with no trait worth noting, it just to make us feel like the read more
Oct 11, 2019
Sir_Foxy (All reviews)
This is average, no more, no less.

Story (5/10)
It's a simple story and executed in a very average manner. A classic zero to hero and not much more to say about it. There are some plotholes especially in the world building but none of them are really that damaging on thier own though.

Art (7/10)
The art is good, having it colored makes it way more lively and for the action scenes, which after al are one of the strong points of the manhwa, it does work well. But it's no more than that, good, do not expect beautiful art pieces you can simply sit there read more
Oct 4, 2019
CobaltHaze (All reviews)
Just a note: This is my first review, so pardon me if it has odd errors or is formatted wrong.

Why I must Write This Review: Essentially I have been forced to give this review, not out of the enjoyment I received from the series (although there is much), but simply to ask people to hold their final verdict until the story is closer to being completed. Although the story may not seem like it, majority of the important information of the series is withheld until later. This in turn, makes it appear as though the writer made people had powers read more
Sep 28, 2019
protolana (All reviews)
I really appreciate the contribution the African Americans in this piece of literature.
I mean I like the colors on this manhwa... and the art is spectacular, rivaling the quality of other acclaimed manga while having it's appealing art style not become too generic. The linework is clean and backgrounds are almost always present.

The story is about what you expect from a typical shonen, but the execution, the how, meaning the world building, the suspense and tension, the catharsis the mc invokes, is done very well.

This manhwa primarily for: people who wanted more from SAO and were disappointed by the direction it goes for after read more
Sep 28, 2019
RaiFred (All reviews)
So MAL finally decided to add Solo Leveling to their database. Well it was about fucking time. This manhwa has been making quite big waves in the past months in the weeb world so I was surprised to find out it’s not on MAL yet. Well, let’s get down to reviewing.

Story: 8/10
The basic premise of the manhwa is fairly generic, it’s basically just “from zero to hero”. However, the execution is great. If you like those generic “from zero to hero” stories, then read this. It’s much better than anything else you could find for that genre.

Art: 10/10
Nothing much to say about the art. It’s read more
Nov 13, 2019
Magicfist (All reviews)
"Solo Leveling", what seemed like an underdog story has really left me disappointed. At first glance, the whole reason I started was to expect him to grow as a character slowly and PROVE himself. However, this is not what I got at all.

Forget the underdog story, forget the meaningful process of character growth and development, the story tries it's hardest to make the character look like he's "struggling", but it's pretty difficult when the MC has the same emotionless, edgy facial expression on every panel.

It's just extremely confusing and frustrating how this supposed "underdog" MC gets so strong so damn fast. He is literally flawless, read more
Oct 11, 2019
ZFPuhi (All reviews)
Hello all,

This is my first time writing a review and I can say that this reminds me so much of many many good Anime startups like SAO and I can say that I was mesmerized when I first started reading it. I was going from chapter to chapter with such hunger for more, took me 8 straight hours to catch-up and I could simply not get enough of it.

Story: 10/10

Simply grabbing you by the neck and chockeslamming you, like a wrestle mania moment. When you start with the first chapter you simply can't get enough of the weak character, who is always depressed and scared read more
Oct 10, 2019
Amm0s (All reviews)
I'll keep this short.

What is it sometimes that makes a manga or manhwa so different yet so enjoyable at the same time. I'm sure you know it's just the coloring and preference in my opinion. Few people or readers sometimes find this cheezy.

But this is a manhwa that contains art which legit is on another freaking level and that may change other's opinions on manhwa.

Story: 9/10 I know this is a typical story for any manhwa. Whenever a story introduces a weak character in time he/she becomes strong as freak to defeat his/her foes and yeah, that's too typical, so that's a negative. But read more
Nov 9, 2019
Slemmen447 (All reviews)
Despite the cries claiming this is an unprecedented masterpiece, I've found that while it is a pretty good basic zero-to-hero power fantasy, it's not much beyond that.

Story: 6
If you break the series down to its core, it's really all about Jin-Woo (the main character) being an overpowered badass, beating up people/monsters who consistently underestimate him, both literally and figuratively. There really is not much more to it.

What makes this series stand out, however, is that this one is well executed. Even as the series is busy showing off just how much of a badass Jin-Woo is, its story arcs are still mildly interesting, not to read more
Nov 30, 2019
k1213693 (All reviews)
Story-3
The MC is crazy overpowered, and there's absolutely no tension left in the story because of that. There's no point in the last 50+ chapters where I at least somewhat could think he might've died because he NEVER loses. The plot is super derivative. Weak dude suddenly gets blessed with amazing powers and becomes an awesome hero, showing up all of the lazy corrupt strong dudes who look down on anyone lower than them. And the monsters are all generic video game villains like orcs, dragons, knights, elves and wolves. There's nothing about the story that sticks out.

Art- 8
The art is good. The glow and read more
Nov 16, 2019
Lisnotmynickname (All reviews)
I'm not going to explain much why I believe this manhwa is extremely overrated, since they are probably people who could do it better, but in general I think people think it’s a masterpiece because of the idea behind it.

So, this manhwa over simplified is about a dude who becomes strong by his own efforts not by chance and that’s why I think people think it’s that good, I think the majority of people that think that the idea behind its original or never done before while they are manga out there that execute the same idea or gimmick a lot better. For example: Boku read more
Nov 11, 2019
RhyukxX (All reviews)
Amazing, simply amazing. No real spoilers in this review. Also, please pardon any grammatical errors, English is not my native language.

After I finished chapter 90, I started with the novel because I couldn't wait for the next chapter. I will talk about the Manga but I will mention a few things about the novel.

The story is very typical, nothing outstanding about the theme. What does make a difference, without a doubt, is the way the story is told. The manga does a good job at portraying the novel but, of course, it cannot emphasize all the aspects and depth of the novel. The story gets read more
Dec 9, 2019
NaTsu879 (All reviews)
Okay so let's start writing . Before that i would like to mention that the content has spoilers and you should read at your own risk . : )

Read many webtoons , Manhwa , Manhua and manga so far . Typically all of them have some stuff that are clichéd . But that literally is based on their definition on what u call cliché . Japanese manga's with their old dense and stupid MC . chinese with their cultivation and Koreans with the game console etc etc .

But the real thing is particularly Solo leveling is the best webtoon i read so far . Maybe read more