Solo Leveling
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Solo Leveling

Alternative Titles

English: Solo Leveling
Synonyms: Na Honjaman Level Up, I Level Up Alone
Japanese: 나 혼자만 레벨업

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Mar 4, 2018 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Authors: Chugong (Story), Jang, Sung-rak (Art)
Serialization: Kakao

Statistics

Score: 8.881 (scored by 9052190,521 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #192
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #20
Members: 169,598
Favorites: 19,155

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Sep 28, 2019
abystoma2 (All reviews)
"This isn't solo leveling anymore!"
- Solo Leveling, chapter 46

Ah yes, the highly praised webtoon, Solo Leveling. Now that it started being released physically too, it's finally added to MALs database. Does it live up to expectations? Not really, no.

Note that this review contains slight spoilers.

Solo Leveling is pretty much your typical "zero to hero" story, despite what fans might claim. Protagonist is weak, encounters trouble and is handed down some op abilities out of nowhere. Yes, he technically has to do quest to earn progress, but just the ability to do quests itself is unique to the world and is given to the protagonist with read more
Sep 26, 2019
BTDarklings (All reviews)
This isn't your typical "MC becomes crazy OP" story where the OP MC becomes absolutely boring af.

This story is a fucking masterpiece.
You may be skeptical about reading it, perhaps you think it will end up trash like many generic RPG/MMO style anime/manga.
I assure you that that opinion is completely wrong.

The Story: 10/10
Absolutely solid, it flows extremely well and is probably one of the best adaptions of a LN into a Manhwa I've ever seen.
The story is filled with plots that make sense, flowing with extremely well written character development, assisted by very good character interactions.
Of course, like many stories, it starts out slow. When I read more
Sep 27, 2019
we4btr4sh (All reviews)
Solo leveling is a super fun read, where the MC is pretty much op but it never ceases to be boring. The story flows well and is a straightup an upgrade from the LN. Combined with the godly artist every page is just a feast for the eyes. This manhua is an example of op done right.

Story : 9.5
somewhat generic isekai power fantasy but that doesn't really affect the story.Starts off slow but quickly turns into a ride you can't get off. World building is done well in both the LN and manhua.

Art: 10
Most likely one of the best looking manhua/manga I've read besides read more
Sep 26, 2019
Raito (All reviews)
Solo Leveling does everything it tries to do goddamn right.

You may think the setting has been done a million times and it's just another generic overpowered main character doing what he wants, it's exactly that, but executed absolutely magnificently in every regard.

Story: 10/10
The setting is quite simple, one day gates start appearing all over the world out of nowhere and people start awakening magic abilities in order to close these gates. Our main character is a man dubbed "The Worlds Weakest Hunter", Sung Jin-Woo, who joins these raids in order to pay for his comatose mothers treatment and his younger sisters education. After a raid read more
Oct 1, 2019
Tanooshii (All reviews)
Every. Damn. Time.

I don't understand why this superficial manhwa is so hyped

Solo Leveling tells the story of a mary sue named Sung Jin-Woo who tries to mimic a random isekai plot in search of a hollow character development, it's a kpop version of the Arifureta, but Arifureta can be funny for involuntary moments, but here, the things are they're stupids in a raw way, it's the kind of manga a person would make just to satisfy fetish self insert of a cool edgy guy in another world.

This story has a terrible worldbuilding, I thought it would show you at the beginning of your journey how read more
Nov 13, 2019
Magicfist (All reviews)
"Solo Leveling", what seemed like an underdog story has really left me disappointed. At first glance, the whole reason I started was to expect him to grow as a character slowly and PROVE himself. However, this is not what I got at all.

Forget the underdog story, forget the meaningful process of character growth and development, the story tries it's hardest to make the character look like he's "struggling", but it's pretty difficult when the MC has the same emotionless, edgy facial expression on every panel.

It's just extremely confusing and frustrating how this supposed "underdog" MC gets so strong so damn fast. He is literally flawless, read more
Feb 15, 2020
Avicebrons (All reviews)
WARNING! THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS!

Solo Leveling is a manhwa that always baffles me whenever I hear someone talk about it. They usually like to say nice sounding buzzwords whenever they praise it, but never bother to actually expand on it. It's always at the front page of whatever site or app you're using. But when I myself read it, it felt like I was reading a completely different manhwa than the one everyone was talking about. Let me break down the different aspects of the manhwa:

Art 8/10: Art is the one and only aspect I can praise Solo Leveling for. It's undeniable that it read more
Oct 11, 2019
Sir_Foxy (All reviews)
This is average, no more, no less.

Story (5/10)
It's a simple story and executed in a very average manner. A classic zero to hero and not much more to say about it. There are some plotholes especially in the world building but none of them are really that damaging on thier own though.

Art (7/10)
The art is good, having it colored makes it way more lively and for the action scenes, which after al are one of the strong points of the manhwa, it does work well. But it's no more than that, good, do not expect beautiful art pieces you can simply sit there read more
Jan 18, 2020
chicken521 (All reviews)
(Note: This review contains some spoilers, but I doubt spoilers will ruin your potential enjoyment with this manhwa. Also, despite my rating, this manhwa can still be extremely enjoyable. However, enjoyable does NOT mean well-written. There's a reason why the term dumpster fire exists.)

"Do you have low self-esteem? Do the girls at school reject you because you're weak? Do you want to escape this unsatisfying reality? Well, oh boy, do I have the solution for you! Introducing Solo Leveling: the insecure weeb's most popular source of escapism and wish fulfillment."

The popular manhwa is rated a whopping 8.96 and ranked 12th in all manga, is it read more
Oct 28, 2019
RewriteGonnaSuck (All reviews)
This Manhwa is only on top manga board because it was doing all the cliche, plot point of all the other shounen, OP main character trope from all the trend Sao, One punch man, Overlord,Moon light sculpture very well and all the new reader who was not feed up or familiar with the older would not understand how much this Manhwa suck dick. This Manhwa is just stalling time bomb, the MC keep getting stronger with little to no risk or stake, and the MC is just a cookie cutter guy with no trait worth noting, it just to make us feel like the read more
Nov 30, 2019
k1213693 (All reviews)
Story-3
The MC is crazy overpowered, and there's absolutely no tension left in the story because of that. There's not a single point in the last 50+ chapters where I could at least kind of imagine that he could've died because he NEVER loses. The most he'll get out of a fight is losing a handful of his soldier minions- which get easily replaced- and maybe a scratch on his cheek- which he can easily revert back to normal.
And he plot is super formulaic. Weak dude suddenly gets blessed with amazing powers and becomes an awesome hero, showing up all of the lazy corrupt "strong" guys read more
Mar 16, 2020
leobrbr (All reviews)
Solo leveling is one of the most overrated manga i've ever come across in this platform. Having a staggering 8.97 score, I was hoping its fans were right when everyone claimed it ''wasn't just a generic power fantasy'', and that it would get better over time. Unfortunately that wasn't the case.

This was the first manwha I had ever read, and the art was the aspect I liked most about it. Altough the long stripes were a bit hard to get used to, I enjoyed the expressiveness of the characters. It's a shame the character designs were also a bit generic, but that's forgivable if the read more
May 19, 2020
Yura3773 (All reviews)
Oh no, where do I fucking begin. Despite what many of the manwha legion will claim, this story is not one that is good and has no real meaning that leaves you feeling bored after the official ending. This shit must have been written by an angsty 15 year old because it is every bit of power fantasy that you would expect from a something written by them. The main character has a heroic moment at the beginning, but after that his personality does a complete 180 and is easily one of the most powerful characters nearly 30 chapters in. A lot of stories seem read more
Sep 27, 2019
Cynical-Psycho (All reviews)
OH boy. Its finally here. The most hyped webtoon currently airing. In the sea of straight 10s this is about to receive, I just wanna say if this really deserves it.
Story: 7
First of all, if you aren't in the mood to read a complete zero to the absolute hero story then don't bother. In terms of story, Solo leveling doesn't do things that are too different or too unique but has enough fresh elements to keep the reader engaged. Our MC is very close to being the generic cool and overpowered light novel protagonist that we have come to accept. What makes him stand read more
Oct 4, 2019
Realm_ (All reviews)
Just a note: This is my first review, so pardon me if it has odd errors or is formatted wrong.

Why I must Write This Review: Essentially I have been forced to give this review, not out of the enjoyment I received from the series (although there is much), but simply to ask people to hold their final verdict until the story is closer to being completed. Although the story may not seem like it, majority of the important information of the series is withheld until later. This in turn, makes it appear as though the writer made people had powers read more
May 19, 2020
PlantyIsGay (All reviews)
It is very sad to see that this is such highly rated because of how shit this webtoon is. Webtoons, in general, are very low quality compared to manga. From the art, the story, and the characters, webtoons are just the worse younger brother of manga. This webtoon is no different. Solo leveling is a webtoon for all the losers who desire to become a badass.

The progression in this webtoon is probably the worst I have ever seen. He goes from one of the weakest hunters to the strongest in the span of 10 chapters. He is like Goku on steroids. While Goku continuously gets read more
Nov 9, 2019
Slemmen447 (All reviews)
Despite the cries claiming this is an unprecedented masterpiece, I've found that while it is a pretty good basic zero-to-hero power fantasy, it's not much beyond that.

Story: 6
If you break the series down to its core, it's really all about Jin-Woo (the main character) being an overpowered badass, beating up people/monsters who consistently underestimate him, both literally and figuratively. There really is not much more to it.

What makes this series stand out, however, is that this one is well executed. Even as the series is busy showing off just how much of a badass Jin-Woo is, its story arcs are still mildly interesting, not to read more
Oct 10, 2019
Amm0s (All reviews)
I'll keep this short.

What is it sometimes that makes a manga or manhwa so different yet so enjoyable at the same time. I'm sure you know it's just the coloring and preference in my opinion. Few people or readers sometimes find this cheezy.

But this is a manhwa that contains art which legit is on another freaking level and that may change other's opinions on manhwa.

Story: 9/10 I know this is a typical story for any manhwa. Whenever a story introduces a weak character in time he/she becomes strong as freak to defeat his/her foes and yeah, that's too typical, so that's a negative. But read more
Sep 28, 2019
protolana (All reviews)
I really appreciate the contribution the African Americans in this piece of literature.
I mean I like the colors on this manhwa... and the art is spectacular, rivaling the quality of other acclaimed manga while having it's appealing art style not become too generic. The linework is clean and backgrounds are almost always present.

The story is about what you expect from a typical shonen, but the execution, the how, meaning the world building, the suspense and tension, the catharsis the mc invokes, is done very well.

This manhwa primarily for: people who wanted more from SAO and were disappointed by the direction it goes for after read more
Oct 11, 2019
ZFPuhi (All reviews)
Hello all,

This is my first time writing a review and I can say that this reminds me so much of many many good Anime startups like SAO and I can say that I was mesmerized when I first started reading it. I was going from chapter to chapter with such hunger for more, took me 8 straight hours to catch-up and I could simply not get enough of it.

Story: 10/10

Simply grabbing you by the neck and chockeslamming you, like a wrestle mania moment. When you start with the first chapter you simply can't get enough of the weak character, who is always depressed and scared read more