Manga Reviews

5 hours ago
Natsuzora and Run (Manga) add
50thHokage
Alright so i am writing this right after i finished binge reading the whole thing in a day and i am not gonna lie this was a pretty decent story. Characters weren't too deep but you grew to like them. It wasn't too long as to were you just beg it to end or you want to drop it, but it could have used about 10 more chapters cause the ending feels rushed. (It works though). Another thing it did which i did not like is that towards the end it basically became a sports only manga and the romance got pushed to the side till the very end. (last 4 chapters are like that). This is not a story you will think about as one of the greatest ever but it defiantly is a story worth reading.

Side note: If you hate sports or student teacher relationships this might not be the best one for you. Even if you don't, i would give it a try because of the length. Hope this helped.
I found this review Helpful
Galletita
(This is my first review so please be kind! BTW this review is spoiler-free)
I'm a huge JoJo fan and after finishing DiU I was pretty excited for Vento Aureo, sadly it was quite disappointing. I thought the premise was brilliant (JoJo and gangsters, what could go wrong?) but it was just poorly developed.
Story (5/10): The plot in Vento Aureo is quite linear, slightly similar to the plot of Stardust Crusaders yet it has a lot of confusing elements and undefined character goals which make the whole thing basically pointless. For me the storyline in Vento Aureo was a huge let down, considering the amazing and rich plot of its predecessor DiU. The stands and the fights in this part are really creative, yet they fail to leave a deep impression.
Art (8/10): The art in Vento Aureo is really unique and dynamic and it has the distinctive fashionable style of Araki. All of the clothes in Vento Aureo are pretty flamboyant and the design of each character is unique and memorable. For me the only flaw is that in the last chapters the art gets confusing and messy, especially in the fight scenes.
Characters (6/10): The main flaw in Vento Aureo is definitely its protagonist, Giorno. Giorno is just boring and he doesn't have any sort of character development nor charm unlike the previous JoJos. Giorno's companions are far more charming and interesting than him and have a fair share of character development; sadly they're overshadowed by the forgettable enemies and the overall boring plot.
Enjoyment (6/10): Vento Aureo is not as enjoyable as the other parts of JoJo because of its uninteresting storyline and undeveloped characters, also the pacing of the story is really fast which makes catching up with every element and the fights a difficult task. In the positive aspects, Vento Aureo has the bizarre elements and weirdness which are the unique aspects of JoJo.
Overall (6/10): I really tried to enjoy Vento Aureo but I was pretty disappointed by its many flaws, for me it's definitely the weakest part of JoJo. I won't say that it's bad, but it's not as good as the rest of the parts. Right now, I'm pretty hyped for the anime adaptation of Vento Aureo because I believe that DavidPro can make a great job in fixing some of the flaws of the manga and make me truly appreciate Vento Aureo.
I found this review Helpful
Tunaguy
this is a revew where im dippin into touho lore, and if u dont knowhou you might wanna read it, cause ill getting in depfth

touhoh sussnan is the new touhou book on the block and its' got everything, action romand and mystry, even a little spooks if ur into that, it starrs kosuzu, the girl the book's named after

kosuzzu needs to collect all the books but some r evil so she has to get help from the real main char, maimouzu futatsuia, to find out which ones r bad

this is real good twist on standrard "drugs r bad" moralty play, with the algory of books and info replacin g drugijs and alocohol, and makes point of how peopl can sawy minds with fake news from foreign sources (tanukis = trumpa dmintinstration)

the big important here is return of fn favorite charcter, koishi, who appears in one panel in the most shes ever gotten in any touhu comic book

if ur fan of touhou you should read it cause its dark

story - theres usually 2 stories, one about kosusu and one about some shinto lady
art - good there's a good amount of attentin on how good the books aredrawn, looks realistic
character 10 mamuzu is boss and knows how to stay cool when someone offers u drugs
enjoymen t10 i laughed once
overall 9
I found this review Helpful
11 hours ago
Yoake ni Furu, (Manga) add
d-ne
this aint even done yet and boy i love it

~ STORY ~

story is 10/10 and im losin it. they're so cute and so and fallin in love just look at them......im dying........this is a continuation of a previous manga i literally never read bc homeboys are just side characters in that one.

unrequited love HURTS to read like at some points i felt a genuine pain in my heart reading some of these chapters but i recovered and im good now


~ ART ~

ok hunny this is some of the best art???i have ever SEEN!!!! im gona die i s2g this is like........my favorite art style ,....EVER.......... im such a thot and the artist of this manga is wacky talented they dun shook me up like ffaaaaaaam just read one chapter they got it down PAT theyre shsl artist straight outta hopes peak im tellin ya


~ characters ~

characters are GREAT........ i love them so muc....... the two main characters are higuchi and sudou who are childhood friends. higuchi is like this awko taco tough guy who was lowkey childhood friends with sudou but he bullied him at first so it's confusing af. even so he bullied him bc he was mad crushin and it turns out he still is and he got it BAD for sudou. but sudou aint feelin it (he has no clue acutally) and has the hots for his dad's ex boyfriend and his old elementary school teacher (i think lmao) so ya as u can guess there's a lot of slowburn and tons of unrequited love but u know what? when higuchi and sudou get together it will all be worth it and the pain this manga inflicted 'pon my heart will finally leave my weary thotty ass soul

i think i went off track

anyway yeah characters 10/10


read more
I found this review Helpful
11 hours ago
Fairy Tail (Manga) add
HalfMoon6705
I liked this manga because the plot is intriguing and the characters are well-developed. Also, there are a lot of good quotes and themes in Fairy Tail. I would recommend this to both experienced manga-readers and beginners. Its entertaining, but also has some sad parts. The mood changes a lot and sometimes it's funny, sometimes serious, sometimes crazy, sometimes sad, and sometimes just plain weird. There are also some hilarious OVA's, which stands for Original Video Animation, and they are sort of like extras. It's also an anime, which is pretty good, too, but which one you watch/read depends on your own personal preferences. But overall, it is a great manga (and anime!) that anyone would enjoy.
I found this review Helpful
Tunaguy
watashi ga motenai no wa dou kangaetemo omaera ga warui is a show about me in highschool

literaly theyj just took picturs of me and put them thru one of those "make urself an anime" wesbsites i see on the siedebar, and said "ok that's a good show" so i shoudl be getting royalty for it

where are my residuals

this not first time japnese playgerise the west )see my berzerk revew) but rarly does it ghit closidj to home like this, it scary how ther was japane people hiding in my schol for 4 year taking pics of me

if japna wehr to steal my life story they should give beter attention to my gaming habits...i dont play on the vita, only a true ninentbro here, sonyponys go home

aslo baseball girl probably paranoia darinin refrence, she hotty thou

since im the only one who knows my loife story il just put my final transcrpt for score here:

english: A
history: a
physic: b-
mathematic: c
athletic: c
GPA: 3.4
I found this review Helpful
12 hours ago
Chio-chan no Tsuugakuro (Manga) add
Tunaguy
this is spinoff of my fave anime story, asumanga dayo, with chiyo (w/ new haircut) doing stuff in highschol by herself and new friend manana

this storey speaks to me...cause chiyo is a real gamer girl, and knows about payday 2, if i could move to japan id like t o play payday 2 with chiyo-chan and we'd do the overdrill achievemen on death wish aND id say "chiyo, the real loot here is u" and id hand her marriage ring and license cause you only need one side to write marriege license in japn (plastic nissan taught me that)

there real good art, and also there's side of funnie hijincks as chiyo becomes super assasin BLOODERFLY or something i forgot, and she gets buddy from bike

story 10 there's enough gamer refrences that it isnt a scrub anime
art - 10 chiyo is hot and i wish i could marry her
character - there's only 2
enjyoment - 10
overall 1000
I found this review Helpful
12 hours ago
Berserk (Manga) add
Tunaguy
ill say it frdost: this show suxx cause its rip off of starwars: big guy with magic sword, wearing all black armor???? gattsu is ripof of dark vader, so no point for oring ingalyty here, but ill try to ignore to make review

this is story about bumbling faries name puck and luck (jojo reference?) who travel realy far on a boat to help save princes, but lots of fishy thing happn to make it difuclt...

first there was prequel movies where gattsu has to help mentor obi-i mean griffisu, he fights in big war against alliance with lots of politic, and then has to rescure him from big white object that has a prison sector...hmm...

show get diversty point becaus casuka is arab...when evel men like DONLD TRUMP make world not safe for tehm, at least japn nice enough to put themi n story (too bad its just coping star wars 7s diversity)

also there big wookei named gorilla grodd, hes literaly petermayhew w/ horns

story - its all ripoff of starwar
art - its ok 10
character - we ned less scenes of darth vader ripoff
enjoyment - p cool figt scens, but...are any better than DUEL OF FATES??
over 0 i dont like plagarism
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 1:14 PM
Fuan no Tane (Manga) add
Tunaguy
thus is spooksville story...better be watch your back,.. cause scary things might happened...

theres no plot in story but i dindt notcie because i was psspooked out of my mind...it really sPOOKED MY GUTS OFF...and now ihave to review it

come sit down, r u ok, here have a nice cup of tea,

it all began with fun no tane, which is a lie...it doesnt have any fun *thunder crackles*

there's a lot of spooky storeis whch witch makes up for how they dont have fights in them, if you want to get spooked this is story for u, also litle kids can watch it because no blood, sex like in big hollywood movie like friday 13 or musou darinin

there's one part where remind me of reali life, i saw a spoky face in the window once, it was cold december night and snow outside, when i see old man peek from above whereing red clothes (stained in blood???????) and he whispers "shhhhhh" i was only 6 but it spook me to this day,

story 0 because there are none
art 3 too spooky
charcter theres no names (unless one of them is named tane)
enjoyment 40 to make up for the rest
overall 10

now...the real spooky part is...i was dead all along, now u have to write review r the fuan wil come to SPOOKY YOUR GUTS OFFFFF
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 1:03 PM
Abara (Manga) add
acotede
After reading several of Tsutomu’s stories, I have come to the conclusion that the major flaw keeping me from enjoying any of them is the way the characters are presented and developed throughout the story. Short, long, it doesn’t seem to matter; the characters are introduced all at once and in a manner that makes it impossible to remember who is who. We get the names in roundabout ways without any characterization, making it very difficult to follow the plot. Abara is no exception.

This is because Tsutomu prefers to tell his stories using visuals rather than dialogue. Despite this, he does not flesh out any ways the reader could become attached or interested in the characters, even with the dialogue we have to work with.

The art is the high point of the manga. If I were to observe some of the pages as objective, apocalyptic, gritty stills, I would find them fascinating. Reading this as a coherent story, however, is just plain confusing. The motive of the characters is obscured, replaced by vague reasoning and urgency used to spur the action forward.

I understand that withholding information is a plot device, but Tsutomu keeps everything to himself but names and basic terms, leaving the reader with little beyond cryptic drawings to unearth some motive along the way. While people praise this as a “deep, psychological” manga, the reader simply has to work harder to uncover why anything is happening, hiding an exhausting guessing game behind psychological intrigue.

The author wanted to draw gritty, sci-fi-esque monsters and fight scenes, and the plot and characters were sacrificed because of that. Beautiful art aside, my score is low due to sloppiness. There was no reason why the author couldn’t add in a detail here or there to help the reader keep the characters in order and understand the plot.

I will say this: I am aware that I am impartial to character development and a fleshed-out story. If you don’t mind feeling a little confused or detached from the characters, this is a grungy and action-packed read that you may enjoy.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 1:03 PM
Oyasumi Punpun (Manga) add
Tunaguy
oyasumi punpun (punpun is japanese for "joke") is a story abtotut baby bird woho learn to fly from nest, but world is scary out there and he become poesses ed by delmons

the art is god uh but its kinda scary (dont tell anyone i said that) they use tesselatins in one chapter i know what thse are, but it need more anime fights to become true clasic

bird boy could use bird-themed power like a bird-bird devil fruit to fight somemne but they dont do that,,,where is the figths

i hear that author boceome tarnssexual, so maybe all of this metaphor for that? bird boy is scared of worl,d dont know where to fit in, has trouble with girl and his head becomes shaped like genital so maybe thats' the big moral of the story:

its hard to become transexual in modenr society

stpry - there's 3 stores one for birdboy, one for friend and also cult
art - they draw some really prety buildings 10
character - not as many as dragonball but enough
enojynymment (sorry) enjomyent - 10
overall i like it
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 12:53 PM
Murciélago (Manga) add
Tunaguy
tihsi THIS is a comic about black lady named little black, that sounds kind of racist (sillyj japan)

there lot of cool artr like guns, car chases, lebian,

little black and her potato friend have sto stop crime in the big city, but colofrful casts of rogues c gallery wants to stop them because they make money from crime (one of them smokes a cigar that sadas says "crime" in smoke lettrs)

i think litle black is on the top 10 list of hotest anime babez ever
-1 litle black
-2 rei
-4 videl from dragn ball
5 suply sdepot prinsess from kancole
6 - that one lady from lesbian dirt gardern arc w/ fighting

theres should be a sound score for this one, cause i made up my own char themes for the cast, here's little bracks' temheme: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5byguP0ohr4 i give it a ten

i didnt finis h because they havent made new episode sicnce april 25th 2016, so ill make fanfic that finshes story so i can give it better review

story - there's 2 stores in this one, little black's and potato girls'
art - 10 pretty
character - ther's like a bajilion characters
enjoyment - 10 you dont need to get hit in cratch with ubmrella to enjoy this oen
overall, 1,000,022 (i think ur supsoed to add thse scorses together to get real score)
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 10:45 AM
Noblesse (Manga) add
Hakkniv
I have been reading this manhwa for about two years now. At first, I really liked it. The story stayed interesting, the character interactions were complicated and realistic, and everything seemed fine. The problem is, for the last 200 chapters or so (its sitting at over 400 now, but essentially for the latter half of the currently translated material) nothing about the plot or characters has changed.... at all. For a piece that seemingly had quite a bit of potential, it has gotten very boring and repetitive. Let's dive right in.

Story - 3
The story used to be an interesting and often comedic story centered around character interaction. This was fine. The problem is that for a long time now the story has switched into a ridiculous action sequence that never ends. They put out 1-2 chapters of character interaction and plot development, followed by 20-40 chapters of long drawn out fights. This detracts from the interesting part of the story - the characters. On top of that, the fights are not even interesting. It follows the same mold every time: "A new enemy has appeared and done something bad, oh no!". *Main cast - MC proceed to fight it and lose* "Wow this new enemy is stronger than any other enemy ever we are REALLY IN TROUBLE THIS TIME. " *MC Shows Up, Deus Ex Machina*. This has happened for 3-4 plot arcs in a row now. It isn't interesting and stops me from watching interactions between characters I previously actually cared about.

Art - 8
The artwork at the start was mediocre, but it has improved a lot since then into a genuinely visually appealing piece. Even if the fights are boring, at least they are well drawn. The artist continues to improve their skills, which is fun to see.

Character - 7
The true reason to read this is for the characters and their interactions. When they actually get the chance to interact it is well written and fun. I would be putting a higher rating here if all that was in the piece was these character interactions. Because the characters constantly get into fights and just yell and panic a bunch about the fights, this score is only a 7.

Enjoyment - 4
I don't enjoy reading a story that doesn't know why it was good, and can't maintain that level of quality. That being said, it is still an alright read.

Overall - 5
Essentially, the obscene amount of action causes an obscene lack of story, so it is hard to continue to care about any of the plot since it rarely actually gets mentioned. It is like reading a bad caricature of shonen tropes.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 9:02 AM
Para☆Izo (Manga) add
MisterK
Mixture of very horny and sexualized jokes toned by the fact that almost all characters are underage. Despite that, you got blowjob training, endless hunt to lose virginity, methods of renaming your poor sexual life to locked achievements, sex robots and interstellar visitors.

It's Douman Seiman, so you either love the art style or hate it all together.
Most characters are high school students and those are ranging from horny sisters, lesbians club with one poisonous-body-like-plant-girl to flasher, depressed guy and his sex bot and an alien.

Ok to read if you got an hour or so to wait and want some giggle or few chuckles but in the end it's really tiring to only get jokes about anal, scat, bj's while most of the jokes are drier then Sahara Desert itself.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 8:44 AM
Orange (Manga) add
TheJrdzone
ORANGE starts off incredibly shallow. The characters are not much more than a single personality trait. I could only remember Naho, Suwa, and Kakeru’s names for the first half. The writing is a equally terrible. While dialogue is supposed to move a narrative along, Orange's dialogue does this too literally. Everything is spelled out for the reader, and everything that happens to the cast seems like a contrived convenience. Couple this with generic high school manga situations, and I was left bored and disappointed with Orange. I would have dropped it earlier on if I hadn’t purchased the complete series at once. I’m glad I finished it, because it does get better. Perhaps Ichigo Takano just needed the hiatus she went on.

During the first half, I was asking myself a bunch of questions about the logistics behind character motives. Why would five teenagers devote their entire existence to helping some new kid they barely know? Why would Suwa just give up the girl of his dreams to the new kid who doesn’t even come to school half the time? These questions are answered in the second half of the series, and a lot of my problems with the series were resolved. Unfortunately, it ends just as it gets good. I thought I had a whole extra volume in my omnibus before I ran smack into a two-shot Seven Seas added to the book (without mentioning it anywhere!). I would have loved to have seen Orange continue on. The ideas of regret, depression, and suicide are important topics to be discussed, and Takano gives some decent insight.

Although Orange grew on me, I can not give it too positive of a review. The first half of it is unbearable, and the second half average. It’s a good idea, but I don’t care for the execution. I hope Ichigo Takano learned a lot from this series, and creates something really good in the future.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 6:10 AM
Tokidoki (Manga) add
jykeous
Warning: some spoilers ahead
For a one-shot, this was amazing. They characterization was excellent given the length and I really became attached to the likable characters. The story, while sad, was inspiring and hooked me in. It relies heavily on "the feels", but this is most likely because there is no other way for it to be impactful with such a short length. I' m a logical and less emotional person and I have probably cried 3 or 4 times over a story, and those were only light tears, but I was actually sobbing at the end of this. It left be somewhat depressed the whole rest of the day and even after that.
Overall, it's amazing. However it suffers from the one thing that makes it so good. It is a tragedy. Tragedies are extremely impactful, which is why so many people like them, but people generally prefer stories with happy ending, including myself. Knowing the characters will die, I could not enjoy and wouldn't want to re-experience a manga or anime series for this story. Maybe I'm being unrealistic, but I think the story would honestly be better with a happy ending, no matter how illogical it is or sounds.
I still love it though.
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 5:40 AM
HajiOtsu. (Manga) add
wildape
this is the first time i reviewing something solely because i want it, well i just finished it and the way to describe the story was.... so sweeet, diabetes symptom alert.

the story is about a girl who fear to all male because she always think that boys/male are frightening creature that always eat from rice cooker, crush her hand if they hold it and other many bad image about boys that she has. then her friend tell her to try overcome her phobia simply by just confessing to strange boy out there. so she remember a guy who she always pass by in her way to school who once pick her key chain by chance. she mustered the courage and confessed to him but surprisingly she got accepted by the boy. so it's begin their first, cute, sweet, awkward love story... the story was focus mainly on how the two of them act to each other and get the advice from their friends... since it's their first experience going out with someone. no love triangle, no bullshit drama, no intervention, no depressing situation, only the pure first love story from two highschooler

it's not only from girl perspective, it also from the guy perspective which is very much similar with the girl perspective(about the shyness and how to act as a couple).
i could say its seinen with much shoujo feeling yet still have shounen type romance feeling too.
the feeling really similar when i watch ore monogatari and working. really recommend for sweet romance lover
I found this review Helpful
Yesterday, 12:07 AM
Re:Monster (Manga) add
Thevsamovies
To begin with, I think MAL should put mediocre as #4 and decent as #5 when it comes to rankings.
Anyway! First review for this Manga in 2017.
Imagine a really cool premise, but an author that allows the protagonist to become ridiculously overpowered for no real reason. Imagine a manga without any threats or suspense. Imagine a manga where there was decent character buildup in the beginning, but during the later chapters it just turned into ramblings about "training" and completely one-sided battles.


*minor spoiler*
Oh, there's also a harem. Did I mention the harem of girls who love the protagonist only because he's the leader? Did I mention the elven sex slaves who join the ranks and forgo their grudges because of "training"?
*Spoiler over*


This is a manga with an interesting premise, but a lackluster story developed by the author.
There is no character development.
There is no suspense or chance for enemies to even challenge the protag.
There is no surprises, twists, or great plot points.
It's just a mediocre story about a guy who kills stuff and gets women.
I found this review Helpful
Raunix
This manga has to be one of my favourite mangas. If you enjoy reading about a main character with a helpless attitude who gradually rises to the top, you might want to consider reading this.

Not much comedy is involved in this manga although there are times where you either find a certain quote funny or just cringe-worthy. Most of the time, the main characters seem to know everything and have quite a serious attitude.

The manga talks about a totally normal boy, Hajime, from the totally normal world gets teleported to another world with his classmates-- full of demons and spells. Because he came from the normal world, people from the abnormal world had high expectations of him. But his stats were dead average.

The story seems to make some Hajime's classmates seem horrible, as if they didn't care that a 'useless boy' had 'died' when they went into the dungeon inside of another world. The girl whom he had a crush on in the normal world seemed like the only one who cared.

The story really focuses on hope since even though Hajime knew there was a slim chance of surviving he pressed on.

I really liked the art in the manga. It expresses the characters well and was somewhat cute. They could have added in a bit more colour to the face but otherwise, it was great.



I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
ēlDLIVE (Manga) add
Gurachan
First of all, I would like to get this out of the way and say that this is a mostly negative review and it would be fine to read this review without telling me to "change my mind" if I read more of elDLIVE, which I doubt would ever pick up again. Why? well, I will explain it. Also, keep in mind, that I will compare Amano's previous work "Reborn!", so if you haven't seen that, you might not understand what I'm saying at times.


Plot: Kokonose Chuuta is a middle school boy that hears voices in his head and occasionally even talks to that voice in public, hence the nickname "Mumbling Chuuta". Soon, he realizes that an alien, more specifically, a montelien (excuse the spelling) is connected to him by unknown reasons, and was soon chosen to join a galactic space police organization, called elDLIVE.

My thoughts on the plot, is that the story has WAY too many plot holes to begin with. I'll just assume

that it is not exactly Amano's speciality to explain things and why they happen, because it made no

sense why no one knows about aliens at this point.


Before you tell me that elDLIVE have this ability to erase people's minds about anything regarding

aliens, let me tell you this, there is bound to be someone witnessing the doings of elDLIVE in the
shadows.

I MEAN COME ON, NASA, HELLO?? DO YOU EVEN SEE THIS THROUGH YOUR SATELLITES?

I lost interest in elDLIVE after reading the first thirty chapters, perhaps this may be my fault, for not waiting for future chapters. I didn't understand the goal of elDLVE police at all. And there was never really a explanation about SPH either. Overall, the plot seemed boring and bland to me.


The art was great, not going to lie. However, I find it to be more mediocre than Reborn's art. I personally preferred the monochromic art-style than the all-color ver. But that's just my opinion.


Character: Ohhhh, now this is where the problem with enjoying elDLIVE for me began.

To make things simple, I'll compare the overall cast to Reborn's cast.

In Reborn, we have a diverse set of characters. The main character isn't average, not even below average. He's a mediocre person. He's bad at everything. Hibari is battle hungry. Gokudera is a cussing sailor, but a loyal dog. and etc. In elDLIVE, it is very hard to spot any differences between the characters at ALL.

All the characters in elDLIVE shared the same goal from the start, it's almost hard to tell if they're their own individuals honestly. I might be over exaggerating. But that is how I honestly see it.

Chute Kokonose is basically a Sawada Tsunayoshi mixed with Shinji Ikari. Misuzu Sonokata is a mary-sue tsundere. And that's almost all they have. Also, their pasts seemed to be the only thing differentiating them from their typical tropes.

elDLIVE lacks originality. Which is a shame, because I can actually see it steer around and head read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Akatsuki no Yona (Manga) add
VannillaIce
I love this. I don't know why. I just do.
I rate the story an 8. It's pretty good, but the plot isn't exactly original. There's not much to say here.
The art, I love. I don't typically like Shojo, but the art here isn't exaggerated, where the eyes are disgustingly giant and so are the females' breasts. And I love the way the artist draws. It's unique, I think. I'd give it a 10.
I give the character a 9. It's a little unbelievable, but not quite, how fast Yona changes, and it's not immediate, thankfully. She didn't just pick up a bow and arrow right away and seek vengeance. She was kind of... dead? for a while? And I love the backstories, particularly Zeno's and Shin-Ah's. I think I'm gonna cry.
As for my enjoyment, I'd say a 7. After the dragons become part of Yona's harem, they just kind of... disappear. They just fade into the background. It's too much on Yona and sometimes on Hak. Hell, I'd say Ao gets more attention than the other dragons. I wanted to see more of Zeno and Shin-Ah. Shin-Ah doesn't talk a lot, but he's innocent and interesting, and I want to see him learn more about the world after he's been holed inside his cave for 18 years. And Zeno is just really interesting. On the surface, he's a childish, hungry 17 year old. But he's an old dude who's been through a lot, and he's got lots of experience. He might not need a lot of screen time, because his development is clear, but I want to see what Zeno's going to do now, and if he'll try to get rid of his powers.
Overall, I give it a 9. It stands out from the typical Shojo, where the girl is somehow wondering who she loves out of the millions of guys in her harem. Yona's not focusing on romance, and her feelings are pretty clear. As are the feelings of the dragons. Kija and Shin-Ah are too precious for romance, Jae-Ha's gonna ignore his feelings, and Zeno's already (spoiler alert) had a wife. He knows the difference between love and devotion, I think. And I don't think he's gonna love anyone else.
I would recommend this to just about anyone.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Ballroom e Youkoso (Manga) add
VannillaIce
I haven't done ballroom dancing, only ballet. But it's nice to see something about dance that focuses on the hardships, not the whole "dreams come true!" type of thing. We get to see the main character struggle. And it's not as unrealistic as I'd expect: Tatara makes it into not 1st, or even 2nd, at his first competition, but 7th. And he acknowledges the it was unlikely to even have landed there in the first place.
The Story, I give an 8. It's pretty typical, but ballroom, I think, is a first. I haven't seen any manga that focuses on ballroom dancing.
I love the art, and I give it a 10. The details in some of these places are so... amazing. Perhaps it's because I haven't seen much of anything but Shojo (for reasons unknown...), but there's a special quality to it. I like it.
The characters, I can't say much about, but I like them all. 8 from me.
My enjoyment was a 10. Like I said, I don't get to read much about dancing that relates to any actual dancers. After finding out many of the facts and pursuing ballet, I find that this, which has little of "we can do it!" and more of "work until you're sore all over!". Everything else portrays dance as something that just about anyone can do.
Overall, I say 10 (although math wouldn't add up to that). I loved it, couldn't stop reading.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Freezing (Manga) add
SgtHong
Something isn't right, I had a copy of "Freezing" vol 1-3 in 2007 from Busan, South Korean, and not in Japanese language. The artwork and author is from South Korea, yet these covers online show them in Japanese? The humor is clearly Korean, even watching the anime I noticed the story type (tragedy and dramatics) and humor was all Korean, but in Japanese language (which screwed up some more of the humor) and in English subtitles made me upset that the humor was being destroyed. If they had to redo this anime, they would of elaborated more on the sense of humor that made this manga so great in the first place. The story was changed in the anime to fit viewers, but the actual story had a better plot and some serious actions compared to the anime.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Kaname étoile (Manga) add
VannillaIce
I wish the author could actually do a shred of research. This is a PROFESSIONAL ballet school, not your shitty local ballet school where you take a short class every week or so. And also, the term ballerina is reserved for the principle dancer of a company, not just any girl who puts on a tutu.
Even when starting at 2 and being flexible and talented will probably not make you a ballet dancer. Ballet dancers have to have an incredible amount of determination, and they can forget about it if they don't have the right body (which isn't just being "skinny", it's very specific! What a shock! Long legs, short torso, small head, sloping shoulders, a long neck, and hyperextended knees are only part of it. Only 2% have these requirements). And even if you do get into a ballet company, you'll be stuck in the Corps de Ballet, who perform in dances in the background only, with no recognition whatsoever.
Dear god, is it so hard to find someone who can actually act the part of the Black Swan Odile?? Why is everyone like, "omg she'z so gud!" Most people in the ballet world, namely in past generations (today's ballerinas are all about extensions and no character), will NOT get praise. Svetlana Zakharova, for example, is good in many roles, but she's often dismissed because she's cold. And that's pretty good acting. Try Natalia Osipova's Kitri, energetic in not only her face but her whole movements. As compared to this "Kaname" girl who can narrow her eyebrows and put on a "menacing" smile. This is sad.
The reason why the only person people bring up as proof that someone can catch up is Misty Copeland is because Misty Copeland's the only person who's done it. There might be more, but there's only a handful in the hundreds of years that ballet has been around. That's because ballet is not something one can catch up on easily, much less in two years to girls training professionally. And guys can start in their teens and they'll be fine, because their role in a ballet is different, so don't bring up any guys, okay?
Not to mention that Kaname started at 14, not 13. At 14, girls are supposed to be pretty good en pointe. And in many schools, they won't accept 12/13 year olds who aren't en pointe. And being ready for pointe takes a long time, in most cases 3 years of rigorous ballet training, bare minimum. To many people, 5 years of ballet. Only Misty Copeland and a few others have completed this in under 2-3 years.
Also, ballet companies are open once you reach 17. So Kaname has to catch up in what, 3 years? By the time that comes, she'll only start pointework, at best.
Effort will, no matter how hard you work, change your capability to become a ballet dancer.
But try hard and you'll get there, amirite?

I don't mean to be rude here, but some things just aren't possible, no matter read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Wallman (Manga) add
Nerd2950
Since this manga doesn't have any reviews yet, I felt motivated to be the first person to write one.

If I had to describe Wallman in one word it would be: "superficial".
It has great art and some amazing fights/action scenes, but the story... Really isn't anything special.

Wallman focuses around a man named Jirou who used to be an amazing assassin, known as Master Kuu, that uses wires to scale walls and kill their targets, also known as a wallman.
At the start of the story he retired from his job and is living together with a mangaka, named Kubota, wasting his days away in an apartment.
Until they take in a female tenant, Nami, who actually turns out to be a wallman herself. One night she messes up and Jirou and Kubota (who all of a sudden turns out to be a wallman too? This was actually very confusing to me) finish the job and eventually decide to become a trio of wallmen.

It starts of with them taking jobs from a Yakuza underling (who's name escaped me), wanting to stop drug trafficking, but around chapter 13 or 14 they abandon this and it focuses on Jirou fighting other Wallmen who want to take his title of Master Kuu, and Jirou wanting to be reunited with a woman named Beatrice (who was supposed to be his lover I think?).

Yeah, the story isn't really that engaging or memorable, and as you might have noticed from my explanation above, kind of a mess and hard to explain fully. It also rushes the story at times. For example a single chapter where they're training in the woods to get stronger, without it having any sort of conclusion and being back in their apartment at the start of the next chapter. Alot of the slower parts (like conversations between characters, or flashbacks) are a real bore to read.

Another aspect of Wallman I didn't like that much is that ecchi is actually one of the genres it belongs to. So you can expect alot of unnecessary upskirts, breasts, sexual innuendos and a very akward and unnecessary sex scene. To give you an idea: in the first chapter you'll have already seen Nami in tons of suggestive poses (with her underwear showing ofcourse). Imo this doesn't fit the manga at all and seems very out of place.

The saving grace of this manga is, as I mentioned before, the art. Which looks stunning especially during close-ups and several action scenes.
The best part of the manga starts at chapter 15, with Jirou fighting all the other Wallmen which are actually quite a colorful bunch of characters which I really liked. But as you might expect, these aren't fleshed out at all, they have one or two distinct characteristics/mannerisms but that's it. But despite that, these are actually the chapters that are the most fun to read.

My recommendation is: If you like the art, give it a try! It definitely isn't a great story, but it's only 22 chapters long, so read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Tokyo Ghoul:re (Manga) add
kuroren
May contain spoilers

Story - 9/10
This manga is the sequel to Tokyo Ghoul and starts off with the new Quinx squad. Some people might be confused about the whole first 1-2 chapters but it soon becomes clear. After reading Tokyo Ghoul, I learned that Ishida rarely makes any plot holes. This just proves that there is a purpose in why he chose to time his story a certain way, and why certain characters re-appear.

In fact, Ishida has already laid out the full skeleton of the story early on and is only connecting the bones as the story develops. Yes, you have to pay attention to details, symbolism and you might have to read the story more than 1 time but trust me, it's freakin' worth it.

The plot twists are actually unanticipated, and make the story progess not in a random way as opposed to most of mangas out there.

Art - 8/10
Looks good overall... Deducted 2 points because sometimes, attacks are draw a bit sketch.

Characters - 8/10
What makes :RE (and TG in general), is that the main character AND side character have development. Every character in :RE goes through some kind of development (for the better or the worse), which makes the whole story even more interesting imo. Most of seinen/shounen out there have such cliche/under-developped characters that you can easily predict and tell what they will do following an event.

:RE's characters are unique in a sense that they don't seem like filler characters that the authors plugged in just for the sake of advancing the main character. Furthermore, since most of the characters go through character development, they look more relate-able. And as a reader, it makes it harder for us to choose sides which increases the enjoyment of this series.

The only bad thing I could say about :RE's character would be Touka (call me a hater I don't care), she's the most stereotypical of the bunch and is kinda just tossed in the back burner... Not sure what she will bring to the plot at this point (chap. 119).

Enjoyment - 10/10
Don't ask, just read it.

Overall - 9/10
Close to perfection but would wait a bit before concluding since we are approaching the end! :)

I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2017
Alice no 100°Cc (Manga) add
HidamariSeashore
To be honest, I'm feeling a little pissed off right now, and it's not because of my stupid pun just now. That anger is mixed with the surprise that anyone could ever think about creating a manga like this, but I guess if your mind is twisted enough, a few "masterpieces" could emerge, and some unfortunate victims could end up reading those "masterpieces". Take me, for example; by chance, I encountered a lowly-rated manga on MAL and, out of curiosity, decided to read it in order to see why it was so bad. (Keep in mind I ignored the synopsis.) The end result was me realizing that there are, indeed, manga out there that could disgust me more than any borderline-hentai manga could. Of course, there is fan-service, but this is not just mere fan-service; this is pee-service!

Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to my review of the "masterpiece" of a manga, Alice no 100°Cc!

Alice no 100°Cc follows Aoi Kururi, a high school boy who practices onmyou-ji - or should I say, onmyou-pee - magic. He has a very sensitive nose, and he can smell it when girls have to pee. Whether it's breaking spells related to pee or girls who are triggered into peeing by certain things, this manga is a pee-fetishist's dream come true!

....I'm sorry. I just can't come up with a good synopsis to write for this freaking manga. I can't really blame myself, though; the plot of this manga is practically non-existent. There are two arcs that last two chapters, but that doesn't help much, especially considering there are only seven chapters in this manga overall. The short length also harms the characters; they're barely given any time to develop as characters, if character development was even possible. To summarize all of the characters, Aoi is a disgusting pervert, and the rest of the cast is always like, "I have to go really, really bad!"

If you haven't already guessed what is the main driving force for this manga, it's a whole load of pee jokes! The mangaka, Chizuna Nakajima, has obviously put in as many pee jokes and urine itself in as possible in an attempt to maybe get the reader to laugh. News flash, Nakajima-sensei; it's disgusting, not funny! Sure, the art is okay (albeit nothing special), but it doesn't distract us from any of the urination that takes place in this manga; considering that it's actually drawn, it only makes it worse!

Overall, Alice on 100°Cc is, without a doubt, the worst and most disgusting manga I have ever read. If you have a pee fetish, I only have two things to say to you. The first is that you may be one of the only people who might find pleasure in this manga; the second is that you need to go see a therapist right now. It's obvious that you and the mangaka who even came up with this in the first place need some serious help.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2017
Masamune-kun no Revenge (Manga) add
AznAnime3
I started reading this manga because of the anime adaption left me feeling "what the hell is going to happen next?" At the time of this review the anime and manga are still on-going. Needless to say, this manga was quite an entertaining read. We start off with a classic boy gets his heart broken by the girl he loves, but only to come back YEARS later to seek revenge for his humiliation.

Story:
The story started quite strong. The goal was clear, to seek revenge for a traumatized childhood. Masamune with the help of a close ally, devised a plan to make the one who broke his childish heart pay, Aki. His goal was to get Aki to fall in love with him only to break her heart once she does. There was just one problem, how to get Aki to fall in love with him. This is where everything changes. Is revenge all the important? As I continue to read, I realize that Masamune's resolve is being tested. The original plot of revenge and gratification has been hampered with rivalry, misunderstandings and revelations. The true plot has been revealed as a cliche Rom-Com drama. Nevertheless, it was definitely worth reading if your interested in misunderstanding being realized.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2017
Watashibito (Manga) add
SomeWeirdOtaku
da rever is aboot a man go i red, e heyd goo stery wth dod an woo men




longer revad

longerer revad



longererer reavd

longerererer revad

Give a fuck whatchya heard
Yeah fuck whatchya heard
Fore this real shit kicked your whole click to the curb
What, what...
But you don't hear me though

Run up bitch ta da death get gripped my steeze is ballin' out
Of control whatchyou know 'bout bubblin'
Hustle bones comin' out my mouth

Hustle bones comin' out my mouth [repeat]

That hot lic a shot
Never not strapped
Wit a Glock tongue cocked
Run it back
That knock a cop off unconscious Molotov
Cocktailin' sound bomb a snitch
Flat line of chalk drawn round the clock
Too many marks dropped ta count the stiffs

Stuck on the fence
How does it feel
It don't make sense
Nothing is

That rip you a new one trick I'm the true one,
And only never know me never will no son
Leave ya laid out ta fade out
Show a cunt the door
Hit and run
Hustle bones comin' out my mouth

Hustle bones comin' out my mouth [repeat]

That can't wait ta blast
Blood stained knuckle brass gives a fuck sick wit it flav on
That ex con
Hard to da bone
Darkness from the zone
Mastered and pushed far beyond

Eons beyond the line never crossed,
By dem punks livin' soft while I ride that bomb
Dr. Strangelove
Into the sun
Look no hands megatons
Rode like man we can't lose
No shit, no shit

That hit it till it drip wit
Da blood of the raw way
It was fore dem forgot
Why doin' dirt, make slang sound tough gong original
fuck da wrong way
Only one real way to work
That shit out da
Beat street spit
Über freaked heat lit
Hell flame to your brain
Blood thirst
What what...
Run it back, run it

Run up bitch ta da death get gripped my steeze is ballin' out
Of control whatchyou know 'bout bubblin'
Hustle bones comin' out my mouth

Hustle bones comin' out my mouth [repeat]

Criminal intent anti-legal ill
Thief in da night peel your life back spin the wheel
[x4]

Run it back, run i
I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2017
Dokgo (Manga) add
Franck_Nicolas
There is no review there so I'll try to write something out.

I really appreciated this manwha since the initial plot was really smart. The story is well rythmed but it lacks of cliffhangers.

The art is great, it s not top notch, but it leads to an atmosphere which really fits the story. There are a lot of fight scenes, but there are not particularly impressive.

The story also lacks of emotions in my opinion, but i laughed a lot a few times. The characters are a bit "cliche" but they behave like real persons, and it felt to me like a real story, the beginning of the manwha made me feel bad because the situations looked real to me.

I enjoyed a lot this manwha even if it was a bit "poor" mostly because of the atmosphere and the reality i could feel.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2017
Sword Art Online: Progressive (Manga) add
Master10K
A contemporary Sci-fi, Action manga, set in the not-so distant future, of advanced virtual reality and augmented reality. Sword Art Online has become a bit of a phenomenon within our cultural sphere, spawning numerous adaptations from: anime series, to movies, to video games and several manga titles. With its popular status, SAO has attracted a ton of scrutiny, the bulk of which being some form of "WTF! Why rush through the Aincrad arc." Well I guess the author, Reki Kawahara took a lot the criticisms to heart, as he strives to reboot the main story of the franchise with this latest iteration Sword Art Online: Progressive.

Which immediately skips over any sort of prologue and thrust the reader and main character, right into the thick of it. So even those who have watched the series and or read the light novels will still be gifted with something fresh & different. As it begins from the perspective of the intelligent, yet dissatisfied highschool girl, Asuna. Who so happens to wind up trapped in a new MMORPG, with little to no knowledge of even the most basic of game mechanics. After being saved from perma-death, by the solo swordsman Kirito and his sly informant Argo; Asuna gradually learns about the death game she has gotten herself stuck in and the people she will eventually call friends. And from these first couple volumes I can tell that the author is putting much greater thought into the story. Like spending time to flesh out the world, the game mechanics and the characters.

Characters like Asuna, who I feel is the right choice for main character, since she is as ignorant as us readers, on the new world she's found herself stuck in. Of course I am aware this is a rudimentary method of providing exposition, but it does allow this story to become more of a journey than a power fantasy. What makes the characters interesting in this iteration is that there's a great deal more context to their actions. And it achieves that without bogging down the story with numerous flashbacks and monologues, beyond the initial volume.

When it comes to the artwork of SAO: Progressive, only one word comes to mind... "clean". The artwork is just very clean, with simple panel arrangements making it easy to follow the flow of action. But that's not to say that detail isn't put into those panels, as a great deal of it is put into emphasising some of the major impacts of any given combat scenario. Then again what really made me fall in love with the artwork of this manga has to be with how it's able to express so much without dialogue. The perfect example of this being 3 simple pages towards the end of Vol.2 Chap.008. With no dialogue it's able to express to the reader just how much Asuna has developed as a character; establishing that she acquired a humble abode (something she learnt from Kirito), that her studious nature remains read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Mizutama Puzzle (Manga) add
Smirks_Hidden
There's nothing to be spoiled when the synopsis gives everything away, but all you need to know is that Mizutama Puzzle is a very standard but cute (even endearing) Josei manga that delivers everything it needs to in its two short chapters, so you won't get disappointed reading it.

Its main strength is mainly in the artwork. To be honest, the whole reason I've bumped it to a 6 is because of just how gorgeously drawn the woman's design and facial expressions are. From my very subjective standpoint, Tamako is a 10/10 career woman, info of which is probably not helpful but was important in my enjoyment while reading. Even more, she's different from other Josei female protagonists in that she's much older than the guy (8 years older), acts like it, has a grounded, weary personality and wow, she is just gorgeous!

It is also interesting to note that this is Hidaka Shoko's first manga without any sort of male/male romance or relationship. Now if you don't know about Hidaka Shoko, she's a popular author of the shounen-ai/yaoi genre and the creator of two of my favourite mangas of all time (Hana wa Saku ka, Yuuutsu na Asa), which is how I came across this manga at all. The fact that Tamako is older than the male MC (who looks suspiciously like a few of her other gay characters) is humour not lost on me, as it's a consistent favourite trait across all her stories of hardworking, weathered, older men struggling with the idea of being infatuated with younger guys.

Maybe that's partially why I'm so in love with Tamako, as she's an inversion of a trope Hidaka likes to use. Anyways, you won't be disappointed reading Mizutama Puzzle! But I can't promise that it'll be your fav either. It's overall a good romance manga, but take a look at Hidaka's other work and her main strengths as an author will show up more.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Annarasumanara (Manga) add
astromancy
An Na Ra Su Ma Na Ra. I'm not even sure what this means, probably the author's own spin on the ol' "abracadabra" but it grew on me after its repeated use in each chapter. The story of a girl struggling to survive amidst poverty is not an original plot for a manga or manhwa. However, with the introduction of the magician, the story becomes surreal. I wasn't even sure what to believe or even what was going on until the last chapters of the series. Overall very short but incredibly thought-provoking and though I did not cry, the feeling was definitely there. It was almost personal for me as I have had parallel thoughts to both what L and Ai believed: the conflict between securing social and financial security or pursuing your passion.

The art in this tiny 27 chapter series is stunning. The art style is very sketchy (in the sense of rough-draft and not suspicious) and the use of thin lines gives the whole story this delicate aura; most characters (Ai and L) are beautiful. Evidently, there is a dark, monotonous palette that lends the eerie vibe of some indie horror game or dystopian wasteland occasionally contrasted with a splash of color. The use of color in a gray background really does wonders for emphasis and the author's use of real life images, backgrounds, as well as some homestyle paper animation made me feel like the entire series was some sort of art piece. You can tell from the variety of art mediums and detail of drawing the amount of work and effort that was put into making this series. Each and every component has purpose and meaning.

Ai's character really clicked with me. Not unlike other manga heroines, Ai is smart, hard-working, and responsible, having had to pull up the remnants of her family by the bootstraps. But I find she's also a lot more realistically portrayed and three-dimensional than your typical shoujo lead, something the author does fantastically well with the other characters as well. She struggles, she feels resentment, she is flawed (though if I'm honest, not by much. Most of her faults lie in her family's state of poverty.) L, the star of the show, is also another amazing character. Something about him, so whimsical, random, mysterious, immediately draws you into the story. I was quite confused about his character initially, wasn't even sure if he existed or not in the beginning, but he gets his own explanation towards the end. I do wish that his character consisted of more than just the dude who does magic throughout the story; it seemed as if we didn't see his entire personality until the conclusion. And then Il-Deung. What was up with his head, right? I think the author did a great job with his character development especially in the short amount of content she had, I turned out to really like his character in the end. For the other characters--rather typical; they fit quite neatly into read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Vampire Knight (Manga) add
CBCAnime
Hello there, everyone. Britt here, reviewing one of the worst manga I've ever read. Well, worst manga endings I've read at least. And that manga is called: Vampire Knight. Now, let's just jump right into it, shall we?

Story: "Cross Academy is an elite boarding school with two separate, isolated classes: the Day Class and the Night Class. On the surface, Yuuki Cross and Zero Kiryuu are prefects of the academy, and attempt to keep order between the students as classes rotate in the evenings. As the Night Class is full of utterly gorgeous elites, this can sometimes prove to be a bit difficult. It is completely necessary, however, as those "elites" are actually vampires. Yuuki and Zero act as guardians, protecting the secrets of the Night Class and the safety of their ignorant morning counterparts. As the adopted daughter of the academy's chairman, Yuuki takes her job with a serious and energetic attitude. It also allows her to interact with her secret crush and savior, the president of the Night students' dorm, Kaname Kuran. Zero, on the other hand, has a deep-rooted hatred against vampires, and at times, does not hesitate to kill. Can vampires and humans co-exist, even in the strict setup of the Cross Academy? Only time will tell."
Really ya know, Myanimelist didn't get the whole premise of it, to avoid spoilers, but this was just the first half of the story. The part where Yuuki remains a human being. Oh, SPOILER ALERT but hey, you can leave at any time. Yuuki turns into a vampire, but it turns out that she was actually born a vampire, but her mother took her memories and "vampirism" away from her so she'd have a peaceful normal life or whatever. This to me, is where it started to suck. Hard. After Yuuki became a vampire, like literally maybe 2 pages afterwards she became one of my most hated fictional characters ever. And I'll get onto that in a second. After her little "transformation" the story stops focusing on the struggles of vampires and humans trying to coexist, and instead focuses on the stupid "love triangle" between Yuuki, Zero, and Kaname. Yuuki's "awakening" and getting her memories back is where the story takes a complete 180 for me and doesn't even feel like the same manga anymore. It just got...really really bad. I don't know why fans of this manga claim things like "this is what Twilight should've been" when in all honesty, this manga was horrible. I only watched the first Twilight movie, and read none of the books, but most people say it's bad. And in reality, if Twilight is so bad, then VK is no better, and people who say it is are either in denial, or just distracted by how pretty Hino's art is. So the first half with human Yuuki get's an 8/10 for me, while the half with vampire Yuuki onward was trash and get's a 4/10 for me. Moving on!

Characters:
Well, there's the "heroine" known read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Mai-chan no Nichijou (Manga) add
CBCAnime
Britt: Well, the first manga I was going to review was originally gonna be the disappointment known as "Vampire Knight", but after my friend Michael warned me about this particular manga called "Mai-Chan no Nichijou" or as it's called in English "Mai-Chan's Daily Life", I decided to check that out instead and see what was so bad about it. Hmm, I can certainly say his warning wasn't for nothing. Mai-Chan's Daily Life is probably the most disgusting, despicable, inhumane piece of dog sh*t I've ever laid my eyes upon. Now for those of you who don't know what this manga is, let me explain. Mai-Chan's Daily Life is an ero guro manga written and illustrated by Waita Uziga, and if you're into some nasty sh*t, just search up his name on Google, and you'll get what you so desire. Now, ero guro is a type of genre consisting of "grotesque pornography". Ya know, sex (or in this case, rape) mixed with torture, then that's what that is. I honestly cannot understand how something like that would appeal to anyone. Watching a mutilated body getting raped. That's disgusting, and not sexy or arousing in the slightest, but I'm getting a bit off topic. Let's go on to the story of this...."manga"

Story: (Copied from Myanimelist.com) "Mai-Chan's Daily Life tells the story of the 17-year-old girl Mai-chan, who has the ability to quickly regenerate from injuries, no matter how severe. Working as a maid, she is also sold to a number of clients who can do whatever they wish to her, no matter how cruel or painful, just to satisfy their desire." And well, there you have it folks. Mai is a maid-no, scratch that, Mai is an IMMORTAL SEX SLAVE. Yeah, that's right. Her "boss" has "clients" paying to rape and dismember this poor girl on a daily.basis. I mean, but it's ok since she can't die right? It's not like they're really killing her. AHA, see, that's where you're wrong my friend. Even if she can't die, it's still messed up. Every single page had her being raped and murdered over and over again in great detail, and she could feel all of it. Not like she had a congenital insensitivity to pain cause she can regenerate. Oh no, she still felt the stabbing, the biting, the beheading, the bludgeoning. I guess, it wouldn't have been as bad if Mai couldn't feel any of this. But no, she had to feel it every day of her life and it's horrible. I mean, even if she couldn't feel it it would still be f*cked up, but at least she wouldn't have to suffer as much. Also, this manga was very rushed. I mean, I'm glad it didn't go any further, but there were a lot of things left unexplained. Like, how did Mai get regeneration abilities? How long has she been working as a "maid"? And if she's suffering so much, why didn't she just run away? This stuff was just glossed read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Tokyo Akazukin (Manga) add
d-ne
what the FUCK why did i read this





w , , . . . . . . .

im losing it what the fuck

degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BADdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdeg,....degdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegdegDONT READ THIS ITS BAD
I found this review Helpful
TakamiKaribuchi
Strike Witches:The Sky that Connects Us is not a manga full of character development, one coherent story, brand new characters, or anything, but it was a great read.

There's not really much plot since all the stories are just in between stories about what each member of the Strike Witches did between seasons 1 and 2 of the anime. It's really clear that that is what, the author wanted to write. You can tell that it's not a stand alone work.

Along with the story, the characters are not stand alone either. There's no big character introductions here so if didn't like them before or are not too familiar with them, your opinion probably won't change after reading this manga. I still love the cast though so I love the character interactions here.

The art is still really good like other Strike Witches manga. It actually might be a step up from some of them since there's not as many characters and such being featured all at once. The pages seemed a less cluttered.

It's safe to say that I loved reading this volume and was very happy with the flow of the stories. Each side story was very entertaining. I personally like the Karlsland Ghost and the Eila and Sanya ones the best. If you're a fan of the series, I'd really recommend reading this since you'll probably enjoy the side stories. If you only kind of like the anime, skip over this manga volume.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Kakegurui (Manga) add
Hereditus
In this age of anime and manga infested with average goody two shoes main characters, wouldn't watching the assholes, sadists and psychos take the spotlight be quite fun and refreshing? If your answer is yes then Kakegurui is for you.

"Gambling is the reason to exist." Apply this quote to every student in this school.. Why? Well, that's the damn reason why the institution where our characters enroll is even standing erect for. Hyakkaou Private Academy, where the wealthiest of the wealthy come and enroll to show their prowess in gambling and deceit... or in other words, where the spoiled brats who think highly of themselves come to gather and fuck each other up. Everything here can and will be treated as a gamble. Looking to play Rock, Paper, Scissors? Why not toss in a bet of 100 million yen for each player while you're at it? Want to play a game of dice? Well, why don't we double up the stakes at 200 Million Yen?

Huge amounts of money here is treated as cheap change, yes, but once you do run out of it, please prepare for the worst. Not even your human rights are safe once you do fall in a debt, is all I can say.

Abuse of power, trickery, sadism, as expected of a system that is driven by money, it's all in here. It really is screwed up but that's what makes it fun, does it not?

The characters are what makes this story what it is. From bastards and bitches to evils geniuses or just plainly insane, that's what makes most of our cast. Just seeing them interact with each other is a lovely sight and the development they get from doing said interactions is what drives me to read further and further into the story.

The art is fantastic. It just perfectly captures the characters' various emotions and moments. Ecstasy when they're winning, despair when they know they're good as fucked, shock when shown deceit, desperation when they're way behind the game, hell even orgasms.. you name it and it's done beautifully.

Enjoyment is a 10/10. Watching jerks getting owned by our main characters' (who are by far no pure-hearted people themselves) intricate trickery and plain ingenuity is just too much of a pleasure for me.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Kaiji Gaiden (Manga) add
Fullmetalhood
Well, the summary tells it all, this is just a short one-shot about Kaiji trying to pay his debts off without going to the ship. Since it is a one-shot, there is definitely not much at all to say about this, especially without spoiling anything.

If you were expecting any mindgames you usually would have expected from Kaiji, then no, there's nothing like that. Overall, i don't really even see the point of this one-shot. It's not terrible, but it doesn't really offer anything new or mindblowing.

If you're a Kaiji fan, then you might as well read it since it's so short, but otherwise stay away and read the actual series. This isn't even good for giving a small taste of what the real series is like.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 18, 2017
Tobaku Datenroku Kaiji (Manga) add
Fullmetalhood
Alright, time for my review of the third part of Kaiji. Out of all parts so far, this one has the highest entry barrier as you need to know a little bit of mahjong. They aren't exactly playing mahjong though, but rather a very simplified version of it, so don't be scared off. It's still very enjoyable without the knowledge, which i too lack. My only source of mahjong knowledge comes from Akagi and I'd be lying if i claimed that series really taught me much at all.

Story - 8

This part begins a little differently from the previous. Rather than Kaiji participating in a gamble out of desperation and hoping to get his lost money back, he does it because two of his friends from the previous part are in need of help. A noble goal, but fits Kaiji. The story starts off very slowly once again, but by the end of it, the plot twists turn things into directions you definitely wouldn't expect. The story is good, despite the slow pace at first and there being only one game played here unlike previously.

Art - 9

The art style is unusual obviously, but just based on that I can't call it bad at all. In fact, the art is not only very good, but there are some really stunning visuals shown when the characters react to things. The expressions the characters make really make you feel what they are feeling. The desperation, the joy, all of it is magnificently portrayed albeit a bit over the top at times. I also really enjoyed the countless allegories.

Character - 7

Kaiji stays as a very interesting character just like previously and while the main antagonist is imo weaker than the last parts Ichijou Seiya, he is entertaining enough. Maeda and Miyoshi actually have some sort of character development, which is neat.

Enjoyment - 8

The enjoyment is quite high for this part despite the lack of mahjong knowledge. It drags on at first, but later on when the story really picks up it instantly suckered me in and you just can't wait to see what happens next.

Overall - 8

Overall, this part is very good, and i would personally rank it between the first and second parts, with the very first part still being my favorite of the bunch. Despite the slightly higher entry barrier, this is definite quality content.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2017
Oooku (Manga) add
MysteriousBean
Many people who look at Ooku do not wish to read it because of it's historical context and feel like they are expected to have a large assortment of knowledge in Japanese history. This, however, was very enjoyable and understandable regardless of the nonexistent knowledge I had beforehand. Please do not believe you have to be a history fanatic to understand it when (in all honesty) it does not require much pre known text at all. If it does, the volume has a list of explanations for each new term and gives good examples.

Instead on focusing on one person's story, it connects generation to generation to fully emerge the reader in an overall idea of the effects the Inner Chambers have on not only the people inside, but the country as a whole. It does go over some mature topics, but nevertheless those explicit scenes do not mask the story like most manga and anime do. Even when I read a person's story and tell myself "the next generation could never be as good as the last" I still find myself hooked in and realizing that each story is amazing in its own special way.

I hope that whoever is planning to read or purchase this manga realizes that they will not regret their efforts. Ooku is a manga unlike any other I have seen, holding emotion, depth, and reason that makes it one of the best I've ever read. Even with the unlimited space I have to write this review, I cannot find the words to describe each and every piece of tragedy and joy that overcame me when I read each volume.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2017
Owari no Seraph (Manga) add
verochka212
To start off, this is my first review.

*THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS so feel free to click away if you did not read this manga*

I would say that the story is quite okay and the vampire and humans fighting each other is a good plot but i have to be completely honest, that i found the family and friends theme quite cheesy and quite tiring. If you are not okay with that kind of theme and you are repulsed by it, i do not recommend this manga.

*THIS SECTION MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*

I have a problem with the typical shounen protagonist (ya know the hot headed and reckless one), hyakuya yuichirou forcing his values down other people's throats which gets annoying and then insisting on saving Mikaela after finding out that he is alive (and not killing Mika after he injured Guren is confusing to me) and then on the opposite end of spectrum where hyakuya mikaela constantly says humans are terrible and insisting to save hyakuya yui from other humans where i found it to be a quite angsty and unneccessary plot line. This plot could have been focused on the origin of vampires themselves.

Some of the characters quite bland and boring and their friendship with each other is too quick in my opinion. They have doubts which each other and then are suddenly friends (Kimizuki and Hyakuya). I get iffy with that kind of scenario like you don't suddenly trust people with the snap of your fingers. Some of the characters also play on tropes like Sangu Mitsuba (your typical tsundere) and Saotome Yuichi (your sweet supporting protagonist who secretly has dark intentions). It would be better to show how he is more sadistic then he seems but the mangaka chose to go for the tell, don't show route.

However, there are some compelling characters in this story which make things interesting like Shinoa Hiragi, Shinya Hiragi and Krul Tepes.

Also i apologize if it seems that i am criticizing the characters instead of the actual story. Because the characters flaws stand out in this story a lot, so i feel the need to touch on this area.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2017
Omujo! (Manga) add
CameronM
This is probably the single greatest manga ever written and the greatest story ever told period, I'm serious this up there with the greats, Sailor Moon, Berserk, Sword Art Online, the Asterisk War, the Boku no Pico trilogy, Pupa, Legend of Duo, and Garzey's Wing.

I'd try to tell you all about the great symbolism and themes in this work of art, but I'd feel that would deprive you of the glorious moment of when your brain stem snaps in half and your brain explodes, and have your dick ripped off in the greatest orgy of the senses from the overwhelming knowledge of the greatest goddamn thing this side of Mona Lisa's stupid, fat, ugly, face. The Great Hayao Miyazaki rises from his grave one last time to say: "Japan is saved!". And will you argue with Miyazaki one of the greatest directors/mangaka of all time, someone who has made such classics as.........

Anyway if you have the chance to read it, I highly recommend you do so even you too can experience what I once felt when the great Takeshi Obata, Kentarou Miura, Yoshihiro Togashi, Hirohiko Araki, Naoki Urasawa, and Eiichiro Oda all came together on that historic day to create one of the greatest. Goddamn. Masterpieces I’ve ever seen!
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2017
Dear Green: Hitomi no Ounowa (Manga) add
butterfly22
This story is actually pretty good but I feel that several errors (had they not occurred) would have made it so much better.
First of all, I really liked the idea. Two guys who have known each other for several years remain friends but eventually, things take a more romantic turn when one of them realizes he “likes” the other. Of course, there’s the stress of the whole “we’re both men” and “I bet he finds it disgusting” or my favorite “he can’t possibly like me as well”. Naturally, they both like each other so things progress well enough. The ending is really cute and probably one of my favorites.
However, throughout the series there’s a definite neglect to time lapse. It all pretty much feels the same and for the most part the characters don’t age or grow noticeably different to mark the passage of time. There’s also no announcement like “5 years later” or such in or around the beginning of the chapter to make the transition smooth. Instead, you have to wait for the dialogue to inform you of this point. It just doesn’t flow well, in my opinion, and with a little extra attention to this detail the series could have been a bit better.
The second thing I didn’t like, was the lack of obvious expression. Otoumi remains fairly impassive and expressionless throughout the series. This in itself is not bad, however, coupled with the fact that he doesn’t really have a cool and calm personality, it just didn’t work for me. I could never really tell whether what the dialogue said was actually true or not because his expressions never really coordinated with it very well. Don’t get me wrong, Otoumi had expressions but nothing…interesting. He would blush or look away when embarrassed or flustered and in some of the more explicit scenes a gentler expression would be shown but I can’t really call those expressions if that’s all he has. Had his personality been more compatible with this “expressionlessness” then I think it would have worked, but since that isn’t the case…it was a bit of a letdown.
Another thing I didn’t like, was the fact that a lot of the female characters looked way too much like Otoumi. Perhaps this is just me being a poor reader, but a few times I even confused a female character with Otoumi, and wondered what the heck was going on. Granted, most times you can tell by the clothing, but I just think the similarity was too much. At least, have them drawn with a different hair style or hair color to make it more obvious.
Finally, I feel like this manga’s pacing was inconsistent. At times, I got to watch the characters interacting slowly and painfully, just like a real relationship. The actual timeline between when Otoumi begins acting strange and realizes he likes Yukari, to the time when they both actually confess and begin a relationship is quite long. (Though even in this read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2017
Senjutsu Choukoukaku Orion (Manga) add
Superior_Taste
Have you seen this chick's legs? She must oil them every day. I was incredibly disappointed that this manga was in black and white unlike Shirow's other hentai. Seska is the type of character my friends on Neopets look up to. She has the 'tude and the BWAHAHAHAHA XD and she wants to impress senpai but she makes a baka and she hits her head against the wall hahaha baka baka baka lol! OMG! He saw her! How embarassing! Baka baka baka XD But she kicks into gear because her father told her to do the thing and she does it! Mwahahaha! So powerful! Noooo! Don't lick me... there! ^/////^ *blush* *blush* Eeeek! Where are my clothes?! You PERVERT! ^/////////^

Besides relying entirely on chibi humor there are extreme amounts of unwarranted notes in the margins and useless world building information that contradicts the childish style, simple story, and paper thin characters that ultimately doesn't make any sense anyway even with the OCD corrections and descriptions provided by the author.

His previous works, Appleseed and Ghost in the Shell, have a great balance of mature levels of seriousness of tone and information and also humor that provides a tolerable experience. You won't find that here.

Orion isn't for children, it's not for adult's either. It's for no one, no one but Masamune Shirow.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2017
Kaikisen (Manga) add
Xaerith
I'm usually a big fan of Satoshi Kon. Some of my favourite movies are his own creations, Paprika and Tokyo Godfathers being prime examples, and I adore his artwork. Kaikisen--or its English 'Tropic of the Sea'--is itself beautiful on paper, yet falls short while trying to convey something significant beyond the pages.

On the surface, Kon divulges a potentially profound story of a seaside town at risk of being commercialized while trying to maintain the tradition of keeping safe a mystical mermaid's egg gifted to them once every sixty years. In exchange for such care, the mer-people bless the village with warm weather and safety all year round. Still relevant to Japan to this day, the conflict of modernization and tradition is a significant debate always interesting to explore and see integrated into a manga narrative. Sadly, the story falls flat and fails to explore anything further about the characters themselves beyond their very evident cliches. The protagonist himself is the antithesis of complex and the villain almost painfully predictable. I hate to be so down on something of Kon's, but I admittedly forgot most of the story after I finished reading it. The art is beautiful but I personally feel Kon could've done a lot more with this material.
I found this review Helpful
solaarii
My first impression of the manga is that it has really nice art, which is what led me to read the story from start to finish.

Plot-wise, it's suspenseful and you have absolutely no idea what's happening. The story throws you into the eyes of our main-ish protagonist (I'll explain why I say '-ish' later) Ryoji Seusu, an ordinary factory worker who gets caught up in an accident with the Shikabane heiress, Hanako. It all starts out intense already, I mean, they get hit by a boiling vat and they all look fine, so I mean, nothing strange there. Weirdly enough, it's never explained why they're both okay and believe me, it has nothing to do with the supernatural, even though it felt like it was going to lead into it.

Due to guilt for the accident, despite it not being his fault, Ryoji agrees to serve Hanako in her home and...regrets it.

The home is definitely not his favorite place at the start and it only spirals out of control in the very short time he's been there. From how it's paced, it feels like it's only been two days since his employment there and many things happen one after another. Several which drive Ryoji and Hanako closer and everyone else apart.

The story isn't the most impressive, and you'll only be invested if you want to know what the hell's happening. And believe me, you don't get any closer unless you stick to the last chapter when it gets explained. While reading it, I was trying to piece everything together and realized that you only need to read the first like two chapters and the final one if you wanna know how it all plays out. I'm not saying it'll all be understood from there, but it's complicated in the middle and would probably make people nauseous if they're not into the whole 'gore' genre.

However, if you wish to read through the manga (it's only 10 chapters, so it's nothing heavy), then go on ahead. I did it mostly to understand the characters as they're the ones who really interested me to pick up the story. What can I say? I'm a sucker for clean looking character design.

The characters are all mad in some way, twisted due to circumstances, and all deal with different reactions towards loveless and negligent parents. From here, we only see their view on familial relations (though, it's obvious for the Shikabane family that their parents mostly cared for the legacy rather than their children) and how it corrupted them into the insanity driven cast we see in the manga.

Ryoji and Hanako are really the ones who stay sane through this out of bounds plot - this is if you can sustain your disbelief long enough to enjoy their relationship and interactions - but honestly, have the more plain designs. Prior to this section, I called Ryoji a main-ish character only because he gets back pedaled to the 'straight man' or the 'sane read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2017
Ushinawareta Toki wo Motomete (Manga) add
LoneWolfInDaPack
Manga version of the famous work of Marcel Proust "In Search of Lost Time”, either “Remembrance of Things Past”.

The story follows a bourgeois of the late 19th and early 20th century in his memories of the past and hopes for the future in a life surrounded of emotions, illusions, romance, sexuality, sodomy, perversity, meetings, disagreements and surrender. And the trigger of all this was a sweet called, madeleine.

Proust's work is recognized. And he was persistent as an author. Original “In Search of Lost Time” has thousands of pages divided into seven volumes. In the manga, these same seven volumes were compressed into seven chapters with just under sixty pages each.

Comparing with the information above, and noting that it is a "manga de dokuha " (adaptation of great works in didactic format) makes it impossible to get close to being equivalent to the original. However, this is what makes it practical, because the nexus of main story is not lost, although inevitably accelerated.
In this version, those who read it witness only the main fragments at distance of the story. Do not listen to everything but conveniently listen to important in short dialogues. From time to time read the protagonist's thoughts without ever really embody him or any other character. Even still this issue of divergence from the book is much greater, so it is worth emphasizing this way: reading the manga is not seeing the tip of the iceberg of the story. But if it were (perhaps even an entire iceberg) the original work would be the entire continent of ice from which this fragment arose.

Having ventured read a little of original and admitting that I always has been an occasional reader of books is likely that I would take years and years to read all the volumes. In contrast, I read the manga in a few hours, including some contemplative intervals. So those hours were at least satisfactory and with some minutes of great fun.

As for art, my complaint begins and ends with the rare reuse (not a problem here in fact, just caught the attention). Nice designs. Anyway, was effective.

If you consider reading, do not expect anything impossible and incompatible (eg high level of complexity, development and likelihood). Enjoy the specialty of this type of work (simplicity, objectivity and "exteriority"). It will hardly be a bad read for anyone with this in mind.
In short, a useful manga for those who did not read the original, but had some interest in venturing at some point. An appetizer or a snack… A madeleine maybe…

To amuse you just allow yourself.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2017
Kumo desu ga, Nani ka? (Manga) add
Amrael
This small review is based on the latest chapter I read ( chapter 15 ) , might contain some spoilers but nothing serious .

Story : How do you feel life will be like in spiders perspective ? NAI WA !! , our heroine was just having a normal day in school , when SUDDENLY THERE WAS A GLITCH IN THE MATRIX !....just kidding ,but suddenly something strange happened, everyone in the class room including Kumoko started "vaporizing" , and then , Kumoko woke up thinking she got abducted , since she felt as if she was confined in a small bag.

Little does she know until she finally broke free, to find that was she broke from was an egg, SHE TURNED INTO A SMALL SPOODER ! the cutest spider your eyes will ever witness that is ! and she finds that the world she is in now is different from the one she used to be in, a world with some RPG elements, and that brings us to the art !

Art: the artiest did an amazing job , seriously , how many people can turn a "NOPE" material into the cutest thing ever ? along the dungeon, Kumoko will meet new creatures that she will have to survive, this is no longer the easy life of a high school girl, in order to survive she will have to hunt while exploring this weird dungeon she found herself in, so the artiest will introduce lots of weird, usually CREEPY creatures, done very well indeed.

Characters : Kumoko will probably be only spider that you will care so much about in your life, she's just SO adorable ! and the whole story until now is focused on her.

Overall : While lots of other Mangas used the "RPG world" thing , Kumo desu ga, Nani ka did it differently , and that's why I give it 10/10, which is a score I give if I GENUINELY enjoyed watching or reading every second of an Anime or a Manga.
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2017
Usagi Drop (Manga) add
Jullieus25
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILER

Usagi Drop. I really love the first volume until fifth volume. I should score it 10 but the time skipping is just ruining such a cute story. The story after the time skipping is just wasting potential. Daikichi should have ended with Kouki's mother and not Rin because Daikichi and Rin have Father-Daughter bond but why should Rin marry with Daikichi? and this thing makes me sick. I would really happy if Rin call Daikichi as a ''Dad''. By the way, Rin really like Kouki's mother and she wanted to be a mother like her. I know Daikichi and Rin have no related blood but I really wanted to see that Daikichi and Kouki's mother have end up together and Rin have a brother named Kouki. I'm not accepting the ending in the Manga . The real Usagi Drop for me is from Anime. The ending in Manga is just really horrible.

(Sorry, I'm not speak English very well)
I found this review Helpful
PrevNext