Manga Reviews

Sep 21, 2018
Amal_Ashraf (All reviews)
Well, I kind of expected the end

I loved the ART (10) very much, if you are looking for alight romance with alittle bit silly STORY (6) and some drama, you can read this.

character (8) development is not bad,
-Yua chan become a little stronger, at first she neede support- mostly emotionally- and at the end she actually become independant
-Subaru was a bit childish ... then he could decide on his carrier an so on
- sensei i didn't feel that he has changed, maybe it is just me XD

Enjoyment 6
I enjoyed it fairly

overall 7
..
Spoiler...
At least she had her happy ending.
Sep 21, 2018
Henshin (Manga) add (All reviews)
Xaractis (All reviews)
Well, to be completely honest, I found a meme, got curious as to what it was and it lead me to reading this story. I've had a few hints and sort of guessed what it was going to be like before delving into this story. I was correct, but it exceeded my expectations and just kept doing down and down and down.

I must say this story had a very good impact on me and my thoughts of actual people around the world. Leads me to say that you got to be careful in your decisions as one thing can lead to another and you'll read more
Sep 21, 2018
Arieru7 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've read many kinds of manga, but ones in a while you will really encounter a hidden gem.

This manga is one of those, the story itself is very fascinating and so soothing to read and will really hooked you and makes you smile as you keep reading it.

A "Strong Willed" little girl MC is very amusing to see, to the point i want to hug her:). The art is very great and likeable and the characters are all adorable and pleasing to see.

If slice of life is your forte and with a mix of historical and medicine, I highly recommended this manga to read more
Sep 21, 2018
pikut (All reviews)
Preliminary
so i've been reading this manga from chapter 1 up until the latest chapter . and it got me like boom!! haha . personally, i am not into harem manga although i dont hate it but i rarely read this kind of manga . at first , this manga is funny and enjoyable to read and little did i know it gotten serious and deep each chapter . there is so many things happen and somehow it got me like an uncomfortable feeling and i've never thought that this is so stressful to read. it is not because it has NTR scene but i cant read more
Sep 21, 2018
slavemaster_1991 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I haven't seen such a bad manga in a while. There are several reasons for this, but lets start from the most obvious:
1. Title is a lie. MC is called a healer and all his powers have "healing" in name, but they neither use healing effect, nor are linked in any way to healing. If in RPG you could imagine someone killing enemy with some kind of overheal or overgrowth, but here you should try to imagine something similar to "healing fireball". Sounds bad, doesn't it?
2. Story. It should be a usual "bad guys did bad things to me, so now I will have my read more
Sep 21, 2018
Vandareer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Its rare I am changed on a spiritual and philosophical level by a piece of media. Sure I may form certain opinions after consuming a story or movie, however Vagabond is the only story to every completely change how I look at life.

To absurdly oversimplify it, Vagabond is a story of self improvement and finding your place in the world. Before I read Vagabond I didn't know where to go with my life. But soon after starting it I realised this wasn't a normal manga, this was different.

By volume 10 I had already been so motivated by Musashi and his journey that my grades at read more
Sep 20, 2018
LunaUri (All reviews)
Fushigi Yuugi is like if The Neverending Story was a melodramatic soap opera. It literally has the same precurser to The Neverending Story: two girls go to an antiquated library and then get rabbit holed into a magical storybook, but in this variation, it isn’t a high fantasy world, but a mystical version of ancient China. This series would have been much stronger if Yu Watase could write a story without leaning on the same old, tired reverse harem tropes.

• As far as the characters are concerned, there are a multitudinous amount in this series. There are seven Celestial Warriors to protecting the priestesses of fate read more
Sep 20, 2018
Pakatsuki (All reviews)
Preliminary
So Hatsukoi Zombie, is a manga full of drama and teenage stuff, i don't know why and how, but, i actually came to like this particularly.

Now, i'll admit that the manga sometimes has his 'only fanservice' episodes, but, they rarely happen to appear(on my opinion).

*this contains spoilers*

I won't explain the whole plot becuase i find it kinda slow at the beginning but the more you read, the more you keep reading, i think the fact that i had none expectations for this manga actually made me enjoy it, you see, i've already read himegoto by the time i started reading this manga, so my expectations read more
Sep 20, 2018
kaaos (All reviews)
Okitegami is a wonderful, yet quite short manga that captivated my interest quickly with its intelligent writing and evocative art. It gives a fresh spin to the classical private detective genre with Kyouko's memory-resetting disability, as we uncover the details of her past though the eyes of the protagonist - her unlucky yet gentle assistant Yakusuke. The highlight of the comic is obviously Kyouko, who drives forward the investigations with her sharp intellect, graceful mannerism and commanding aura. The interaction between the two main characters and the progress of their relationship is written really well and complemented with adorable yet very realistic artstyle. Overall, I read more
Sep 20, 2018
Lelouch144 (All reviews)
This manga had potential.. real potential.. It had a cool mystery premise going on since the opening chapter which was kept up until about the halfway mark in the series after which it became a clusterfu*k.

A pointless timeskip coupled with ridiculous character choices and motivations ended up ruining what could have been a great horror. I think the cause for all the chaos and confusion was its short number of chapters.. this story needed at least 30 more chapters to properly flesh out and explain all that occurs inorder to give it the ending it deserved.

All in all it's the kind of read for when read more
Sep 20, 2018
YayaBunWa (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Note: will refer to the title as Ore Little Apocalypse for short. Also, I haven’t read the manga but I really doubt it rectifies its shortcomings.
*Warning: there may be some small spoilers amongst this review.

Well, it’s been a while since I felt enthused enough to write a review on a book (or anything, really). The last time I did, it was because I felt a series wasn’t getting the attention it deserved; but this time, it’s because people should know just how much this novel ‘does right’ before tearing down all the hard work it put into setting up this shipwreck. Well, shall we read more
Sep 20, 2018
CordobezEverdeen (All reviews)
Preliminary
A half naked loli on the cover? What a piece of trash am i rig?

Remember Hataraku Maou-Sama? Now add decent writing, now add more boobs, now remove sex jokes of any kind, now add a tsundere, now remove the common negative factors that come into play when someone half-heartedly adds a tsundere character into a story, now remove pants, add bullyng (not enough to be cruel but enough to be funny) and mix everything while adding incredibly charming characters into a enjoyable manga.

This is what Jahy-sama wa Kujikenai! is.
The story is good enough and has a decent pacing. I can't go deeply into details (just read more
Sep 20, 2018
algebramania (All reviews)
Death note or Piano in the bushes?

Sadly,nothing much to say about it:Great Start - Poor Finish.

Good detective sorries must keep you thrill till the end,but DN spoil you all twists and turns just before it happens,especially it disgust me at the end - when it be just be spoiled in vol.11.

There are so many "crutches" in history that you seem to see through it, each character seems to have a script that he read in advance and simply follows him through the whole story without any personal initiative.

Art is great.Hands Down.

I wont reccomend this manga if its your first one.But im sure you have a read more
Sep 19, 2018
Si-Ran (All reviews)
This is a very bizarre work that explores the supernatural, mental illness, and the trials of being human. While it is deeply philosophical, it does have some moments where the philosophizing becomes extraneous and unnecessary, but it doesn't take away from the work as a whole.

In summary, the main character, who has suffered from some mental illness as well as a "fall from grace", so to speak, ends up pretty much homeless after living a life of luxury. A eccentric rich person offers him money to have this "trepination" procedure done, theoretically to increase his extra-sensory perception. He then gains the ability to "see" the read more
Sep 19, 2018
NotReshi (All reviews)
If you're hoping for an in depth detailed review, go somewhere else. Or better yet read it yourself; perhaps you'll understand why I grew to enjoy this series.

This is one of those mangas that I would say is easily able to get scored from a 1-10 by 10 different people and all of their opinions would be correct. In fact I believe every opinion is correct, but certain, if not all opinions, should be able to be criticized no matter how great a majority or minority think the series itself is. That said I loved this series, I really do. The beginning was ehhhh. It read more
Sep 19, 2018
calamariqueen (All reviews)
Preliminary
*MILD SPOILERS AHEAD*

Romance manga nowadays are starting to become quite similar to each other. It's gotten to a point where there aren't many gems sticking out of rough. Subverting tropes can be especially difficult, including trying to be as original as possible.

However, this is one of those manga where they subverted tropes, and did it RIGHT.

-

Story: 7/10

Imagine having the greatest harem of all time. That is the goal of our protagonist, and all he wants is to get the harem he's dreamed of.
One day, a friend of his wants to meet up with him and talk in the park. Could this be the start read more
Sep 19, 2018
NotReshi (All reviews)
I'll keep this brief as many have already said what needs to be, which makes me happy. So I'm just gonna throw in some of my opinions and feelings I had for this series when I read this about a year ago during my junior year summer break.

I LOVE this series. I can not and probably never will, get to enjoy a manga as I had with this one, at least not for a while. I have not read everything in the world but I can wholeheartedly say that this has to be one of the best. Shounen Jump can really throw some curve balls read more
Sep 19, 2018
LAN-sunn (All reviews)
Sazae-san is a very simple manga, is made to entertain when you have nothing to do, for being very simple and use of common "materials" of human life.

Art: The art is simple, the strokes are light and pass the total sensation you should want to have while reading it, however, it's well designed, beautiful and consistent. Always well laid out and with details that may not seem like much, but they are extremely beautiful.

History: Being very light, history cares to show only really the daily life of a woman and her family, in the midst of so many confusions that it can offer her, presenting read more
Sep 19, 2018
NotReshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're hoping for an in depth detailed review, go somewhere else. Or better yet read it yourself; perhaps you'll understand why I feel this way about this series...


if there is anything to feel about it. To be fair I get the point of the series. It is a little cutesy story about... well a slime's life... That said, to me the comedy was basic and the cute dynamic was not deathly unbearable, but it's not for me. For fairness sake, I'm just gonna give it a completely neutral score. Read it yourself and make your own opinion, cause I don't really have one.

Another read more
Sep 19, 2018
NotReshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're hoping for an in depth detailed review, go somewhere else. Or better yet read it yourself; perhaps you'll understand how much of a slog it felt like to me...

eventually that is. I came in with a decently open mind. I can't say I loved it but it didn't bore me the hell out like Infection or World's End Harem. Though they're not in the same category but regardless, the point is that I read quite a bit, beyond chapter 100 but around 150, I just couldn't anymore. I lost all interest in every detail and character, most of whom were pretty forgettable. That read more
Sep 19, 2018
AbsitDawn (All reviews)
If you want to avoid that extensive reflection and want a direct assessment, go directly to the end.

Beforehand, I apologize if I had any writting mistakes since I'm not an english native speaker. More than a review this is en extensive thought about the review community and for those that calify that manga as bad.

I have a very big problem about the most of the "bad"reviews that i've read of this manga. Said problem is that I've realized that most people who try to make critic reviews fall in the desesperate research of profundity and depth.
First of all you must try to understand what the read more
Sep 19, 2018
sunkendreams (All reviews)
Preliminary
MCW is a slow burn. Just finished v3 ch12 and just now the underlying mystery (origin) of the story and world are unfolding for me. New characters are being introduced and the world is opening up. The MC is not too naive or useless, therefore not too annoying. We learn about MCW as the MC does. The story pacing is a good mix of action and mystery within a strange and unique world. The best thing about this manga is the characters. From small parts to the MC(s) every character is unique and treated respectfully. Lots of eye candy in each panel.

I don't read more
Sep 19, 2018
Gypsy_Starchaser (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've read the 11 volumes available and I can't wait for the next one. This review has some spoilers because I wanted to actually cite evidence to what I'm trying to express.

This is not your typical manga. The opening is a slow build with intriguing bits. Here she is being walked home by the "nice guy" and yet he's spouting things that are beyond creepy. Add in that she feels like she's being followed at the same time and yeah...great opening for a vampire manga. Then, it rips it wide open for her... Vampires are real and my dear friend read more
Sep 19, 2018
VulgarLife (All reviews)
I adore Sanagi Torajirou so when a new work of his comes up I fill with a sense of excitement. What new lewd method will he implement next? Just how defiled will the girls become? But there is a sense of fear that a beloved artist will not falter but underwhelm, will Netorare Kataomoi be in the latter camp or continue his lewd reign of terror?

The main story is the cleverly named Erect Elect. In a school where teachers who sexually harasses students no one can do anything about it for fear of being held back. There is hope though, held every year’s a beauty read more
Sep 18, 2018
eunnies (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Promised Neverland also known as Yakusoku no Neverland (約束のネバーランド) - just the title itself already grasped me into its amazing story. It is still a new manga, but let me tell you it has so much potential to definitely be in the big three of manga. With its story, art, characters, and overall enjoyment, you should definitely check this out!

STORY: 10/10
Personally, I thoroughly enjoy reading this manga due to its abstract and original storyline. It has an Attack on Titan vibe, but at the same time it is still completely different from it. It really immerses you into the story, urging to know what read more
Sep 18, 2018
Ajin (Manga) add (All reviews)
DomoB90 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I picked Ajin up perchance one day because I needed something to read while I was at the doctor’s office and boy did I have something to read! Ajin far exceeded my expectations. I am completely enthralled and wrapped in the story. If you like cat and mouse type of stories like Death Note then this is for you. I honestly think this gets compared to Death Note so much for the simple fact that you get the same “ooohh” and “ahhhh” moments when a twist appears and is then explained. Overall, this series is phenomenal and I can’t wait for the next chapter to read more
Sep 18, 2018
Ogeha (Manga) add (All reviews)
fluflusuuu (All reviews)
Ogeha es un manga muy poco conocido. Cosa que cabe de esperar debido a su poca difusión, la poca popularidad del autor (osea, es su primer trabajo) y sobre todo el hecho de tener a una protagonista principal como una niña-bicho con un poco de anorexia, cosa que (como recalco, soy un enfermo) me encanto y que inspira una extraña ternura.
Ogeha no trata de ser la mejor, solo trata de una historia de "amor" entre dos seres biológica y mentalmente diferentes, con un protagonista cerrado y sin sentimientos y una niña-mariposa extraterrestre con (sin saberlo) complejo de Estocolmo. Es una historia corta read more
Sep 18, 2018
matiasotaku (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the best works by Oshimi Shuuzou ,its drawing is dirty in details but clean in the facial expressions and the fact of bothering the reader is great. As for the argument I must point out that it is built on the psychological relationship between the protagonist Seiichi and his mother seiko. His mother is the center of the conflicts in the life of seichi to the point of turning him into an outcast and socially repressed person.
If I had to recommend this manga, I would have to advise you to read the previous works done by Oshimi Shuuzou in order understand the way read more
Sep 18, 2018
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
This manga is a lot deeper than I thought it would be. It starts off pretty light, and the elements related to god are pretty nonsensical 'trying to sound scientific' mumbo jumbo, particularly when it comes to Kameji trying to explain various things, but beyond that there are some strong lessons and meanings by the end related to what being a god means, and what humanity's relationship to them should be, as well as what being normal is. It gets quite messy and there are some inconsistencies, part of which are explained away in a cheap manner, but all in all I thought it did a good job and I read more
Sep 18, 2018
cybercyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
seemingly, it's custom here to announce that it's your first review in your first review. so yeah, this is my first review.

Short spoiler-free review


--- Likes (4):

- The art and faces drawn are pretty good

- The foundation built for the story (That is reversed gender roles) is actually quite solid. I think the author tried her hardest to think of all the possible differences in such a world.

- The MC is rather likable and the supporting characters are supporting and funny

- I'm actually invested in the story and it seems promising


--- Dislikes (0):

- Nothing notable as of yet


Overall, I think it's a must read if read more
Sep 18, 2018
Trivialmadness (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you like gore and monsters? Then this manga might be right up your alley.

*This is a spoiler free preview*

Shokuryou Jinrui can only be described as "repulsive made beautiful". The first thing to draw your attention is the top-notch art with great character designs. The touch is realistic and the gross stuff comes off as sickening as it can get - just like it should.

The story is pretty standard survival horror which brings close the ugliness of the human nature but there's also some more imaginative twists. If you've read the authors' previous work Apocalypse no Toride the pattern seems familiar: an isolated place, read more
Sep 18, 2018
Blood+ (Manga) add (All reviews)
Renee96 (All reviews)
Despite being a manga adaptation of the anime the story follows the same beats, but it's drastically different. Which isn't a bad thing at all since it makes the manga it own thing to enjoy if you already love the anime.

Being only 5 volumes long there were some events in the anime that were changed or taken out of the manga. Some events got replaced with manga only events and some characters were removed from the story and/or replaced. So it's kinda the same, but not really.

The story is really good and the art is amazing. Some of the changes may suit you better read more
Sep 17, 2018
Spruce_Wayne (All reviews)
Preliminary
I freaking love this manga just for how simply adorable it is!! Nothing much to say about it, just pick it up if you want a quick and cute story. The chapters are about 4 pages long so you'll be done in no time.

Story (8/10) - It's nice seeing a romance without another high school setting. It's a fairly down to earth take on romance between co-workers even though it still is cliche. But hey, I'm a sucker for that. It really is just a collection of the little highlights we have in a boring week of work. Nothing deeply psychological, just a simple love read more
Sep 17, 2018
LittleWelp (All reviews)
Where to begin with this.

First off the characters are all pretty much rehashes of Bleach characters with a new layer of paint on them. Balgo is Kon but more stupid, Spangle Ninii is a worse Tatsuki. The only good character in this is the main protagonist, and even then it's mostly subjective, because I have a soft spot for kuudere characters.

The story is set in London's Soul Society West Branch, which is similar to it's eastern counterpart, except instead of reapers you have witches and instead of hollows you have dragons. However there are some differences between the branches that I cannot say it's just read more
Sep 16, 2018
Enma10th (All reviews)
I'll try to sum up what i think.

I watch the anime first and considerate that despite the rocks that have in its trayectory it was entertaining.

Now that i know all the story i can't comprehed the objective of the autors. It's a very interesting beginning, a Male MC that it isn't the typical good boy, and the female MC that's can have more personality and not be simply violent tsundere because fuck it. Yes, we have our "childhood friend" of the MC with a disease that in spite of being only revelant times to times i can take seriously her character.

What happened then?
I'd like to read more
Sep 16, 2018
NikyNeko (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (8):
I saw a lot of people complaining about the drama in this manga, but I actually don't think it was that overdramatic at all. I mean, if you are writing about a disabled person, if this person's life is a lot more difficult than yours of course is gonna be a lot more dramatic as well. The mangaka doesn't lie. Actually, the problem wasn't the facts, just the way the author talked about them, so emotionally. I think the autor did it wrong because she was trying to make you feel pity of Ayukawa much more than criticising the way he was treated, wich read more
Sep 16, 2018
Profesor_Teto (All reviews)
This is what i would call ''a shame''. Yes, it's a shame that this manga developed into a melodramatic soap opera.
I was really hoping for a relationship developing in a natural way, maybe with some conflict and drama, but it ended being a terrible story with chamaleonic characters.

Story: 4

The story begins with our beta protagonist who loves cameras and has a hobby of taking pictures. He is in love with his chilhood friend, who seems to be a genki girl. His feelings don't reach her because she is always doing some activity. The plot begins to be atractive when the mc discovers that his read more
Sep 16, 2018
chozo (All reviews)
Read this if you are looking for: Lewd yuri-themed “The Twilight Zone” episodes.

Recommendation: Pick it up!

“Tousaku Shoujo Shoukougun” is a fascinating collection of five separate yuri short stories told across seven chapters. Although very short, and despite all the characters only having place-holder names (A-ko, B-ko, etc.), shimazaki’s work is made memorable by the unnatural atmosphere created throughout the whole volume. The art style plays in to the mood perfectly, where clean lines creating delicious characters are complimented by the usage of darker screen tones and claustrophobic angles. Expect Barbie doll anatomy nudity, some lewd activities, and something feeling just a little bit “off.”

Sep 16, 2018
LegsDaddy (All reviews)
Preliminary
From the author of Elfen Lied and various other manga, Parallel Paradise is a story about the delicate subject of gender differences, sexuality and society as a whole. All of these topics are handled in a delicate yet hard-hitting way that really glorify the best parts of female empowerment and feminism.

The story portrays an utopia run entirely by strong independent young women. They live in a world where there haven't been male humans in over 3000 years until a day when an unlikely male hero is transported there from our world. Now I know what you might be thinking: "This is an Isekai manga? read more
Sep 16, 2018
Tomie (Manga) add (All reviews)
NarDev (All reviews)
This is a very rare case of "It gets better as it continues."

I had previously read Junji Ito's "Uzumaki" and found it enjoyable, but being a horror fan myself, didn't find it particularly scary, so I was a little bit disappointed (partially because everyone said it was his best book, so maybe my expectations were a little high). But this one was a whole different can of worms.

The main story is basically about a girl Tomie, who toys around with men's emotions, making them all fall in love with her, so hard in fact they always end up killing her. This is not read more
Sep 16, 2018
htxgang_gang (All reviews)
Story - 9/10
I will admit. The story was a bit slow to me at first, but once I caught on to it, I binged the HELL out of it until I had nothing left to read. An awesome plot that leaves you wanting more. I was spoiled part of it, but it still had me reeling.

Art - 10/10
Of course, the art can be Duwang-ish at sometimes, but most of the time, the art is phenomenal. Araki put all of his skill into putting this out.

Character - 10/10
This section will be longer than the others. SBR has an antagonist, but it has no true villain. All read more
Sep 15, 2018
Ke_Zunjian (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hibi Chouchou is a manga that, at first glance, is going to be great. However, its plot seems to move far too slow for me. I get it, slow burn types of mangas also hold their own charms but nothing really interesting happens within the first few chapter. I just saw myself skipping from page to page hoping to see some good character development.

story 4/10
All in all, the story did seem interesting. It was somewhat clichéd yet it the plot seemed to be good enough to read. The story however, suffers from its terrible pacing as its burn is far too slow. I read more
Sep 15, 2018
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
'Happiness does not walk on its own to you. You have to use your own feet to reach it.'

What is happiness to you?

A simple question, but the number of answers is almost infinite...

This may be a manga that could help you find your own meaning of happiness.

Story: 9
I decided to read this because it was done by the same author and artist involved in 'Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai' (KimiSui). This is based on the novel of the same name.

The story focuses on Nanaka and her interactions with various people as she tries to find the best answer for the meaning of happiness, read more
Sep 15, 2018
Trivialmadness (All reviews)
Haven't had enough badassery lately? Need some more mullets in your life? Curious to know if our ragtag group will ever reach their destination? Fear not because Saiyuki is here again - and it's time to Reload.

For those not familiar with Gensomaden Saiyuki series by Minekura Kazuya, I'd warmly recommend to go back and start from the beginning. I'd also suggest to read Saiyuki Gaiden before moving on to Reload because it will give the reader a better understanding of the bigger picture as the story progresses. And now boys and girls, are you ready to fasten your seat belts?

*This is a spoiler free review*

The read more
Sep 15, 2018
Wolfiesmal (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are people that will hate this series by default because they don't agree with the brother-sister genre entirely but I have to say this manga does an amazing job showing everything the genre has to offer. The point isn't that she's his sister, the point is that she is the closest person in the world to him. He falls in love with her because they share all the same interests and look out for each other and because he can't imagine being with anyone else.

It isn't something you have to want a relationship with your own sister to enjoy, it is simply a love read more
Sep 15, 2018
Henshin (Manga) add (All reviews)
Amiliahime (All reviews)
I wouldn't have known about this manga if I hadn't watched a video from a youtuber called Akidearest. Right in the middle of her manga review I just stopped before she summarized the story and decided to read it myself. I guess I wanted to understand what she meant about it being "a depressing manga" and for some odd reason I like really depressing, dark stories. I just like how tragic they are and it just hits me right in the feels Which makes me appreciate the author even more; from beginning to the end is a wonderful thing to experience and to feel read more
Sep 15, 2018
Real (Manga) add (All reviews)
ChouEritto (All reviews)
Preliminary
Out of Takehiko Inoue's three major works, I would say Real is overall the best. His first major work of Slam Dunk, whilst good for what it was, had too few stakes to keep investment high and Vagabond took too long to provide a major focus on character development. In that sense, Real can be considered the best of both worlds and overall an improvement on everything about Slam Dunk to the point of the predecessor's redundancy akin to what Hunter X Hunter is compared to Yu Yu Hakusho.

The plot is something fairly straightforward and summaries of it wouldn't make the series sound so interesting. read more
Sep 15, 2018
Bob_Thebuilder (All reviews)
I picked this up because I'm a fan of the to the stars fanfic, which features characters from this Manga. I was disappointed. Not because the art is kind of ugly (it is, but I could overlook that if the rest were okay). And not because the story is bad. The problem is that the story was mostly incomprehensible. The manga is simply incompetently drawn. It's hard to tell who is who, where a scene takes place, how much time has passed.

I think the basic story idea is good, but if you were to take parts of the relevant chapters from the above mentioned fanfic, read more
Sep 14, 2018
violvi (All reviews)
This was an enjoyable, yet quick and sweet read.

I greatly enjoyed the art style, and while the story was simple the romance felt complete given how short this manga was.

There was a nice will-they-won't-they feel to the story as opposed to a BL manga where the two characters instantly hook up. Given how short the work is it didn't feel rushed as a lot of BL tends to feel. The build up was well paced and the ending was satisfactory.

One thing I disliked was the use of the drunk kiss troupe but it worked ok in the context. (And this is more read more
Sep 14, 2018
chozo (All reviews)
Read this if you are looking for: Two girls constantly lusting over their crushes.

Recommendation: Pass

“Shimaism” follows two middle school girls, Haruka and Yoshiko, who have crushes on each other’s younger sister. Much of this easygoing slice-of-life manga is pretty formulaic in that Haruka and Yoshiko consistently embarrass themselves trying to win the attention of their oblivious crushes, but little progress is ever made. Later on, several more characters are introduced, and these much more interesting characters actually see some relationship progress. The art is a bit awkward and sometimes unattractive, but Yoshitomi Akihito occasionally busts out some very detailed pages.
PrevNext