Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 1: Phantom Blood

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 1: Phantom Blood

Alternative Titles

English: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 1: Phantom Blood
Synonyms: Dai Ichi Bu Jonathan Joestar: Sono Seishun
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険 ファントムブラッド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 44
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 2, 1986 to Oct 13, 1987
Authors: Araki, Hirohiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 34392 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39502
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #99
Members: 57,927
Favorites: 1,692

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 6, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
As the starting point for one of the longest running manga series', JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 1: Phantom Blood, while certainly not very flashy, provides a solid foundation on which Araki builds the rest of the JoJo saga.

The story of Phantom Blood is simple: save the world by killing the false childhood friend turned vampire. To accomplish this feat, Araki introduces "Hamon", a fighting technique based on breathing. Though an interesting concept, Hamon is not the most creative feature to be found even in shonen manga, especially compared with the wonderfully imaginative "Stands" introduced by the third JoJo series "Stardust Crusaders". Nevertheless, along with the read more
Dec 30, 2012
Lindle (All reviews)
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure has only recently experienced a big boom over in the English-speaking parts of the world, due to the recent anime adaptation taking off in a big way, and beforehand was merely a cult series with a small but devoted fanbase. However, in Japan, it has been huge for a very long time - it's tremendous influence spans to everything from Hunter X Hunter to Sayonara Zetsubou-Sensei, and it still stands as the 9th longest manga of all time, and still going. And through all this (well-deserved) attention and acclaim, it's pretty easy to forget that this, where it all began, really just read more
Mar 23, 2015
TimeStopSamurai (All reviews)
If I were to tell you that I though JoJo part 1 was the best in the series you would probably think I was some mediocre pretentious pseudo intellectual reviewer who has no idea what he is talking about , but it was ME! Speak The Weak!!!

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Part 1 deconstructs the shounen genre through its dynamic story line that bends clichés and tropes in order to craft a unique in a manner that only Hirohiko Araki (JoJo mangaka) could. The story focuses on a rich boy named Jonathan Joestar (JoJo) who lives with his father, George in England. One day Jojo's father read more
Dec 29, 2011
WandererRedux (All reviews)
In the world of Manga and Anime you're likely to find many unusual stories that are massive and incredibly unique in scope, several of which garner high praise and several more that fall into obscurity. In this case while the aptly named JoJo's Bizarre Adventure has left a massive cultural impact on the Manga industry overall, its first saga "Phantom Blood" only brings a small (but very important) part of the overall appeal of the series.

To put things bluntly Phantom Blood's story isn't anything ground breaking: it is essentially what you'd get if you tried to cross Castlevania with a dark adventure series and feels read more
Jun 18, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Phantom Blood may not be as engaging as what follows it, but with interesting art and a well-defined rivalry at its core, it still serves as a sufficiently strong opening chapter.

The story of Phantom Blood follows Jonathan Joestar and his sinister adopted brother Dio, and their rivalry. The story initially portrays Jonathan as being inferior to Dio, who actively works to undermine him, but gradually Jonathan not only catches up with Dio, but surpasses him. However, a wicked plan is brewing, which may impact far more than the Joestar family. One of the strongest points of the story is that little of read more
May 17, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
If you're looking for a shonen horror filled with MANLY characters then continue reading. This is part 1 of the entire JoJo's Bizarre Adventure working best as a trilogy with Battle Tendency & Stardust Crusaders.

The beginning of JoJo seems a bit rough at first but manages to give the outline for its primary themes of the series. Taking place in the late 1880's in England, we are introduced to a prologue of an Aztec civilization having a ritual with a Stone Mask which would later embark as the symbolic plot device for this arc. The next few pages reveal the Joestar family & the read more
Apr 19, 2015
Realhumanbean (All reviews)
Every great franchise has a beginning, whether humble or loud. Jojo's Bizarre Adventure, the notoriously flamboyant and massive manga series falls under the first category. It's first story arc, The Phantom Blood is relatively normal and short compared to its future successors. Thus, it's unfair to compare it to the other Parts. The Phantom Blood is a fighting shounen tragedy with Victorian and Gothic horror elements. It follows an aristocrat's son named Jonathan Joestar in 1800's Britain. When he discovers his adopted brother, Dio Brando, seeks to destroy the Joestar family and manages to do so, Jonathan, also known as Jojo, must go through hell read more
Jan 22, 2019
Txrky (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 1: Phantom Blood é um dos melhores e mais memoráveis arcos em JoJo's Bizarre Adventures. A história se concentra em um garoto rico chamado Jonathan Joestar (JoJo), que vive com seu pai, George na Inglaterra, os dois são membros de uma das famílias mais ricas e famosas na Inglaterra. Um dia o pai de Jojo recebe um órfão chamado Dio Brando (prefiro deixar essa aparição dessa forma na review para que não haja spoilers), para a surpresa de Jojo, Dio quer arruinar a vida privilegiada de JoJo e seu pai e pegar a herança da família Joestar para si. read more
Jun 17, 2014
ryukuzaki (All reviews)
before i get started i just want to say this is a review for the entire series that include parts 1-7 i will later wxplain why 8 isnt there

just to make you know the series better here is the name of the parts:
part 1 - phantom blood
part 2- Battle Tendency
part 3- stardust crusaders
part 4- diamond is unbrakable
part 5- Vento Aureo (golden wind)
part 6- stone ocean
part 7- steel ball run
part 8- jojolion

each part have a different stroy. part 1-6 exist in the first universe and part 7 and 8 exist in SBR universe (SBR=steel ball run AKA part 7) the first part was a read more
Mar 15, 2019
heartattacks (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is a currently ongoing series with (at the moment of writing), 7 complete parts and one ongoing one. It's important to first make the distinction that this is NOT one ongoing story split into parts, but rather 8 stories in the same universe following the Joestar bloodline, that share similar elements, plot points, and even motivations in some cases.
Due to that, this and my other JoJo reviews will follow an unique JoJo rating system, since in my opinion it cannot be easily compared to other manga, done in a beginner-friendly way so as to illustrate whether or not it is worth read more
Mar 6, 2019
Grey-Hawk (All reviews)
For the first part of the JoJo Series, Phantom Blood, while not as good as itself, it's very good as a starting point. The way we see Jonathan going from a innocent and naive, but still courageous and honored kid, to a full-grown adult, ready to sacrifice himself for the well-being of others, is very well-done.

While the art itself isn't that good, seeing how it evolved until the current Part 8's style (specially if compared to the same characters in the new style, shown in the artwork for the "JoJonium" covers), show how much Araki took his time to improve itself (the same with the read more
May 22, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
Part 0: Whole Lotta Love
I loved JoJo since the first time I’ve read it years ago and I still love it now, it’s one of the few manga series that personally resonated with me like none other. While I hope to be as fair in this review as possible when it comes to pointing out the highs and lows of Phantom Blood, keep in mind that all this is coming from someone who’s a fan of series despite all the flaws than be found within.

Part 1: Brothers in Arms
Phantom Blood is the first part of the gigantic franchise JoJo has become and I think many read more
Dec 26, 2012
wishydude (All reviews)
I love Jojo. I seriously do. Honestly though, I think Phantom blood is my least favorite story. Not because I hate it, but because Jojo just gets better and better over time. This part did set up a strong foundation for the rest of the series though. It is a story of a wealthy boy, Johnathan Joestar, suddenly having his life turned to hell by his adoptive brother Dio Brando. As they grow into young adulthood, Dio suddenly becomes a vampire and only Jojo can stop him. This part isn't as flashy as the other parts of Jojo, but it does maintain the solid jojo read more
Nov 30, 2017
VicRattleHead159 (All reviews)
PB Isn't a bad manga, it's just the worst part of JoJo.

The story is basically Hokuto no Ken but with a strange power. Hamon is basically a ripoff of Hokuto Shinken, killing the enemies with just the touch. It was good on Hokuto no Ken, but not in JoJo. The power of sun/ripple/breath? WTF?

The art is good, but some characters are unproportional, with a big body and a small head. And the first JoJo is just a small kid in a big body.

Of course there's some good things, like SpeedWagon and Dio, but, in general, Phantom Blood isn't good, just fine to read.

Oct 15, 2016
26jesse (All reviews)
I believe that although it is shorter than the other parts of Jojo, it is a great introduction toward the Joestar family and also to Dio. This review is short, but I wouldn't have Jojo start any other way differently except this part being longer. However, this did start the Jojo series and we cannot forget its place in history. The artwork is absolutely gorgeous and looks even beter if you can get your hands on the colorized versions. I believe this sets the tone of the series. People such as Dio set the tone for later antigonist which means that although the first part read more
Jul 15, 2016
RichtheLionheart (All reviews)
Let me first start off by saying that I have never read or watched JoJo before reading Part 1 Phantom Blood. This is my first entry to the series and thus this review is from the perspective of a JoJo virgin.

Story: The story starts off by giving you a flashback about a cursed mask and then moving to modern day. This is a foreshadowing to future events and a central element of the plot. Ultimately, the story is about the duality struggle of good and evil, justice and wickedness. The author himself states that this extreme form of duality was purposefully used as a read more
Jan 29, 2019
Bubalubagus (All reviews)
Part 1 of Jojo gets shit on as the worst part, false. Part 1 lives up to what it is supposed to be, which is more than I can say for part 8 or part 5. I actually like part 1 a lot, and I feel like a lot of people think it's bad because the anime adaptation didn't really do it justice. I'm here to set the record straight on why part 1 isn't so bad, here we go!

The story. The story is very very simple, Dio bad, me get revenge, ooga booga. Yes ladies and gentlemen it's really that simple, but I feel read more
Mar 4, 2019
leolo2001 (All reviews)
Ah, Jojo part one. Many people think this is the worst part, and I can under-stand them (get it ?), but are they right ? And most importantly, is it really necessary to compete on which Jojo part is the best ? I don't think so, and even if people don't like that much Phantom Blood, I find it absolutely amazing. Yes, it may be the worst Jojo part, but I think it's an excellent manga.

Let's talk about the story. At first encounter, Phantom Blood seems to be a historical-like manga, and we may follow the hellish life of Jonathan Joestar. It may have been read more
Nov 14, 2018
Fainaru_Fanta (All reviews)
Review in English and Spanish.

Story: 6.

The work begins with a mysterious mask on the scene that is activated through the blood via sacrifices and returns "gods" to the people of the ancient Aztec tribe.

In the beginning we see how in 1860 a vague named Diego Brando and his wife find an accident. Where a carriage of a wealthy family fell silent, the Joestar.
Dario rushes to steal the corpses, but they find out that there is a crying child and he is the only survivor, until George Joestar wakes up and they explain how his wife died and only his son survived. In the end, George read more
Dec 26, 2016
butthurtbrigade (All reviews)
I haven't watched the Jojo anime adaptation or know much about the series but I do know Phantom Blood is considered one of the weakest parts of the franchise and I can understand why. The main antagonist is... not the most complex guy around and beyond his rivalry with Jojo I didn't understand why he wanted to do anything, there was no motivation for his actions. He was funny though, iconic character in his own way, commits some of the most vile acts I've seen in a manga actually if you like dogs or babies be warned.

The bigger problems come in with Jojo himself, read more