Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shoujo☆Kageki Revue Starlight


Alternative Titles

Japanese: 少女☆歌劇 レヴュー・スタァライト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2018 to Sep 28, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:28 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kinema Citrus
Source: Original
Genres: Music, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 13,743 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2039
Members: 43,341
Favorites: 620

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Damn, does this series truly knows no bounds at knowing how to captivate its audience, by showing the weaknesses that breaks you and cultivating that into the strength that makes you better and more spirit-willed with confidence. That's the vibes I got with watching Shoujo Kageki: Revue Starlight, truly a hidden gem, sleeper hit, AND a seriously underrated masterpiece that can compete with the likes of Your Lie In April, in terms of musical development (more on that later). And before you ask, this isn't an idol musical fan-fest anime (like so many that I come to despise over the years).

Since this is an original read more
Sep 27, 2018
RiverRode (All reviews)
Honestly, I went into Revue Starlight expecting it to be another idolesque multimedia project trying to recapture Love Live’s success, and once the series actually began, it was swarmed with comparisons to Revolutionary Girl Utena. Unfortunately, these comparisons have been unavoidable in the discourse surrounding this anime, and few people are trying to appreciate the series for its own appeal. So, before going into what makes this series great, here’s a bit of background.

The idea that Revue Starlight is just another Utena-like is mainly based on the director of the anime being Tomohiro Furukawa, who worked under Ikuhara on Mawaru Penguindrum and Yuri Kuma Arashi. read more
Sep 27, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
There are so many ideas spawning in anime making these days that sometimes, you wonder if there’s enough. Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight originally gave me the impression of an idol series with musical themes with its promotional material. I’m not going to lie, idol series these days have become very redundant in terms of context. With some exceptions such as Love Live, the majority of anime musicals haven’t impressed me in recent years. Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight soon made its presence for Summer 2018. To my pleasant surprise, it became a showstopper that exceeded my expectations and also left me with an appetite of wanting read more
Sep 27, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Anime gets often called 'art' instead of simply 'entertainment' for the simple reason that its audiovisual achievements are more noteworthy than the characters and story that can never really reach the same level as books or manga. But like with everything in life, the polar opposite view point exist. To some viewers there seem to be nothing that kills the industry harder than 'style over substance', and those who despise this way of being should now take notes and never watch this anime.

But I can like both. Especially in today's industry where substance is often lacking, new series are copy-paste of everything else that has read more
Oct 10, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
If Revue Starlight put as much effort into the story as it did into presentation it could’ve been a great show. However not balancing the two and not at least compensating on something in particular it brought down both elements. There will be some spoilers in this review but given how lackluster the writing is I sincerely don’t think they matter.

Starlight starts off rather simple before trying to make things more complex and failing. We got a few girls, they attend an art school that teaches them all about theater and their ultimate test is to be top stars during a yearly Seisho Festival. However read more
Oct 1, 2018
cuteisanarchy (All reviews)
Starlight Review is what happens when you aim high but fail in execution. One could almost forgive the director for all of the homages to Ikuhara (though curiously I didn't catch any to Penguindrum, a project he actually worked on) peppered throughout the work, but when all is said and done these references, set among a half-baked story, may come off as clumsily endearing but end up holding it up to these other, better works and highlighting where it falls short.

Stylistically, this work comes off saturated in Ikuhara, and from episode one it takes up some very explicit imagery from Utena (the duels, the tower) read more
Oct 1, 2018
war0blade (All reviews)
Another one of those shows which has a great first episode, however is completely lacking throughout the series in story, character development and to a degree, sound direction. For a show with an arts school setting and singing each episode, you would think that story and sound would be a priority, not for this show though. The biggest disappointment so far I've watched. The first episode was actually really great, and I thought it had potential, sadly the rest of the show just pales in comparison.

I have no idea why they even made this show, when it was so obvious that the animators wanted to read more
Sep 27, 2018
Rahzek (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight is the biggest meme of 2018, and by that I mean people have been tricked into thinking it's actually good, I'm going to delve into the first few episodes because that was all I could take of this pile of garbage so let's get into the breakdown of what makes this show as bad as it is.

First off we have our main character Karen, who's aspiring to be the top performer within her theatrical school and attain the lead role in the last play that their class will be performing together. The previous year they had the lead roles performed by read more
Oct 1, 2018
Revvie-chan (All reviews)
If you pluck the tiny star, then you may obtain a tiny measure of happiness. If you pluck the giant star, then you may ask for a great reward.

Shoujo☆Kageki Revue Starlight is maybe the most confusing anime to watch from Summer 2018. But at the same time, it's also the most predictable. It's a(nother) Bushiroad idol project. But at the same time, these characters are not idols - they are Stage Girls. Its story originally conceived by the people who usually work on the famous Takarazuka Revue. Its anime adaptation is directed by Furukawa Tomohiro, a close friend x protege of the famed Ikuhara Kunihiko, read more
Aug 4, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was wanting to wait till the 4th episode so I have a better understanding of what's happening. 4th Episode just aired and I'm still lost on the purpose. All I know is that It's fucking Magical!

Edit 8/5/18 3: 08:59 AM: My original review was taken down cause the episode count at the time was only two. In the time I've been waiting to repost this and make some minor adjustments. I've started watching another show that has a striking resemblance in a couple regards. I'm talking about "Revolutionary Girl Utena"

It might be just me but the two shows seem alike. Obviously compared to read more
Aug 3, 2018
TsubasaFamily (All reviews)
Preliminary
Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight is an offering from director Furukawa Tomohiro, who worked closely with director Ikuhara Kunihiko on Mawaru Penguindrum and Yuri Kuma Arashi. The aforementioned works are best known for their surrealist style coupled with Yuri/Class S settings, features which are prevalent throughout Ikuhara's work. Having been familiar with these, it would be impossible not to draw comparisons to Revue Starlight's artstyle and tone, and as such I went into the series slightly guarded. While there is a lot of depth to be found in the aforementioned works, they walk a very thin line between "highly artistic and symbolic" and "unnecessarily complicated to read more
Aug 8, 2018
FuyukiFA (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, you need to know that this series is about a group of girl that studying in Musical Academy. The girls learn about an opera which called by "Revue", based on RL it is an popular entertainment in 19th century.

And I dunno how, but that's the great part of this anime!

Revue is a theatrical show that combines music, dance, and drama. Different from another music anime which shows an Idol or Band or another Music Performance. Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight shows a more superb Stage. An orchestral music with wonderful dancing movement that looks like action anime stuff. That makes an impressive sense.

And read more
Sep 28, 2018
SingleH (All reviews)
I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been one to like idol shows. When I think of idol shows, I think of an overblown cast of generic so called cute girls whose lazy character designs all look practically identical and whose inexperienced voice actresses all sound similar and fake. I think of a show completely devoid of heart, passion, or anything to remember it by outside of the thousands of dollars worth of figurines, wall scrolls, and body pillows which accompany each girl. When I found out Radical☆Girl Revue Starlight was going to be an idol show after watching the first promotional video, I read more
Sep 27, 2018
Jacob194 (All reviews)
"Let us go, to pluck that star together! Starlight, it's the story of the goddesses drawn by the glow of the heavens, yet they are pulled apart, never to meet again, it is a sorrowful tale."

Thank goodness Revue Starlight isn't an idol anime, nor is it an action anime either, it has elements from both genres, singing and dancing from idol anime, and fighting from an action one, but it's different, unique and original, how it does everything, how it foreshadows things episodes before they actually happen, I just love this anime, I only wrote this review because I believe this is a hidden gem read more
Sep 27, 2018
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
This is a story of a distant and nearby review site, from long ago, in the faraway future. It is the Fall 2018 Season, celebrated through legions of anime fans in a small world.

{Below the shower of anime that passes through four times a year, I met Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight.}

[And I met SanaeK10.]

In a fated encounter.

[{I think we two have always been together. So let us all meet together again in the future. On the next season of the anime shower.}]

The two of us have been connected through a distant promise. But. On the Season of Fall where I first watched Revue Starlight...

[SanaeK10, we read more
Oct 15, 2018
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
*Disclaimer*
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10 The art in this was noticeably much better than the average show. Everything. Everything was so crisp, clean, and detailed. I'm super impressed with some of the art showcases this show did. The transformation sequence machinery was super detailed. The anatomy and proportions checked out. The background scenery and attention to the small things were impressive. The general presentation of how scenery was done and designed were impressive too. Overall, the framing, the art quality, and the choice of presentation were all very impressive and definitely a cut above the rest.

Animation: 8/10 Just like the art, read more
Sep 30, 2018
Tringapore_98 (All reviews)
YES THE TIME HAS COME, TO REVIEW MY AOTS AND FAV ANIME OF SUMMER 2018, REVUE STARLIGHT! I have never been a fan of music/idol anime(THOUGH REVUE IS NOT IDOL). To be honest, I actually didn't plan to watch Revue Starlight this season, it wasnt on my ptw list. Until someone recommended the anime on discord. And I was quite curious as well, so I thought, well, since I dropped quite a few anime already and this season has been pretty meh or bad, maybe I'll just give this anime a try? And boi, not only do I not regret watching this anime, this anime read more
Sep 28, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Passion, Longing, Pride, Jealousy, Promise, Isolation, Bonds, Fate and Tragedy, everything needed in making a Top Star.

Before LA even starts, Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight is about THEATER stage girls not idols, alot of people make the comparison and THEY are different and it's because of Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight's focus on theater stage girls that initially caught LA interest in this anime, as LA knew even without looking at the staff and studio that this was gonna be unique in the realms of the "entertainment industry" anime, in this case theater girls but it takes a much more thematic look at it in being the read more
Sep 14, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I truly enjoy approximately three things in this world: swordfights, anime, and musical theater. Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight (hereafter SKRS) is those things in equal measure. I was doomed to love it from the get. Having said that I am biased, I still think this show is objectively really good, and if you like shows like Revolutionary Girl Utena, AKB0048, or Mawaru Penguindrum you will absolutely love this show as well. If that sounds good stop reading this and go watch it, you can send me a muffin basket in thanks later. If you need more convincing, allow me to explain why you should just read more
Apr 13, 2019
alwaysflying (All reviews)
This show has a lot of ambition and a lot of potential. However, it doesn’t use that potential to its full extent, leading to thematic sloppiness and loss of clarity. Still, if you can overlook that (and it seems many have), it’s an exciting watch even if you don’t generally like idols or musical girls.

Let’s start with the good parts: the sound and visuals are great. The songs are well sung, but even more importantly the background music is used to create a lot of tension and depth even in the clumsier moments. Choreography is on point, and though the quality isn’t consistent, when read more