Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsuki ga Kirei


Alternative Titles

English: Tsukigakirei
Synonyms: The Moon is Beautiful, As the Moon, So Beautiful
Japanese: 月がきれい

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2017 to Jun 30, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: feel.
Source: Original
Genres: Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 101,575 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #411
Members: 222,125
Favorites: 4,316

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 29, 2017
TuyNOM (All reviews)
It is true that school-life is one of the most common genres in Japanese animation. From specialty school (magic, cooking etc) to school-life with mysteries or supernatural. In short, it is a genre that has been widely exploited in all respects. As for Tsuki ga Kirei, it doesn't pretend to revolutionize the genre and doesn't propose an original plot at first.

In fact Tsuki ga Kirei is exceptional in its simplicity. The relationships between the different characters are particularly well developed. The series accurately combines the gestures, facial expressions of the characters without exaggerating the reactions, which in some scenes may seem surprising and unexpected. The read more
Jul 6, 2017
Intelos (All reviews)
When attempting to define romance, a few notions come to mind: a feeling of excitement, a remoteness from the mundaneness of everyday life, or perhaps a quality of mystery. These are the qualities that litter the romance genre today. However, one cannot discount the impact that simpler techniques create; subtle changes in body language during an involving conversation, an alter in the pitch of a voice after an unexpected text, or the absence of any background music so that any impertinent buffer is removed at a crucial developmental moment. It is in these archaic ways that Tsuki ga Kirei manages to strike me as not read more
Jun 29, 2017
FuryTomic (All reviews)
Honestly in my opinion, this show is one of those original work gems that stand out for this season of Spring 2017!

An Original Work containing Romance, mixed along with Middle School themed characters, plus those awkward and moments we all had at some point in our lives. As what some others have said, I also agree that this show is something refreshing and nice to watch.

The story has good development overtime. It's not really rushed a lot with tons of scenes and action that was all done in one go. The story progressed at a reasonable good pace. Though, there's a notable amount of read more
Jun 29, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Every season we can watch average animes, good animes but few times we have the privilege of watching an amazing anime that will be part of us for a long time. Tsuki ga Kirei will fulfill our expectations and more.

Even if the story could be at the beginning simple, it will start advancing in a way that will keep us entertained until the end. The story has excellent pacing and covers the insecurity, the desires, the doubts, the dreams of a group of teenagers.

We follow the story of a couple from the start until the end (in some way), their names are Akane and read more
Jul 7, 2017
KingKatsura (All reviews)
Tsuki ga Kirei is a boring adolescent romance that masquerades as something more than it is. Subverting standard romance tropes is not something that by default makes a romance any more realistic or compelling if it's still lacking in anything substantive.

The main couple have a serious lack of chemistry that plagues the show from front to back. Their reservations and quaint interactions are cutely refreshing and much more in line with the actuality of young love than your typical anime portrayal. That said, I still don't understand why they liked each other in the first place or why that feeling only grew over time. read more
Apr 23, 2017
misjebaka8D (All reviews)
Preliminary
An anime about the pure, innocent, and slow-pacing love of the adolescence page in our lives that we can relate to. This show can bring back nostalgia about how dumbfounded we had been when we experienced love in the middle school.

The art style is very unique with the watercolor palette and will be very distinguishable at the first episode. It’s fitting in the general feel of the show, which is like the reminiscent of our youth days. There’s a lot of great sceneries which somewhat akin to what Makoto Shinkai’s produced in his works.

The soundtracks help a lot in creating the atmosphere of the read more
Apr 23, 2017
ryuu_no_yoake (All reviews)
Preliminary
EDIT: Although I still stand by everything I said before, as the story advances, I want to say more, namely I really want to emphasize that this show is truly beautiful and special, it's real and honest and not cluttered with any needless tropes or background noise. Their feelings and circumstances are extremely believable and everything is treated in a very gentle manner. And up to now I have loved every single episode I have seen.

---

I wouldn't normally follow a story about middle-schoolers, however I am not sorry I started watching this. It delivers an overall sweet and considerate story, and is the only decent read more
Apr 27, 2017
4U2NV (All reviews)
Preliminary
*no spoilers*

As far as this anime is aired, four episodes currently, I am really enjoying it.
This anime is "just" a normal and common slice of life, school, romance anime, but the way it is made is just pure awesomeness. The characters are lovable and the setting is really good. The voices are really calm and fascinating...it just feels good to hear them talk. The anime is really calm and that is one of the reasons why it is so good. You can feel the characters, and everything seems realistic. I highly recommend this anime for school/romance anime fans.
Right now the hype for the next episode read more
Jun 29, 2017
TakeTheWindward (All reviews)
Tsuki ga Kirei is like an embarrassing flashback to those days in middle school where you wanted to grow up as fast as possible and do things all the cool adults did. Remember that first time you fell in love from looking at someone, but didn’t know what to do or didn’t have the guts to try it out? Yeah, Tsuki ga Kirei is just a reminder what should’ve or could’ve happened for all those with regrets from their younger days. Tsuki ga Kirei is everything I wanted Kuzu no Honkai to be, the characters are brimming with read more
Sep 1, 2017
MAND4 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aah, I wish someone told me before I started watching this that it's SoL on ROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOIDS.

NOTE: Before going any further, I just want to disclose that I'm not the biggest fan of SoL, especially when comedy is sparse. So just remember that this is from a perspective of someone who generally tends to avoid these types of shows. Also, I'll be diving into spoilers, as I don't think I'll be able to convey why I just couldn't stuff last 2 episodes otherwise. So, with that said, let's get this over with.

Story: 1/10

Now, I could write something generic here, like "well, truly, there is no read more
Jul 5, 2017
Loneninjah (All reviews)
Are you Interested in a change of pace? Want something out of the norm? Something that's different from previous romance titles but still leaves a large impact on the viewer. If so then I would highly suggest watching something else. I went into this anime hoping that it would progress in a manner I am not used to but it failed to impress let alone entertain me for the majority of the season. Typical intro where the main character meets a girl who he doesn't know and for whatever reason they're instantly drawn to each other. A clichéd intro like this had me feeling as read more
May 14, 2017
Kynov (All reviews)
Preliminary
"It's not being in love that makes me happy. It is the person that i am in love with that does"

Story of romance sometimes are pretty generic. We see a boy and a girl fallin in love with each other then they meet some obstacle in their relationship but somehow can manage it and happy end. But of course, the differences is how they would wrap that generic story and for me, Tsuki ga Kirei have take to a whole new level of it.

Brought to you by the director of famous anime, Angel Beats. The story is pretty much generic but what makes Tsuki ga read more
May 18, 2018
Artrill (All reviews)
[7.5/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Behold first love. A first kiss. A tender touch. Without it, we would cease to grow. A metaphoric stomping on roots. Painted through cliche, breathing through understatements. Each veteran, wandering eye gazing down at innocence and wishing to relive moments missed. Missed through longing or melancholy. A bittersweet visage of young love remarked dismissively by jaded tongues. If only my own wasn't so jaded.

These moments, mandatory, yet romanticized. It's in the genre, after all. Yet that's so often the failure. Perfection is wanted, but only through shallow wishes. Wanting perfection in a relationship is like wanting world peace. An empty claim that flirts with ignorance read more
Jul 1, 2017
BlueKite (All reviews)
Romance is a genre that has been done to death in anime. Some try to liven things up by going for a romance-comedy approach that often falls short of balancing between the two. Some try to go for moody serious drama that sometimes take itself too seriously by sprinkling dark elements into the mix resulting into a mess. Whatever various scenarios these shows present, what they all have in common is that they have always strive to show something interesting to its viewers beyond the romance, which can result to negligence of the potential development from it.

It has always bothered me, as a person read more
Jun 30, 2017
Werty800 (All reviews)
In an era where people continously gush about Serial Experiments Lain for being one of the most mind-boggling shows to ever come out of Japan, in an era where people all over the world jump from excitement when they see a new fight in Boku No Hero Academia, in era where people consider Rem from Re:Zero to be their ideal waifu, there's something that I always felt was left underappreciated. That thing was simplicity.
Some look at simple shows and say that they're not making their minds busy, some say that they're not worth their time when so many excellent, fantastical adventures await, but for once read more
Jun 30, 2017
KayuWaii (All reviews)
I don't usually write reviews, but i'm gonna make an exception, for this anime really touched me.

I originally thought about giving this anime an 8 but after finishing it i feel like it would be unfair. It's not an anime that has amazing episodes, actually they can even get a bit boring at some point (specially if you're not used to "paused" animes) but what makes this anime so good is the whole of it, it's actually quite realistic about how current teenagers have relationships(with the typical japanes touch, of course) and the art is good, even though sometimes the CGI was horrible, the music read more
Jun 29, 2017
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[Middle-School Romance]

Anime shows entailing romance, adolescence, and school-life are nothing new; many follow common themes, employ cliche characters, and have hackney narratives. And, while, this show may share similar themes, its characters and narrative go beyond simple cliches. They add hints of realism and truth, recreating events people could relate and reminisce about. Tsuki ga Kirei may not subvert the romance genre, but its stellar technical production, realistic narrative and charming characters are both refreshing and remarkable.

STORY:

The show features a simple storyline summarized as: boy meet girl, boy falls in love with girl, boy dates girl, boy and girl stay together forever read more
Nov 6, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Life changing is how “in-love” feels in adolescence because it is a far more moving and compelling relationship than the young people have known before. The experience is all consuming and each is always on the other’s mind. It is a merged relationship and each one feels part of the other, not quite whole when they are not together, especially when it comes to your first experience being in love. Tsuki ga Kirei (The Moon is Beautiful) is a touching romance tale that explores the many facets of love and strives to exemplify the beauty in simplicity while conveying both adolescence and realism. What makes read more
Jun 30, 2017
Krieffer (All reviews)
We see a bunch of romantic anime every season, some with absurd history's, totally out of the reality. We just need a romantic genre more realistic, an anime we see ourselves there, our life, our love, our own history.

I had a lot of hopes with Tsuki ga Kirei, fortunately, all of them was completed. The synopsis was very catchy for me, and me as romantic anime fan, I couldn't lose this.

I think I can describe it like "simple". This is the magic with TgK, a history we can see every day, a history that we lived in the past, or that we're living now. read more
Mar 9, 2019
Qzhuo (All reviews)
'Tsuki ga kirei' ... "The moon is beautiful" This is a well known Japanese saying that also serves as a confession of 'I love you'. It is a representation of how true love between two people transcends simple words. This anime tells a heartwarming tale of a love that didn't need a white knight or an overly charismatic gigolo. In a sense, it was love in its purest form. The anime captures the essence of romance simply through the expressions of the characters, their posture, and their fidgeting. Watching the two inexperienced lovers, you can't help but cheer for them.

We don't all live in the read more