Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Re:Creators


Alternative Titles

English: Re:CREATORS
Japanese: Re:CREATORS 〈レクリエイターズ〉

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2017 to Sep 16, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: TROYCA
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 45,754 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11362
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #428
Members: 157,571
Favorites: 1,145

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 8, 2017
FioWolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think after some of the reviews, they can be very misleading about the anime itself and the plot it is trying to bring. So I decided to write a review myself in hopes of clearing some of the misconceptions.

Firstly, about the long talking with people inside a room, I find it all acceptable since it is one of the main plot building scenes. I think most people are disappointed 3-4 episodes in because in the first or second episode you are introduced to quite a bit of action scenes and then suddenly the third and fourth doesn't contain much action and that was disappointing read more
May 3, 2017
DraXion (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have seen 4 and a half episodes of this show. Episode 1 seemed promising. Ok story line and an ok plot. Now let's jump ahead to episode 2. For the first 12 minutes, there was literally nothing happening at all. I mean AT ALL. The whole first half of the episode was 1 long and emotionless conversation. The characters don't have any personality, literally.
Episode 3 was ok. There was a good amount of plot advancement and was slightly entertaining.
Now to episode 4. I watched 14 minutes, eagerly awaiting for the episode to end. They go into another long and boring conversation about the read more
Sep 16, 2017
ZzLow96 (All reviews)
Re:Creators the definition of CREATIVITY! Everything about this anime is unique and special especially the recap episode. From mecha to magic girl, any types of the character that you could ask for will be appear in this anime.
PLEASE DO NOT SKIP THE RECAP EPISODE!

Story: 10/10
Just when "Isekai" trend is everywhere, this anime use the concept of reverse Isekai where the character from the fantasy world coming out to join the real world instead of the protagonist blend into some parallel world.

Art: 9/10
The animation is not the best but is good enough in the year of 2017. Nothing outstanding but you will realize that the read more
Sep 16, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Oh boy, Re:Creators. It’s a modern example of how a show that could have been a big hit of the year that ultimately translated into a messy series that self-destructed. It’s not just a flop but serves as a metaphor for how original series struggles to keep ideas effective. Don’t get me wrong. The series’ premise about story worlds clashing with sci-fi and fantasy elements sounds very intriguing. Yet somehow, it found many ways to ultimately make this look like an attempt at easy crash grab for the unexpected.

At first glance, this series sounds really interesting. As an original anime, the creators seems to have read more
Jun 3, 2017
LoliNami (All reviews)
Preliminary
Probably my 4th review, and boy did this anime become a let down quickly. Don't get me wrong, the premise is a great idea, but the execution is poor with Re: Creators. Episode 1 is promising, but from there it falls into cliche valley.

What began it's descent from a really, really good anime, which I saw a different review suggestion this could be a classic--which I find a joke--is I think the second episode which provided us a theory as to why everything is happening.

This theory was poorly placed because the characters from the anime worlds were just introduced and with no evidence supporting the read more
May 6, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
what happens when you bring your favorite anime character to our world. considering the copious amounts of shows where we have the opposite and we go to their worlds it's a little refreshing.

the art is good but I don't really care enough because the show is mostly people sitting around talking and giving exposition. for the action scenes, we do see it is fairly original and fluid it is worth the sitting around.

the music isn't that memorable to me but I like the casting choices. it feels like they belong with the characters.

the characters are amazing, going in you may expect basic mainstream anime tropes read more
Sep 16, 2017
qirlib (All reviews)
Re: Creators is an awful but in the same time a unique series in a sense that it directly tells the viewers the reasons for its existence: the fact that hundreds of thousands of people can spend their time on and, most importantly, breathlessly enjoy and pay money for an ugly badly-written constantly fourth-wall breaking horribly directed nobody-on-the-staff-list-ever-cared pissing-on-the-other-shows pack of completely unrelated action scenes.

When making an anime from some source material (manga/light novel), writers usually have trouble packing all the events in a video format. This is one of the reasons why so much shows are filled with exposition, scenes of characters thinking and read more
Sep 19, 2017
Goukeban (All reviews)
I believe I mentioned this before, but I find it consistently harder to write in praise of an anime than to bash it, to the point that the only manner in which I could be satisfied on doing so, would be to break down each episode while highlighting why I believe certain scenes or bits of dialogue are so great and important to the big picture. As you can imagine, the highest I value something, the harder it feels to explain, so let it be known right from the start: I do see Re:Creators in VERY high regard!

Story and Characters

To begin to understand why the read more
Sep 16, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
"Being predictable is a sign that the show isn't amazing. It was an interesting ride that ended in an unexpected way."

A reunion between fictional creations and a real world was possible in Re: Creators. A show with a high potential and entertainment. Sadly, it didn't fulfill all the expectations and could pass in the history as another predictable anime with a good art quality and a wasted character development.

In the end, we will get a final that won't fit with all the sacrifices, characters descriptions, mature story progression but will please the fans.

Score fixed 6.0. A story with plot craters and constant pacing change. The read more
Jun 11, 2017
FalseShepherd13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
::THIS REVIEW ASSUMES YOU HAVE READ THE PREMISE PROVIDED ABOVE, I AM NOT YOUR PERSONAL WIKIPEDIA::

Alright, so way too many people have been giving this show badly written negative reviews for dumb reasons, so I'm gonna set the record straight on why Re:Creators is THE best anime for Spring 2017, and has the potential to be one of the best anime of the year.

Re:Creators is very interesting for many reasons, but the interest starts with who is working on this show. Re:Creators is written by Rei Hiroe, the creator of one of my favorite character driven action pulp series, Black Lagoon. A thoght provoking series read more
Sep 16, 2017
KurataTrigger (All reviews)
“I understand that this is a complicated world. I know that this isn’t the world where everything you wish will come true. But characters like me from stories, our purposes have already been decided and we can’t escape them. Unlike us, you guys can decide where you go by yourself. It might not be easy but you can choose it and create it for yourself. You can write your own story just for yourself.” – Rui Kanoya. (Re:Creators)

To be honest I had no interest in watching Re:Creators mainly due to the director Ei Aoki. despite him directing Fate/Zero which by the way was a great read more
Sep 16, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*Beware of massive spoilers*

Creativity is something to be cherished, at least when it's not used for malicious intent. Creativity is part of the soul of all good stories, and even the most generic, lifeless trite has at least something creative to call its own, for better or worse. Creators of fiction create their own worlds, characters, situations, etc., and exploring what would happen when their creations transcend fiction and leap into the realm of reality is, well, one of the most creative premises ever conceived in fiction, inevitable puns aside. However, premise draws is to a show, but execution is what keeps us away or read more
May 14, 2017
agcdoctor (All reviews)
Preliminary
Decided to drop it after a terrible build up to a fight in episode 6 between these 3 characters that I realised I couldn't care less about if I tried. That and the long ass build up was too cringey to stomach the entire show after experiencing.

The characters in general are the main reason for this show being a massive disappointment, which it was as it had some potential as an initial idea. They all seemed to have no real development or anything interesting about them, especially after listening to their long boring and tedious conversations. Each character seemed like they could be the interesting read more
May 9, 2017
virquilium (All reviews)
Preliminary
to everyone who wrote a review to shit on this anime before it even expands and explains itself, even by judging from the first 5 episodes, go home.

this show is good. Genre? " Action " Music? Sawano. Director? Ei Aoki.
can't see why people are already calling this a harem. sorry but Mizushino Souta-Boy is not the "Protagonist" or "MC" as some claim, he may be essential but not the actual "MC" he even said he is what you call a " narrator " in the first episode.
some already shitting on the " Logic " behind those "Colliding Worlds" thing, and when the Anime is read more
May 6, 2017
Gqz (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Spoilers for Fate/Zero and Re:Creators below)

Re:Creators: a show set in world where anime characters come to life. Yet, this isn't what studio Troyca envisioned Re:Creators to be. To put it simply, Re:Creators is a story about how our narrator: Souta, is contemplating over the loss of a friend in life, this coupled by how he must come to terms with defeating a villain who's creator is also his deceased friend.

Take my words with a pinch of salt however, I am not praising Re:Creators as a masterpiece and I'm doing the contrary. Re:Creators follows the same pattern of using the hero's journey as a method read more
Aug 9, 2017
GrayRealm (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've dropped it

To summarize it: it is an anime with nice visuals, that is ruined by a very badly written story. It is possible to figure out the rough idea of what is going on in the first 5 minutes of the first episode, and slightly adjust information in the second.

Detailed breakdown below:

Story: 2/10
The story writing is exceptionally poor, and the main issue is that the story writer did not have a good idea about presenting new events. So, when the story needs to introduce you to some sort of idea, characters sit down in a circle and talk for 15 minutes. Sometimes they read more
Sep 16, 2017
Werty800 (All reviews)
Anime community has been berated for many years now. I've seen it, you've seen it, everyone's seen it. I think it's safe to say that, while certain individuals are to blame as well, the major fault lays in the thing that we're gathered around. Anime isn't particularly subtle about its tropes or its origin. Stuff that's acceptable in Japan is often times seen as weird, unnaturally obscure or even morally wrong in other parts of the world.
What I always believed was the major issue however, was the way anime itself has been presenting its fans over the past couple of years. How many characters that read more
Sep 16, 2017
XHellScytheX (All reviews)
I’m certain that at some point, you’ve envisioned getting transported into one of your favorite works of fiction so that you could interact with and fight alongside your favorite characters. However, in all honestly, we would most likely fail spectacularly in many of these vivid yet grueling worlds due to our lack of special abilities and general mediocrity when compared to fictional characters. But now I want you to picture the better and more convenient alternative; the characters that you’ve dreamed of meeting get teleported to OUR world. This sums up the general premise of Re:Creators, thus instigating a tale of the interactions between creators read more
Jun 12, 2017
adeelist (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now-a-days many good anime become mediocre or plain out boring due to the repetition of the almost identical storyline/plotline and the audience (us) being exposed to these clichés or developments numerous times. Thus, whenever a new anime with a different plot arrives, it peaks my interest. Re-Creators belongs to that category and the criminally low score and constant online bashing of this anime spurred me to write my first review on MAL.

It sets itself apart due to its somewhat opposing setting to the ‘Isekai’ (other world) genre, where typically the MC gets transported to the imaginary world and becomes the hero. In this case, the read more
Jun 12, 2017
overfl0w (All reviews)
Preliminary
Re:Creators is being criminally underrated this season because it had a cliche sounding premise and very meh first episodes. But if Re:Zero and Madoka have taught us anything it's that cliche sounding premises may not be so cliche after all, and that sometimes shows need time to get the ball rolling especially for a two cour. This show is ballooning with potential, I'm just hoping that balloon doesn't pop

Re:Creators is truly a gift that keeps on giving, as it really does have 9s across the board so far for me and is set to keep up that pace. The first thing I have to praise read more