Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shingeki no Kyojin Season 2


Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan Season 2
Japanese: 進撃の巨人 Season 2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2017 to Jun 17, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:00 (JST)
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 119,819 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #86
Members: 384,222
Favorites: 4,166

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 17, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past 4 years, then you’ll know that Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) has been renewed for a second season. And with that, the show returns in full force. Remember the titans that terrorized humanity when they made their appearance from season one? Or when Eren transformed into a Titan himself and played a pivotal role to help humanity? How about the time when Eren and his friends realized that one of their comrades is also their greatest enemy? Shingeki no Kyojin wastes no time in giving the fans what they want and that’s a sequel read more
Jun 17, 2017
Veronin (All reviews)
Attack on Titan's first season never really sat right with me. A series more interested in cinematics (orchestrals, screaming aplenty) than it did in conveying a message or allowing its audience to care for the characters beyond whatever grisly death they inevitably succumb to. It was loud, its presence ever more so, and so I distanced myself from what seemed standard action movie cuisine.

After over three years of silence, its second season comes as something a bit more surprising. It trims away its grimy, cacophonous exterior and presents something, somewhat, more refined. The killing has found a purpose. The world the characters inhabit possesses some read more
Jun 17, 2017
XHellScytheX (All reviews)
There are anime that truly leave a monumental impact. Not just on the industry, but for each individual viewer. Shows that are so addicting that you just can’t seem to stop watching them. Shows that combine many pivotal elements of storytelling together to create something that is genuinely incredibly well produced. Anime that make you wholeheartedly pleased to have become a part of the anime community.

For me, Attack on Titan is one of these anime. Which essentially means that the four year gap between seasons felt like an EXCRUCIATINGLY long time…

However in all seriousness, I perfectly understand why it took so long to produce the read more
Jun 17, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
Attack on titan needs no further introductions, we all know about it… there are some people who put it on a pedestal, and there are some people who denigrate it. I choose to be honest and interpret the facts as fairly as I possibly can, and not write a verbose review.
In my opinion, Attack on Titan is one of those shows that even though it does not shine quality-wise, meaning it doesn’t have “great” characters or “epic” twists, it is amazingly entertaining to watch.

The story is fairly simple and straightforward, but thicker than my expectations based on the previous season, it is read more
Apr 22, 2017
myanimeinfo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here is the thing people – If somebody says that the timeline of the story is messed up, or that the anime is straying too far of it's course, or a simple exclamation of ‘what the hell is happening’, then there is a good chance that these objections are legitimate. Now the question is – Do we want everything to go according to the plan? Frankly if everything in a particular anime goes according to the way we want, then there is also a good chance that it would make for a dull as hell viewing.

Thankfully, Shingeki no Kyojin surprises us and keep read more
Apr 22, 2017
Apdo1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, fucking 4 episode in when this review was written. Alot of shit has happen eh? I personally think AOT is a very overrated show, that can only deliver the tropes of here's an almost unbeatable group of monsters or beings, so now they fight for survival. That sorta setting isn't really all that complicated, but rather, extremely too straight forward and simple. But however, hohoho, this season so far is something else. Not only did we finally get to delve into some mystery and introduction to more characters, side character's background (the more interesting ones in the series, im bored with Eren/Armin/Mikasa sorta drama read more
Jun 17, 2017
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Anticipation.

Blistered, sunburnt skin adorns them, the lumbering thud of footsteps echoes louder with each passing second, their eyes set on a village lying dormant up ahead. Exposed flesh shifting between the woods, no expressed interest for the plant life or animals grazing at their feet. Warped facial expressions, a thousand-yard stare, distorted features, twisted limbs, an ungodly creature, a true force of nature. Deformed giants with one thing in mind.

Beady eyes stare back at the impending danger, irises frantically shifting from each other to the threat slowly approaching with each step, the military cradled behind stone walls planning their first strike. In the dead of read more
Apr 23, 2017
iTzUnique (All reviews)
Preliminary
Arguably one of the best written anime ever. The storyline begins in a civilization not too technologically advanced, where large creatures called titans that resemble humans but with no reproductive organs, attempt to eat humans who have trapped themselves in walls for protection. Humans fight back with the used of 3-D maneuver gear which allows them to grapple from buildings and use a gas system to travel at speeds high enough to use swords that cut the back of titans necks (their only weak point). That is simply the jist, but there are so many good literary elements used in this show the foreshadowing of read more
Jun 17, 2017
Captain220 (All reviews)
Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the creator of the ends of the Earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

- Isaiah 40:28-31

Story

The second coming of Christ hath solemnly smiled upon us and read more
Apr 24, 2017
jeikobu11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here it is after waiting for years or months for those who recently watched S1 (lucky you didn't wait over 3 years). I think we all have great expectations for this second season, but knowing it only has 12 episodes, it is a let down (for me anyway). ok let's start the review.

From what I watched so far I can say one thing... BRILLIANT, absolutely brilliant. Very well made and didn't change too much. Seeing the same old voices and characters after a long time brought back memories from when I watched it years ago, it was emotional for me. The creators took the first read more
May 14, 2017
HungrySquirtle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Its actually painful how bad this series, and especially this season, is. I know a lot of people think I'm just being ridiculous and overreacting with a score of 1/10, but lets break this down and look at it piece by piece.

First off, the characters. Honestly how could anyone think any of these central characters are good? Eren is a whiny child who just screams for no reason the entire series, Armin is just unbearable, Mikasa was ok at first but immediately grew dull and boring, both her and Levi are Mary Sues who are inexplicably overpowered for no reason(other than being Asian... yeah that's read more
May 8, 2017
NICK1994 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I rewatch the last minutes of the previous episode (episode 6) and realize that AoT is ~~THE MOST EPIC ANIME!!~~ It's not the best, but the epicness of that is beyond believe!! and it's achieved by the several things - first is music, OSTs and OPENINGS of both seasons troghout the series is OUTSTANDING that emphisize all the drama main characters face and it may be does not make you cry, but the heartbreak is guaranteed for you. The second is art - I think that compared to manga it is evaluated as much as it could be evaluated!! As titans supposed to be the read more
Apr 27, 2017
Sebu-Senpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
The amazing sequel to attack on titan 1! Love the opening and great show, but the Beast Titan deserves a white van to go with his creepy smile and voice. Epic characters, especially Levi (I know Eren can be a bit whiny at times, but his rage kind of makes him a suitable protagonist for a post-apocalyptic anime.) and epic soundtrack. I've read the manga and it's so good to see it in full colour and animated. 10/10, best anime after Sword Art Online. Ending theme is good too, but it kind of spoils the titans creation for those who haven't read the manga to read more
Apr 23, 2017
Gid0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though it has been four years, I can tell to everyone who waited patiently that this season is going to be worth the wait! Because a lot of amazing things will happen, which will blow your mind.

In this 12 episodes, which in my opinion is great that they are not rushing it, quality over quantity is always preferred, although I would not personally like to wait another 4 years ;P) and it could also mean that we could see another season faster than expected, there are going to be some scary revelations and it will make you question how the story will continue.

Because read more
Jun 17, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
TL;DR: Does it really matter what I write? You have waited 4 years, endured 2 trashy live action movies and restrained yourself from reading the manga to find out what's in Erin's basement. So go watch the anime to find that answer! But knowing you, you will stick around and read this review. So in short, Game of Thrones meets Inception/Memento and has a forbidden love-child they didn't reveal to the world because they were scared it will not live up to hype and success of their first child.
[Story: 5/10 , Characters: 7/10, Art: 9/10, Sound: 8/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

How can an anime as bombastic read more
May 11, 2017
AkiraAmon (All reviews)
Preliminary
NO SPOILERS!!!
SASAGEYO! ~ SASAGEYO! ~ SASAGEYO! OH MY GOSH this opening gave me chills and goosebumps with my fist in the air in triumph.
For me , whenever I see an amazing anime opening , ninety five percent of the time I loved the anime as well. (Except Elfin Lied :P)

I was overjoyed in hearing that the episodes for season two were out. I knew they were going to be good but the bar was already set super high as season one was insanely good, but season two blew my expectations.

I appreciated that in season two there were many episodes dedicated to characters that weren't read more
May 7, 2017
OneMinuteAgo (All reviews)
Preliminary
To all of you who rates this less than 7 and says it's the same as season 1:

You have no idea. I know it feels "mediocre" the first 5 eps of s02, but if you think the story doesn't develop or characters doesn't develop, then you have 0 idea of the series. And if you compare this kind of anime to gundam and tengen toppa gurren lagann and other completely different genres, then don't write reviews. You need to put it in the RIGHT context. Let me tell you, if you stop watching here, you're missing out. It's not about the action or the flashy read more
Jun 17, 2017
Thevsamovies (All reviews)
Updated version of my previous top review:

SnK season 2 has been a rough ride. As a fan of season 1, I really wanted this season to be good. On one hand, the latter half of the season was action packed and full of great development - just what I wanted. On the other, the first half of the season was extremely poorly written.

So I'll separate this review into two halves.

1st half (ep 1-6)

First of all, don't expect the world to be well built or realistic. After all, there are absolutely no men guarding the wall, as the entire ordeal within the first few episodes read more
Jun 17, 2017
keragamming (All reviews)
Season 2 has come and gone and this three month was really enjoyable, but do not fear, season 3 is already announced for 2018! Now on to the review.

Story 10/10:

Snk season 2 picks up right where season 1 left off, and it give the viewers a bit more insight about the titans in the walls. The thing with snk is that its story is slowly unravelling for both the characters and the viewers, we learn of the ape titan that can speak and that titans obey his orders, we also learn that without a doubt titans are humans, we learn that Ymir who is now read more
May 9, 2017
richardtengcy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Earlier before Shingeki No Kyojin (SnK) Season 2 started in April, Wit Studio launched a cheeky full page ad on the Japanese newspaper apologising to the public on how the weekly airing of AoT episodes may impact their social life. Most fans would have brush this off as an air of arrogance and bragging from the Studio team, after all Wit Studio has kept SnK fans waiting for season 2 for almost 4 years and clearly the hypes has somewhat dies down a lot since. To made matter worse, there were only 12 episodes announced which was enough material to just to cover the Clash read more