Gangsta.

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Gangsta.
Japanese: GANGSTA. ギャングスタ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2015 to Sep 24, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Thursdays at 02:44 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 193582193,582 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #291
Members: 395,178
Favorites: 2,637
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 29, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
If I can describe Gangsta in one word it would be... disappointingpieceofshit.
A title that's so half-baked that it's truly deserving of a tailor-made portmanteau.

And if you're one of the fortunate individuals who hasn't watched Gangsta yet then HALT, do not pass go, do not collect $200, stay away! As for the rest of the poor souls that suffered through the pilgrimage viewing that is Gangsta, on with the review.

Gangsta, a title name that immediately invokes imagery of money, sex, power and violence, and as luck would have it, a very appropriate namesake as well, as we're given just that in spades. This is a read more
Sep 27, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Gangsta is the type of show that sounds catchy as it gets. As the name implies, there are gangsters which means there’s crime. However, there are people who takes care of business these problems in the city of Ergastulum. Enter Nick and Worick, a pair of badass bishounen who takes cares of crime like another day in the park. As ordinary as the show sounds, it gets more complicated once they are assigned to a task that goes beyond their expectations. But for the audience, what should your expectations be for the show?

Based on the manga written by Kosuke, Gangsta is essentially a series of read more
Sep 27, 2015
glassknuckles (All reviews)
Despite a few extraordinary contributions, the pulp crime genre is one that anime does not do particularly well. I felt compelled to write this review of Gangsta because of the many unwarranted comparisons to Black Lagoon. Gangsta is nothing like Black Lagoon, and it will be especially disappointing to watch with such an expectation.

If you want to watch pulp crime involving heists, car chases, and briefcases full of guns, cash and drugs, well that's not this anime. Gangsta has no grounding in real world politics or criminal activity. In fact, the mob families seem uninterested in any actual criminal activity, outside read more
Sep 27, 2015
Satire (All reviews)
In the Ergastulum justice system, breaking any of the three laws is considered especially heinous. In Ergastulum, the dedicated individuals who investigate these vicious felonies are members of the laid-back duo known as the Benriya. These are their stories.

In the city of Ergastulum, violence, narcotics, and sex run rampant. For a series named Gangsta, it comes as an expectation of sorts. For anime, as a medium, an excess of violence, drugs, and real world sexual themes (doping prostitutes and pimping, which is far different than ecchi) are rarely put in place as a combination to form the core of a series. Gangsta utilizes this fact read more
Sep 27, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a Gangster." - Henry Hill (Goodfellas)

When Gangsta first rolled up onto the scene in its '64 Impala, I thought to myself- wow, this show is going to be great. It wowed us with some cool characters who weren't schoolkids, a gritty underworld type setting, and some ultraviolence not seen in a long time. Surely, this show had the makings of being the new Black Lagoon- an anime held in high esteem by many viewers for its portrayal of a true crime drama and high action blockbuster feel.

Well, let's find out.

Artwork read more
Oct 2, 2015
Canaan (All reviews)
Seventh Review - GANGSTA.

Were do I begin talking about this, At first I was a bit bored but then it picked up, This is more of an adults anime rather than a younger audience anime and you have to pay attention to detail or you can easily get confused.

I started liking this anime and it reminded me a lot like Black Lagoon in some ways as it was about gangs and guns, however as you carry on watching it it's actually very different. The plot is unique and strange, you have to understand it in order to like this anime, you have to read more
Nov 3, 2016
dayslikeours (All reviews)
basically only doing a review because of the lack of good reviews. This anime's only downside is that it ends without any real ending. Assuming there is more this is going to be an amazing series. I'm equating the bad reviews to them being done and found helpful by children who aren't yet capable enough of mind to understand what is going on in the show. That or they just can't handle mature themes. One of the "most helpful" reviews complained of the presence of prostitution and the even positive way that it is depicted. Yes this is a very progressive show and has many read more
Sep 27, 2015
NameWithheld (All reviews)
When you look at this title, I wouldn't be surprised if you rolled your eyes. But if there was a show that came out this year that could have that title, it would be this one. This show is awesome. If Black Lagoon took this sort of premise and had the most fun with it, and Darker Than Black took this sort of premise and made it as intellectual as possible, Gangsta. is somewhere in the middle.
But more than any other, this show reminds me of Baccano!. While not as good (Baccano! is, in a way, untouchable), the things I loved about that show read more
Oct 2, 2015
samui26 (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: I did not read the manga. This review should be taken as an anime-only perspective. This WAS my most favorite anime last summer season until it showed its ugly head. What happened?!

The Highlights

Character Development: Great for the first eight episodes
The Hunters: Unnecessary addition which stagnated the show overall
Plot: Evenly paced but desperately needs a sequel
Ending: The most inconclusive ending this season
Artwork and Animation: Often passable but terrible at times

Gangsta. will always be a shining example of how terrible animation can destroy the mood of the show and why not to adapt a manga which is still on its world building phase.

To be read more
Apr 25, 2016
no0k (All reviews)
Don't pay any mind to any of the other clearly-misguided reviews on this particular anime that are ranking it so low. The only thing, and I mean ONLY thing wrong with this anime is the length and where it abruptly ends. It was quite clear the company ran out of money by the last couple of episodes. This is potentially a story that could have gone on as long as Monster or Rurouni Kenshin and still stayed interesting, but it didn't.

Both of the main characters are older, neither of them having internal psychological wars with themselves as to whether or not they read more
Sep 28, 2015
2LongDidntReview (All reviews)
Story: 1
Gangsta had a phenomenal beginning but unfortunately, quickly fell into a tedium which then deteriorated into a poor plot with little explanation.

Unfortunately, gangsta did not live up to its initial hype. While the first episode was amazing as it provided a well balance between action and exposition which established to the audience as to what to expect: ultra violence and shady dealings. However, several episodes later, it still could not establish a plot and it really just became a “Gangsta no nichijou” or “The everyday lives of gangsta” at that point. When it does finally introduce a plot of some degree it’s so poorly read more
Feb 24, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Gangsta, spelled that way because proper spelling wouldn't be extreme enough, is an ongoing manga created by Kohske that started in 2011. In 2015, Manglobe did an anime adaptation, finishing it slightly before the studio declared bankruptcy. This is their last work to be released right now. There's a film, Genocidal Organ, that was supposed to open shortly after this series ended but, given the situation, it's uncertain when it will open at this time. So, how is Gangsta as the Studio's last series, possibly ever?

Story:

Nicolas and Worick are Handymen, which is the term used for mercenaries in this series. Because calling them mercs wouldn't read more
Sep 27, 2015
animegirlism (All reviews)
Plot and Story Line
The whole Gangsta story is set in a small town named Ergastulum. When it comes to the city, it is a very dark, shady ville full of thieves, whores, corrupt cops and gangs. I think you all can imagine it in one way. In the heart of the story we have the two main characters: Worick and Nicolas. Two partners that do all kinds of odd jobs that nobody else wants to do. Now the thing that makes Gangsta different from other shows are Twilights. Twilights posses enchanted abilities due to their predecessors' use of Celebrer (some kind of drug). They are read more
Oct 11, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
It’s not often you see an anime putting its setting into uncharted territory. It is a welcoming addition to the constant routine of anime studios just churning out shows that present a Japanese environment so that a Japanese audience can be easily engaged. With a unique setting backed by an equally unique title, Gangsta, that will at least be an excellent first impression going into it. What came through my mind when Gangsta was over was how much of a great thrill ride it was, except for the bumpy journey that was part of it.

Gangsta‘s setting is not the only thing that makes it unique. read more
Aug 24, 2020
Keadow (All reviews)
Gangsta was the one anime that actually made me want to read the manga and manga in general. I L O V E D Gangsta. From the opening, the characters, and the ideas in the show. Let's give the show a break too. People are saying "the plots bad", "show had potential", etc. It's a 12 episode series with the manga still being written (slowly but surely) by a seriously ill creator. Props to her for completing 8 volumes while constantly being in and out of the hospital. The characters all had their own personality and some kind of backstory. At least with our main read more
Dec 6, 2015
VaasMontenegro (All reviews)
Too bad the ending of Gangsta. is a very underwhelming considering the main fact that Manglobe, an anime developer who is known for developing Ergo Proxy, Samurai Champloo and The God Only Knows Series, lead to bankruptcy. But, the question is... Who are the ones that needed to blame? Because the only guys they need to blame are themselves(Manglobe), because they're the ones who made their company suffer. And this anime is the last anime that lead to it's final nail to it's coffin. And because of their carelessness, here it is... The half-ass finished version of this anime came from one of the best read more
Sep 27, 2015
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Gangsta. Review

Story (7/10) Good
More Specifically (7.50/10)

The story for Gangsta is good mix of Gang related crews and supernatural scientifically enhanced humans this is what makes it different. I've already read the manga and I'm caught up so as a manga reader watching this anime adaptation nothing surprised me, it was more a refresher to the story and if Manglobe is staying accurate the the original source material and as far as it looks they quite a good job but the I do think they shouldn't have ended the season right were they did a little bit further where u know who dies in the manga read more
Apr 19, 2016
metalheartz (All reviews)
STORY -7-

''Gangsta.'' as we can understand from the name of the anime, we will see crime, mafia families, drug, weapons. i mean illegal things.if it were so, it would be really boring, fortunately, it's not. We will see Twilights and Hunters along with their stories, it's the thing that make story more interesting.I expected that final would be more like a ''final'' XD, i mean there are lots of things that i wonder.(nope, there is not 2nd season yet)


ART -8-

Generally i like the art in , but it could be more gloomy. I like the scene that is shown characters who are related with read more
Oct 18, 2015
BlewMoon (All reviews)
The whole reason I joined this site is so that I can review and tell whoever bothers to read that Gangsta is a pretty cool anime.

Can't tell ya if it'd be your cup of tea but I can tell you why I loved it.

Story 8: It is nothing ground-breaking, but is interesting enough to keep you engaged. The ending pissed me off, but I'm willing to let it slide 'cause the journey to that point was good enough.

It's basically about peole with enhanced abilities created for war purposes. War ends, these "Tags" are abandoned. Less than a "normal's" worth, they are feared, hated and killed.

The read more
Sep 24, 2015
DenkiManiac (All reviews)
Gangsta. Sounds like an anime of bands and prostitutes and fights. Well, it IS actually that, but its story makes you feel something else. So here I'm telling you reasons why wathing it could be right or wrong. It will be quick and painless.

Story:
Yes: bands, prostitutes and problems between those bands in a fictional city. Three main protagonists exposed to that kind of life. What makes it a little bit different is the well set backstory of all of this and the pace in which those events occur. It knows how to get you uneasy at the end of each episode.
The ending (in advice) seems read more