Dr. Stone

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Dr. Stone
Japanese: ドクターストーン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2019 to Dec 13, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Producers: TOHO animation, Shueisha
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 379524379,524 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #98
Members: 725,836
Favorites: 12,075
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 9, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dr. Stone is an anime about this teenage Senkuu dude who is very smart. 10 billion percent smart. He has read few at-least-hundred-pages-long articles about agriculture, watched 2 if not 3 primitive technology videos on youtube, and the amount of chemistry classes he has skipped by 9th grade can possibly be counted with one hand fingers. Damn I wish I was this smart.

Dr. Stone is also about this other dude, Taiju Ooki, who is the opposite of this first dude, being a person who has average fit and is not a nerd. This dude is actually capable of doing very physically demanding tasks such read more
Aug 9, 2019
Pragyan1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dr. Stone is one of those anime that try to look smart but end up looking like pretentious Instagram models craving for attention. I know it’s a shounen and all so it doesn’t need to be the most believable of stories, but when you put “Science” into the equation, the characters and their actions need to be pragmatic. Dr. Stone tries to put refreshing stuff on the plate but soon after starts following the same generic formulaic quintessential path most shounen are loathed for.

The plot is pretty ingenious, I’ll give them that. Strange green light turns all of humanity into stone and after about read more
Aug 9, 2019
KarsaOrlong (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I sat down to look at what would be airing for Summer 2019, I initially found it difficult to pick shows to watch. I had seen tweets and posts on reddit which said that people were excited for Dr Stone above all else. I took a look at the trailer and I thought “Hmm, doesn’t look very good.” In hindsight, this was incredibly foolish of me.

In my view, Dr Stone is an interesting take on the “mad scientist” trope. Usually a mad scientist is depicted as someone who cannot wait to bring about death and destruction, and ruin and calamity to all life. They read more
Dec 13, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Dr. Stone is one of those sorts of anime which you love even though it’s extremely over the top. It’s realistic while being unrealistic, funny yet with high stakes. It’s set in prehistoric-like times and that’s what’s unique about it. Make no mistake, this is the kind of “you’ll either love it or hate it” anime. It’s got these moments that’ll either make you fall in love with the show because of its execution or make you hate it because of how stupid it might seem. I fall into the former category and I’ll explain why. Dr. Stone is as much a comedy show as read more
Dec 13, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)

---The review contains spoilers---


Dr. Stone is an anime that took itself too seriously, and not serious enough — at the same time!

It did this by highlighting the ‘cool’ aspects of science (through Senku’s re-engineering of past inventions), via methods that were beyond human capability. Sure. Humans can grow their own antibiotic (penicillium) through the natural molding process of bread; in fact, this was taken advantage of in ancient Egypt. But is it reasonable for one man to memorize the entire process of producing a sulfa antibiotic, and creating the various instruments necessary in doing so?

Seems rather absurd.

But what’s more unbelievable than these read more
Aug 9, 2019
TheEarlofBronze (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of those shows where the individual parts when looked at separately do not seem to add together to be anything special. but you put all the little pieces together you somehow end up with something super fun, easy-to-watch, oddly wholesome and very enjoyable. And with that I give you Dr. Stone.

First of all let's clear the air. This is not some mind-bending crazy intelligent show. It is not trying to be. It's premise is essentially "mad-scientist restarts civilization after an odd-looking apocalypse with his oddly strong buddy.'

And honestly it's not that much more complicated than that. The "sciencey" bits need to read more
Dec 13, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
“Even if you kill me, even if you kill anyone, even if you reset science… There’s always an idiot who will try anything and the shiny monkeys will inevitably create a technological civilization.”
-Senku

The year is 5738, the entire human population was petrified in stone three millennia ago. Three thousand years in the future, one kid awakens. This isn't your typical kid, he's Senku. He’s ten billion percent a science genius. Civilization has regressed to the stone age. Senku embarks on a journey to rebuild civilization with science.

Be warned, if you are expecting a show about reconstructing the 21st century within twenty-four episodes, you will read more
Dec 13, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Having been a fan of Weekly Shonen Jump works for many years, their arsenal of genres continues to bring diversity to its audience. From ninjas in hidden villages to mages from magical guilds, it seems once in a while, there comes a new hot topic for fans to celebrate. Dr. Stone celebrates a post-apocalyptic adventure that serves as a love letter to science but also brings a refreshing look to its fans.

One of the more distinctive features about the anime is the illustrator of the manga. Boichi had previously worked as an illustrator on manga such as Sun-Ken Rock, Wallman, and more recently, Origin. To read more
Dec 13, 2019
ibumn (All reviews)
If Dr. Stone was a human being, it would be that one really annoying and narcissistic kid in class that thinks he knows everything about whatever sh*t and cr*p, but in reality, is just a whiny little p*ssy that nobody respects. I wish I could say that this analogy is 100% accurate, however, that is not the case as the fanbase, which encompasses of Turbo virgin redditors and other uneducated meaningless lifeforms, deeply respect and defend the show almost making it impossible to criticize. I get that this is a shounen and all, so there are bound to be some “illogical” things here and there, read more
Sep 14, 2019
ERMAHGERD1920 (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

For a show that’s main selling point is science, I was hoping it would be more realistic but instead, all elements of reality were stretched to the point of making the science feel insignificant. Skip forward 3700 years and have to survive in a place where civilization does not exist anymore? Don't worry the main character is a high-schooler with a PHD in agriculture, biology, chemistry, architecture and anything else that is convenient for the plot. (This also eliminates the decision-making on who to revive as Senkuu can already do everything(So of course, they choose to revive a cute high-school girl. In read more
Aug 9, 2019
chapulandia (All reviews)
Preliminary
The preliminary of this story is really interesting, but I think the way it is developed is just poor.
The characters are very flat, I can't tell anything about them except than Senku's smart, Taiju's always screaming and the obligatory love interest and obligatory enemy with really terrible motives to be a "villain".
The first two episodes were really good and nice to watch, the science touch made it different from other stories that can be similar, but the deductions of the characters get lazier and lazier with every episode.
Art and music are really good, you can see that there's a lot of money put read more
Aug 15, 2019
znyggisen (All reviews)
Preliminary
What got me interested in the show was this idea behind humanity reverting back to the stone age and having to rediscover and re-create all modern inventions and utilities. When this is the main focus, that is really where the show is at its strongest. It is then, rather unfortunate, that it doesn't really go too in-depth with it and so I don't necessarily feel like I really learned anything once done watching. I think the show should have capitalized a lot more on this aspect and made this the central theme of every episode. Show some naturally occurring conflict that would happen when it read more
Aug 11, 2019
ZenB (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yesterday, I watched the recent episode of Dr. Stone and right after finishing it, I sat down to study chemistry (something I had been avoiding for a few weeks because I suck in chemistry). That's how much power this show and the mc has.

This show has been added to the list of reasons I want the week to end quickly. Every Friday, I wait intently for the new episode to come out. I have also read the manga of this series and till now I can say that it has mostly done the manga justice with very minute changes here and there that doesn't really read more
Dec 13, 2019
Syureria (All reviews)
Have you ever thought that the civilization now, which we built more than 200,000 years will be destroyed in a few seconds? Dr. Stone tells the story of a modern world that was destroyed because everyone turned to stone. I don't know even I don't want to know why they turned to stone. Senku who wants to accelerate science and bring it to the stone world. He tried to build a modern civilization to restore it to normal. Focuses on two things namely natural science and moral science, while the story itself, seems boring and unattractive because with that difference they create conflict that is read more
Sep 13, 2019
ariesnightmare (All reviews)
Preliminary
I´m studying to become a chemist. I had lost my passion to the field for a long time, but this series reminded me why I came to love science. Failure is okay if you can move forward. I think everyone can and should follow such teaching.
Story is simple but message is clear and can take many directions. Literally outer-space is the limit.
Art is great all around which go both with serious and comedic moments.
Music ost Humanity's Scientific Endeavor tells it all.
Characters are the best. Everybody has a meaning in the story and have great chemistry with each other. They also feel real. Not too much read more
Dec 13, 2019
spykiller (All reviews)
Thrilling and satisfying, but imperfect and some times ugly, are the words I would use to describe dr.stone. While on other shounen animes you can only get the satisfaction at the end of an arc that takes dozen of episodes to get to, this anime does it in less than three episodes by putting smaller goals. Although, that doesn't mean it the best anime ever or even this season. The rewarding feeling that you get every few episodes is enough to make up for a ton of its flaws and make it memorable.

story______________________________
The story feels a lot like an isekai (and I know many people read more
Dec 13, 2019
YeeYeeAss (All reviews)
Dr. Stone is amazing

First off, this anime may not be for everyone

The story: Some mysterious green light turns everyone into stone statues, then after 3700 years our main character Senku wakes up. He knows what happened and he wants to turn everyone back into living beings. Then he starts his quest on resurrect everyone. He starts off by building essential tools and equipment. Later on his best friend Taiju wakes up. Senku wants to rebuild humanity with science.

Characters: Senku is very weak body wise but his intelligence is off the charts. Taiju is kinda dumb but he is strong and has a god like read more
Aug 18, 2019
Tryptic (All reviews)
Preliminary
I wanted so much to like this anime. The premise and first 2 episodes are completely fantastic, you've got one guy in the entire world who has encyclopedic knowledge of how to advance out of the stone age, and you have the potential to introduce LITERALLY ANY CHARACTER at any time. So much potential.

The problem is, the pacing in this story IS THE WORST. You get timeskip montages but then no time has passed at all. You get half-baked drama that the show refuses to either cut out, or do properly. At one point you have a character who is read more
Dec 13, 2019
HellLyter (All reviews)
Local turnip hair kid wakes up in a prehistoric future and uses the power of science and improbable percentages in an attempt to beat the anime version of Sid Meier's Civilization in record time.

This basically sums up what I’ve seen from Dr. Stone, and I’m 99% percent certain that its unique premise has drawn the attention of a lot of anime fans. Ha, bet you were expecting a cheap 10 billion percent joke, but I still have my dignity. Of course just because this anime has a plot that isn’t “dude dies by truck-kun and is revived as an OP isekai god” doesn’t mean that read more
Aug 9, 2019
Sasori_Nagashi (All reviews)
Preliminary
There isn't much good to say about this series so far and from what I've heard from those who seem to agree, the manga doesn't get much better as it goes. I think it should just drop trying to be "science fiction" or at least adopt the "superpower" genre in addition to it's current listed genres. There is far too many superhuman feats in the first few episodes to try to take it seriously as a story set in a realistic world, not to mention the whole premise of being frozen in stone for 3,700 years and surviving is ludicrous to begin with, absolutely impossible read more