Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Violet Evergarden


Alternative Titles

English: Violet Evergarden
Japanese: ヴァイオレット・エヴァーガーデン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 14
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2018 to 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Genres: Fantasy, Drama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.381 (scored by 36,675 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #253
Members: 255,313
Favorites: 1,836

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 31, 2018
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Violet Evergarden, the anime that has been hyped for a year, has finally arrived with controversy and concern. Is it the masterpiece that’s deemed from most? Certainly not. That does not mean VE could not deliver. I’m not gonna try to defend the anime just cuz it’s KyoAni and it’s highly placed by many, but I will give credit where credit is due. So let’s get started.

There’s no doubt in my mind that VE is visually appealing and accompanied by a great OST. However, do the characters and plot live up to it? So far, it’s too early to say despite 4 episodes still out. read more
Jan 31, 2018
Eanraig (All reviews)
These first few episodes have been hit or miss. While the premise of the show seems interesting, you realize soon enough that it's being bogged down by a bland, unrelatable main character and her sappy quest to know what love is. The idea of an emotionally stunned war veteran finding her place in a peacetime society, working at a job that requires interacting with clients on a personal level, learning to know herself as she learns and explores emotional experiences from others cold be really good. The issue is that it's been tackled poorly so far, and Violet is just not a very good character read more
Jan 31, 2018
ForPain (All reviews)
Listen my friends,

If you got all the way to the Review section of the Anime "Violet Evergarden", I won't waste words and either of our time.

If there is a single Anime in Winter 2018...screw that, a single all-time Anime that you simply MUST add to your arsenal of favorite/watched Anime - it's this one.

Buckle up, it's going to be a delightfully bumpy ride for all of us!

Violet Evergarden combines absolutely astonishing art, music and setting into a masterfully weaved plot of a simple "doll" seeking to understand the concept of Human Emotions.

At first glance this might seem like a run-down, beaten road that was visited read more
Jan 31, 2018
Veash (All reviews)
"Violet Evergarden doesn't talk much, but she has the power to restore people."

This quote perfectly sums up Violet Evergarden and what the show is trying to get across. After reading the synopsis of the show I was intrigued to see just how they are going to portray this type of character. In my opinion, they've done it almost perfectly. Knowing nothing but war, pain and suffering. Showing us how she finds meaning in these new emotions and how she experiences them for the first time.

Story:
Starting off with the story. We follow the journey of a girl named Violet Evergarden. Who has been in the army read more
Jan 31, 2018
The_Dog (All reviews)
Story: 4
What is love? sure fine.

Art: 8 for character design 1 for for overall visual direction.
Not good for those suffering minor visual impairment. 10/10 Would suffer migraines again.

Sound: 5
Still haven't noticed any sound so far therefore it doesn't really add anything good or bad for me.

Character: 3
Generic melodrama types, 6 at best but 3 for being against personal preference

Enjoyment: 1
I didn't think watching a TV show would physically hurt me, i was wrong

Overall: 3
I'm going to force myself to continue watching this so if i have a stroke and manage to survive i can tell everyone it was because of an Anime.
Jan 31, 2018
rhaegarg (All reviews)
Violet Evergarden is the best looking show of the new year. Yet, beneath its alluring veneer lies something
grotesque.


Art & Animation: 10/10 ("Outstanding")
The art is stunning and consistent with its pseudo-European world. Hard work has gone into to animating even the most mundane moments, adding brief glimpses of humanity to otherwise lifeless characters.


Sound: 8/10 ("Very Good")
The Orchestral music is apt. Yet at times the music clashes with scenes, taking away from moments are best left quieter. Some of the best moments in cinema and animation have relied on sound effects over dialogue and music.


Story: 3/10 ("Poor")
Some changes must happen when adapting a light read more
Feb 1, 2018
MaskettaSenpai (All reviews)
Violet Evergarden feels like the anime equivalent of Oscar bait. It's big and sweeping, trying desperately to convince you that its sappy story really means something, but it's ultimately shallow and entirely surface level. Everything that really matters, the meat of the story - its characters, its themes, its ideas - are so basic that it actually brings down the visual presentation. You're wasting this incredibly detailed art on this story, of all things? Why?

Violet Evergarden is a story about a girl who is some sort of superpowered golem woman (?) who somehow has just been given robotic arms (??) despite living in a setting read more
Feb 1, 2018
Showatt (All reviews)
Note to Anime: It is very important to make sure your viewers can easily tell whether or not your characters are human or highly advanced robots, especially when your world is set in a steampunk Victorian era and their occupation is literally called "Doll."

Spoiler: none of the "dolls" are actually robots. Just girls training to ghostwrite. Why is it only girls? Dunno. Why do they have to be called "doll"? Dunno.

Violet Evergarden. An anime that has all the glamour and musicality, but not a lot of sense. That was my review 2 episode into the series. The art is gorgeous, the music read more
Feb 4, 2018
Aguuus (All reviews)
Although the shit of this title is limited beyond the misunderstanding of the protagonist and the mediocre handling of situations, are the two points that I consider most repulsive.

He says that it belongs to the fantasy genre ... The only ones who are fantasizing are those that give high score to this, work. And if the reality is painful, use the unreal to be able to use narrative shortcuts and more exotic resources and thus surprise the spectator I suppose.
Regarding the drama is correctly assigned there is no doubt, but even when the dramatic is going to be based on the relationship between people? Until read more
Feb 3, 2018
Zentoyo (All reviews)
Violet evergarden is the epitome of style over substance. It's the story of the hyper capable outsider that excels at everything but can't fit in their enviorementl. Visually it is really good; but I don't think nor expect that the story is going to be anyhting avobe average. Though if it achieves average color me impressed.

On a more positive note, the main character is very cute, though plain as hell.

Unless you want to be part of the conversation about seasonal anime, I dont see anything that makes this anime stand out; though if you arent looking for anything too good, and that is just good read more
Jan 31, 2018
TownNeedsGuns (All reviews)
Quite simply this series as of 4 episodes can be summed up as "pretty, but boring".

The characters and story leave very little impression and it's difficult to become invested in a main character who is as close to an emotionless robot as I've ever seen. What intrigue existed in episode 1 with Major Gilbert and Violet's roll in the war has been pushed too far into the background and feels like it won't be revealed for far too long, and in it's place we are forced to sit through some of the slowest, uninteresting character progression I've seen in a while.

I wanted to like this read more
Feb 9, 2018
davalier (All reviews)
It's hard not to dive into such a show without any expectations. I usually come into shows completely blank, barely even reading the synopsis, but even I couldn't help sneaking a peak at the trailer. And when the studio put so much work in the animation, surely they would create a story to match, right?

Nope.

The main character, Violet, is the most bland person I have ever seen in an anime. Her design in memorable but if you ask me about her personality? Can't tell you a thing. In fact that's all I can tell you about her, because there is nothing really to say.

The supporting read more
Feb 5, 2018
iggykimi (All reviews)
The community around this anime gives me cancer. You are all like, "wow this is perfect" or "this is pure trash".

For the first ones, this could be perfect when it ends, it's been only 4 fucking chapters like what the hell it's not even the half you guys better wait. And stop parying this for the animation we all know that netflix paid some millions to give it good-visuals but that's not what defines a show. Also the music is good, why arent you talking about it? Do you have eyes just for the animations?

And for the haters, you all monkeys were hyped about this read more
Feb 13, 2018
Faburi (All reviews)
Masterpiece! I am glad MAL named an anime 10/10 scored as masterpiece, because that is what Violet Evergarden really is. An anime full of stunning landscapes, fascinating OST, and lovely characters, highlighting our blonde “doll” as the protagonist. In every Violet Evergarden’s episode I watched so far I couldn’t stop saying one sentence: “this anime is so beautiful”.

This anime is not only concerned in show you how Violet sees the world and the human’s emotions, it also wants to show you that even those who didn’t pass their lives without any contact with the outside world, as Violet did, also face challenges trying to read more
Feb 9, 2018
PreWeeb (All reviews)
I will admit I was on the fucking hype train on this anime, like full force going Crunchyroll's "Anime of the Year" when it wasn't even released yet. Now after a solid year of waiting, I was giddy as a 5 year old to see a story that was full of nail-biting moments and action. But no, what I got was a simple story of a young woman trying to understand the society she was denied by the war as a child and a quest to find love.

It may sound like a cheezy overused plot point, even more so in a high budget anime like read more
Feb 7, 2018
Kanashi335 (All reviews)
So there is people the reason you don't vote an anime series before it even gets half of the season out!! In episode 5 finally we get a "sneakpeek" of a very interesting background image of the main character and a most likely interesting future story (war based) . I won't vote the story yet because we don't know much of the series yet. Art and Sound are just incredible made especially the art is amazingly done. The characters are still not that amazing because I feel like we get some side character stories that we will never see again... but at least they do read more
Feb 5, 2018
wildmonkey99 (All reviews)
It is surprising that an anime with such high production value has at best a mediocre story to it.

The art is fantastic, one of the best I have ever seen.

With the exception of Violet, although they haven't developed her much, the characters are mundane, predictable, and quite frankly boring stereotypes.

The dialogue and story are laughable, I literally laughed at how bad they are, it is on the verge of being ironic how bad the story is. It's one of those things that you might see on MST3K. It is beyond me how little they invested on the writing for this show.

Secretaries do more than these read more
Feb 3, 2018
essamtariq (All reviews)
This is my first time ever writing a review. what made me write one? yes Violet Evergarden. From the first episode and ongoing every episode i fall in love more and more.If you are into romantic calming types this is the one for you. The story is outstanding I mean the concept of meaning of love and what difference feelings make. Characters are amazing each and every one of them. Theme of the anime is 90's type which is less now a days. Animation is outstanding. sound track is amazingly soothing, and the music just makes the atmosphere so real. The last anime I watched read more
Feb 2, 2018
DirectorK (All reviews)
As you know already, Violet Evergarden has been the most talked about anime of this season and unfortunately it has become one of the mistreated anime on this site. Now I know this MAL after all and in all honestly I can understand why a lot of people find this anime disappointing. However, for someone like me, this anime does work for me while most others it doesn't. And the reason for this is because most people who have been criticizing this anime don't understand what kind of story this is and they don't take the time to try to understand. This is problem with read more
Feb 19, 2018
Todestrieb_ (All reviews)
If I wanted to look at some anime girl because It looked good, without story, characters or pacing, I could have opened Pixiv.

The music and sounds are OK I guess, nothing exceptionally bad or good. But I can also look at Pixiv with my own favorite music in the background.

Or even some audio books, now I would have a story, and It would still be less soporific.

And why do I need to do a longer review when there is nothing to talk about MAL, this story emptier than the Sahara Desert, the little of what we know about the characters is not read more