Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Violet Evergarden


Alternative Titles

English: Violet Evergarden
Japanese: ヴァイオレット・エヴァーガーデン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2018 to Apr 5, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.591 (scored by 147,312 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #138
Members: 386,889
Favorites: 7,941

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 4, 2018
ZephSilver (All reviews)
There it is, a body on display, delicate fabric hugging its frame as if a part of its existence from the very beginning. Porcelain skin adorned with silk, the material complements the complexion. The figure stands there without concern for the wondering gaze of any passersby, a translucent wall erected between it and the endless faces. Society is kept at bay. The soft glow of light dancing on the surface of the sheet of glass serving as its imprisonment. It shimmers ever so slightly, creating prisms of color in the endless shuffle. The rays of light trails over the delicate frame of the figure. Beauty read more
Apr 4, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Waking up one day and discovering Violet Evergarden getting an anime adaptation by Kyoto Animation should be a blessing. At least that’s what it looked like on the surface. The light novel series earned the grand prize from the Fifth Kyoto Animation in the novel category. Even with two volumes, my expectations going into this anime was high. In particular, the sheer visual quality is a sight to feast on. However, Violet Evergarden isn’t exactly just known for that but does that mean it’s something to be praised?

Written by Kana Akatsuki, the light novel series is a story about Auto Memory Dolls. They are dolls read more
Jan 31, 2018
ItzToxic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Violet Evergarden, the anime that has been hyped for a year, has finally arrived with controversy and concern. Is it the masterpiece that’s deemed from most? Certainly not. That does not mean VE could not deliver. I’m not gonna try to defend the anime just cuz it’s KyoAni and it’s highly placed by many, but I will give credit where credit is due. So let’s get started.

There’s no doubt in my mind that VE is visually appealing and accompanied by a great OST. However, do the characters and plot live up to it? So far, it’s too early to say despite 4 episodes still out. read more
Jan 31, 2018
Veash (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Violet Evergarden doesn't talk much, but she has the power to restore people."

This quote perfectly sums up Violet Evergarden and what the show is trying to get across. After reading the synopsis of the show I was intrigued to see just how they are going to portray this type of character. In my opinion, they've done it almost perfectly. Knowing nothing but war, pain and suffering. Showing us how she finds meaning in these new emotions and how she experiences them for the first time.

Story:
Starting off with the story. We follow the journey of a girl named Violet Evergarden. Who has been in the army read more
Apr 4, 2018
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
"As human beings, we all mature physically from childhood to adolescence and then into adulthood, but our emotions lag behind." - Bernard Sumner

This is the most memorable quote that had gone through my mind whenever I watched Violet Evergarden, and led me to ask myself this question: how do you learn an emotion?

Experience? Knowing its definition? Or perhaps... By writing letters for others? Thus is VE's answer.

Story: 7
I liked the novel, so obviously I liked the story. They did make me get worried with those original episodes at the start but later on they managed to adapt most of the best chapters. There are read more
Apr 4, 2018
kokuborou (All reviews)
“I want to know what love is” with this line Violet’s journey has started.

It’s a journey of words, words that hold the power to influence the future of a person and change their perspective about the world. Finding the right words for the dear ones isn’t easy and Violet learns that through her encounters with different people who have a story to tell.

The story is made with words, words on a piece of paper that can save a dear brother from despair, can show the love and carrying of a mother for her child even after she is gone, can make the parents understand read more
Apr 4, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
"When I die, I want KyoAni lower me down in my grave so they can let me down one last time."

From the dome of quality differences comes Violet Evergarden. Show half episodic, half character-driven, half story-driven. Yet all these halves barely make one show.

We mainly see try-hard attempts on making the viewers cry with melodrama. Most of the time it feels like spoon-feeding. Open your mouth, the emotions are coming! Let's take a bite whilst this every-sad-piano-song-ever plays on the background.

The show does bring some interesting topics on the table, but instead of trying to do much with little, instead of developing read more
Jan 31, 2018
rhaegarg (All reviews)
Preliminary
Violet Evergarden is the best looking show of the new year. Yet, beneath its alluring veneer lies something
grotesque.


Art & Animation: 10/10 ("Outstanding")
The art is stunning and consistent with its pseudo-European world. Hard work has gone into to animating even the most mundane moments, adding brief glimpses of humanity to otherwise lifeless characters.


Sound: 8/10 ("Very Good")
The Orchestral music is apt. Yet at times the music clashes with scenes, taking away from moments are best left quieter. Some of the best moments in cinema and animation have relied on sound effects over dialogue and music.


Story: 3/10 ("Poor")
Some changes must happen when adapting a light read more
Mar 8, 2018
MahlerianTragedy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll start by saying that after watching 9 episodes I was compelled to write my first review for an anime on this site.

It's true certain aspects of a show can appeal more favourably to people depending on what they value. In saying that, I will focus on what this show does so well for me and why I consider it one of the best I've seen.

Story:
The introduction of Violet can understandably come across as odd due to the monotone way in which she addresses other characters. This may be off putting to viewers as I've noticed in some other reviews, but this set read more
Mar 20, 2018
queermight (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was surprised when I saw the top 3 reviews for this anime were all negative because quite frankly I have nothing negative to say about VE and I'm on episode 10. If I'm being honest I think most of the people trashing VE are doing so because they want to be contrary and "cool" for not liking a popular anime. You know, the same old pretentious anime fans we all love (if you can't sense the sarcasm, you've misunderstood).

Story - 9/10

Violet is about a young woman who was used as a war machine having to learn how to live a "normal" life after the read more
Feb 1, 2018
MaskettaSenpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Violet Evergarden feels like the anime equivalent of Oscar bait. It's big and sweeping, trying desperately to convince you that its sappy story really means something, but it's ultimately shallow and entirely surface level. Everything that really matters, the meat of the story - its characters, its themes, its ideas - are so basic that it actually brings down the visual presentation. You're wasting this incredibly detailed art on this story, of all things? Why?

Violet Evergarden is a story about a girl who is some sort of superpowered golem woman (?) who somehow has just been given robotic arms (??) despite living in a setting read more
Apr 4, 2018
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“♫♫♫ When you try your best but you don’t succeed…
When you get what you want, but not what you need… ♫♫♫”

Emotions play a powerful part in storytelling; holding the capacity to tell more through expressions than words could ever hope to achieve. Furthermore, the degree of sentimentality and pathos one feels when watching is able to override any logical fallacies or flaws a story may have. Because of their poignant effect, these “feels” are often used and abused by anime to hide a plethora of writing problems underneath obvious emotional manipulation on the viewers. But whilst there are shows that come off mawkish and melodramatic, read more
Apr 4, 2018
ade-pewe (All reviews)
Violet Evergarden is an anime series adaptation of the novel light with the same title from Kyoto Animation.
Source material of this series is the winner of the Kyoto Animation Award 2014 in the novel category. Given that status, this series became the most awaited anime by the community for the winter of 2018. Compared to other series of the season, this series can be said to have the best animation, something that is expected of the anime from Kyoto Animation. With the premise offered is the post-war recovery of the main character, this series becomes one of the drama series that is able to fill read more
Mar 15, 2018
willster88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
No Spoilers

Although I understand the sentiment of this anime being quite boring for the first 4 episodes (as all the top reviews have listed), this anime is a masterpiece by KyoAni, and although it doesn't necessarily live up to all the hype it received, does that really matter when enjoying a delightful anime?

Story: 10

Although the first few episodes are seemingly pointless, they do a great job at developing the idea that Violet really struggles to understand emotions. Although many side characters seem quite flat, they really help boost the story in one of the best climaxes of a coming-of-age emotional anime I have ever seen read more
Mar 14, 2018
acoustics1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Every time I watch an episode, the first thing that comes to mind is "hard to watch, but in the best way possible." As a disclaimer, I am not in any way an emotional person, I am blunt and prefer fact to fiction. I do not like people who think with their emotions, but something about this show gets to me. I can't relate to the experiences of the characters, as I've never fought in a war or anything like that. Despite that, I am drawn in by everything that goes on in every episode. I believe everyone who has written a review claiming that read more
Apr 4, 2018
Moelancholy (All reviews)
To Mrs. Sa——, Leiden.
Leidenschaftlich, Dec. 11th, 17––.



You will rejoice to hear that the war has officially ended. Your brother is truly relieved to finally be able to breathe freely again; my fellow citizens, too, let out a collective sigh of relief. The alleys are filled with a comfortable bustle like they used to be; people’s faces don’t display a worrisome gloom anymore. Businesses are booming throughout the whole town and your brother, too, has found a place of employment in a mail and ghostwriting company. There, it is my job to deliver the letters ghostwritten by our so-called Auto Memory Dolls—women who listen to one’s read more
Feb 4, 2018
Aguuus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Although the shit of this title is limited beyond the misunderstanding of the protagonist and the mediocre handling of situations, are the two points that I consider most repulsive.

He says that it belongs to the fantasy genre ... The only ones who are fantasizing are those that give high score to this, work. And if the reality is painful, use the unreal to be able to use narrative shortcuts and more exotic resources and thus surprise the spectator I suppose.
Regarding the drama is correctly assigned there is no doubt, but even when the dramatic is going to be based on the relationship between people? Until read more
Apr 4, 2018
Nervin (All reviews)
Violet Evergarden was one of the most anticipated anime of the winter season, with its stunning promotional material showcasing beautifully animated scenes and character designs. It could be said that in that regard it was amazing and lived up to expectations. However, when it comes to the characters and overall narrative, sadly it isn't nearly as good as it could have been. The main problem can be associated with a lackluster cast of characters in combination with a seemingly aimless narrative.

The anime is based around Violet, a young girl that knows nothing else than war: when the Great War ended, she was left with no read more
Feb 9, 2018
PreWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will admit I was on the fucking hype train on this anime, like full force going Crunchyroll's "Anime of the Year" when it wasn't even released yet. Now after a solid year of waiting, I was giddy as a 5 year old to see a story that was full of nail-biting moments and action. But no, what I got was a simple story of a young woman trying to understand the society she was denied by the war as a child and a quest to find love.

It may sound like a cheezy overused plot point, even more so in a high budget anime like read more
Apr 4, 2018
Ankithadam (All reviews)
“Letters are among the most significant memorial a person can leave behind them.” ―Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
“A letter always seemed to me like immortality because it is the mind alone without corporeal friend.” ― Emily Dickinson

You must be thinking, what the hell is wrong with this guy? Whats with all the "letter" quotes?

That's right!!! This anime actually gives you a perfect definition of letters, you must have heard of people in other reviews mentioning War, love story, Auto memoirs doll etc., Or at least got the feeling it would be one judging from 1st 2 episodes, but I would warn you guys read more