Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku dake ga Inai Machi


Alternative Titles

English: ERASED
Synonyms: The Town Where Only I am Missing, BokuMachi
Japanese: 僕だけがいない街

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2016 to Mar 25, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.581 (scored by 368,377 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #38
Members: 583,353
Favorites: 18,214

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
Losing a beloved person would certainly leave any person stricken with grief and confusion: self-condemnation and thoughts of preventing such death are things that would cross anyones mind. Luckily in the case Boku Dake Inai Machi, or Erased in its english title, the protagonist Satoru Fujinuma finds himself able to travel back in time to prevent such tragedy from happening; furthermore, he is set back at the time where a fellow classmate died. This is not everything: the mystery surrounding the death of the girl also seems to be tied to that of his very own family. Erased is a psychological mystery anime that portrays read more
Mar 24, 2016
Rkpandey (All reviews)
Note: Tl;dr at the end for the lazy ones.
*MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*


Boku dake ga Inai Machi, or Erased in English, is clearly the most popular Winter Season Anime of 2016. With it's sky rocketing popularity and rank on myanimelist in such a small amount of time, Erased has successfully caught the attention of the crowd and everyone has probably watched it or thought of watching it soon. Here on myanimelist, most of the reviewers are filled with negativity and are over-exaggerating the negative points of this anime. It is not that bad as most of the reviews are indicating here. So here I'm writing a honest read more
Mar 24, 2016
EpsilonScuti (All reviews)
~ updated 03/24 ~
English is not my first language so I'm doing my best writing this review, sorry!

Spoilers of the first episodes ahead!

✧ Introduction/the story:
Someone travels through time to save a person he/she cares for. I've already seen this. Madoka Magica, Steins;Gate, Higurashi. No creativity in that aspect, and in the case of Erased it's even worse because the time travel has no explanation at all. This is not a deconstruction and does not present something we have not seen before. This would not matter if the premise was well executed, but this isn't the case either, let me explain why.

✧ The characters:
The MC is read more
Mar 24, 2016
Captain220 (All reviews)
It's becoming more apparent to me by each passing season that if an anime gets any sort of recognition like this, it's bound to divide the community into 2 groups. The majority goes on to ride the hype train and hype the series in question up to the high heavens, while the other hops onto the hate train and then the shit-fest begins. I usually see myself not siding with any of these but frankly, the latter seems more reasonable to me than it ever was. I'll try to offer an unbiased opinion on this even though seeing its rating is kinda baffling. So let's read more
Mar 31, 2016
Goukeban (All reviews)
[Warning: this review will contain vague spoilers]

I was originally not planning in writing anything in regards to this anime in specific, as I thought I had nothing interesting to say about the title. However, after reading the analysis by Zephsilver, I managed to put together some thoughts in regards to Boku Dake ga Inai Machi (or Erased, if you are not fond of tongue-twisters) that I’d like to offer in addition to the debate. I also would like to say: Zeph, I appreciate and respect your text, since it had a rational depiction of your perspective that I could reasonably grasp, but I’d like to read more
Mar 24, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
With any established community there are traditions that take fruition from within it. And when it comes to the anime community that tradition can be seen with the ritualistic assignment of labels that is accompanied with every new seasonal lineup. Each season's catalog is cherry-picked through by the ascending masses to be filed away in neat little categories that're decided by whatever the common consensus is at that time. And it's thanks to this unspoken system that we get our "anime of the season," "hidden gems" and "BURN WITH FIRE" shows that, for the most part, seems to be what the general audience agree upon. read more
Mar 24, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ever felt like you made a big mistake in life and wanted to fix it? Or perhaps you just want things to go in the right direction if given another chance? Most people will never get that sort of opportunity. But for a guy named Satoru Fujinuma, that’s another story. His ability, Revival is pretty much a gift that allows him to travel back in time with his memories. So in essence, the guy can basically fix mistakes in his life with a second opportunity. Actually, I should probably rephrase that. What he has isn’t just a gift but also a responsibility. The ability to read more
Mar 24, 2016
All_lia_ghoul (All reviews)
So I've just finished this anime and if you're wondering if it's worth watching, I will tell you it truly is. A great masterpiece that keep me wanting more. The characters aren't too overwhelming or annoying and the pacing is nice. The story line is great also.

Some elements of the story may seem predictable at times but that's only if you really pay attention to the details. The ending was memorable and left you feeling complete which truly made this anime stand out from many others.

Overall, I recommend this anime if you haven't already seen it but I'm sure you have since it's been read more
Mar 24, 2016
St0rmrage (All reviews)
"Everything will eventually rot away. As long as the factor of time continues being the apex predator of the universe, the inevitable decay of all pain and memory is unstoppable." - Overpriced Mac computer

In the beginning of 2016 an anime with an absurd rating popped out of nowhere on Mal's top list.That anime was ofcoarse Boku dake ga Inai Machi.Being the tea-drinking gentleman that i am,i've disregarded it as the Oscars did with Edward Norton,but lately i've mustered some fate in humanity and decided to give the short 12 episode mystery a chance.


The story centers around read more
Mar 24, 2016
osama_adel (All reviews)
Well, I've almost watched all anime masterpieces and undoubtedly, this is one of them. I've never written a review before, but now I do, because this anime really earned it.

Everything about this anime has a unique atmosphere which you can feel from the first episode.

Story:
Some people like to compare this anime to Stein's Gate because it involves some time travelling. Other people wondered about the mystery and crime genre and compared it to Death Note. This anime is neither of them. It doesn't revolve around time travelling as the main idea or the plot of the story. Also, it doesn't involve that much darkness and read more
Mar 24, 2016
FunkyNano (All reviews)
Erased follows Satoru, a jaded pizza boy and struggling manga artist who plays vigilante after connecting a string of murders that took place during his childhood. Like all pizza boys, Satoru is burdened with the ability to time travel, an ability which automatically activates whenever someone in his immediate vicinity is nearing fatal danger, allowing him to save lives.

It's established within the first episode that this is an ability that lets him travel 1-5 minutes into the past to prevent something bad from happening, yet, when he comes home to find that his mother has been murdered and the unknown assailant has set him up read more
Mar 24, 2016
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Erased is a grippingly cinematic, but ultimately childish and half-baked attempt at an anime mystery drama that makes a mockery out of the serious themes it chooses to incorporate. However, that didn’t seem to stop it from taking the anime world by storm and soaring into the top FIVE on the all time MAL rankings while it was still airing. Yikes. This show is clumsy, saturated in over-convenience, and excruciatingly awkward at times, but it’s obvious that something about Erased really resonated with a lot of people. Let’s find exactly what makes this show popular and, more importantly, where it all went wrong.

Synopsis: read more
Mar 24, 2016
redotter (All reviews)
Preliminary
SPOILER FREE AND STRAIGHT FORWARD REVIEW

Story (9/10): The plot is well written and fairly original (realistic with a hint of supernatural to get the action going), with very little and debatable plot holes.

Art (9/10): It is not a masterpiece of animation, but there are little scenes that require a lot of movement. The art style is not out of the ordinary, but directing is great, the scenes being very nicely cut and hiding a lot of meaning.

Sound (8/10): It has nice opening and ending songs, but there are not part of a soundtrack you would search a playlist of and play it on repeat.

Character read more
Mar 24, 2016
-Remix- (All reviews)
Boku dake ga Inai Machi (ERASED) is an anime that capitalizes on emotional appeal. It incorporates plot devices that primarily targets the audience’s pathos and on a surface level achieves this very effectively. Unfortunately, these same plot devices are only contrived for the sole purpose of making the audience have the so-called “feels.” From a more logical perspective, they do not make any sense, and because of this, we are left with an inconsistent plotline that is riddled with flaws.

(Side note: minor spoilers from this point on.)

As one example, consider how Kayo was abused by her mother. Although I am sure the author meant to read more
Mar 30, 2016
Fleure (All reviews)
Ambition is the elixir of creation. It is that which gives spirit to its container, and those rare gems that rise above their standardized, rehashed counterparts are almost always backed by the unadulterated ambition of their creator(s). And ambition rests on the shoulders of ideas. The notion of ideas and ambition being interlocked is an unspoken truth - a virtuous tenet of great works. However, there is something more; something that too often gets overlooked, and when untended, sets both ambition and the idea that bore it on route for inevitable disaster. That ‘something’ is focus. An idea – no matter how great or innovative read more
Mar 24, 2016
Tozzy (All reviews)
It was a cold, uncompromising winter in the early weeks of 2016 but thankfully a new anime had heralded its arrival with a promise warm the world’s hearts. People braved the blizzard of mediocrity to find that one show that could rise to the top and be the ray of sunshine they craved. Boku dake ga Inai Machi (Or known by its English title ‘Erased’) waved its hand high and proud, promising a touching tale of one man’s journey to fix both the past and the present. The show did indeed have a certain glow about it that appealed to me but it’s sad to read more
Aug 22, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Hype can be a fickle thing when it comes to seasonal anime. At first it allows fans to get excited and anxious for the next episode, but majority of the time it ends up with many feeling somewhat disappointed with what they had been watching. This can be attributed to the fact that only one episode is released per week, and this week-long wait between episodes is a breeding ground for die-hard fans to praise a show as one of the best anime after only having seen a couple episodes. You only have to see the ‘Top Anime List’ on MAL to see that whenever read more
Mar 24, 2016
43zombiegit (All reviews)
Spoilers ahead!

Overall: 4/10
ERASED is the single most overrated anime I have ever come across. The fact that this is a 9.08/10 on MAL at the time of writing is unbelievable. Please completely disregard the reviewing credibility of those proclaiming this anime as a masterpiece and a 10/10 because it most definitely not.

Story: 3/10
This is the worst part about the show. The story was an absolute trainwreck that fails to be intriguing or interesting at any point. The mystery element of the show is absolutely dreadful as it was clear who was the killer from the start. This meant the suspense of the story read more
Mar 24, 2016
Caassaac (All reviews)
Time travel. Unless you’ve been living under a rock, I’m pretty sure you have seen this plot device more than once. Live action movies, video games, cartoons, books… It’s everywhere. Good and bad examples of how to use it are also everywhere. You can have a good time watching Back to the Future or playing Chrono Trigger… and if you want a dose of suffering, there’s also stuff like The Butterfly Effect or A Sound of Thunder. There’s a lot to choose from. And anime media does not lag behind, of course. Steins;Gate, Suzumiya Haruhi, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Madoka Magica or, of read more
Mar 24, 2016
TheAnimeToast (All reviews)
Well, now that Erased reviews are a dime a dozen, might as well add my two cents.
--Quick version:
The first thing to consider when reviewing Erased is what exactly is it good at?
The mystery?
No. The formula is taken straight from Scooby Doo, some people predicted the killer before the halfway point of the series.
And no, the red herrings don't make it any less predictable after they've been used multiple times already.
Well is it a good thriller then?
No. The predictability kills any thrills this show would've had.
Maybe it's a decent drama then?
Kinda...sorta...when they don't use pointless victimization by one-dimensional characters to make you feel bad for read more