Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kaguya-hime no Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: The Tale of the Princess Kaguya
Synonyms: Kaguyahime no Monogatari, Princess Kaguya Story
Japanese: かぐや姫の物語

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 23, 2013
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Other
Duration: 2 hr. 17 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 43,335 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1107
Members: 93,632
Favorites: 986

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 10, 2018
Konakana (All reviews)
The Tale of Princess Kaguya: Peaks and Valleys

**This “review" is SPOILER-HEAVY and is recommended for those who have already seen the film**

**This “review” is also FAR from complete and I will be continually updating it in the future as I better collect more of my thoughts.**

This analysis may be somewhat messily written or seem to lack any sort of overarching structure. It is merely my personal thoughts and things I’ve realized while watching the film.

As one of the more recent additions, “The Tale of Princess Kaguya,” may not be the first title to come up with when you think of Studio Ghibli, yet I’m convinced read more
Mar 11, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
--- This review spoils the entirety of Kaguya Hime no Monogatari, and is advised to be read after completion of this film ---


"It is like a circle, when one ends, the other one begins. So you can always count on it to keep on moving."

If there ever was a quote to perfectly describe the surreal and metaphorical journey that is Kaguya Hime no Monogatari, then this quote would be it. Kaguya-hime no Monogatari, or The Tale of the Princess Kaguya, is a Studio Ghibli film that was created and directed by none other than the legendary Isao Takahata, and was released during the year of read more
Dec 11, 2014
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Studio Ghibli have always been at the very forefront in the anime film industry. Their creations have been able to reach out to any and all demographics with great success for decades, and have numerous masterpieces under their belt by now. Most of these are creations of the one and only Miyazaki Hayao, however Hotaru no Haka (Grave of the Fireflies) released back in 1988, one of the most critically acclaimed Ghibli films was written and directed by the studio's co-founder Takahata Isao. But this was something that was known as a one-hit wonder, as his other works never got anywhere near the same level read more
Jan 2, 2016
awerture (All reviews)
This Studio Ghibli motion picture is relatively well-acclaimed outside the anime world. As of now it boasts 100% rating on rotten tomatoes and it was nominated for 87th Academy Awards. Unfortunately, for all of its praise it's a surprisingly mediocre work.

The movie has some merits - it has delightful watercolor-like visual style. It's very pleasant to watch, one can simply sit and enjoy the flow of images. Animation is vivid and the art style captures the mood of the period and atmosphere of the folk tale very well. What this movie fails to capture however, is the very point it's trying to make.

Because the read more
Mar 23, 2015
Namoonriver (All reviews)
As soon as I heard that Studio Ghibli were putting production together for a story as famous as The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter, I knew I had to see it. Growing up on the quirky and relatable characters in Kiki's Delivery Service, to the fantastic visuals of Castle in The Sky, Studio Ghibli never fails to disappoint with their use of musical score, lighting, themes of adolescence, love of nature and companionship. Needless to say, this film did not disappoint.

Story:
True to the folktale, the plot centers on a bamboo cutter, who comes across a bamboo shoot filled with glowing light. Within that bamboo read more
Dec 5, 2014
dankzel (All reviews)
"Kaguya-hime no Monogatari" was such a beautiful movie made by Studio Ghibli and directed by Isao Takahata (of "Grave of the Fireflies" fame) based upon the famous Japanese folktale "The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter". This is a movie that should truly be considered a "work of art". The classical Japanese art style, which left in sketch lines and seemed to be painted on, took a little getting used to but ended up being spectacular especially with the concluding moon parade sequence. Along with the music and singing, these elements were incredibly immersive and really helped to transport me back to 10th century Japan. The read more
Dec 13, 2014
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Tale of Princess Kaguya - This was a decent adaptation of Tale of The Bamboo Cutter. The watercolor style in particular portrays 10th Century Japan really well I feel.

I did appreciate how they were trying to do their own thing, so to speak, by characterizing Kaguya as a tomboy kind of girl who doesn't want to be bound by old traditions. However, the addition of a pointless love interest IMO feels not only old-fashioned and out of touch, it adds nothing to Kaguya's character. If anything, it weakens her character by turning her into a girl who lives only for her love interest. This turns read more
Jun 29, 2015
linnaes (All reviews)
Contains minor spoilers.

As if a nod to the 1988 double-release of My Neighbor Totoro and Grave of the Fireflies, 2013 saw in quick succession the releases of the bittersweet anime swansongs of the legendary directors and co-founders of Studio Ghibli, Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata. Interestingly, Takahata, historically the one with a greater penchant for telling tales rooted in reality (as opposed to the fantastical lens through which most Miyazaki films are portrayed), chose to breathe life into a wistful fantasy with his opus magnum, The Tale of the Princess Kaguya.

Based on an old Japanese narrative, The Tale of the Princess Kaguya tells a beautiful read more
Dec 7, 2014
AnimeZ0id (All reviews)
I don't quite understand people's distaste for this movie. While the art maybe off putting to some and the ending will leave people mad, this movie is truly beautiful in my eyes.

Story: 10/10 - I'm unfamiliar with the folk tale this is based off, with that being said, I'm not sure how far off or close the movie was with it. Either way, I enjoyed the movie for its entirety. Kaguya hime no Monogatari is not a typical princess movie based back on a very historical time period. A time where princesses married noble men as the same of an arranged marriage. Not knowing the read more
Mar 23, 2019
Assthete (All reviews)
Kaguya was an enlightening experience, but not in the conventional sense. It elucidated the reason why Takahata's magnum opus Omoide Poroporo is such a transcendental masterpiece by demonstrating how easy it is to do the exact opposite. That is not to say the movie doesn't have its share of promptly noticeable qualities. You won't see a bigger tribute to Japanese painting in animation given the staff carefully poured all their passion into this visual spectacle. I'm not quick to give it the title of best looking Takahata, it's not like there is no competition. Nonetheless, it does encapsulate his progressive side which ironically never quite read more
Dec 7, 2016
Akyde (All reviews)
I didn't like it.

While I enjoyed the early scenes, as it progressed passed the 20 minute mark where the family moves from the mountain the horrible pacing shows it's face and ruins, for me, what could have been a really great movie and becomes one of the worst additions to Ghibli's filmography.

One of the more aggravating issues is that scenes hang on for too long in areas that they don't need to like when Kaguya is seeing the noblemen, and end abruptly when they really shouldn't like with the scenes toward the end with Kaguya and the boy and the actual ending itself. I read more
Jun 13, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
Isao Takahata has always fascinated me as a director, particularly as a veteran of Studio Ghibli, because his style is so vastly different than that of Hayao Miyazaki that it makes such an interesting contrast when examining their work side by side. Whereas Miyazaki is a master of whimsy and warmth, Takahata favors harsher, more tactile, more unmistakably grounded tales. Whereas Miyazaki finds answers through the art of storytelling, Takahata asks questions that aren’t so easily parsed. One need only look at the different ways the directors explore environmentalism, through Naussicaa and Pom Poko as examples, to see just how different their approaches are. And read more
May 5, 2017
gwern (All reviews)
_The Tale of the Princess Kaguya_ is the best known Japanese fairy tale: a beautiful child is found inside a bamboo plant; she is raised into a princess, attracting the attention of noble suitors, who fail the tasks she sets them, eventually the emperor himself takes an interest in her; finally, she returns to the Moon from whence she came, having either been exiled for a crime or hidden on Earth during a lunar war for her safety. What can Isao Takahata bring to it, his last film, one which took so many years to create, experiencing the most protracted development-hell of any Ghibli movie? read more
Nov 20, 2015
KaguyaSenshi (All reviews)
The Tale of the Princess Kaguya is phenomenal — yet sweet. It is mind blowing — but nostalgically familiar. It is a deep pool with beautiful, glistening ripples on the poignant surface. I giggled with childish delight, then with youthful humor. A bittersweet tear followed on the trail of a tear of longing hope. Myth and fairy tale dance hand-in-hand with the most down-to-earth reality. The animation is a masterpiece, the music haunting. The Tale of the Princess Kaguya will leave you breathless — and utterly human.

Story: 10
The story is based on the fairy tale, The Bamboo-cutter and the Moon-child. All of the main elements read more
Jan 2, 2015
pilotMike (All reviews)
The Tale of Kaguya Hime pulls you into the story with the normal Studio Ghibli magic. The art style is unique from what I've seen, as the characters are like a moving work of art drawn in charcoal. The voice acting is top notch and even the sound effects, like the sounds of Kaguya running on wooden floors around the house, caught my attention as sounding like I heard a person 10 feet away running on those floors. While the story is a slow one, it kept my attention the whole time and feed me with the emotions that I believe the director and team read more
Aug 6, 2015
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
Movies have been the main driving force in bringing entertainment to the world, ever since its infancy in the very late 1800s. Movies have evolved since its beginnings, and have now become a daily part of our life, but as a result of there being so many, there are now so few that truly stand out among the rest unless someone looks really hard. But there are people out there who still consider both movies and animation to be art forms in their own right, and combine them together to make a truly magnificent and ambitious viewing experience for a viewer. Studio Ghibli is one read more
Dec 23, 2014
Lockensocke (All reviews)
“The tale of the princess kaguya” is an anime that really needs more attention, though I have to say that it’s not a movie for everybody, especially not for the average anime fan. It’s a movie drama that presents what a noble woman (girl) has to go through in the mediaeval times of japan in order to be socially accepted and be called beautiful. It goes even a bit father and touches the controversy of the mediaeval believe that woman only need to be beautiful and to get a noble husband to be happy. But don’t expect a deep psychological approach on this aspect, since read more
Feb 16, 2016
delta5 (All reviews)
This film is perfect. Calling it a masterpiece is an understatement. I have never seen any animated work of any sort that attains what "Kaguya-hime no Monogatari" achieves. Not a single frame is wasted, and its style is painterly yet not so abstract as to detract from one's utter and complete immersion in what is a transformative and utterly moving event.

Not only is this the absolute best animated film ever made, it also ranks with works by Herzog, Eisenstein, Scorsese, Renoir, Ozu, and other masters of cinema.

"Kaguya-hime no Monogatari" is sui generis. It is possible that, in the future, another animated film may attain similar read more
Jan 17, 2017
Evil_Genius (All reviews)
Preamble: english language is not my native, sorry for possible mistakes. Review can include minor spoilers.

So, after I watched this film, has wrote my thoughts, I decided to check out different reviews of other people on this film. As I expected they all are quite positive, and I think I just need to write my own, because the main thing of reviews is constructive criticism, not babbling about how it's "wonderful and nice". And this film can easily be critisized. It has a lot of flaws and weak points.

As Isao Takahata is one of my favourite anime directors and I value him even more than read more
Apr 18, 2019
Joshimatsoo (All reviews)
I am constantly in awe when reflecting upon how downright ravishingly beautiful of an artistic achievement this film is. Isao Takahata made his ultimate masterpiece with this film. In every sense of the word. As much as his death in April of 2018 pained my soul (especially upon discovering he was planned to direct a short film in Studio Ponoc's recent Modest Heroes anthology), there could not have been a more perfect film to go out on. Very rarely has any movie made me visibly emotional, but Kaguya accomplished the task like it was child's play. At moments I was laughing, then in a later read more