Goblin Slayer
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Goblin Slayer
Japanese: ゴブリンスレイヤー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2018 to Dec 30, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.551 (scored by 289573289,573 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #14412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #151
Members: 526,397
Favorites: 3,987

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 29, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
“I don’t know if I’ll be able to save it, but let’s kill some Goblins.” — Goblin Slayer

All you f—king assholes need to stop hating on Goblin Slayer — LEAVE BRITNEY (I mean Goblin Slayer) ALONE! Jesus Christ, just stop it. Take your pretentious, Tatami-Galaxy-loving-ass outta here, so us real fans can enjoy the kick-assery that is Goblin Slayer.

………….No. I’m serious, leave. RIGHT NOW! Only true fans will have the pleasure of reading this phenomenal review. Shit, if you gave this series anything less than a “10,” you’d best stop watching anime altogether, you wannabe-otaku.

<ahem> “So, where are the read more
Dec 29, 2018
AstralBread (All reviews)
"Psst, kid, wanna roll some D20s?"

Goblin Slayer is a series that, paradoxically, is underrated because of how popular it is. Popularity means a wide audience, which means a wide array of factually wrong, uninformed opinions that slander a good work of fiction. Here is a shortlist of the popular statement about this show that are simply not true:
“It’s a generic isekai” - no, it’s this thing called “fantasy” that actually existed even before SAO. What makes it silier is that Goblin Slayer doesn’t even feature any of the staple isekai tropes like some other “fantasy confused for isekai” series, e. g. Danmachi. In reality, Goblin read more
Dec 29, 2018
Veronin (All reviews)
Another fun little romp through fantasy-land, quests to be ventured and gold to be reaped... or maybe not quite.

Welcome to 2018's most controversial anime, Goblin Slayer. Little known by western anime fans, it came much out of nowhere, with a first episode that made viewers aghast and the social medias ablaze. And why, you may ask. I will have to leave that unanswered for a moment, as you should not yet be reading this review if you are unfamiliar with what scene I am referring to. But I will leave a word of caution: you should probably not watch Goblin Slayer if you are read more
Dec 29, 2018
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[Breaking News: Man Literally too Angry to Die]

[Alternative Title – Goblin Slayer Threat Level at Maximum]

They are rage, brutal, without mercy. But you. You will be worse. Rip and tear, until it is done.
- Intro Dialogue to Doom (2016)

Having watched Goblin Slayer in its entirety, I can’t help, but be reminded of the video game Doom (2016). In fact, the quote above perfectly encapsulates what Goblin Slayer is really about. Killing, slicing, dicing, burning, piercing, bludgeoning, ripping, and tearing goblins apart. The violence is brutal and extremely gory. Our main protagonist, Goblin Slayer, will use any means necessary to kill as many goblins as read more
Oct 27, 2018
LazyPanther (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR: at bottom ***Minor Spoiler from episode 1 below***

I am not familiar with the source material, my review is solely based on the first 4 episodes.

CHARACTERS: 2/10
The worst part of the show is the main character. He is an empty tin-can, both literally and figuratively.
He is always wearing full body armor which covers his face and body at all times. This might look bad-ass in a character with
less screen-time. But when the main character is wearing armor doing mundane things, like eating though though his metal visor,
it really makes him look retarded.

One might overlook the superficial appearance of MC if he was given read more
Oct 27, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Slice of life really just tends to write itself."
- Gen Urobuchi

These were the words I found myself saying when watching this newest iyeshikai (=healing anime) by White Fox. After the dark and edgy filled last season where a nameless series contained a traumatizing hand-twist scenes, I was blessed with a series that values the comfy and cozy side of every day life. These type of 2pure4this world narratives may to be very well-written or plot heavy series in generally, but they offer something most other series can only dream of: beauty.

Our story centers around the daily life of a man who we simply refer read more
Dec 29, 2018
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“Anyone who likes/dislikes this show is a Nazi/Libtard.” – The state of the anime community after episode 1.

I think it is fair to say that no other anime has caused such controversy and overwhelming divide amongst anime fans after a single episode like Goblin Slayer has. The pilot almost effortlessly setting a spark across the community that would act as ignition to countless flame wars lasting for weeks on end. A scene lasting around fifteen seconds receiving more vitriol and condemnation than arguably every other anime airing this year. On the surface, the divide seems clear: on one side lies those vocal to their displeasure read more
Oct 27, 2018
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Preliminary
Goblin Slayer is an anime about a dude named Goblin Slayer who slays goblins.

Now here's the part of my review where I wish I could say "but there's just so much more to Goblin Slayer than that!" Unfortunately, I just can't. In fact, with the exception of a few dark scenes, this show possesses all of the qualities of a typical fantasy world anime. Now is this a bad thing? Of course not. It's just that Goblin Slayer was hyped as a new and innovative approach to the genre. Yet from what I've seen so far, this simply isn't the case. In this preview, read more
Dec 29, 2018
Aslt (All reviews)
I'm at a loss for words.

Not because of the show's quite questionable and more than broken quality, which I and many others, have been pointing our fingers at since the first episode made its appearance, but rather something... much more bizarre. I find it astonishing how much controversy and heated exchanges a single scene has sparked up among the viewers, even though its importance, in the grand scheme of things, is as insignificant as one can be.

And I will never understand how and why a mind-numbing phenomenon of this calibre came into existence, but I digress.

Goblin Slayer is not a fundamentally weak story, and I read more
Dec 29, 2018
Captain220 (All reviews)
Goblin Slayer is a show that abducted my wife and sold off my children into slavery. It is the reason I stay awake at night with visions of tiny green blurs bouncing on the edges of my bed. Undoubtedly, Goblin Slayer is singlehandedly the worst thing that has ever happened to me. I used to be an avid cave enthusiast with a PHD in cave science, but now I can't step one foot into a cave without my feet turning cold (and not due to the naturally decreasing temperature, either). I see them everywhere; in my dreams, in visions. Faint glimpses while walking down the read more
Dec 29, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
The fall 18 is a pretty interesting season for anime. It was the season that gave us the nicely written romcom anime Bunny Girl but at the same time, it gave us the ultimate train-wreck of 2018 that was Tokyo Ghoul re where that season completely shat itself for a living. It was also the season that gave us the very underrated Release The Spyce, the epic and fun continuation Golden Kamuy second cour and the lovely sweet Bloom Into You.
However all out all the anime from the Fall 18 there was one show that totally shocked the anime community when it first aired read more
Dec 29, 2018
PsychoEkin (All reviews)
This is a spoiler free review.

Goblin Slayer is the one of the better series this season and probably the most popular anime this season. The show has an interesting concept, dark themes and it has decent comedy elements. It also has a interesting main character that hates goblins. Unfortunately, the show has a very controversial first episode that made a lot of viewers hate the show because of one scene.


1. The controversy

For those who haven’t followed the Goblin Slayer controversy. Right after the first episode this show has received tons of backlashes due to its rape scene. There have been a huge disturbance and conflicting read more
Dec 29, 2018
Magnif-Steiner (All reviews)
Goblin Slayer is an anime that everyone can enjoy.

Following a badass computer-generized protagonist slaying mobs of goblins like the pests they are, it encourages every person watching to take arms, get active and do something with your life. Our man got cucked in his backstory by a dozen goblins and now he doesn’t give a flying f*** no more. Now he slays goblins and women on the daily. What other guy do you know in this show that got healed through taking a virgin’s purity? I’ll wait…

The priestess first joins a group of no-hope losers with no understanding of what a potion is, and as read more
Dec 29, 2018
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Goblin Slayer makes me upset.

Not because of its content, mind you. But because THIS is what the community decided to make a whole brouhaha for, rassling endlessly about how “DAE RAPE IS BAD???”

Now, I apologize, we’ll talk about the show itself in a hot minute or two. But the community discussion of Goblin Slayer really is integral to the series itself. Like an album cycle from Kanye West, public reaction is all part of the seasonal anime paradigm, after all. Even if this anime is lost to the weight of time (read: four months), it should be noted that this anime read more
Dec 29, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

2018 was an odd year for anime. We started the year with sky high hopes for Yuasa helming a Devilman adaptation. That ended up just kind of meh and underwhelming on every level since the oil and water dynamic between Yuasa and Nagai just didn't work out.

We FINALLY got a sequel to FLCL...and everyone hated it. We got a reboot of Galactic Heroes using pretty boy characters and CGI space battles, which is currrently rated like shit here on MAL.

We also saw a strong resurgence of shock value anime and edge starting in late 2017 and continuing into this year. Last year, read more
Dec 29, 2018
Otorez (All reviews)
Goblin Slayer is one of the few anime which raised my hype from '0' to 'maximum'. Only Nozoki-Ana (ok there was only an OVA & a 130+ chapters manga) and Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo managed (12 episodes anime + 2x30 min OVA & 240+ chapters manga) to do the same. Indeed, when I started watching GS, I immediatly switched to the manga (both original & prequel) right after latest episode finished airing. Time to read the Light novel now that I received my GS wall poster.

Talking more seriously : Goblin Slayer first shows itself as a dark / violent / horrific anime (everyone read more
Oct 27, 2018
forster82 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Minor first episode spoiler warning:
I gotta admit, I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I was going to watch this anime. At first I thought it would just be some gory and edgy anime about a guy who kills goblins (My assumption wasnt that far from what it is), but it turns out there is way more to it than just that!
Before watching the anime, I thought the story would just be something stupid and ridiculous, but it turns out there is a real motive to all of it.
There was quite a controvery with the first episode of Goblin Slayer, read more
Nov 29, 2018
Gerver (All reviews)
Preliminary
Goblin Slayer is a unique fantasy story about paranoid mentally broken wierdo who wants to commit genocide on a green raping barbarians. In a Dungeon&Dragons setting using homerules.

Is it Dark Fantasy? Yeah, sort of, BUT NO BECAUSE OF "MUH RAPE", you goddamn millennials, but because in the world of GS you are a pawn in the hands of Gods, you will die when certainGod roll D20=1 and you can do nothing about it. You cannot win because Gods, eventually, will create another scenario where demon lord resurrected or necromancers destroy your hometown or goblins destroy your village. But you also cannot loose, because read more
Oct 27, 2018
Sadayan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Review on the first 4 episodes.

The very first episode set a very strong impression. I feel that a lot of people forgot all about how we recently survived an era of very uninspired and generic isekai / fantasy anime, then when Goblin Slayer emphasized the presence of these tropes viewers didn't see it as the intended bait and switch - they only saw the bait. So many shows, including large amounts of battle-magic-highschool anime from eras passed had main characters who were very one note just like Priestess appeared to be for our first impression before actually digging into what a blindly optimistic and faithful read more
Dec 29, 2018
Mythologically (All reviews)
Usually, I write my reviews in the format of rating story, characters, art, sound, and enjoyment individually, and then give my overall opinion. However, that doesn't work for shows that transcend being simple anime and become works of art equivalent to the Mona Lisa. Joking aside, Goblin Slayer is a perfect piece of entertainment. MAL users seem to be obsessed with deeper meaning, symbolism, comments on society, and all deep things of that sort. But the thing is, this isn't 10th grade English class. I'm not watching anime for subtle comments on society. I'm watching anime for enjoyment. A psychopath and his 4 personality-less companions read more