Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari
The Rising of the Shield Hero
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: The Rising of the Shield Hero
Japanese: 盾の勇者の成り上がり

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2019 to Jun 26, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Crunchyroll
Studios: Kinema Citrus
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 366611366,611 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #102
Members: 671,403
Favorites: 14,044

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 13, 2019
Eanki (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler Warning]

There are two things I noticed that are problematic with this show: 1.) it shoots its pacing and it ignores good storytelling methods to try to hurry up its narrative to the part it wants to tell and comes off as scared the calibre of its writing is not enough to keep its audience interested so it must rush as hard as it can to immediately show its gimmick; 2.) It’s trying to have its tanuki loli slave cake and eat it too. We’ll naturally go over that over the course of the review.

I want to tackle first its main potential, how it wastes read more
Jun 26, 2019
Veronin (All reviews)
Tate no Yuusha is a thundering disappointment for many fans of the isekai genre. And for those who would not have labeled themselves as such, Tate no Yuusha is a testament to their dislike or indifference, being yet another mediocre, soulless title lurching and tossing throughout a tired genre that is swiftly approaching its death throes. In truth, Tate no Yuusha doesn't please much of anybody.

If there is a reason Tate no Yuusha ever stood out in the first place, it is because of the protagonist and the appalling situation he is soon forced into. Though isekai anime taking a turn for the dark read more
Jun 26, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Welcome to Shield Art Online, the latest popular trapped-in-a-video-game light novel adaptation. You’ve seen this show a dozen times before, but this the trashiest one so far. Not only is this dogshit a shameless loli-harem, but it is also a slavery harem, a power fantasy, and 100% incel approved.

Do people actually think The Rising of the Shield Hero is above other isekai harem fodder? Naofumi is yet again another blank slate protagonist who builds his harem by "saving" a bunch of lolis. Rather than developing any of them, the show just adds a new loli to avoid having to write compelling characters. Naofumi is a read more
Jun 26, 2019
HellLyter (All reviews)
We've come to a point in the anime industry where isekai anime are immediately judged just for being isekai. Due to the apparent "overuse" and "unoriginality" of the genre, some individuals will make a big deal about it or not even watch an anime at all simply because of the genre, even if the isekai elements have essentially no bearing on the narrative whatsoever, as is the case with The Rising of the Shield Hero. Yes, Shield Hero is an isekai, but don't let that blind you from seeing the true themes and merit of this show. At its core, this is an anime all read more
Jun 26, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Who are we? Every person ever. And what do we want? Throw shit at Naofumi. And when do we want it? Every second, non-stop, 247.

Modern problems require modern solutions. If society humiliates you, lets you down, you get accused of crimes you didn't commit, the general public turns against you, the game is rigged, system corrupted, you are bullied, isolated and alone, you see the worst in people and proceed to turn against the world and enter a safety mode where you become something of the sort of a "cynical little animal." Or that's what I would do.... unless... there was a cute animal-eared read more
Feb 13, 2019
Johan_Liebert_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’ve never been a fan of the “isekai” genre. It was never alluring for me and neither is it now. The mere fact that a person was “transported” to another world, for me, invalidated everything that happened to the said person in that “another world”. I could never fathom (and I still can’t) why the hero can’t start off as a regular person in the fantasy world instead of being transported there from our world. Originality is lost in this process as the “another world” of most isekai anime are basically the same with similar power system and the same old cliched stereotypes that have read more
Feb 13, 2019
Drokster (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Isekai genre in anime has grown by a large number ever since SAO became popular. Due to it being over popularized, some people have long since gotten sick of it . And if you are one of those people, trust me you are really missing out by not watching this anime.

Tate No Yuusha is another Isekai anime where the Main Protagonist : Iwatani Naofumi
gets send to another world along with 3 other male characters. Each of them were summoned to fight The Waves of Calamity in this RPG game liked world, which is a mysterious phenomenon that occur every so often in the read more
Feb 13, 2019
ZeromaxAnima (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Esta reseña también tiene una versión en español más abajo)
This is the typical Isekai of each season that the community says is different but it is the same generic Isekai garbage as always, with an MC that is surrounded by beautiful girls so that people with low self-esteem can self-insert and feel that they are special.
The problems of this Isekai are:

1) The protagonist is the owner of the truth.
Anyone who is against him is the bad guy and everyone who is with him is the good, black and white that simple.
Like any empowerment fantasy, the story makes the protagonist is right in everything he does read more
Feb 20, 2019
The_Walker (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's amazing how whenever social justice warriors get irrationally angry over a work of fiction, their impotent rage serves as almost a guaranteed stamp of approval that said work of fiction is likely good.

Very few examples of this are as accurate as with Shield Hero. The characters and plot are fantastic, and the emotions shown feel more real than any Isekai in years. Nothing feels forced. Solid writing. I haven't looked forward to the next episode of a series this much in a very long time.

So what made the virtue signalling crowd of harpies so infuriated by this show? Quite simple really, because it read more
Feb 24, 2019
infinite_Fiend (All reviews)
Preliminary
In all honesty, Isekai is a pretty sick genre with unlimited potential, sporting endless thematic possibilities that a normal setting could never offer. Want to tell a story that juxtaposes two different societies outlook on slavery? Your options are make a boring civil war movie or make an isekai were a dude gets transported to a world full of Kanye Wests and Jesse Lee Petersons (this won’t be the last time I mention Kanye in this review). The problem with most isekai’s is that they have a tendency to be lazy in the writing department… and the themes read more
Jun 26, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
If someone told me that we need a shield hero in some chaotic world filled with corruption and flaws, I’d be laughing. There’s a saying that not all heroes wear capes but now, we have one that wield a shield. Naofumi Iwatani, the present day otaku fits for a typical protagonist and in our modern times, his transportation to a fantasy world is an overused trope. There’s probably a good dozen shows I can think off from the top of my head with similar gimmicks. Naofumi happens to be the oddball armed with a shield than your RPG crafted sword.

Watching The Rising of the Shield read more
Feb 16, 2019
BlackIndigo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is your typical lets feel pity for the protagonist just because we say so type anime. The writers go out of their way to try to justify the actions of the protagonist even when the protagonist is clearly in the wrong. Ep 2 he takes a slave girl (Raphtalia) as his companion and the writer justify this by claiming "his a kind master". The slave falls in love with him simply because his kind giving the typical submissive female feel.
Meanwhile the slave being clearly underage the try to justify this bs by saying demi-humans automatically grow to adulthood once they level up.

The read more
Jun 26, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
The phrase, “That which does not kill us makes us stronger”, is one that has been made popular over the last century through various means. Originally coined by ‘entry-level’ philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche, paraphrased later by the likes of award-winning artist Kanye West and only last year, happened to be used by me: one random person on the internet, in reference to the anime community and its initial reaction to the 2018 anime, Goblin Slayer. With it I pleaded to the community, fans and haters alike, to learn from the controversy it garnered off a single implied rape scene lasting no more than 15 seconds. To read more
Feb 23, 2019
Kadano (All reviews)
Preliminary
Harem trash. The setup, which at first seems interesting and unusual in the main character's early and severe downfall, soon turns out to just be pretense. The female harem 'characters' (if you can even call them that) don't have personality that extends beyond loving the main character and being excited about food.
Also, it doesn't really seem to matter what kind of animal the main character takes into his party, it is going to magically evolve into a demi-human harem girl. Why, you ask? No reason. Just the writer peddling to otakus who have never had a real conversation with a woman and who like read more
Feb 13, 2019
kiriitsugu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm the kind of guy who very rarely reads manga. I rather wait for years sometimes and watch the animation when it's available. Besides titles like One Piece, I never really read the manga of titles that are currently airing so I can have a better experience when watching the anime without knowing what's going to happen.
That being said, after watching only the first episode of Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari (aka rising of the shieldbro) I knew something different was coming my way so I went ahead and read the entire manga in one sitting. Yes, it's that good.
It's the kind of anime that read more
Mar 30, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

I normally dislike writing previews, but Shield Hero is so odd I don't want to wait another few months. Shield Hero is impossible to avoid on social media. Every week it pisses off an entirely new group of people and generates enough controversy that it DEMANDS we rubber neck and bare witness to the train wreck. When you get past the outrage culture it's just kind of a garbage Isekai, but it's provided a wild ride so far!



Le Elephant in the room:


Firstly, let's talk about the initial outrage that boosted Shield Hero to fame. The very first episode features a greedy, gold-digging whore that falsely read more
Mar 10, 2019
Somz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Try to walk and you may stumble.

Cringe - that's the first word that pops into my mind when thinking of Tate no Yuusha.
It's poorly written, lazy, offers nothing unique or interesting, but at least they kicked the cheese into overdrive.

It starts out as your generic isekai nonsense; some random, average dude gets summoned into wonderland. This is *not* necessarily bad, but it ain't gonna win points for creativity either. But the show immediately begins to crumble. Where other shows take the effort to provide a semblance of explanation as to why MC gets selected and transported, this one says 'no' and skips it read more
Feb 13, 2019
Elfezen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari is one of the best and most wonderful Isekai series of all time. The light novel and the manga is a masterpiece and the beautiful anime adaption in combination with the amazing music make it really majestic. It embraces the Isekai genre in the best way possible while adding a lot of unique aspects as well. Naofumis outfit along with the team members and the other heroes are very stylish and elegant and his relationship with Raphtalia make an excellent couple together, the alluring silhouettes and charming appearances along with how their relationship links the fates makes the progression of read more
Jun 26, 2019
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime was great. It was a show that brought me back to the isekai train after watching a certain broken heap of an isekai anime from the Summer 18 season that shall not be mentioned. The story was fun and nicely written. The characters were fun and enjoyable especially Rimuru.
The visuals were beautiful and the music, as well as voice acting for both languages, were great. It's was the best isekai anime that I watched despite its few faults.
Naturally, I decided to check out Shield Hero as I thought it would be the next best iskeai anime that read more
Mar 21, 2019
Kistelggw (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overrated.

There was a deposit for a good anime at first, but with each episode, the anime scored a stud in its coffin.
This does not mean that it is so bad that it can be dropped immediately, but so weak that it doesn’t cause the experienced animefan to cause the same effect when you don’t think that it is anime, but simply watch the development of the plot with enthusiasm and wait, that very day week, when the series will be released.
at first, primitiveness didn’t trigger so much and there was a certain interest in plot development, but later the anime turns more and more into read more