Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Granblue Fantasy The Animation


Alternative Titles

Japanese: GRANBLUE FANTASY The Animation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2017 to Jun 25, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.851 (scored by 18,634 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #40392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1064
Members: 68,096
Favorites: 132

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 14, 2017
DWYjobu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've read some reviews and I realized that whether you'll enjoy this anime or not will depend on your tastes.

For me, I enjoy anime that are nice to look at. Whether it be through the character animation, like in One Punch Man, or through its overall art and world style. I also appreciate a good story and lovely characters, but first and foremost I look for beauty in animation and art. It's a bonus if I get the good story and characters.

Granblue Fantasy is absolutely beautiful to watch. Visually. The scenes are as if they're straight out of a painting, and the characters and read more
Jun 24, 2017
Werty800 (All reviews)
Fantasy is such a majestic genre. In every piece of fiction, that being either games, movies, books, real-life TV shows or anime, fantasy creates some of the most spectacular settings, worlds full of wonder and amazement, creatures that we could only imagine come to life to take us on an adventure that we could only dream about, we witness epic events unfold before our very eyes as huge monsters fight a group of adventurers that are ready to take it on. Granblue Fantasy is definitely an adventure that encapsulates all of that, amongst many other things that make fantasy so great, not to mention that read more
May 11, 2017
Keledran (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, what can i say about grand blue?
I readed a lot of doujin about, and i was expecting the anime with excitement, the show is a terrible delusion, and a waste of time and resources form the animators carees.

My review contain some spiolers but, you really dosent loosing anything by reading before watch the first two episodes.

Story: 3

The lesser point, and the most criticable part of the anime is the story. i have seen a lot (Really, a lot) of shows of medieval fantasy, like Vannadis or Chain Cronicles, by mention. and Grand Blue is the worst of all those.

The story is a big cliche,and read more
Jun 24, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
A decent enough anime, never played the game, but I found the anime watchable, I'm interested enough that I hope it gets a second season.


Story: Basic fantasy story, go around from sky island to sky island hunting things to reach a fantastical area, not completely sure where it's heading but passable.

Art I liked, it has some very nice tones and such to it.

Characters: Maybe one of the weaker parts, a few neat chars, but alot that I didn't realy find myself getting involved as much with.

Overall and enjoyment: I enjoyed it enough to keep going, though not sure what to read more
Jun 24, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
Granblue fantasy based off a popular mobile game is an interesting anime that reminds me a lot of the famed Final fantasy series of games because the premise behind them are very similar. While I played plenty of Final fantasy games over the years I have yet to play the game that this anime used as a source material so im unable to compare the two.

The premise behind Granblue fantasy is a rather simple one but never less one that is already well tread in the anime world. The hero character rescues a beautiful but mysterious girl from an evil enemy faction and then read more
May 1, 2017
myanimeinfo (All reviews)
Preliminary
A girl falls out of the sky - Literally. Dude saves her, fights for her and dies. She revives him and now he becomes aware of his power (or a clue to its origin). They go on a journey together. Magic, Medieval, Floating islands, Fantastic creatures and Dragons. There you have it, the gist of it at least.

Boring much……………. I don’t think so. I have said it before and I don’t like to belabor a point but the fact is that there are so many ways of making a story ‘click’ by using the same old words.

Like a lot of read more
Jun 24, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Granblue Fantasy: The Animation is what happens when Final Fantasy has a good adaptation of it's source material.

LA was a massive Final Fantasy fan at the time, playing FFX constantly to going back further and playing FFI, FFII, FFVI, FFVIII, FFIX more recently and adoring FFXII thus it was no surprise that LA would take a liking to Granblue Fantasy: The Animation what with it's many plot beats coming from Final Fantasy yet being it's own thing with it's own world to explore just with the lens of Gran voiced by Yuuki Ono. LA does say this as many of the early plot beats to read more
May 27, 2017
Darkwhip0331 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm here to let free my whip and lash on this anime. Right now I'm thinking on dropping the anime, why you may think ?

It's pretty simple, while the characters are simple and the plot is cliche, the anime wasn't able to grab me by the guts. I believe it lacks information about the world the story is occurring and some character background. The important thing I noticed from my experience is that I wasn't fired up by the story/plot which is why I am writing this now. Let's take some other anime example, Attack on titan, Naruto and umm erased yeah. In either of read more
May 18, 2017
Xheo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This type of animes are my favorite, even that most of the time they screw up everything with a bad story, but I still really love watching Fantasy anime with characters that in addition to looking good, also have a good background story (Except for the main character).

It's too soon to say that the story, in general, is bad, but we are following a character that his only goal is to see his father that left him to never come back without a good reason.

I can not say that the art is bad, but it could be much better, sometimes it leaves you waiting. read more
Jun 28, 2017
oneeris (All reviews)
Granblue Fantasy is one of the higher tier JRPGs, and you can go play it on your desktop or your phone. I played it for a bit before I lost interest, but this anime is making me want to play it again.

Despite not doing anything new and following the very cliched storyline of not-Final Fantasy (although it should be expected from the staff working on this), this series is charming on its own right.

==Story
We follow the story of Gran as he journeys through the seemingly infinite skies, adding crewmates along the way. Does this sound incredibly generic? Yes it does. This story is a very read more
Jun 25, 2017
SongstressSL (All reviews)
I know this is an adaptation of a game but I am critiquing the anime independent of the game.

Story: 6
Too generic of an RPG adventure story and with no plot twists to keep viewers hooked. Sure it isn't on the ground but if I really want an aerial adventure, Elemental Gelade did a better job. The waifu character is even better in Elemental Gelade than this. This show's story is basically start -> go to place A and collect/defeat elemental boss -> place B & collect/defeat elemental boss ->... place X. Then on the last episode, they introduce a new character onto the ship just read more
Jun 5, 2017
Eartheaven (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, and though I should've probably saved it for something that holds more importance to me, I think Granblue is good enough to be the first one - I recently started to play the game, the timing is perfect. So, here I go. I may be a bit too gentle, since I can be pretty optimistic - however, please note that this does not mean I can't see what is wrong. My rating takes into account the effort put into the anime.

Story - 6
If I have to summarize the story in one sentence, it would be that it's the story of read more
Jul 4, 2017
Kyoumoshi (All reviews)
only watched this because i needed noise in the background and i play the mobage, it has nothing special and it's your very cliché story with cliché characters
at least they look cute
(i also watched this because i didn't follow the story in the game and i realize i didn't miss anything)

what was nice about the music is i could recognize rearrangements of the game ost
it's good to watch if you play the game, if you don't well there's nothing for you here
it's not awful tho, it's cool to see game characters animated... in an anime i mean
the art is... nothing special

Yes "nothing special" is how read more
Jun 19, 2017
KM- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Granblue Fantasy is adapted from a mobile game with the same title.

What can you expect from that since the story from the game it self is not really interesting. Fortunately the soundtrack and art really covers the scores, in my opinion.

This anime is created to make the players from the game excited, because they can see their favorite characters in the anime animated, such as Narumeia.
And also bonuses like SSR weapons that they gave when Gran's crew fights the Primal Beast in the anime afterwards.

To be honest. It's pretty decent. I'll give it a 7/10 since i actually played the game my self. If you read more
Jun 4, 2017
sixfourone (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning: Minor Spoilers Ahead.

I'll be tackling some things here that I believe is part of the anime's strong points.

First of all, the art style and animation.

You'll probably thinking, "are you serious? The art style is probably one of the anime's weak points!". Well, I beg to disagree. While the art style definitely doesn't appeal to a certain number of viewers, I can say that the art style fits in very well. Take a look at the battle between Gran and Tiamat as an example. Coupled with a great soundtrack, the art style and animation gives you a certain feel; telling you that you're watching read more
Oct 17, 2017
Lirin80123 (All reviews)
this anime is really good not my best but the only thing ive found stupide is the last episode 13 gran have like disapear and that djeeta is take is place why in episode 12 that finish with gran but i think about 2 choice first gran is never existe and all the time that djeeta is there or the second is in the begin episode 13 that what about the memory she have lost and she remember but that the same scew in boat like in episode 12 that what i think and gran is the all time a ilusion and all teh time read more
Jul 18, 2017
Jetezark (All reviews)
Let the winds of adventure never stop blowing. Beyond the skies is a realm of endless possibilities, where new discoveries are awaiting, new friends to meet, and where we realize how big the world truly is. This was the feeling I was experiencing when I was watching Granblue Fantasy The Animation.

Granblue Fantasy is without a doubt what a great Final Fantasy anime would have been if SquareSoft (back in the day) or Square Enix (these days) ever made one that embodies the core elements of what makes Final Fantasy such a beloved and memorable franchise. The game this anime was based on had used read more
Jun 27, 2017
jyuushimatsu (All reviews)
Granblue Fantasy is another fantasy anime with adventure elements, nothing special.

It feels extremely repetitive with all the members slowly joining the team one by one, with some event happening before that and those primal beasts getting healed by the two main characters so easily. Because of this, it gets pretty predictable and there's also the fact how there were no plot twists and the story was kind of boring. There are some moments that leave you thinking, "what...".

The slow pacing only picking up towards the end was a good thing in my eyes, and minimal fanservice until the last episode, which is when it's nothing read more
Jun 25, 2017
Ooshta (All reviews)
What happened in that last episode #13.They switched out Gran the captain for the
girl (Djeeta) without explanation, Just so gamer's can see her in an episode, Should of
done a OVA instead to explain it better,(a what if) other wise it made no sense for
those who don't play the game. They should do a 2nd season with Djeeta and Gran
to put an end to the series, instead of wasting that last episode. What a waste of
production $$$

Story-8 It was a good in depth story (excluding last episode 13)
Art-7 The art was nice and colorful, it fit the character of read more
Jun 2, 2017
Ryuukoi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was told this had lot of doujin and was reminiscent in style to older anime, so I decided to try it. As fake as this sounds, I found myself reading the youtube terms and conditions instead of paying full attention when I wasn't halfway through episode one. That was ridiculous enough to make me finally make an account just to put that out there.

That's not to say I think it is bad necessarily there are a few things the episode did that I really did like, I gave this a 4 after all. The main thing I like is Gran(the main character)'s character design. read more