Steins;Gate 0


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Steins,Gate Zero
Japanese: シュタインズ・ゲート ゼロ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.061 (scored by 40,315 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #277
Members: 256,856
Favorites: 2,531

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 16, 2018
Tibo_Bones (All reviews)
This is my second review ever so cut me some slack :p, I will also be updating this review periodically

Steins;gate zero is an alternate ending to the original series we all love steins;gate, in this ending okabe fails to save Kirisu and he gives up all hope of saving her and goes into depression.

Story: As somebody who has played the VN i am happy how the adaptation is turning out, I especially like the psychological scenes. The pacing is also better then the original steins;gate because we don't need to introduce every single character which happened in the original steins;gate (a good 10 episodes or read more
May 16, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Steins Gate 0 is a story about Okabe losing Kurisutina and falling into depression because now his harem is incomplete. Not awesome. With the power of epic deus ex machina writing stuff, person close to Kurisutina puls a random personality capturing device out of her butt and a trip towards harem restoration begins. Awesome.

The writing is a mess. A total clash of random ideas. The amount of different plot elements from asspullery science-save-us-all devices to reading steiner super powers inserted inside slice of life harem settings about.... depression, is absurd. It mainly reminds me of the chaos that Code Geass R2 was. Inb4 who was read more
May 16, 2018
ta07 (All reviews)
"the flow of time is an illusion, that the past, present and future are equally real, and that time is tenseless"

Hello readers
there i go presenting the review of probably the best science fiction series world of anime has to offer . They say you can't improve on perfection, yet Steins;Gate 0 does just that. Taking what made the original story so great by awesome characters and a much darker theme makes Steins;Gate 0 the perfect continuation to a story.

"no one know what the future holds, thats why its potential is infinite"

story(probably 10/10)
I love how Steins;Gate 0 embraces the Beta timeline.
As i mention steins gate 0 read more
May 16, 2018
KamiKarse (All reviews)
"The universe has a beginning, but no end. —Infinite.
The stars too have beginnings, but their power accompanies their decline. —Finite.
It the wise who are the most foolish. History has taught us as much.
The fish of the sea know not the world of the land. Were they to possess wisdom, they too would experience decline.
It is more absurd that humans should surpass the speed of light than it is that fish should start living on the land.
This can be said to be God's final warning to those who resist."

Oh god, what am I doing? Just please don't prosecute me this is my 3 review (2 because read more
Jun 20, 2018
Vares (All reviews)
as of 6/20, i've seen 11 episodes and i have to say that i'm pretty disappointed with the execution and direction of the series so far. s;g0 started off fairly strongly with new concepts and an interesting continuation story for this world line, but now it feels like something got lost along the way, and i don't really know how they're going to pick it back up at this point.

i'm very disappointed with how s;g0 has succumbed to catering to its fanbase via fanservice. i held the original series with high regard because it felt like they were trying to avoid tactless and typical fanservice read more
May 16, 2018
Tomyomy1420 (All reviews)
As of right now, I have only seen 6 episodes of steins;gate, and I will most likely update this review either when the series is over, or my opinions in this dramatically change, there WILL BE SPOILERS in this so beware if you are reading and haven't yet watched the anime. Also, bare in mind this is just my opinion (and definitely not a perfect one) while reading, I can understand if other people feel differently and I am just stating my thoughts about this subjectively great anime.

Let me start this off by doing what every other generic reviewer does (because my writing structure is read more
May 27, 2018
LazyPanther (All reviews)
This spin-off set in an alternate timeline is really bad and uninteresting.
It seems like a shameless cash grab to exploit the popularity of its far superior predecessor.
I have watched only 7 episodes and it may get better later on but I have lost interest in the show by now. Although the original Steins Gate was also really slow to start but this spin-off is just plain boring. Only time we are mildly interested is when it is referencing the previous show.

The biggest flaw of this spin-off is the character of Okabe Rintaru. He was a boisterous, obnoxious mad scientist in the original. But now read more
May 16, 2018
Mohammadalmannai (All reviews)
As someone who played the visual novel, I can say that this is a better version of the game (so far)
I will keep this short. Potential spoiler as of episode 5-6. Do not worry.

This takes place in the Beta world line where Kurisu is dead and cannot be saved (episode 24 does not exist, theoretically). We get to see Okabe going through depression as he loses the woman he loves to protect his childhood friend who he shares precious memories with.

Story-10
This is not a random story, it is hinted in the original (and the VN more vividly) about Kurisu's project in the US, we got read more
Jul 8, 2018
Kyzagi (All reviews)
Steins;Gate 0 takes place after the events of Episode 23 of Steins;Gate, where instead of succeeding in the end goal, Okabe fails to do so and thus doesn't reach "Steins Gate".

Spoiler warning as always. Also note that I have not read or played the visual novel, and therefore went in to this with only the knowledge I had from the original Steins;Gate.

Personally, I don't feel like this series holds up nearly as well to the original so far, there are a few key reasons why.

1. Nothing that happens impacts the characters, or so it seems. Terrorists with machine guns start trying to gun you and read more
May 17, 2018
RealOneFrank (All reviews)
[This review assumes the viewer has already watched the original Steins;Gate. There will be spoilers.]

Steins;Gate believes backwards time travel is possible and that it is possible during this travel to affect the past. I believe it is not. In this review, I will explain why.

First, I will borrow David Lewis' definition of time travel: that it is a discrepancy between personal time and external time. I do this because it is the canonical definition of time travel and because it most neatly accounts for the objection that the statements "X traveled 40 years to the past" and "X traveled 1 hour to the past," where read more
May 17, 2018
AnimeCAC (All reviews)
Dark. Bitter sweet. Tragic. Brilliant. These are the words that leap out in trying to describe this show.

Stein;Gate 0 is (kind of) an alternate ending to original the Steins;Gate. If you are one of the very few who haven't seen the original Steins;Gate, do it. Now. Then watch this series. This review is spoiler free and aimed at those contemplating whether to watch this series.

Seeing the Kyouma persona knocked out of Okabe, and therefore this series - removes much of the lighter feeling that the original had. This doesn't make this show any less engaging. Rather it trades comedy and light hearted moments for a read more
May 16, 2018
TomatoTheSupreme (All reviews)
As much as I love S;G and am currently enjoying 0 I need some nitpicks out of my chest


Story - 7

The shows start off as a sort of midquel to the events of episode 23 of S;G, the beta attractor field 1.129848% which is fated to be screwed over by World War 3

About 5 months after the murder of Makise Kurisu, Okabe Rintaro (Previously known as The mad scientist Hououin Kyouma) now a fully-fledged normie is suffering from intense PTSD and depression stumbles upon a conference which reveals the creation of Amadeus, a program which emulates memories into A.I conveniently based off one of Makise read more
May 16, 2018
IAmWastingAir (All reviews)
Spoilers for Steins;Gate anime and Steins;Gate 0 (1-6) ahead....
.
.
.
.
.
.

Some context: Stines;Gate 0 takes place after episode 26 of the original Steins;Gate after Okabe came back from the past for the first time after trying to save Kurisu and failing resulting in her dying. In the first anime Suzuha shows Okabe a video from him in the future, where he tells himself what to do in order to save Kurisu. A great ending btw.

Steins;Gate 0 continues after Okabe failed for the first time (This anime is like the dark stuff that was needed for the perfect ending of Steins;Gate). His read more
May 16, 2018
Ary5000 (All reviews)
Steins;gate as you all know is a visual novel about time travel which was adapted into an anime in 2011. It is many times regarded as one of the best if not the best anime ever made. And now studio White Fox is back with an adaption of the visual novel called Steins;gate 0. This is if you all don't know, a midquel to the original steins;gate. It takes place between the alternate 23rd episode and episodes 23-24.

Story 9/10
So as you all know, this is the story of okabe in the beta world line where he failed to save kurisu. The Okabe who sent read more
May 17, 2018
keatonwice (All reviews)
----------------------
INTRODUCTION:
----------------------

TL;DR will always be at the bottom for those looking for a quick overview. Along side this, I will provide alternate recommendations that have a similar structure under the recommendations section.

I will state here that I have never played any of the Steins;Gate visual novel games, but have watched the original Steins;Gate. Just so you know where I'm coming from.

------------
REVIEW:
------------

Ever since Steins;Gate came out, I fell in love with it immediately. The depth of realism and psychology, followed by the perfect amount of drama turned this time traveling masterpiece into one of my favorite series to date. So when I heard it was getting a read more
Jul 17, 2018
WhoCanPeliCan (All reviews)
I have a fundamental issue with this show that might change as it moves into the second half, but for now it's far too noticeable for me to keep quiet.

It's no secret that I love Steins;Gate and hold it in a high regard. I enjoy it's characters, it's careful progression of plot, and of course, the cavalcade of mystery and twists that strike a great balance to make a wonderful story. This show is missing all of what I loved about the original.

Since at this point, only 13 episodes of 0 are out, I will only compare this show to the equivalent number of read more
May 16, 2018
Franck_Nicolas (All reviews)
For now there is a lack of music and animation in the first episodes and only the awesome actor's voices and the story are settling the general atmosphere of the anime. It clearly lacks of ambiant sounds. the soundtracks are from the VN, which is not a problem since they are cool, however i don t feel like it always fits the action and they are rarely heard.

The characters are as cool as in the first season, but they are less "active" and more serious. I think some of them are a bit more cliche characters than before. They had a nice character development, since read more
Jun 29, 2018
ama_ (All reviews)
Time for one of my newer favorites! Steins;Gate is a show that explores technological breakthroughs and their consequences on a scale that (at least in my opinion) hasn't been explored. From the originality of the characters to the depth of the plot, this show has grown on me incredibly. It's safe to say I'm a firm believer in Steins Gate.

The show is brought to us originally from the visual novel game released in 2009. A manga was adapted by Yomi Sarachi the same year, which we didn't see in America until 2015. White Fox premiered an anime adaptation in 2011, and Funimation licensed it in read more
May 25, 2018
D-K-F (All reviews)
"Listen, Okabe... This world can only go to one place: Hell"
-Amane Suzuha

This Review contains Spoilers for the original Steins;Gate. I'm going to give my best for my first Review on this site, but please be aware that English is not my mother tongue and therefore I might make some dumb mistakes.


Story: 9/10

Like once Arkada from Glass Reflection said, Steins;Gate 0 is the Sequel to what is called a "perfect" ending.
In the original Steins;Gate Okabe attempts to save Makise Kurisu from her inevitable death. After failing once he gets a message from his future self, telling him how he should proceed. On his second try read more
May 19, 2018
Kaiya-san (All reviews)
After seeing 6 episodes.. I am so surprised how perfect Steins;Gate 0 is. I was looking forward to it, but also quite afraid 'Will be the quality of Steins;Gate 0 at least bit good as Steins;Gate?" This anime is my favorite, so of course I was worried that new, alternative version, spoils it.
But true is.. I was so wrong! The quality is so perfect! I love all episodes so far. I don't recommend to watch it before Steins;Gate, but if you've seen it already, it's worth to watch this one too!


Story 10/10

So, since this great woman, Makise Kurisu, is no longer alive in this anime, read more