Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Steins;Gate 0


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Steins Gate Zero
Japanese: シュタインズ・ゲート ゼロ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.891 (scored by 50,529 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #252
Members: 283,937
Favorites: 3,272

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 16, 2018
Tibo_Bones (All reviews)
This is my second review ever so cut me some slack :p, I will also be updating this review periodically

Steins;gate zero is an alternate ending to the original series we all love steins;gate, in this ending okabe fails to save Kirisu and he gives up all hope of saving her and goes into depression.

Story: As somebody who has played the VN i am happy how the adaptation is turning out, I especially like the psychological scenes. The pacing is also better then the original steins;gate because we don't need to introduce every single character which happened in the original steins;gate (a good 10 episodes or read more
May 16, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Steins Gate 0 is a story about Okabe losing Kurisutina and falling into depression because now his harem is incomplete. Not awesome. With the power of epic deus ex machina writing stuff, person close to Kurisutina puls a random personality capturing device out of her butt and a trip towards harem restoration begins. Awesome.

The writing is a mess. A total clash of random ideas. The amount of different plot elements from asspullery science-save-us-all devices to reading steiner super powers inserted inside slice of life harem settings about.... depression, is absurd. It mainly reminds me of the chaos that Code Geass R2 was. Inb4 who was read more
May 16, 2018
ta07 (All reviews)
"the flow of time is an illusion, that the past, present and future are equally real, and that time is tenseless"

Hello readers
there i go presenting the review of probably the best science fiction series world of anime has to offer . They say you can't improve on perfection, yet Steins;Gate 0 does just that. Taking what made the original story so great by awesome characters and a much darker theme makes Steins;Gate 0 the perfect continuation to a story.

"no one know what the future holds, thats why its potential is infinite"

story(probably 10/10)
I love how Steins;Gate 0 embraces the Beta timeline.
As i mention steins gate 0 read more
May 16, 2018
KamiKarse (All reviews)
"The universe has a beginning, but no end. —Infinite.
The stars too have beginnings, but their power accompanies their decline. —Finite.
It the wise who are the most foolish. History has taught us as much.
The fish of the sea know not the world of the land. Were they to possess wisdom, they too would experience decline.
It is more absurd that humans should surpass the speed of light than it is that fish should start living on the land.
This can be said to be God's final warning to those who resist."

Oh god, what am I doing? Just please don't prosecute me this is my 3 review (2 because read more
Aug 15, 2018
AndrePereira (All reviews)
Well, what a train-wreck. 18 episodes in and everything is dull, predictable and badly animated.

This episode contains big reveals which anyone saw coming from at least 5 episodes before, and some from episode 1 itself. The plot is absolutely predictable, the characters cannot connect 2 dots even if they were drawn in a piece of paper, and there is absolutely no tension.
The villains are obvious, their actions are obvious, how they get to know what they know is obvious, what they did was obvious. Characters die but come back to life just long enough to be convenient for the plot. How can they expect to read more
May 16, 2018
Tomyomy1420 (All reviews)
As of right now, I have only seen 6 episodes of steins;gate, and I will most likely update this review either when the series is over, or my opinions in this dramatically change, there WILL BE SPOILERS in this so beware if you are reading and haven't yet watched the anime. Also, bare in mind this is just my opinion (and definitely not a perfect one) while reading, I can understand if other people feel differently and I am just stating my thoughts about this subjectively great anime.

Let me start this off by doing what every other generic reviewer does (because my writing structure is read more
Jun 20, 2018
Vares (All reviews)
as of 6/20, i've seen 11 episodes and i have to say that i'm pretty disappointed with the execution and direction of the series so far. s;g0 started off fairly strongly with new concepts and an interesting continuation story for this world line, but now it feels like something got lost along the way, and i don't really know how they're going to pick it back up at this point.

i'm very disappointed with how s;g0 has succumbed to catering to its fanbase via fanservice. i held the original series with high regard because it felt like they were trying to avoid tactless and typical fanservice read more
Jul 23, 2018
NyaChan365 (All reviews)
steins;gate game was amazing. steins;gate anime was amazing. steins;gate 0 game was amazing. i see a running trend here UwU. in all seriousness tho, if you watched steins;gate then this is a high recommendation for those that are a fan for the series. for those that aren't aware or watched the first steins;gate watch it first before coming to this. no excuses. just do it and watch it. :3 basically a fan of it so ez 10/10 UwU

edit:

myanimelist.net says

please enter a longer review

Q^Q insert tuturu.mp3 here

insert "but he is a dude" meme here

FB doesnt mean facebook x3
May 16, 2018
Mohammadalmannai (All reviews)
As someone who played the visual novel, I can say that this is a better version of the game (so far)
I will keep this short. Potential spoiler as of episode 5-6. Do not worry.

This takes place in the Beta world line where Kurisu is dead and cannot be saved (episode 24 does not exist, theoretically). We get to see Okabe going through depression as he loses the woman he loves to protect his childhood friend who he shares precious memories with.

Story-10
This is not a random story, it is hinted in the original (and the VN more vividly) about Kurisu's project in the US, we got read more
Jul 8, 2018
Kyzagi (All reviews)
Steins;Gate 0 takes place after the events of Episode 23 of Steins;Gate, where instead of succeeding in the end goal, Okabe fails to do so and thus doesn't reach "Steins Gate".

Spoiler warning as always. Also note that I have not read or played the visual novel, and therefore went in to this with only the knowledge I had from the original Steins;Gate.

Personally, I don't feel like this series holds up nearly as well to the original so far, there are a few key reasons why.

1. Nothing that happens impacts the characters, or so it seems. Terrorists with machine guns start trying to gun you and read more
May 16, 2018
IAmWastingAir (All reviews)
Spoilers for Steins;Gate anime and Steins;Gate 0 (1-6) ahead....
.
.
.
.
.
.

Some context: Stines;Gate 0 takes place after episode 26 of the original Steins;Gate after Okabe came back from the past for the first time after trying to save Kurisu and failing resulting in her dying. In the first anime Suzuha shows Okabe a video from him in the future, where he tells himself what to do in order to save Kurisu. A great ending btw.

Steins;Gate 0 continues after Okabe failed for the first time (This anime is like the dark stuff that was needed for the perfect ending of Steins;Gate). His read more
Aug 30, 2018
xNoturnall (All reviews)
If you loved the previous Steins Gate then you will also love this one. the story, the deep feelings, the great puzzle that leaves you always hanging to know what will happen next, and the characters whom are important each on his own. I am already hooked.

Steins Gate 0 in my opinion is definitely a must watch. It recaptures the shine that the original has and may even do it better. This anime has a slow start, but picks it up really quick afterwards, making you want to watch episode after episode. The story is as compelling as the original and the characters progression is read more
Aug 24, 2018
MAL_Leon (All reviews)
A very good and enjoyable alternate story of the original Steins Gate story in which we see Okabe Rintarou, our main protagonist, transform into a more sinister and depressed persona of the mad scientist we all grew to love in the original series.

Basically the story of Okabe Rintarou with severe PTSD and trust issues, let's get into the factors of what made this such a good anime...

DISCLAIMER - Minor spoilers ahead but they aren't major. If you're super serious about spoilers, don't read this.

Story (OLD: 9, NOW: 9.5) -
People may hate me on this but the story, although very enjoyable and emotional, really read more
May 17, 2018
AnimeCAC (All reviews)
Dark. Bitter sweet. Tragic. Brilliant. These are the words that leap out in trying to describe this show.

Stein;Gate 0 is (kind of) an alternate ending to original the Steins;Gate. If you are one of the very few who haven't seen the original Steins;Gate, do it. Now. Then watch this series. This review is spoiler free and aimed at those contemplating whether to watch this series.

Seeing the Kyouma persona knocked out of Okabe, and therefore this series - removes much of the lighter feeling that the original had. This doesn't make this show any less engaging. Rather it trades comedy and light hearted moments for a read more
Aug 25, 2018
Princehero100 (All reviews)
Amazing.
Enter Steins;Gate 0. It’s a successor to a beloved franchise, but given the circumstances, Steins;Gate 0 is a work bounded to these expectations more than usual. You see, despite the 0 in the name, Steins;Gate 0 is not a prequel, nor is it a sequel like one would expect. Instead it is a midquel that takes place during the game, near the end of the story… near the end of a work that never really needed any more material.Has Steins;Gate 0 managed to beat the odds, fulfilling expectations that go counter against the nature of the work itself?

The answer to that, is thankfully, a read more
Sep 5, 2018
yMorgoth (All reviews)
''The way I see it, this world exists because of a choice Kurisu made. I must protect that choice. That is this world’s law. In reliving time, I learned one thing… That certain events converge as if orchestrated by God. Trying to change them… it’s challenging God. And God does not tolerate human arrogance. '' Okabe Rintarou

''This vague, ominous feeling… It’s like living in a nightmare where I know all the bad things to come. Where the world enjoys to rub in the guilt of my unspeakeable sin. This inescapable despair... Slowly becomes a downward spiral... '' Okabe Rintarou

Steins;Gate 0 is the bleak reality of read more
Jun 29, 2018
ama_ (All reviews)
Time for one of my newer favorites! Steins;Gate is a show that explores technological breakthroughs and their consequences on a scale that (at least in my opinion) hasn't been explored. From the originality of the characters to the depth of the plot, this show has grown on me incredibly. It's safe to say I'm a firm believer in Steins Gate.

The show is brought to us originally from the visual novel game released in 2009. A manga was adapted by Yomi Sarachi the same year, which we didn't see in America until 2015. White Fox premiered an anime adaptation in 2011, and Funimation licensed it in read more
Sep 3, 2018
yDarkKnight (All reviews)
Simply amazing.

Story - 10
Steins;Gate 0 is Worldline Beta. This is the same Okabe that deleted all the d-mails and fell in love with Kurisu but sadly couldn't save her.
Okabe is depressed and has post-traumatic stress from Worldline Alpha and all his attempts to save both Mayuri and Kurisu. He's no longer the chuunibyou you remember from season 1, keep that in mind. Steins;Gate is the dark story of the Okabe from the future who plans Operation Skuld.

Art - 9
It's cool that the art always focuses on Okabe's depressed expression . The animation is fine. The only failure is the poor animation in action read more
Aug 27, 2018
ShadowTrainer (All reviews)
Keep in mind this is my first review on any anime.

So Steins;Gate 0 is the continuation of episode 23b of Steins;Gate. I personally love Steins;Gate for everything, from the anitmation to the soundtrack. So I wasn't sure if I was happy it got a sequel. But here we are, almost done with S;G 0.

Story - 10
Steins;Gate 0 continues on a world line where Kurisu dies and Mayuri lives. Due to this choice Okabe Rintaro is depressed and trying to find a way trough the dark. The story progresses quite fast compared to S;G, and introduces characters way faster. What makes the story outstanding and exciting read more
Aug 23, 2018
Ryouta_Yuuki (All reviews)
Hello everyone, I have watch this far and am planning to give my first review. How could I say that there’s anything wrong with this anime, this is one of my most favorite and it tells me why anime is great.

So the summary of the story: It is set in 2010 in Akihabara, Tokyo, and follows Rintaro Okabe, a self-proclaimed "mad scientist", who runs the "Future Gadget Laboratory" in an apartment together with his friends Mayuri Shiina and Itaru "Daru" Hashida. While attending a conference about time travel, Okabe finds the dead body of Kurisu Makise, a neuroscience researcher. They then experimented with the read more