Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Steins;Gate 0


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Steins Gate Zero
Japanese: シュタインズ・ゲート ゼロ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2018 to Sep 27, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.641 (scored by 89,762 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #223
Members: 317,272
Favorites: 4,620

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2018
Shirokuza (All reviews)
Time is the whole series when the process, action, or situation is in place or takes place. In this case, the time scale is the interval between two states / events, or it can be the duration of an event.

when we are traveling or sleeping we don't know what happened to the situation out there in other words if we pull out a hair what happens to our head? it doesn't have much effect on us to imagine when a piece of hair gets pulled one by one over a long period of time what happens? of course we will feel the impact of a read more
Sep 26, 2018
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
What happens when the hero fails to save the day and just gives up?
According to Steins;Gate 0, he spirals into a state of complete depression and despair, becoming a shell of his former self.

Steins;Gate 0 is an alternate future where protagonist Okabe Rintarou fails to save Makise Kurisu. It’s sort of a “what if” story that shows what would happen if Okabe gave up on trying to reach the sacred Steins;Gate world line in which everyone is happy and there’s no apocalypse in the near future. To put it bluntly, S;G0 blew me away. It’s been quite a long time since I’ve been so read more
Sep 26, 2018
Zaber_san (All reviews)
"WHERE ARE THE JAPANESE SHAMAN GIRLS LINTAHLO?!!" - Good Boi Leskinen

Back in 2011, we were stunned by the hit-anime named "Steins;Gate" with its unique story-telling of Sci-Fi, which is time-travel in the anime industry. The industry doesn't have many anime that focuses on time-travel conflicts. So far, the only time-travel anime I've watched were Steins;Gate and ERASED, which both made me amused, excited and thrilled on their unique, individual scenes. Now, this Spring 2018, we were hitted by nostalgia with the return of the Steins;Gate franchise although, instead of it having a sequel, we get a "midquel" of the original Steins Gate. Thus, we get read more
Sep 26, 2018
yMorgoth (All reviews)
''The way I see it, this world exists because of a choice Kurisu made. I must protect that choice. That is this world’s law. In reliving time, I learned one thing… That certain events converge as if orchestrated by God. Trying to change them… it’s challenging God. And God does not tolerate human arrogance. '' Okabe Rintaro

''This vague, ominous feeling… It’s like living in a nightmare where I know all the bad things to come. Where the world enjoys to rub in the guilt of my unspeakeable sin. This inescapable despair... Slowly becomes a downward spiral... '' Okabe Rintaro

Steins;Gate 0 is the bleak reality of read more
May 16, 2018
Tibo_Bones (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my second review ever so cut me some slack :p

Steins;gate zero is an alternate ending to the original series we all love steins;gate, in this ending okabe fails to save Kirisu and he gives up all hope of saving her and goes into depression.

Story: As somebody who has played the VN i am happy how the adaptation is turning out, I especially like the psychological scenes. The pacing is also better then the original steins;gate because we don't need to introduce every single character which happened in the original steins;gate (a good 10 episodes or so).

Story: 9

Art: So white fox is at read more
May 16, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Steins Gate 0 is a story about Okabe losing Kurisutina and falling into depression because now his harem is incomplete. Not awesome. With the power of epic deus ex machina writing stuff, person close to Kurisutina puls a random personality capturing device out of her butt and a trip towards harem restoration begins. Awesome.

The writing is a mess. A total clash of random ideas. The amount of different plot elements from asspullery science-save-us-all devices to reading steiner super powers inserted inside slice of life harem settings about.... depression, is absurd. It mainly reminds me of the chaos that Code Geass R2 was. Inb4 who was read more
Sep 26, 2018
BlindSniper (All reviews)
Steins;Gate 0 is a story following "Open the Missing Link" - episode 23B of Steins;Gate.

Characters:

My biggest gripe with the show is that no character delivers anything worth hearing in 20 episodes of the series. Okabe is a one-dimensional depressed person who's only way of exuding emotion is through shocked expressions. Mayuri is nothing but a plot device who clings to Okabe for reasons unknown since she has no character development at all. Her entire reasoning for existence is to love Okabe and that's it.

Kagari is there to exist solely to look like Kurisu and make you feel bad. Nothing else... but she's a cliffhanger for read more
May 16, 2018
ta07 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"the flow of time is an illusion, that the past, present and future are equally real, and that time is tenseless"

Hello readers
there i go presenting the review of probably the best science fiction series world of anime has to offer . They say you can't improve on perfection, yet Steins;Gate 0 does just that. Taking what made the original story so great by awesome characters and a much darker theme makes Steins;Gate 0 the perfect continuation to a story.

"no one know what the future holds, thats why its potential is infinite"

story(probably 10/10)
I love how Steins;Gate 0 embraces the Beta timeline.
As i mention steins gate 0 read more
Sep 26, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
“Theories are nothing more than words, accept what you’ve seen.” — Okabe (Steins;Gate)


Reflecting on one’s past experiences can elicit a host of undesirable thoughts/anxieties that permeate to the surface, causing emotional stress and a feeling of helplessness. The upshot being: the simple act of thinking about said events will not alter the final outcome, making the exercise an unquestionably fruitless one. But in the case of Okabe (where time-travel and reading “steiner” are quite accessible), the ability to improve upon the past is well within the realm of possibilities, allowing for the veritable “happy ending” to occur. This inevitability zaps away a read more
May 16, 2018
KamiKarse (All reviews)
Preliminary
"The universe has a beginning, but no end. —Infinite.
The stars too have beginnings, but their power accompanies their decline. —Finite.
It the wise who are the most foolish. History has taught us as much.
The fish of the sea know not the world of the land. Were they to possess wisdom, they too would experience decline.
It is more absurd that humans should surpass the speed of light than it is that fish should start living on the land.
This can be said to be God's final warning to those who resist."

Oh god, what am I doing? Just please don't prosecute me this is my 3 review (2 because read more
Sep 26, 2018
Xony18 (All reviews)
Many who watched this series have missed the point of it, it isn't like the original, no it wasn't supposed to surpass it like many suspected here. It is here to complete it, you may have not noticed but the original had many things that we had yet to see. This isn't a what if story either, this is the story of Okabe who failed to find Steins Gate, the same one who fell under depression because of it.

I'll start with story, the STORY WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS:

Story obviously is a 10 for me. At some point during the Steins;Gate 0 I truly doubted if this read more
Sep 26, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
There comes a time when fans of a franchise should ask themselves if an established franchise deserves a sequel or not. Let’s face it. Steins;Gate made an impact back in 2011 when it became one of the critically acclaimed adaptations that year. Visuals novels aren’t easy to adapt and in fact, most recent series really proved themselves to be a catastrophe in that territory. Steins;Gate is one of those properties that didn’t really need a sequel although fans have been asking for years. And it’s a bit painful for me to say….but Steins;Gate 0 didn’t truly live up to the name it made for itself.

As read more
Aug 15, 2018
AndrePereira (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, what a train-wreck. 18 episodes in and everything is dull, predictable and badly animated.

This episode contains big reveals which anyone saw coming from at least 5 episodes before, and some from episode 1 itself. The plot is absolutely predictable, the characters cannot connect 2 dots even if they were drawn in a piece of paper, and there is absolutely no tension.
The villains are obvious, their actions are obvious, how they get to know what they know is obvious, what they did was obvious. Characters die but come back to life just long enough to be convenient for the plot. How can they expect to read more
Sep 26, 2018
Remlap1223 (All reviews)
"That day, if my Hikoboshi came back to life, it might have changed everything."

Re-review of Steins;Gate 0 after watching the entire series in chronological order (Steins;Gate episodes 1-22, 23b, 0 episodes 1-23, Steins;Gate episodes 23-25).

This review is coming from a die-hard fan of the original series that has watched the original anime and 100% completed 0's Visual Novel as well. I originally gave the series an 8/10, but after rewatching it I'm bumping it up to a 9/10 due to the fact that I was able to better absorb the story and the series has one of the strongest finishes in all of anime.

Story:

I read more
Sep 26, 2018
Natsuki_Hyundai (All reviews)
Man, my feelings toward this anime- though mostly positive- are extremely complicated, which isn’t helped by the fact that I played the visual novel first. So get your popcorn, cuz this review’s gonna be a while! Also, there will be spoilers regarding the original Steins;Gate in this review, since you’re supposed to have played/watched it first anyway.

Story- 9/10: So first, I need to establish context for this anime since no official description of it helps in that regard. Remember episode 23 of the original series, when Okarin was about to give up on saving Kurisu? Right then and there, he obtained a video D-Mail from read more
Oct 18, 2018
ShiionKoro (All reviews)
****There might be spoilers****

*This review is about Steins;Gate 0, not about the original anime Steins;Gate*

Story

Rarely, I came across an anime like this. For me, it was the perfect anime.
Never have I gotten shivers so often like I did while watching this.
Even though it's just an adaptation of a game - thus this anime gives us one of the most beautiful and at the same time shocking stories I've ever seen in my life. It shows us, that time and space is a thing that no human should ever touch or change, because if done, it'll have horrific consequences.

It is also showing us the beautiful, read more
May 16, 2018
Tomyomy1420 (All reviews)
Preliminary
READ THIS BEFORE STARTING - Everything here written is my original review of the anime, and I still stand by my points and stance of this series and everything I said doesn't have any lesser meaning and can also be applied to many different contexts throughout the anime. I have a mini evaluation at the end which I have wrote after seeing the series, so if you have already seen my review, then feel free to read that.

As of right now, I have only seen 6 episodes of steins;gate, and I will most likely update this review either when the series is over, or my read more
Jul 23, 2018
NyaChan365 (All reviews)
Preliminary
steins;gate game was amazing. steins;gate anime was amazing. steins;gate 0 game was amazing. i see a running trend here UwU. in all seriousness tho, if you watched steins;gate then this is a high recommendation for those that are a fan for the series. for those that aren't aware or watched the first steins;gate watch it first before coming to this. no excuses. just do it and watch it. :3 basically a fan of it so ez 10/10 UwU

edit:

myanimelist.net says

please enter a longer review

Q^Q insert tuturu.mp3 here

insert "but he is a dude" meme here

FB doesnt mean facebook x3
May 16, 2018
Mohammadalmannai (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who played the visual novel, I can say that this is a better version of the game (so far)
I will keep this short. Potential spoiler as of episode 5-6. Do not worry.

This takes place in the Beta world line where Kurisu is dead and cannot be saved (episode 24 does not exist, theoretically). We get to see Okabe going through depression as he loses the woman he loves to protect his childhood friend who he shares precious memories with.

Story-10
This is not a random story, it is hinted in the original (and the VN more vividly) about Kurisu's project in the US, we got read more
Sep 26, 2018
Dream95 (All reviews)
Disclaimer: I will not be comparing this to the VN whatsoever, just the fact that it is a bit different in how it's layed out. It's to be expected though; trying to cram the enormous VN into a 23 episode anime was going to be impossible. Also I expect you to fully know what happened in the original Steins;Gate

****This is a Spoiler Free Review*****

It's finally back. The awe inspiring, sometimes dramatic, sometimes light-hearted, sometimes tear inducing rollercoaster of a series is back to take you on an another journey.
With a continuation of a plot from season 1's "sad ending", the depressing conflicts of Okabe read more