Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rail Wars!


Alternative Titles

English: Rail Wars!
Japanese: RAIL WARS! [レールウォーズ]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2014 to Sep 19, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Lantis, Pony Canyon, TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Passione
Source: Light novel
Genres: Action, Harem, Police, Ecchi
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.451 (scored by 47,515 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #57052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #766
Members: 102,382
Favorites: 169

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 25, 2015
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
(At Studio Passione, a meeting between the director and the animators)

Director: Okay. Thank you for coming on such short notice. I just wanted to discuss some minor changes that I thought would be appropriate.

[Animator A and B both nodded their heads and said, “Okay.”]

Director [smiling]: Great! Okay. Animator A, you are charge of animating most scenes involving Haruka Koumi, right?

Animator A [nodding]: That is correct.

Director: Okay. That’s good. [Glancing at his clipboard.] I noticed that her breast sizes were a size ‘D’. I don’t like it, could you increase it to a size ‘F’?

Animator A [looking shocked]: What? Why? isn’t that a bit too big?

Director: read more
Jul 26, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

What a disgraceful, irredeemable, repulsive piece of trash this anime truly is. This show has thus-far been the most uninspired, lazy, and forgettable pulp I’ve ever had the misfortune of sitting through. Not a single OUNCE of effort was put into this butchering of a somewhat promising and unique concept, and while the show thinks it can distract the audience from its laughable “plot” (if you can even call it that) and its worthless, pathetic, cardboard-cutout characters with absurdly excessive fanservice, they aren’t fooling me. It's unbelievably stupid, it's misogynistic, it's cliche, it's rushed, it's... Y'know what? Let’s just go ahead and delve read more
Sep 20, 2014
earnshaw30 (All reviews)
Right first review so be gentle please though feedback is welcome.

Rail wars...so lets get one thing straight right of the bat this is a HAREM ECCHI anime if you don't like those genres stay the hell away from this show.

so moving on the lead characters are all pretty generic we have Naoto Takayama your typical dense harem lead and his co-workers Aoi Sakurai the typical tsundere heroine who has a particular fondness for guns Koumi Haruka the big breasted gentle character and lastly Shou Iwaizumi who serves as the stupid best friend as well as some other minor harem members.

story....well there wasn't much read more
Oct 19, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

Rail Wars! is one of the worst anime of 2014. The series is about a bland protagonist who works as an employee of the government run railway system. He and his harem of bouncing G cup babes must fight against the evil forces of capitalist extremists that wish to privatize the Japanese Railroads using terrorist tactics. This show is like a soft core porn that was written and directed by Vladimir Lenin while he was high on mushrooms!

Plot and characters: 2/10

Rail Wars takes place in an alternate world where the only major difference seems to be that the Japanese railroads are still owned by read more
Mar 26, 2015
anaract (All reviews)
Rail Wars! is a confusing show. It is an ecchi harem with the primary gimmick being that it supplies the viewer with plenty of train facts.

There is no progression to this story. Although it is a harem, there are only two moments in the series that could be considered "plot development between characters" in which two different girls' announce to the screen that they have feelings for Naoto, our main character. However, while both of these girls may have revealed their feelings (to no one in the story), the only effect this has on the story is the addition of blushing throughout the read more
Sep 21, 2014
Jayko (All reviews)
Rail Wars has much to offer anyone who is interested in the Japanese way of life surrounding Public Transportation Systems and as an added result can provide some history about the industrialization of the country. It is an average anime that is surprisingly entertaining with some flaws of course. Nevertheless here's my review, continue to read and see if this show is for you.

Story: 6/10

From what is clear by the synopsis, one can probably tell they're not going to get an epic or an incredibly heart throbbing romance out of this show. You do however get a satisfying slice-of-life feel from it as read more
Nov 6, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
In reality, trains are actually fascinating inventions with great enterprise and a means of transportation. But put that into anime form under the title ‘Rail Wars’ and you’ll get a pseudo-harem anime where you wonder what this show is really about. Is it really about trains? Sort of. Are the characters completely devoid of interest? Somewhat. Is this show memorable for what ultimately tried to achieve? Hell no.

Based on the light novel of the same name, Rail Wars apparently takes place in some alternate version of Japan. The only difference is that the setting involves a railway system that has yet to be privatized. read more
Oct 3, 2014
404Fox (All reviews)
Not bad. Definitely is unique. I couldn't think of many related titles.

Story
Does not have a plotline that flows through the whole series. Individual arcs. Overall they're average. Arcs are straightforward with no complex side plots or whatever.
Kind of a harem, but not in the way a harem works. If you get over the fact that the protagonist meets a lot of pretty girls, then its not a harem at all.
However, I think it would be great as a romance with an good ending.

Art
Fluid characters, lots of still backgrounds. This is modern animation. It looks good by making the viewer's focus the best part. It read more
Jan 5, 2015
Necris (All reviews)
Warning! following Review is wrote in sarcastic tone, although it quite accurately describes my feelings about that anime.

Rail Wars is yuri anime about, like name suggests, titties. Main heroin, named Takayama Naoto, is a girl, that always wanted to drive trains, so she didn't cared about anything else in her life and her education level stayed in kindergarten. Fortunately she passed high school and got admitted to Japan Rail School, where she met new friends:
Ojou-sama Titties, Police Titties, Boss Titties, Osananajimi Titties and Captain Titties. There was also Iwaizumi Shou, the only male character from main cast.

Unfortunately Naoto was born with powerful titties magnet read more
Oct 5, 2014
xgunawan (All reviews)
Rail Wars! is a series which says would mainly discuss about train. As I thought it's quite interesting to see a series with unique main theme, I took this series. It turned out quite wrong if you want to come and see a train in this series.

As I previously mentioned above, it's a train series. It came with a good premise but deviating plot. The series follows Takayama Naoto, a boy who wants to be a train driver. But, he couldn't do that and instead, he entered as a trainee in the Railways Security Force. There he met some of his harem.

The story is quite read more
Sep 19, 2014
RazorRamona200 (All reviews)
Ok, so another summer anime has just ended, so no more fucking around and just present my ratings for each of this anime's category:

Pathetic 1.

Story- there isn't any, in spite of what its genre states, each of this anime genre applies each one of the characters, also the plot where it's an alternate world where Japan's railway system isn't privatize and was treated by people who would like to privatize it, didn't really fan out, rather this anime's story plot was pretty random to say the least. Also, the title "Rail Wars" was simply too misleading since one would expect that there where two entities read more
Sep 18, 2014
mercury1980 (All reviews)
The title should be called "Oppai Wars".

STORY (2):

The story takes place in a nationalized railway system in Japan that was not privatized. Naoto Takayama and the gang are trained to become securities by doing physical training and learning how to operate trains.

In going to see this anime, I have no expectations because from the first 3 episodes, they show us fanservice like skirt blown by the wind to reveal panties, man accidentally landing on a woman with his hands grabbing her boobs. If I see another of such thing happening, I would snap.

Basically my expectations will be determined by the trailer and the first few read more
Aug 22, 2015
chocolatelaptop (All reviews)
Don't worry, there isn't any spoilers in this review because they require this magical thing called "plot" which the show seems to think is a deadly disease. So how good is Rail Wars? You really should change the question to "how bad is Rail Wars" The answer is very.

Let's start off this shitstorm with characters.
They're non-existent. You have Naoto? Namamoto? Some guy who's name starts with "N" as the main character. He is the definition of "Self Insert". He gets ordered around by Tsundere Girl, has some sort of past with the "Stupid Girl With Big Tits", and has a stupid friend. I'd read more
Nov 15, 2014
RookieLove (All reviews)
When I first saw the name "Rail Wars", I was thinking some futuristic style anime with fighting, action, lasers, cyber space settings, and all that! Luckily I ended up half right. There is fighting, action, and a cyber space animation paired up with the ending theme. But overall, it's an anime about trains and the troubles that come with the job of working with them. No laser shooting, space ship having, mecha fights for my rather active imagination this time around.

Let's jump right in.


STORY:

The story's about following our main character, Takayama Naoto, who wants to be a train driver. He went through a boot camp read more
Oct 12, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Preliminary
DIRTY RAIL WARS REVIEW:

MINDSET:
HAREM. ENOUGH SAID.

SYNOPSIS:
After that holy shift opening, Generic Harem Lead has the natural ability to lead all of the chicks to fall in love in him like some sort Whores Masturbator because of his good heart while its completely bounded by Your ordinary Harem ending, like, why can't it should've been a Hentai in the first place with the whole group banging each other excluding his one male friend? And the reason why this review exists? F**king Holden and its all about trains. Obvious Fact.

REVIEW:
Hearing the word Harem, I pretty much see mass clones of the same thing over and over again, read more
Sep 26, 2014
TDDoHLaL (All reviews)
Ah, Rail Wars.... The trainwreck of this summer!

Okay, sorry, everybody already heard that pun but I just had to use it here. Now that this is out of the way, I think that I should start with my real review.

First of all, I think that I should mention that I'm quite interested in trains, so I actually had high hopes after I heard the title and the premise of this series. Sadly, all my hopes were crushed after the third episode.

Story: 2/10
If I'm really honest, this show is nothing for people who are interested in good stories. It's not even really good for people who read more
Oct 6, 2016
GarlandReese (All reviews)
I've never understood train enthusiasts. But, they're out there. They make models, build functional mini-railways, study the history, even listen to the sounds of classic trains for days gone by. They're an odd but admirable group. I, on the other hand, am an Anime enthusiast. Anime has something for everyone. And with "Rail Wars", they now have a go-to title for the train nuts.

Coming from the relatively obscure studio Passione, "Rail Wars" is a charming little 12-episode series that dives into Japan's rail system, in an alternate universe where they are still nationalized instead of privately run. What starts off as a fairly mundane read more
Nov 17, 2015
Poetul (All reviews)
So...This anime doesn't deserve the hate it gets but in the end everybody has a different tastes in anime.

Story 7/10

There is no singular "plot" line.The "plot" is formed by arcs of stories that follow the adventures of 4 teenagers that want to work at the JNR(Japanese National Railways). We follow them as they struggle with different situations.There is no deeper meaning to the arcs,they just introduce a few characters and help with the development of others characters. The anime itself, being a Comedy/Harem/Ecchi , does a good job balancing the elements present in the anime(not too much from anything).

Art 7/10

read more
Oct 27, 2017
BriefEd (All reviews)
Rail Wars? More like Review Wars, I doubt many would have the same opinions about this trainwreck because it hits a whole bunch of extremes that people tend to have strong opinions about.

Oh I'm not really about to defend this steaming pile of fertilizer, it's an ecchi harem show and that in itself is enough reason to assume it has terrible story and can only gain points from things like comedy.

Okay boys and girls, lets take it from the top!
Story: Bunch of idiots with a train / action / main character fetish, in pursuit of their dreams they summon a magical portal to the realm read more
May 25, 2015
sleepwalker (All reviews)
Rail Wars! A show about trains! Or not.

I found Rail Wars through a gif of a model train running into a woman's breasts. No joke. And if I had to describe Rail Wars, that's the gist of what I would say. Rail Wars is, pun intended, a train wreck, with a ton of boobs (and butt and legs).

Overall: 2

Rail Wars! is bad. The only things decent about the anime is art and sound, and neither are all that great. Characters are just 2D cardboard cutouts. There was no creativity in story. While the short arc formula worked for the anime, it didn't help it. Rail read more