Forum Settings
Forums

'Dragon Ball' Creator Akira Toriyama Dies at 68

New
Mar 7, 10:28 PM
Content Admin
Overkilled Red

Aug 2013
Renowned manga creator Akira Toriyama, best known for his Dragon Ball manga, died on March 1 due to acute subdural hematoma. He was 68. The funeral was held privately by his family.

Born in April 1955 in Nagoya, Toriyama's passion for art began at an early age. After graduating from the Aichi Prefectural Ichinomiya Institute of Technology High School in 1974, he was mostly self-taught as an artist, launching his manga artist career.

Toriyama's breakthrough came with Dr. Slump, his first major manga series, which debuted in 1980. This comedic manga, featuring the misadventures of a quirky inventor and his android creation, showcased Toriyama's distinctive art style and humor, laying the foundation for his later success with Dragon Ball.

In 1984, Toriyama introduced the world to Dragon Ball, a manga series that would go on to become one of the most successful and influential franchises in the history of Japanese pop culture. Set in a fantastical world filled with colorful characters and epic battles, Dragon Ball captured the imagination of audiences around the globe, spawning multiple anime adaptations and becoming a cultural phenomenon.

Toriyama's talents extended beyond manga to character designs for various video games. Notably, he contributed to the Dragon Quest series, Chrono Trigger, and Blue Dragon, helping define the visual identities of these beloved franchises.

Dragon Ball Daima, the latest installment in the Dragon Ball series, is scheduled for a Fall 2024 premiere, with Toriyama credited for the original work, story, and character design. Additionally, his manga Sand Land was adapted into an anime movie last August, with an anime series debuting on March 20.

Source: Oricon News, Nikkei

Pages (4) [1] 2 3 » ... Last »
Mar 7, 10:34 PM

Jan 2009
someone get the dragon balls to revive him