Kurenai no Buta


Porco Rosso

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Porco Rosso
Synonyms: The Scarlet Pig
Japanese: 紅の豚

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 18, 1992
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, MilitaryMilitary, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance
Duration: 1 hr. 33 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 114166114,166 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #906
Members: 181,928
Favorites: 1,378
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 8, 2010
eyerok (All reviews)
"I'd rather be a pig than a fascist"

Miyazaki movies can broadly fall in 2 or 3 categories; some of them are driven by their uncanny and bizarre plot (princess mononoke, spirited away etc). And then there are some where the direction almost completely overshadows the plot-line. Like Totoro, Porco Rosso falls in the latter category. From the opening scene to ending, this movie is all about direction, direction and direction.

The movie, set in the 1930’s, starts on a deserted island which acts as a hideout for the famous war-veteran turned bounty hunter ace pilot known as porco rosso (scarlet pig) who, we soon learn, read more
Mar 22, 2016
stingzy (All reviews)
Listen up kids.

This right here is what you call a good fucking "anime" movie. Yes i know, those exist, right? Way back, millennia ago, before dinosaurs become extinct and before anime movies weren't only a weeabo-loser and pedophilia pander, good movies, heck even stupid movies reigned supreme.

Now you might be asking yourself, hey but this is a Miyazaki flick, doesn't he always have some pre-teen girl as the lead in his movies so that pedophiles from all around the globe can cream their unwashed jeans. Well yes, and actually no, this one is an exception hence why Im writing a review for Porco Rosso and read more
Dec 6, 2013
jal90 (All reviews)
"Porco Rosso" is a striking rarity in the Miyazaki career, and one that will probably require a bigger effort from the fans to understand. It plays with different themes than his other works; for instance, there is not an interest on developing an enviromental message, or at depicting a major conflict involving humanity and nature. The story is closer to the coming-of-age intimism of "Spirited away", "My neighbor Totoro" or -his script- "Whisper of the heart", yet it takes a radically different focus. In fact, if I had to point a similarity among his films, the one that fits better to me is "Lupin III: read more
Nov 15, 2007
Phill-z (All reviews)
Porco Rosso, in my mind it is one of Miyazaki's finest works. It doesn't contain many of the many annoying story points that plague much of his other work.

Story: The Red Pig, or The Scarlet Pig, whichever sub you choose. I found the story quite entertaining, deep on alot of levels. If you want it to be a kid's story, then it's a kid's story that you don't have to think twice about. But if you really look at it, during WWII and the alliances and what exactly Porco Rosso is doing then you really add another layer to read more
Jun 29, 2009
datOneperson (All reviews)
A watchable movie, although nothing really to talk a lot about.

The flight aspect was interesting, but there was a lack of depth in the story. The best thing going for it was the director/directing. The light-heartedness gave the movie a nice calm aspect. Some of the scene/backgrounds were amazing for not real life.

I enjoyed the build up of the "fight" but it ended up disappointing, the movie's ending was also disappointing. They summed up the story or ending in about 10 seconds.
Dec 13, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Often Miyazaki takes his work with a mixture of drama and whimsy, but Porco Rosso is a wonderful look at Miyazaki's funny bone and how the Walt Disney of the anime world can get a few good laughs while still being the same Miyazaki we know and love.

Porco Rosso is the story of a 1930s Italian pilot who is inexplicably also a pig. To further things, this premise, outside of a few intentionally bad puns, is played completely straight. What really surprised and delighted me about the story is how little attention is called to why Porco is a pig, an absolute departure from other read more
Jul 25, 2015
ArianaVS (All reviews)
Porco Rosso is one out of Hayao Miyazaki's (and musically speaking, Joe Hisaishi's) many masterpieces. In Hisaishi's usual fashion, the score masterfully sets the mood of the setting and the characters. Along with the music, the playful sense of humor exhibited in the script and the characters' interactions brought me at ease. In the English dubbed version, Porco Rosso and Fio Piccolo are voiced by Michael Keaton and Kimberly Williams-Paisley, respectively. Both do a great job of portraying Porco's tough and cunning personality and Fio's innocent yet determined nature.
Sep 5, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
Overview
Porco Rosso is a Frog Prince story taken to spectacularly romantic heights. The proverbial frog is in this case an ace pilot of a pig, Marco, who turns his back on fascist 1930`s Italy to be a pirate chasing bounty hunter. The film explores how he came to be the pacifist he is through his pirate hunting adventures and two distinct love stories that he gets involved in. With love portrayed both as the innocent arrow of cupid, and also the evolution of a deep relationship over time, set in pre-WWII Italy, centered around a grandiose imagining of the exotic and heart pounding life style read more
Jul 22, 2012
MustachedNinja (All reviews)
i'll start off by saying that its not an anime i would recommend watching again. i personally liked the action parts of it, but the emotional part of the movie was pretty boring/uneventfull compared to the action. there are those movies that have emotions mixed in with action, well this one keeps them seperate and makes it boring.

other than that everything is exceptional compared to other anime, but as i said, i didn't really like it that much
Nov 25, 2015
GhostOutOfShell (All reviews)
TL;DR version at the end.

Lets talk about pigs, and American, and how those two correlate with each other.

Story (7/10) :
While story of PR is really a simple one, it's about friendship, love, companionship and other usual stuff like that, it's the presentation of story that shines. Whole thing is pieced together to a beautiful, relaxed, funny and even child plot, you will get what I'm talking about from first few minutes when pig is fighting against bad potato nose people. The flow of it feels natural, there are no real pacing problems or dull moment, every time story slows down there is few comedic moments read more
Jun 28, 2020
RudySlavi (All reviews)
Studio Ghibli does not fail to impress me. What a enjoyable movie.

Story - 10/10

The story is very innovative and still manages to keep to its history as we are told that Italy is in fact fascist and has the secret police. The story hooked me from the very start and didn't let go until the end.

Art - 8/10

As always the art and animation in these movies is fantastic. It is very pleasing to the eye to witness the scenery as well as character design.

Sound - 7/10

Sound was good, nice and beautiful music to satisfy the viewers. I really enjoyed the gun noises and the read more
Mar 15, 2013
HoopzBarkley (All reviews)
"Piuttosto che diventare un fascista meglio essere un maiale."
(I'd rather be a pig than a fascist [?])

This was the sentance that made me think that Porco Rosso is the best animated movie i've ever seen so far.

In a nutshell, the story of Porco Rosso is about Marco Pagot, a hydroplane pilot who was transformed by a mysterious spell into a manlike, anthropomorphous pig, and for this reason he is known as Porco Rosso.
And I'll just say this, because the less you know of the movie and the more beautiful it will be when you see it, if you decide to do.

And now, time for read more
Jan 14, 2013
Abs0 (All reviews)
art: All the women look the same. As in they all have the same face. This is a problem shared by all Miyazaki films and not just this one. At least Porco Rosso has a unique face. The art isn't very detailed, and the characters have only 1 level of shading (base color + a light shadow). So it's quite a simplistic art design, so I expected good animation.

Animation: I didn't go through this movie frame by frame but the airplane movements were pretty smooth. The choppiness was not noticeable except for a few scenes. However I didn't notice any particularly fluid scenes either, read more
Apr 27, 2015
LordRaditz (All reviews)
Right off the bat, Hayao Miyazaki is amazing. And of all the amazing films he has done, this one is among the best.

As most Studio Ghibli films are, the art is good. It felt like a cartoon still, which I like in an anime, if it's too realistic the enjoyment level goes way down.

It had a story that made me wonder why it hasn't got a manga tie-in. Also it had scenes of much excitement and beauty.

Overall, it's a Miyazaki masterpiece worthy of a manga tie-in. It contained humour, excitement and action.

An anime worth watching. If you haven't seen it buy it online read more
Mar 27, 2019
Assthete (All reviews)
One of my favorite emotional reactions is that of smiling all the way through something only to then feel a hole in my chest. Alongside Chihiro, this is perhaps Miyazaki's most bittersweet title, but unlike the former, there is no danger in Porco Rosso. It's wholly lighthearted and whimsical, and yet manages to touch hearts, evoking unexpected melancholy and with a final sequence capable of devastating most viewers. Marco himself is such a lovable pig and protagonist he causes instant longing once credits roll. Much like when I remember old folks who used to hang around, never for long, it's only happy memories that arise. read more
Dec 29, 2019
ramenobsessed (All reviews)
Porco Roso or Kurenai no Buta was a masterpiece. It was a beautiful story of a pig on a journey to finding his humanity and his will for being. With the help of an unlikely ally and an enemy American pilot, Marco the pig faces his true self and his past.

I loved the metaphors of the planes and Miyazaki's critique of war and human nature that is seen in many of his works. Aren't we all pigs in the end?

With beautiful artwork that Miyazaki is known for and music that lights the heart, I recommend this movie for all!

Dec 20, 2019
11chadwick (All reviews)
Porco Rosso is obsessed with nostalgia. Half of the character interactions involve someone reminiscing about the good old days. This can be annoying and there's not much else other than nostalgia. The comic relief pirates, which are very similar to the ones from Castle in the Sky, are the best part of this movie after all the flight animation. Miyazaki is great at animating flight. There are several really exciting dog fights and the old seaplane design makes them more exciting. There are lot of visible moving parts on seaplanes and the sound effects are slightly goofy to give all the planes a fun feeling. read more
Mar 6, 2012
IppoSRB (All reviews)
Porco Rosso is one of my all-time favorites, when it comes to anime movies, and especially when it comes to studio Ghibli works.

I'm a big fan of Miyazaki, and I've pretty much enjoyed every one of his works, from Totoro to Mononoke hime.

But this, unlike most of his works, this movie doesn't share a message about environment and humans trying to destroy it. Hence, this movie focuses on a young man, who became a pig, after certain events(something like prince Ashitaka from Mononoke).

I loved this story mostly because it's somewhat realistic, and the story doesn't fade away into fantasy that much.

This movie was like a read more
Jan 23, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
A film by Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli, Porco Rosso is a story set in the 1930’s not long after World War I. Its setting is focused in the “Adriatic Sea,” which is presumably the Mediterranean Sea based on the current events of the release time, the conflict in Yugoslavia and Eastern Europe.

The story is about Marco Rosso, and due to certain circumstances is a pig. Rosso is a former Italian fighter pilot and retired to a small island in the Adriatic Sea as a bounty hunter. The pirates in the area and Rosso during their off time spend it on a small resort island read more
Jul 31, 2020
ilovelolicons (All reviews)
People have written great reviews here so I will not to do that but I want to clarify something about the movie ending. Its not a bittersweet ending at all, infact it is a happy ending if the viewer pays enough attention. Some of you might know about this and some might not.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Before in the movie [49:32] you can clearly see that Gina is sitting in the garden waiting for Marco to come and confess to her. She waits everyday there for Marco. Now at the ending Marco realizes that Gina loves her but we don't see Marco confessing to her, Miyazaki-sensei left that read more