Sarazanmai

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sarazanmai
Japanese: さらざんまい

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2019 to Jun 21, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: MAPPA, Lapin Track
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, SupernaturalSupernatural, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 3018830,188 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #13732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1444
Members: 86,703
Favorites: 1,001
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 2, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
What the hell? How is the anime community not praising this anime as much as it deserves to be praised? This may literally be the single most well thought out, most original and visually impactful show of this entire year and it's getting no attention!

I'm not a biased Ikuhara fan boy; I rated Revolutionary Girl Utena a 7/10 and Mawaru Penguindrum has been sitting on my plan to watch for years, I honestly had no clue what I was going to get myself into with this anime but oh boy am I glad that I started watching this!

The story is indescribable. It's bizarre and hilarious read more
Jun 20, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Sarazanmai is Kunihiko Ikuhara’s first director project since 2015. It’s been four years since we were graced by his body of creativity. This man is no doubt a legend. Whether you enjoy his style of creative content or not, he has been involved with outstanding anime that people still talk about today. These include the iconic Sailor Moon, the infamous Revolutionary Girl Utena, and one of the most bizarre shows of the past decade, Mawaru Penguindrum. Yuri Kuma Arashi may have been one of his lesser known projects but to make a comeback with this show called Sarazanmai is a feat of itself. Be prepared read more
May 2, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Amazon’s working conditions continue to surprise me. Sure, wristbands that track your every move are alarming enough. But(t) naked men wearing boxes on their heads and shoving marbles up their asses — truly astonishing. Although, is it?

Dude cross-dresses in female clothing. Naked frog shenanigans. Anal juice spritzing everywhere. And two cops performing a striptease. But for once, it’s not because of a Lady Gaga music video. No. This absurdity is the handy work of MAPPA studios. The same people who brought you edge-lords galore in “Kakegurui” and THE LEGENDARY TAE YAMADA in “Zombieland Saga.” read more
Jun 20, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Sarazanmai is a prime example of a show that falls under style-over-substance, and those who are aware of the industry's state should already know that this field of anime hasn't exactly been very praise-worthy in the recent years. This is.... an addition to the overall selection we have. Not much more since its substance is so lacking that it lessens the impact of its style + those who know the director won't see anything new. Moreover, it recycles animation and entire scenes to such extent that it becomes partially skip-worthy. The repetition level is extreme, especially during the first half of the show.

If we look read more
May 2, 2019
PapaJoan (All reviews)
Preliminary
ALL ABOARD THE IKUHARA HYPETRAIN!!

Sara!! Sara!! Sara!!

SARAZANMAI!!!

Before you read the review you should know you do not have to watch other Ikuhara anime before this one. It is his shortest anime (11 episodes) and it is filled with good writing even though he mostly has made long shows (39 and 24 episodes) Sarazanmai is the most underrated show this season generating a low 7 MAL score when it should be a high 8. It is full of interesting symbolism, gorgeous animation, hilarious comedy, and the most intense anal action we have seen in an anime thats not weird fetish hentai.

Story: 10/10
Three kids turn into read more
May 2, 2019
AstralBread (All reviews)
Preliminary
I need to start with a lengthy quote from Richard Feynman:
“In the South Seas there is a cargo cult of people. During the war they saw airplanes land with lots of good materials, and they want the same thing to happen now. So they've arranged to imitate things like runways, to put fires along the sides of the runways, to make a wooden hut for a man to sit in, with two wooden pieces on his head like headphones and bars of bamboo sticking out like antennas—he's the controller—and they wait for the airplanes to land. They're doing everything right. The form is perfect. It read more
Jun 20, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“I want to connect, but I want to lie.”

Sarazanmai presents two sides of the same coin. On one side, we have desires; the sense of longing and hoping for a certain outcome. Often considered an innate part of our humanity, they can also be attributed with the darker aspects of one’s personality. They’re the deep secrets we hold to ourselves, not wanting the world around us to know about, and dreading the thought of if they were found out. But as much as the show focuses on desires, it’s just as focused on connection. The world is comprised of all kinds of connections, whether by read more
Jun 20, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
“Jesus Butt-fucking Christ, what the hell is this?!”

Art… kero.

It’s no secret that Kunihiko Ikuhara is one of the most out-there anime directors, conjuring up several queer-focused, high-concept mystery box anime on whatever themes he feels like exploring. This fact has only become more apparent over time as Sarazanmai becomes his third anime in a row this decade to focus on this type of narrative. In 2011, Mawaru Penguindrum focused on themes of changing one’s fate, with a compelling cast of characters and marvelous setpieces across a tight, binge-worthy 24-episode plot. Yuri Kuma Arashi came 4 years later, focused on love, lesbian relationships, and desire over read more
May 3, 2019
fullmoon101 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"This world is filled with connections. Connections of blood, connections of the city, connections of desires...everyone is connected in this world. But, those connections can be easily lost. I know that better than anyone."

Firstly, this anime can be very unexpected to anyone who starts watching it thinking it'll just be some standard cute-boys-doing-plain-things series. It has a very wild, exaggerated, off-the-wall type of vibe filled with weirdness. The director of this series is Ikuhara Kunihiko, who has a legacy of creating anime that can strike some as very bizarre, and it's a style that you either enjoy because of the great energy and entertaining confusion read more
Jun 20, 2019
SingleH (All reviews)
Where I typically talk about anime, this opinion is something which is a great source of shame for me and quite controversial, but here on MAL and other mainstream anime forums I feel quite at home saying I don’t personally care for Kunihiko Ikuhara. Do I think he’s a Satoshi Kon tier visionary genius? Yeah, who wouldn’t think so? But do I personally like his storytelling and find his direction entertaining? No, unfortunately I don’t. I think it’s really forced and heavy-handed, and I hate how esoteric his shows become because of this. Revolutionary Girl Utena is a show about simple human chemistry, but when read more
Jun 20, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Connections. Bonds. From hopes and dreams, leading to desires and indulgence.
For the people we love and care for, time past, present and future. We all have them. But what happens when that "Dish of Hope" that we oh-so want to claim becomes a hindrance to others who want them too to fulfill their ambitions, and what's up with the secrets becoming public? Ultimately, what happens to that connection that we long for the most?

This season, famed director Kunihiro Ikuhara and his production team from Utena and Penguindrum introduces this series to us: Sarazanmai, not just a story about the generational war between the Otters and read more
Jun 20, 2019
Mythologically (All reviews)
Preliminary
Right, I know that a preliminary review is pointless now that the show has finished airing, but all the positive reviews are getting on my nerves. Sarazanmai is a lazily animated, unfunny show about scat jokes that pretends to be deep. It's a complete disgrace to the whole medium of anime.

It's honestly puzzling for me to write a review of this trash because there's simply nothing here. The show effectively consists of two things only: scat humor and random unrelated events. The former is unfunny and quite frankly, disgusting. The latter is faux-intellectual rubbish that a fan of Tenshi no Tamago would claim is read more
May 2, 2019
VLONO (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not sure what I should say about the show... I mean the animation is good and the sound fits also to the situation, but the negative aspects' preponderance.

However, the main issue of this show is that the story neither deep nor a message behind the story. I mean all the main characters have different problems in their live, and they're aiming for solving them. During the show you see how they work with their lives. But there is one Problem: the story of their life adds nothing really important to the progress of the show.

Speaking about deep. The attempt of this show for read more
Jun 20, 2019
Bunille (All reviews)
Imagine an anime just like the premise of Persona 5 by altering desires, but instead of stealing people's hearts you steal people's anal virginity.
And if that doesn't sound weird enough to you, then I guess you'd enjoy it.

This is some borderline-hentai super gay fanservice right here involving magical frog shotas, especially in the first few episodes, and I had no clue whether to like it or not at the beginning. It's definitely not everyone's cup of tea, but as I continued to watch the anime it gladly went somewhere, yet it was still so mediocre.

Just so people know, I've seen a couple of episodes of read more
Jun 20, 2019
Xnovazero (All reviews)
"I want to connect, but imperfect." - Me

Connection is meaning of human's strong power for me. It's changing things depending on how you look at it. What is your most important existence? Three boys. Kazuki, Enta, Toi have them. However, they can't connect for each certain reason. In other words, light and darkness are crossing infinitely. Past and future is connected though, they can't escape from them. Such a timeless everyday. But they have to change everything someday...

One day, Kazuki and his group are told to beat Zombies from Keppi. He is mysterious Kappa. They cooperate for one thing and another as directed by him. read more
May 6, 2019
PetersonVsZizek (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why Sarazanmai's the best show since One Punchman 1st season?

It has been a very undervalued anime, cause it's dazzling accelerated, never giving you time to think, the symbolism of the events start to mixing up and, because of that, it's logycal meaning is lost.

Even so, this is the best show for me, or, maybe, because of that.

It's strange how language and art operate. In Sarazanmai, the symbolism lost it's meaning in the viewer consciousness, but still has meaning, and even more impact, in the unconscious.
The "point" about the show is rhythm. All scenes works well and perfectly one with another, even the excessive repetition, with read more
May 27, 2019
katietranners (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to write a review for this anime because it is one of my faves for this season and it seems its greatly unappreciated. despite being extremely humorous, this anime hits serious themes that may be hard to see at first for some. I overall enjoy the fact that this is not just a happy-go lucky type of anime, but actually delves deeper into people's emotions. The main theme of the anime is human desire, which can be relatable to all viewers which also makes this anime just as appealing. I feel many people have been overlooking the anime du to its lack of read more
Oct 6, 2019
lmaono (All reviews)
Im going to be honest for at least 10.5 episodes I did not have the slightest clue as to what was going on, but I never clicked off because the animation and soundtrack is honestly one of the greatest ever. It's also incredibly funny and gripping, I was enjoying the show but I had no idea what all of it meant. However at the finale, the absolute end, somehow I sat there my heart knowing exactly what all of it meant as cheesy as that sounds, and im not talking romantically, my brain was still confused but my heart was nodding because it understood somehow?? read more
May 15, 2019
Endrance88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime was very promising after the first episode, but unfortunately, it fell into that trap of becoming somewhat a kids show with a repetitive formula every episode.

I mean, come on, i liked milk chan, but even that got boring after episode 6 when the landlord came over... AGAIN.

But I digress, the story and the whacky antics are very interesting at first, BUT ONLY AT FIRST. They really don't throw much into the mix later on and i don't see them continuing to do so.

let's talk about the police officer couple... Are they necessary? Are they even part of the story?

See the problem read more
May 4, 2019
Draco_the_Dragon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since only 4 episodes have been released I can't say much about it yet other than the fact that this anime is ridiculous but may end up being really great.

Music: 9/10
The opening and ending are really beautiful and catchy too. The ending theme is performed by "the peggies" who also did the Bunny Girl Senpai opening theme.

Art: 9/10
By "art" I consider animation as well and this series had animation that reminds me of Kill la Kill (i.e hyperbolized, flashy and over the top) so it really fits the seemingly ridiculous stuff that happens in the show.

I said seemingly ridiculous because most of these things aren't read more