Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sarazanmai


Alternative Titles

Japanese: さらざんまい

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2019 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA, Lapin Track
Source: Original
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.241 (scored by 6,242 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1926
Members: 43,719
Favorites: 152

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 2, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
What the hell? How is the anime community not praising this anime as much as it deserves to be praised? This may literally be the single most well thought out, most original and visually impactful show of this entire year and it's getting no attention!

I'm not a biased Ikuhara fan boy; I rated Revolutionary Girl Utena a 7/10 and Mawaru Penguindrum has been sitting on my plan to watch for years, I honestly had no clue what I was going to get myself into with this anime but oh boy am I glad that I started watching this!

The story is indescribable. It's bizarre and hilarious read more
May 2, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Amazon’s working conditions continue to surprise me. Sure, wristbands that track your every move are alarming enough. But(t) naked men wearing boxes on their heads and shoving marbles up their asses — truly astonishing. Although, is it?

Dude cross-dresses in female clothing. Naked frog shenanigans. Anal juice spritzing everywhere. And two cops performing a striptease. But for once, it’s not because of a Lady Gaga music video. No. This absurdity is the handy work of MAPPA studios. The same people who brought you edge-lords galore in “Kakegurui” and THE LEGENDARY TAE YAMADA in “Zombieland Saga.” read more
May 2, 2019
PapaJoan (All reviews)
ALL ABOARD THE IKUHARA HYPETRAIN!!

Sara!! Sara!! Sara!!

SARAZANMAI!!!

Before you read the review you should know you do not have to watch other Ikuhara anime before this one. It is his shortest anime (11 episodes) and it is filled with good writing even though he mostly has made long shows (39 and 24 episodes) Sarazanmai is the most underrated show this season generating a low 7 MAL score when it should be a high 8. It is full of interesting symbolism, gorgeous animation, hilarious comedy, and the most intense anal action we have seen in an anime thats not weird fetish hentai.

Story: 10/10
Three kids turn into read more
May 2, 2019
AstralBread (All reviews)
I need to start with a lengthy quote from Richard Feynman:
“In the South Seas there is a cargo cult of people. During the war they saw airplanes land with lots of good materials, and they want the same thing to happen now. So they've arranged to imitate things like runways, to put fires along the sides of the runways, to make a wooden hut for a man to sit in, with two wooden pieces on his head like headphones and bars of bamboo sticking out like antennas—he's the controller—and they wait for the airplanes to land. They're doing everything right. The form is perfect. It read more
May 3, 2019
eagleye217 (All reviews)
"This world is filled with connections. Connections of blood, connections of the city, connections of desires...everyone is connected in this world. But, those connections can be easily lost. I know that better than anyone."

Firstly, this anime can be very unexpected to anyone who starts watching it thinking it'll just be some standard cute-boys-doing-plain-things series. It has a very wild, exaggerated, off-the-wall type of vibe filled with weirdness. The director of this series is Ikuhara Kunihiko, who has a legacy of creating anime that can strike some as very bizarre, and it's a style that you either enjoy because of the great energy and entertaining confusion read more
May 3, 2019
Docinko (All reviews)
Sorry for my bad English in advance!
I don't like writing reviews, but I will have to write one about this show, because I am absolutely fascinated by it!

Sarazanmai is an anime that deserves more popularity, because it is awesome.

The anime tells a simple story about human desires, which is something we can all relate to. But instead of being some weird fetish harem, Sarazanmai mixes japanese mythology with the weird ideas of Ikuhara Kunihiko (the director of the series). On the surface you have three very simple characters: the edgy type, that gives zero fucks (Toi) , the carrying guy who does everything for his read more
May 2, 2019
VLONO (All reviews)
I'm not sure what I should say about the show... I mean the animation is good and the sound fits also to the situation, but the negative aspects' preponderance.

However, the main issue of this show is that the story neither deep nor a message behind the story. I mean all the main characters have different problems in their live, and they're aiming for solving them. During the show you see how they work with their lives. But there is one Problem: the story of their life adds nothing really important to the progress of the show.

Speaking about deep. The attempt of this show for read more
May 4, 2019
Draco_the_Dragon (All reviews)
Since only 4 episodes have been released I can't say much about it yet other than the fact that this anime is ridiculous but may end up being really great.

Music: 9/10
The opening and ending are really beautiful and catchy too. The ending theme is performed by "the peggies" who also did the Bunny Girl Senpai opening theme.

Art: 9/10
By "art" I consider animation as well and this series had animation that reminds me of Kill la Kill (i.e hyperbolized, flashy and over the top) so it really fits the seemingly ridiculous stuff that happens in the show.

I said seemingly ridiculous because most of these things aren't read more
May 6, 2019
PetersonVsZizek (All reviews)
Why Sarazanmai's the best show since One Punchman 1st season?

It has been a very undervalued anime, cause it's dazzling accelerated, never giving you time to think, the symbolism of the events start to mixing up and, because of that, it's logycal meaning is lost.

Even so, this is the best show for me, or, maybe, because of that.

It's strange how language and art operate. In Sarazanmai, the symbolism lost it's meaning in the viewer consciousness, but still has meaning, and even more impact, in the unconscious.
The "point" about the show is rhythm. All scenes works well and perfectly one with another, even the excessive repetition, with read more
May 15, 2019
Endrance88 (All reviews)
This anime was very promising after the first episode, but unfortunately, it fell into that trap of becoming somewhat a kids show with a repetitive formula every episode.

I mean, come on, i liked milk chan, but even that got boring after episode 6 when the landlord came over... AGAIN.

But I digress, the story and the whacky antics are very interesting at first, BUT ONLY AT FIRST. They really don't throw much into the mix later on and i don't see them continuing to do so.

let's talk about the police officer couple... Are they necessary? Are they even part of the story?

See the problem read more