Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsukimonogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Tsukimonogatari
Synonyms: Tsukimonogatari: Yotsugi Doll, Monogatari Final Season
Japanese: 憑物語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 31, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.191 (scored by 123,453 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #422
Members: 222,445
Favorites: 644

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 31, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
What a way to cap off the year of 2014. Tsukimonogatari may be only 4 episodes but these captures the point of the series quite well. In retrospect, we get Araragi with his presence in this show that is well felt in the beginning. To top things off, these four episodes captures the very essence of what the Monogatari franchise should be. Produced with Shaft at the steering wheel and a mission to adapt the novel, Tsukimonogatari is quite something that ought to be remembered.

Of course, any fan familiar with the Monogatari franchise should know its unorthodox style. Tsukimonogatari is no different despite being just read more
Dec 31, 2014
moodie (All reviews)
Wow coming into Tsukimonogatari i knew i was gonna get a different vibe from Hana from the start. The reason i liked tsuki more than hana is because hana seemed liked a conclusion and conclusions aren't really "fun" per say, they are just to wrap everything up. With Tsuki we are getting more plot progression and ALOT of foreshadowing. Honestly for those who don't know even the littlest hints of spoilers these foreshadowing will go over your head. When Oshino Ouji states that "the more u lose the more you mature" it just gave me chills cuz after seeing hana (which is the last part read more
Sep 6, 2015
bolito566 (All reviews)
After spending alot of time without touching the 'monogatari' suffix, I decided it was time to get my daily dose of insanity by watching Tsukimonogatari. It was kind of a good decision, I guess.

I'll start with the bad points.

Tuskimonogatari (and probably the entire franchise, if that's the right word) has a problem with keeping the viewer's attention, I've come to acknowledge. This is something I've talked to my friends about, and they all share the same problem that is getting lost in the middle of the dialogue only to rewind so they don't miss any important information. It is like this because the pace read more
Dec 31, 2014
emberreviews (All reviews)
Much like with western entertainment, there are certain TV series and movies that stand out not just as promising installments of new or existing franchises, but also as popular events that a large portion of the community with wait in massive anticipation for. In the world of anime, the "events" that captures the most attention are new additions to the Monogatari series, an anime that began back in 2009 and is continuously pumping out sequels to this day. However, during the past year, the formula for how new entries into this franchise are premiered has read more
Jan 14, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

"To err is human" is a famous proverb that helps to explain the mistakes that people often make. It's only natural that, as humans, we trip up, we cause trouble, and we otherwise make life more difficult for ourselves and those around us. Making mistakes is common, but is only one facet to what makes us human. Personalities, actions, ideas, thoughts, emotions, understanding; these and many more complex areas form the basis for what it means to not only be considered a person but to also reveal just what being human actually entails. And for Tsukimonogatari, this delving read more
Jan 29, 2015
MinnaDess (All reviews)
Ill just make a simple, subtle and sweet review for Tsukimonogatari.
For those who wanna watch 4 episodes special, please watch all the previously made monogatari series first..or else you will very confused.

The events for tsukimonogatari takes place between the ending for Monogatari series season 2 and another 4 episodes special, Hanamonogatari. For this arc, it will centre around the cute yet emotionless and monotone girl, ononoki. During this post-climax arc, Araragi slowly adapts to his old lifestyle once again and starts going for a new beginning in his life with a new twist i guess. Inside this arc, you will see that brilliant animation sequence read more
Dec 31, 2014
MotherOfUltra (All reviews)
"This is the story of the beginning of my end."
-Araragi Koyomi

Prequel Story: Kizumonogatari
First Story: Bakemonogatari
Second Story: Nisemonogatari
Third Story: Nekomonogatari Kuro
Fourth Story: Nekomonogatari Shiro
Fifth Story: Kabukimonogatari
Sixth Story: Otorimonogatari
Seventh Story: Onimonogatari
Eight Story: Koimonogatari
Ninth Story: Hanamonogatari

And, finally, the grand tenth story being tsukimonogatari, nisioisin and shaft has proven us two great things.

One, this story is, for the lack of a better term, a gift from God to the anime world.
Two, Shinbo should reeeeeeaaaaallly get working on kizumonogatari any time soon.

After six years, 15 arcs, 65 episodes and about 1,300 minutes of showtime, monogatari series anime adaptation project is nearly its end.
So when I heard that the monogatari series read more
Aug 7, 2016
Artrill (All reviews)
(8.5/10)

With the beginning of its third season, Monogatari takes on the task of giving a lot of the lesser known characters more... character.

With this one, we see the return of our favorite deadpan Loli, Ononoki and her minion Kagenui. Overall, I was pleased to see them get spotlighted in this challenging and entertaining episode.

__________________________________________

Story: 7


This episode started in a very jarring way, more specifically, it started more like a Nise/Bake episode, rather than a Season 2 episode. For one, we saw gratuitous fanservice once again.

In my Season two review i talked about how the fanservice has been completely left on the curb. read more
Apr 26, 2019
Falco2424 (All reviews)
Tsukimonogatari is the doll arc of the Monogatari Series that once again features Koyomi Araragi, but revolves around Yotsugi Ononoki and Yozuru Kagenui. As with every arc, Tsukimonogatari builds these two characters masterfully.

I should mention that if you believe any amount of incest is too much incest; first of all, how did you make it this far? But, secondly, this is beyond that. The first episode is basically incestmonogatari, and it’s weird because it doesn’t do much for the story this time. Just a passing thought.

Yotsugi Ononoki is perhaps the most unrelatable character in the series, and it is obvious now that it read more
Feb 2, 2015
MonHun99 (All reviews)
The anime is very colourful and the colours are vibrant.
The characters have good character development and the characters are interesting.
However, Shinobu did not have enough screen time which makes me sad.
My favourite seen has to been the Arcade Scene because it was funny.
Other people might say the shower scene was the best as it was Ecchi.
The music was very good as it was very well played.
I don't like the fact that the entire show was played out at once like one movie.
Overall, I give Tsukimonogatari a 9.69/10! (Which rounds up to 10/10)
Apr 21, 2019
WeebFan (All reviews)
Ok, as someone who has literally no idea what the monogatari series is, I came into this not really realising a branch of a larger story of some sort, it took me about five minutes or so to actually really realise this. Despite that, I will still base this review on the context of this alone.

That aside, I could buy into the pervious relationships of each of the characters without having any prior experiences, a good indication of adequate writing. The pacing on the other hand was a little jarring, I assume a majority of the series is similar? for long time viewers read more
Nov 29, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
I was a bit disappointed with Hanamonogatari so I thought long and hard (Yea, Yea..long and hard..so funny..hurr durr) on whether I should watch the next Monogatari series or not which was Tsukimonogatari. I'm pleased to say that Tsuki did not disappoint.

(There will be SPOILERS in my review)

[Story]: (8.5/10) (SPOILERS)
Tsukimonogatari is a sequel to Hanamonogatari but it does not take place after Hana. Tsuki chronologically takes place during the events of Monogatari Series: Second Season. Something weird is going on with Koyomi's body and he must find out why this is happening.

After watching Hanamonogatari, I didn't have it in me to watch Tsukimonogatari because read more
Apr 3, 2018
godofmankind (All reviews)
*THE RATINGS FOR THIS ARE SPECIFIC TO THE PART, BUT THE REVIEW IS FOR THE OVERALL SERIES*

[STORY: 10/10]
The Monogatiri series comes together well to create a masterpiece of a story. This show is much deeper than alot of people think. It is filled to the brim with philosophical arguments and great storytelling. The focus isn't mainly on action, though it does have some visually stunning action scenes. Alot of the time, it will just be conversations between characters, but this is the blood that keeps this series alive and flourishing. Without it, you'd have a normal show with above average production. This type of show read more
Jun 23, 2016
carnage_panda (All reviews)
I have mixed feelings about this show.

It starts with a bait and switch. The first few minutes, or episode is typically used to make promises to the viewer about what the show is going to be about. Here we're told it's supposed about to be Yotsugi Ononoki, but she isn't really relevant to the narrative until the last 30 minutes. Just to put that into perspective, the show runs for about 95 minutes excluding the opening and credits. So she has about 1/3 of the time in this show.

This is compounded by the first 20 minutes being used up to continue Araragi's incestuous relationship with read more
Mar 28, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Tsukimonogatari - 8/10

Tsukimonogatari is a sequel of Hanamonogatari, even though it takes place before it chronologically.
This one is a lot more typical Monogatari than Hana, but it's all presented in such a way that aside from the pseudo-psychological dialogue and all that stuff, the normal dialogue between the characters shows you just how much did they change, and how much they were forced to change, for example Araragi through not being able to use his Vampire abilities anymore.
The art is kinda...cheaper i guess? Can't judge until we get that sweet Blu-Ray edit like usual.
The story kinda fails to focus on Yotsugi, even though it's read more
May 17, 2019
WeeabooHunter101 (All reviews)
Overall, this was a good series. Trying to avoid spoilers, I like the idea of the line between monster and humanity being blurred and the actions that need to be taken to preserve that line. It works especially well considering all of the previous story arcs.

Art style was consistently memorizing, a hallmark of the Monogatari series. About the same levels of ecchi fanservice as before. I feel like both are needed to keep the show interesting since it is essentially a series of long monologues or dialogues. Tsukimonogatari again achieves the right balance to make things interesting.

I watched it on Crunchyroll and am a little read more
Jun 15, 2016
Apdo1 (All reviews)
Now you might think that I am overrating this particular "monogatari" with a prefix of "tsuki" that states the premise of the story of what this "monogatari" (monogatari means story) will be about in the anime. Well because this anime, or to be as condescending as possible, "THIS FUCKING JAPANESE CARTOON!" is a mix of the uses of art, animation, a big references of literature work collections, logic (fallacy of red herring, valid argument etc. that was mentioned in the anime) and philosophy (human nature, chinese philsopher on the idea of human is good in nature or bad etc.) and so forth. But ofc, dont read more
Jan 2, 2017
kassnicxo (All reviews)
Im not sure if im watching this series out of order or not, but with that said I think I was still able to grab the pretense of this one being that aside from the basic theme of the series, it sort of did its own thing.

The story about a young half vampire being turned full vampire and must do what he can to protect his humanity by relying on other apperations to save his sisters and junior class man was an interesting turn for this series. I did rather enjoy it, and I did also enjoy seeing Yotsugi Doll develop as a character.

As read more