Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Baccano!


Alternative Titles

English: Baccano!
Japanese: バッカーノ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 27, 2007 to Nov 2, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:30 (JST)
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 208,170 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #81
Members: 445,062
Favorites: 17,097

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 18, 2008
TheCriticsClub (All reviews)
Every so often an anime comes along that isn't afraid to challenge the conventions by which a story is told. Too often, despite being noteworthy or groundbreaking, these shows can fail due to poor animation, lackluster characters, or a marked failure in plot development. In other words, they get so caught up in being unconventional that they sacrifice the other, more important aspects.

Thankfully, Baccano! is not one of those.

Animation

Baccano! maintains a very high standard of animation throughout its entirety. Brains Base made good use of color to heighten the effect of the more dramatic moments in the show. The animation quality is particularly noteworthy considering read more
Jun 11, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
Throughout my childhood, I wasn't really much into movies or the whole moving picture theater idea when I was young. I was more into video games and playing outside. All that changed when i watched a certain movie called Reservoir Dogs. At first, I was only into it simply because of the blood and violence. But further throughout my multiple viewings, I realized that the story and acting was also a big part of my fascination to this particular film. Then a few years after that another movie created by the same person came out called Pulp Fiction. This was done in the same read more
Jun 1, 2015
Beobachter (All reviews)
Baccano! has a great reputation among many American fans, who lauded its boundless energy, larger than life characters, and unconventional narrative style. As I eventually watched it, I discovered that Baccano! indeed has all that stuff and could understand why so many people love it. And yet, curiously enough it never ascended beyond a mildly entertaining show for me.

The feature often mentioned first in regards of this show is its non-linear narrative, so let’s address that accordingly. I don’t find it significantly confusing, for one; while certainly disorienting at first, Baccano! is pretty easy to follow once you’ve focused on these key questions: (1) read more
Jul 23, 2011
Uriel1988 (All reviews)
Baccano! is a series with a huge fanbase who see in it as a wonderful ensemble of colorful characters, complex web of interwoven plots and wonderfully jazzy soundtrack.

If nothing else, they’re right about that last part.

To the series’ credit. It’s certainly ambitious and refreshing. A story taking place in America during the Prohibition Era and juggling the stories of around a dozen different characters spread across no less than 3 separate time periods, spiced up with alchemy, magic, urban legends and immortal gangsters. Definitely something you don’t see every day.

Ultimately though, the greatest concept still needs to stellar execution to really shine. It read more
Jan 18, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Baccano!

Novel, Manga, Anime: Baccano! was originally a light novel series authored by Ryohgo Narita, with art done by Katsumi Enami. The series was published by Dengeki Bunko, at it currently stands at fourteen collected volumes. It also won the Ninth Dengeki Novel Prize.

A manga series based on the second storyline of the novel series (basically picking up where the anime leaves off) began running in February of 2007, with story still done by Ryohgo Nartia, and art done by Ginyu Shinjin. It is currently being published by Media Works and is running in Dengeki Comic Gao!. At this point in read more
Feb 1, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Baccano! Is a Shounen, Supernatural, Action, Adventure, Comedy series with a very attention-grabbing and peculiar story style that’s entertaining to watch. There’s plenty excitement and laughs to be had however prepare to be lost, at some point, in the numerous, connected storylines. ^_^

Baccano! is set in 1930’s America and revolves around different characters and their stories, which involves several unrelated plots intersecting and crossing each other. The way the series is portrayed is very interesting however first time watchers will easily get confused and lost, as it constantly switches from story to story or moves between different timelines. But for those able to read more
Jun 16, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
Never before has so much madness been crammed into so short a series.

STORY - Surprisingly, Baccano!'s story -- or really, I should say stories -- is very straightforward. It's just takes a while to realize how simple it is because of its crazy non-linear storytelling and ridiculous onslaught of characters. Indeed, this is definitely one of those series that I'm going to have to watch a second, or even third time, in order to pick up all the connecting threads that run through the thirteen episodes. I'm a big fan of things told in a non-sequential fashion though, and while the scenes change frequently enough read more
Mar 5, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I’m sure most people are fully aware in this decade that Baccano is a tale of three stories told in different timelines that are told all at once through a combination of Guy Ritchie and Quentin Tarantino’s styles. Each story is largely self-contained, but some of the same characters are present in each story (ex. Isaac and Miria in the 1930 and 31 stories) and/or related to characters from a different story. As the first half of the introductory episode states, Baccano is a story with no beginnings, no endings, and no main character. It’s just pure undiluted chaos the entire way through, constantly jumping read more
Dec 17, 2007
bateszi (All reviews)
It bothers me to say I took a while to realize the quality of “Baccano!”. Aside from boasting no less than 18 main characters, the Pulp Fiction-esque narrative would constantly fracture and leap back and forth in time. I didn’t like that I had to make an effort to constantly focus and be forced to remember so many names and faces; three episodes in, I was feeling frustrated and close to losing interest. Something needed to be done and in a last ditch attempt to salvage the series, it became clear I’d have to wait it out, build up the fansubs and spend a long read more
Jun 22, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“Don't let nobody tell you there's no future in a life of crime, because some rackets can last forever. But we'll get around to all that immortality jazz later. A mafia turf war is raging on the mean streets of the Big Apple, a place where regular joes bounce between backdoor booze joints and the breadline. But this caper ain't about a simple gangland brawl. It's about hoods who can't seem to die proper after catching a bullet or five between the eyes. Sadistic hit-men and the dames they love, mad bombers going boom, monsters going bump and soul sucking alchemists bootlegging an elixir of read more
Jun 15, 2017
Kns- (All reviews)
Stories associated with criminal groupings are always very popular with the public, as they usually arouse interest in all age groups, from teenagers to mature people. The creators that touched this theme, usually win, at least in marketing, because lure the viewer is not difficult.

So, as far as I know, inspired by the films of Quentin Tarantino and Guy Ritchie, the Japanese writer-programmer starts work on his own criminal composition – Baccano!

Initially, Baccano! - is a series of books in the format of light novel, authored by Ryohgo Narita, with illustrations by Katsumi Enami. Later, in 2007 in Japan studio Brains Base released an read more
Aug 14, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
[b]Baccano![/b]
Baccano! was outstanding for what it offered it'll hook you with the story, you'll want to know what's happening in the next episode and you will want to be careful and pay attention to the story, so you can understand more and more when you put the pieces of the story together and the way the story is told it's confusing at first but you will understand and like it.

[b][u]Story[/u][/b]
The style of the storytelling in Baccano! is unique, there are more than 1 MC, around 15 in which the storytelling manages to cover them in sequences and then jumping to another character all of a read more
Sep 21, 2011
marusamarento (All reviews)
It is said by many (Livejournal users), that everyone has a story inside them just waiting to be told.

Many action adventures rely solely on plot, letting the characterisation come second; inversely, many romances have virtually no plot to speak of, letting character interaction and reflection drive along the drama - while historical chronicles often rely on the setting and the carefully researched daily-living conditions of the characters to paint a rich saga of that time and place.

Baccano! - Italian for 'ruckus' - is a blend of all these genres, and yet, it fits none of them.

The 2007 anime, produced by Brain's Base (Spice read more
Oct 19, 2014
MrSparklePants (All reviews)
Click. BANG! That's the signal! Grab your stylish hat, your most powerful gun, and employ your sixth sense (you'll need it!). What Baccano! confronts you with is exciting, fun, mildly disturbing and incredibly unique.

You're all ready to go? Well let me brief you first. Baccano! is a perfect blend of crime, action, comedy and the supernatural bound together in a beautifully wrapped, non-linear style of storytelling. You may be thinking. “That's a bit ambitious!” And it is! But Baccano! pulls it off so well that you'll be left wondering “what is linear even?”

If you're not captivated by the classy opening then the characters will surely read more
Dec 9, 2007
GAReviewer (All reviews)
After finishing Baccano!... I can't help but name it a truly mediocre and barely entertaining really obnoxious show.

To begin with, there's this annoying wannabe-cool atmosphere, a forced degree of "mafioso" characterization that only easily-impressed teenagers would come to appreciate.

The shallow single-quirk characters should work likeably if it wasn't for the utterly in-your-face "we're awesome"-factor they try to push upon the spectator that shamefully fails and comes-of as rather "we're retarded but lucky".

Truth is, both their simplistic themes and plot-line only truly interest due to the gimmicky "time-jumping" storytelling. The script I've heard called clever is actually something that would make Shyamalan's writing look well-constructed read more
Oct 15, 2009
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
Baccano is not only a great example of what can happen when a series is based on a series of novels, but also a refreshing reminder of why I watch anime.

The story is centered around a group of immortal alchemists and their involvement with the Italian-American Mafia at various points from 1930 to 1932. There are three main, separate storylines occurring in parallel, one on the streets of New York in 1930, another on board the transcontinental locomotive "The Flying Pussyfoot" in 1931, and finally, a third one in New York in 1932. Throughout the show, this world really comes alive, thanks to the animation, read more
May 11, 2011
trzr23 (All reviews)
When was the last time that you were stuck in a traffic jam and looked around you, only to find all the other drivers’ expressions mirror yours exactly? The frustration, the annoyance and the exasperation plastered all across their faces, each telling a story of their own, as loud horns blare in the background. The irritated young fellow next to you might be rushing because he has a huge presentation to make in front of the office’s senior officials. The middle-aged woman in the minivan behind you might be furious because her son got into trouble at university and they were calling her over when read more
Oct 31, 2011
Otaking09 (All reviews)
In anime, we should automatically celebrate when something like Baccano is tossed away. We should revel in what a delicious candy we are gorging down... but also realize that its still a candy.
It's Toblerone, but still just a chocolate bar (no pun intended on how the title is used in the OP)

I've always seen the show as a tribute to gangster/crime tales; it has quite a bunch of gimmicks:
1. A Bonnie and Clyde
2. Multiple gangs that exist for character development/a place to rest.
3. Uncouth scenarios
4. Uncouth villains and hearty heroes.
5. Intentionally incomplete ending.
I could stop here and just call Baccano "fanservice", but since that word read more
Dec 11, 2015
Gabby_Chan (All reviews)
How can I start my Baccano! review?
Perhaps the best way to start is by saying that there aren't many (good) animes out there which dare to tell its story in a different way from the usual, in which there isn't a proper protagonist. Baccano! does this and shines on that aspect.

* Animation:
Baccano! does well in terms of animation quality at most of the times, mainly during action and dramatic scenes. The color pattern used is well chosen because it enhances the idea of its story happening in the 1930s, you can easily realize the use of washed out colors and the predominance of brown in read more
Oct 10, 2014
Waldy565 (All reviews)
I kept putting off Bacanno because the art really shouted out to me and, as vain a conclusion as this is, I thought the art was an insight into how good the show was going to be, and therefore put it off for when I was having a bad day and just wanted a really good show to pick me up. Ufortunately Bacanno doesn't reach that excellence for me, but it certainly isn't a bad show.

OK, starters, 1930s America. As with my Gosick review, I find it intriguing when anime teams pick pre-war 20thC as a setting for their shows as, for me, it's quite read more