Black Lagoon
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Black Lagoon
Japanese: BLACK LAGOON

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2006 to Jun 25, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:35 (JST)
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 283402283,402 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #111
Members: 563,765
Favorites: 11,532

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 16, 2007
Washi (All reviews)
One word that keeps propelling itself to the forefront of my head when I go to describe this show is: ‘refreshing’. Generally, I tend to avoid those anime which are blatantly action-oriented, because an action anime series so often means that it will be generically shounen, or be some kind of absurd mecha-combat series; very rarely can I find an action series which does not fall to those and other traps, and Black Lagoon is one of them. From its premise to its execution, the show provides thrilling action sequences, from boat and car chases, to messy fisticuffs and bullet-spamming gunfights, the show covers all read more
Apr 18, 2011
artist-retired (All reviews)
"This is way more entertaining than Hollywood is ever going going to be!" truer words like that have barely been spoken in anime in my opinion, and with the shit that's out now, I'm inclined to believe them.

STORY: Enter Rokuro Okajima, a typical meek japanese office worker of a large corperation who's the epitome of ordinary with a life so boring, bland, and not so envious with complains such as his boss kicking his ass, but his bleak life style comes to an end when a business trip cruise to South East Asia turns into hell as a group of modern day pirates take him read more
Feb 14, 2007
infinity (All reviews)
- - - - - [ Black Lagoon Season 1 :: Ep-12 ] - - - - -

- [ Intro ] -

Black Lagoon. That's a name that easily caught my eye. After reading the brief review, I said "why not?". And so I found a great anime that would get me hooked for quite a long time! And it definitely deserves rewatch! On with the review!

- [ Animation: Good quality and well-detailed -> 9 ] -

Let's set things clear now. Black Lagoon (BL) has one of the best animations i've ever seen! If you pay attention to details, you will like BL. The animators have read more
Aug 7, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
With a genre that deals with a lot of action set-pieces, a show of this specific genre is usually bogged down into mindless entertainment territory with absolutely no substance to it at all. There have been in the past many action films, and TV shows that have shown to become competent in the history of film-making, examples in mind are the works of John Woo, Michael Mann, and Quentin Tarantino. But what if I told you that there is an anime show that encompasses everything that is great about those three directors and succeeds on every possible level? The show in question is Black Lagoon, read more
Mar 24, 2009
iamjoe (All reviews)
If there was an anime that would make you look like a pink pair of panties with a little bow on it, it's Black Lagoon.

This is seriously one of the toughest, bloodliest, sexiest, kick tushiest anime ever created and it is better than you can ever be. It's not better than me, because it does have some flaws, but then again, nothing is really better than I am.

The story follows some pirates (not the "Argh, mateys!" kind) who do all sorts of crazy shady jobs for MONEY. Yeah, it's original that these people are motivated by cash and not by personal beefs. Makes it read more
Aug 21, 2013
azuslu7jpg (All reviews)
Black Lagoon is an action fan's dream come true, but those looking for characters and plot might be a bit turned off.

As always, my reviews are spoiler free.

I avoided this anime for the longest time, since I am generally not a fan of this kind of action series. After a year or so of procrastination, I finally got around to watching it. Here are my thoughts on the series as a whole (including Second Barrage and Roberta's Blood Trail OVAs, but not the odd Omake Spin off).

Story - 5/10

Make no mistake about it: Black Lagoon is an action series through and through. It's gunfights galore, read more
Jan 20, 2008
Cherry_Blossoms (All reviews)
One of the darkest animes I've seen in my life, Black Lagoon portrays quite brilliantly the gritty and obscene lives of mercenaries for hire and the underworld of crime. Casting an academic and otherwise completely innocent person as the protagonist just makes this anime even more explicit and realistic than any other.

The story follows a team of mercenaries known as Lagoon Company, who smuggle goods in and around the seas of Southeast Asia. Their base of operations is located in the fictional city of Roanapur in Thailand, and they transport goods in the PT boat Black Lagoon. Lagoon Company does business with various clients, read more
Jan 15, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

We have seen countless struggles in anime between good and evil, but what about a struggle between grey vs. grey or evil vs. evil? There are actually a few anime that fit that description, but few quite as celebrated as Black Lagoon. Lets go into the depths of the criminal underworld and look at one of the darker anime ever to reach mainstream popularity. What you want to know is, "Is it any good?" Well...sort of.

Story: 5/10

The story can be broken down into arcs, but there is no real overall progressive plot. Just more dirty jobs that need to get done. "Its like wagon train, read more
Feb 27, 2008
Huntsman (All reviews)
This review is for the entire bad series.

Had potential but was a let down.

When I first read about Black Lagoon, and read that it was a story about a group of mercenaries based in the modern world. A grounded tail with no space travel, superpowers or the like. I thought it would be a nice change, and the animation looked good. It did start of good in the first three to four episodes, but then things began to go down hill. Most episodes went no where, other anime did episodes like that. Cowboy Bebop had many, but they were fun and still had meaning behind read more
Dec 26, 2010
immortalrite (All reviews)
In many respects, Black Lagoon is difficult series to review. At its core it is a show which takes what is an essentially interesting and engaging story and then promptly covers it with a rather thick layer of absurdity and an aesthetic love of violence for its own sake. That is to say, for a series which outwardly claims to be "mature" and "realistic," in one sense it succeeds, and in another it fails. [It should also be mentioned beforehand that this will be a review of the first 12-episode installment of the series only, and not the Second Barrage]

Beginning with the positive side, Black read more
Dec 5, 2007
Sirane (All reviews)
Black Lagoon is an Anime that centers around a group of modern pirates who call themselves the 'Lagoon Delivery Company'. They operate in Southeast Asia, and they basically deliver anything at all as long as the price is right.


Story wise, the episodes are a collection of completely unrelated short stories, showing the different jobs that the Lagoon Delivery Company takes on. The storylines are fairly unique, ranging from a run in with a bunch of wannabe Nazis to delivering papers for a Chinese Triad. Each short story is packed with action and superb gunfights, and the plot speeds along, leaving no time to be bored. read more
May 30, 2014
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
Black Lagoon

Story 7/10

Black Lagoon have a live and well-produced plot, the writer place many combinations of elements in 12 episodes. Although, Black Lagoon did a poor and a little confusing opening on their story. But, in generally, the story is fine and balanced to watched.

Art 7/10

For the period of 2005 anime, Black Lagoon’s art is well comparable with other anime. For me in personal, I pretty find for the art of Black Lagoon, I totally appreciate what the creator produced.

Sound 8/10

Black Lagoon have a well-produced background music and sound effects. The opening song is not bad at all in my opinion. The seiyuu did a very good read more
Dec 12, 2015
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
It's was really hard for me at first to actually give my honest opinion on Black Lagoon because the show itself is really good and I don't want to be biased. However I' have finally made up my mind to give my thoughts and review. Black Lagoon, in terms of a more "realistic" action adventure anime is highly acceptable. What I mean by that is the events that took place during Black Lagoon are like real events that we see or hear about happen in our world everyday. Black Lagoon gives you a sort of up close and personal experience on what the characters read more
Jun 10, 2013
Lockensocke (All reviews)
wow.. this anime is shit!
Because of its non existing storyline and its uninteresting and stupid character the only thing this anime got left, being worthy to watch, would be its action scenes... and they sucked. They were complete unrealistic and stupid. (I am not agains unrealism in anime at all, but this action scenes were like a fist of "unrealism" punshing into my face. I will come to the action scenes later on)

Well lets start off with the character (cuz i cant tell you much about the story):
You got rather 2 dominant main protagonists: Revy and Rock. I call them the dominant one because the read more
Jan 5, 2010
sliverofdivinity (All reviews)
Firstly, let me state this review may come off as sexist but I am indeed not a sexist. Now,

I'm ok with a typical tough anime girl. I'm ok with a tough anime girl with a gun. I am not ok with a tough anime girl with a gun killing dozens of enemies at a time. Black Lagoon attempts to come of as a realistic anime about mercenaries, but many things in the anime detract from this attempt.

But before I rant, I'll talk a little about the 4 man crew.

We have Rock (protagonist): Japanese business man who is tired of being pushed around and so read more
Jul 29, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"Look, everyone in here is carrying a gun! It's like we're in a parallel universe where everyone is Clint Eastwood." - Rock

[Viewer Discretion is advised, review contains profanity, just like the show it's written for.]

If the everyday, ubiquitous, slice of life anime is a Toyota Prius... environmentally conscious, economical, quiet, and serene, then Black Lagoon is like a 1970 El Camino with a 572, two 4 barrel carbs, straight headers and a supercharger with a bugcatcher on top so big you can't see anything but dotted lines turning solid.

But that's okay, because the only thing you're gonna see is the other suckers in your mirrors. read more
Jan 12, 2010
MrOnsen (All reviews)
Anime seems to be very tame these days. If it isn't about whiny high school kids living their boring ass lives, it's about overachieving, insane kids with magical notebooks (cough Deathnote). I like these kinds of animes as much as the next guy, but sometimes I feel like doing nothing more than bathe in my own testosterone and achieve a massive erection looking at either tits, guns, or cars. Enter, Black Lagoon. An anime with tits, guns, AND cars. Expect testosterone, and lot's of it.

Story-
The story is as generic as it can get. Some pussy ass bitch decides to change his life and he starts read more
May 24, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
“This is more entertaining than Hollywood is ever going to be!” - Revy

Black Lagoon is one of Madhouse’s greatest works. In terms of action and seinen, we no longer have to frustratingly listen to long speeches before gunshots fire. Black Lagoon is well-known for its nonstop action and features one of the most memorable and merciless women in the anime industry: Revy (famously known as “Two Hands”), who is noted for her “kill first, ask questions later” style. Its depiction of Hollywood action films with the explosions, car chases, and gun-fighting at sea makes this entertaining to watch, especially with its mature dialogue and dark read more
Oct 11, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Black Lagoon
Black Lungs, oh sorry, Black Lagoon (they smoke a lot, and they probably have lung cancer) is a solid action anime, lacking in story and focused more on episodic stories...

Story
There's no story, or that's what i got watching the anime, and is focused more on doing jobs because their company Black Lagoon is a mercenary group that does this kind of jobs, every job, even the despicable jobs (is a seinen so...) they are not moralists, that really applicable to Revy and in the last ep. maybe there was something that i didn't understood, what was that at the end those guys said, judging read more
Jan 25, 2015
AnimatedGuru (All reviews)
Black Lagoon as a whole was pure entertainment and is one show that most viewers could keep on going back to for more. This is one show that after concluding its first and second season i could only think when will there be more.

STORY:8/10
Black Lagoon lacked any long term story arc and was basically a very long but strong intro to the series. By the end of the first season you get to know the entire lagoon squad, and all the other characters within the supporting cast along with some short but strong story arcs as the lagoon crew went threw their read more