Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Godfathers


Alternative Titles

English: Tokyo Godfathers
Japanese: 東京ゴッドファーザーズ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 8, 2003
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Genres: Comedy, Drama
Duration: 1 hr. 32 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.311 (scored by 74,163 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #700
Members: 146,897
Favorites: 1,221

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 3, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
I started watching this movie knowing little more than that it was directed by Satoshi Kon, and even though I'm a fan of the man's work in general, I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

STORY - In brief, Tokyo Godfathers is a heart-warming Christmas story about family. Slightly elaborated, it's a rather unique slice-of-life movie featuring a less-than-average family. Sure, inspiration was taken from an old western film (3 Godfathers), but I haven't seen it, and I don't think having seen it would have affected the charm of this one. (Other than the bare bones, the details of the two movies are vastly different anyway.) read more
Aug 27, 2011
mjcabreza (All reviews)
What else can I say... This movie had a great storyline, a huge unexpected twist near the ending, held mystery from the very beginning, had very witty humor (I caught myself laughing out loud many times), characters were well introduced, it was rather heartwarming as well, family-focused, gives definition to what life truly is, pacing and story progression was really good, art was outstanding, I really have to say that I enjoyed this movie A LOT. Made me remember the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future but twisted it up a bit. This was a remarkable movie. I recommend it to everyone. I added read more
Dec 23, 2018
Jex (All reviews)
I watch Tokyo Godfathers every Christmas. It's a fantastic Christmas movie, but it's not just a Christmas movie. It's also a fantastic family movie and a fantastic auteur film. It's Satoshi Kon's greatest movie, out of the few films he was able to make in his lifetime.

The main characters are Gin, Hana and Miyuki. All of them are hobos and all have contrasting personalities. Gin is an alcoholic who doesn't want to face reality, so he makes up stories and lies a lot. He wants to shift the blame of his failures onto someone else instead of changing for the better. Hana is an okama, read more
Feb 17, 2007
Faust721 (All reviews)
From the creator of Perfect Blue comes Tokyo Godfathers.

Story: This story is about 3 homeless people (a washed-up father/husband, a homo, and a runaway teen) during the Christmas Holidays. The story gets going when they find an abandoned baby at a dump site. Even though one of them wants to raise the baby himself, they knew that they couldn't, so they go on a search for the baby's parents. As this search goes on, they start to learn about each others past's and we see how it ties into the present.

While it may seem like a pretty straight forward concept, Kon Satoshi manages to fully read more
Dec 25, 2014
zacoist (All reviews)
The holiday season is finally here, and with the holidays always come the festivities. Shopping, spending time with family, decorating the Christmas tree, cuddling with loved ones alongside the soft embers of the fireplace: these are all the ideals of a perfect Christmas. After all, there's nothing more to love about Christmas than the gifts or the food, right? Well, maybe if you're a middle-aged salaryman. To our three protagonists, they'd just be happy if they could find a leftover bottle of booze in Tokyo's garbage dumps.

Little did they know that they were setting themselves up for a wild goose chase to find not read more
Dec 17, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Tokyo Godfathers is a film directed by Kon Satoshi, who also directed the superb Perfect Blue, and co-written by Wolf's Rain creator, Nobumoto Keiko. With animation and production from Madhouse, whether it's the branch of Madhouse that ruins action scenes with random T & A shots or the branch that does stellar work remains to be seen. Yes, I have become convinced that Madhouse has one division to do animation for quality projects like Rainbow, Monster and the aforementioned Perfect Blue and another for their drek projects like Highschool of the Dead or Devil Hunter Yohko. Although in reality they probably have a lot more read more
Dec 1, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: December 1, 2013. Review #72: Tokyo Godfathers.



Well, the holiday season is here once again and I have yet another review just in time before Christmas, in fact this movie takes place around Christmas. Here’s Tokyo Godfathers!



On one Christmas Eve, there were three Japanese people who are homeless. one is a middle aged man named Gin who happens to be an alcoholic. one is a high school runaway girl named Miyuki, and a transvestite who was a former drag queen named Hana. These three were searching dumpsters and trash bags for possible Christmas gifts for themselves, when cries from a baby read more
May 30, 2008
maybelletea (All reviews)
I just sort of randomly requested this from my library on a whim, knowing what it was about but not quite sure what to expect.

Tokyo Godfathers is the story of 3 homeless people: a tranvestite, a runaway teenager, and an ashamed father. On Christmas Eve, they encounter a baby in the trash that was seemingly abandoned by its mother. The soon began to take care of it, some more eagerly than others. However, taking care of this baby allowed them to remind them the reality of their situations, and what to maturely do about it.

The one thing about the story and that it read more
Sep 30, 2012
kajia (All reviews)
"Tokyo Godfathers" is a Christmas film. Tradition dictates that these films should contain elements such as light hearted comedy and family oriented themes. And that exactly the kind of film "Tokyo Godfathers" strives to be.

Does it succeed? Most certainly. But the crux is that "Tokyo Godfathers" is the work of Satoshi Kon, a man famous for his dark, twisted mind fucks such as "Paranoia Agent" and "Perfect Blue". He's probably the person you would least expect to make a conventional Christmas film.

For the most part, "Tokyo Godfathers" doesn't feel like a Satoshi Kon film - it doesn't even have the mixing fantasy with reality read more
Jun 28, 2009
datOneperson (All reviews)
This movie is definitely a slow one to start out, but then it gets faster and more interesting towards the end. Still, this movie is not the greatest ever, definitely not the greatest.

The "adventure" part of it was well written, but the movie wasn't directed as viewers were looking for. The story connected lots of different individual character stories quite effectively and it made for a good ending.
Aug 2, 2015
myronator (All reviews)
It's a Christmas miracle!

The stereotypical Christmas film involves plenty of coincidences, a corny, cheesy message and the extraordinary. Tokyo Godfathers has all of this in spades. The film even emphasises this at the beginning when Hana wishes for a Christmas miracle. However, unlike other Christmas films, this has Satoshi Kon's zany influence.

The premise for Tokyo Godfathers is a dark, yet interesting one; three homeless people finding an abandoned baby. In fact, most of the film deals with dark themes, such as the abuse of homeless people. But the film has an amazing ability to merge these dark themes with a lighthearted adventure. While convention read more
Nov 14, 2014
LostPerson (All reviews)
Well...Hmmm.. Tokyo godfather. What can I say?



directed by the famous Satoshi Kon who created perfect blue and paranoia agent which is a psychological anime full of gore and mind fuck. presents a heartwarming anime movie with a Christmas theme.

It's great! :D and what I can say is, this is the first time that I saw an anime nailed what Christmas is all about.only 1% of the people of japan are Christians and when you ask them why do they celebrate Christmas most of them is gonna tell you that it's a holiday for lovers and you need to celebrate it read more
Jul 19, 2015
Keatle (All reviews)
Tokyo Godfathers is a work by Satoshi Kon, produced by Madhouse and was released in 2003. It is an original story set in the not-so-beautiful setting of Tokyo and deals with the themes of abandonment and family.
The whole story is completed in a matter of days, but so much happens in such a short time.

These characters that, at first, seem like caricatures slowly reveal their true selves to each other and grow closer. They evolve past the first impressions and leave a mark on the audience. This was, at least for me, the highlight of this 90 minutes long movie.

However, the story itself didn't read more
Jun 22, 2008
MaximumRider (All reviews)
STORY: Overall, the story was pretty good. I find that altogether the story is pretty heartwarming, and pretty easy to understand. One thing that disappointed me was that, in the end, an event takes place, (I wont mention how far towards the end, or who), that really leaves you hanging, mainly because a lot of this is going on during the main story. Other than that the story was great!

ART: The art was alright, I mean the movie was 2003, and this is 2008. There has been a lot of change since then. I give it an 8 because I'm sure they used read more
Nov 27, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Tokyo Godfathers is a rather unique film from Satoshi Kon as it differs from his other works in that the movie is not as heavy on the cerebral side. Set in Tokyo during the holiday season, the movie focuses on a trio of homeless people from different walks of life who come across an abandoned baby and journey throughout the city to learn of the whereabouts of the baby's parents. While doing this, each of these people come to grips with their tragic pasts as the movie explores the varying circumstances that led each of our main trio to wind up living on the streets.

This read more
Dec 9, 2013
lakshika (All reviews)
i am writing a review after a long long long time in this year hope i can write what i felt when i was watching this anime movie and make you want to watch it too..
alright this anime was amazing ....the story felt so real and the emotion throughout the story was carried out very well.

STORY- was very unique a topic that isn't talked about at all in the society or in anime world in general. it is because not every one can pull of a brilliant plot with HOMELESS people and a simple normal setting like Tokyo city streets wearing nothing read more
Dec 31, 2017
SassyWallflower (All reviews)
Christmas: Snow and hope; White and pious. As the bells and carols ring the tunes of belief & merry in one’s heart, this motion picture portrays all that, a bit more and a bit beyond.

What an amazingly threaded piece of art. It’s like a mother’s love providing extra warmth to the winter garb that she has woven for her child: to veil her precious gift from God.
Starting from the characters to the story to the scripting, each piqued the rank.
If I were to delineate it through a figurative language, I’d call in at an amusement park full of stirring rides. read more
Jul 9, 2016
IchikuRyoudai (All reviews)
Satoshi Kon writes and directs this animated feature, may he rest in peace. Truly a legendary genius, a mind like few we were lucky enough was put into making films.
What a masterpiece, Jesus.
A genuine hymn to life, lead by three homeless underdogs with broken spirits, forgotten by the world and in such need of love, desperately climbing their way up to redemption and knockin' on heaven's door with this holy second-chance-awarding abandoned baby they stumble upon, whose life they embark on an urban adventure to save on a Christmas Eve night.
A cinematic odyssey with characters of such humanity their broken dreams, flaws, hopes and love read more
Oct 31, 2015
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
Story:

The story itself, at it's bare boned basics, when I completely take out all other characters and keep solely the story in mind... deals with coincidences. Since the team of "Tokyo Godfathers" had kept that in mind when they had developed the story itself, and that they had intended this to be a story about "the power of coincidences", I personally found it willing the suspension of disbelief. if it was not for the development of the characters themselves and for the overall sincerity of the acting by the characters, I would actually not be bothered by the story itself. In Tokyo Godfathers, I found read more
Aug 28, 2016
T_TK (All reviews)
About this movie- Tokyo Godfathers is a great blend of comedy, action, and a bit more about lifestyle. This movie specifically depicts an image to the audience more about life and how it should be treated. No matter what circumstance, a person’s life is to be treated with care and is supposed to have a meaning or goal to the end of our course of “life”.

Story- At the very beginning of this series, the story may not appeal to others. The story can seem to progress very differently in regards to the actions of the characters. It could have progressed from a different idea read more