Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood


Alternative Titles

English: Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood
Synonyms: Hagane no Renkinjutsushi: Fullmetal Alchemist, Fullmetal Alchemist (2009), FMA
Japanese: 鋼の錬金術師 FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 64
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2009 to Jul 4, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 9.251 (scored by 569,129 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4
Members: 924,191
Favorites: 86,685

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 25, 2010
tazillo (All reviews)
First of all, I have seen the original FMA and although it was very popular and original, the pacing and conclusion did not sit too well with me. Brotherhood is meant to be a remake of the original, this time sticking to the manga all the way through, but there were people who thought it would spoil the franchise. That myth should be dispelled, as there's only one word to describe this series - EPIC.

I admit that as I've seen the original and read the manga, the pacing of Brotherhood seems to start off being VERY fast (I finally got used to the pacing after read more
Nov 15, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Adaptations have long been a thorn in the side of anime viewers, but not because they are inherently bad. No, the main problem has been that many studios have regarded the original work almost as an afterthought, and there are a number of shows that could have been wonderful if the writers had simply stuck to the original story.

One of the issues at hand seems to be ownership as producers, writers and directors all seem to want the work to be reflective of their style and perception, and in order to stamp their mark on a show they will makes numerous unnecessary changes or additions. read more
Apr 7, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood gets an immense amount of praise in the MAL community, is the #1 ranked show and is constantly referred to as a masterpiece and the greatest show ever created. I've seen many fans preach about how "it lives up to the hype" and "can never receive too much praise". Now this is just the opinion of one guy. I'm certainly not the law of the land or anything. However, I personally feel as though calling FMA:B a masterpiece and the champion of all shows is a bit of a stretch. That's not to say that I didn't enjoy it or that it read more
Apr 25, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

FMA Brotherhood is an anime that needs no introduction. This is the highest rated anime on all of MAL. This is the anime that the current generation of anime fans holds above all others as the greatest single anime EVER made! In the following paragraphs, I will be reviewing this legendary series and discussing whether or not it truly deserves this title.


SPOILERS for both Brotherhood and 2003 FMA!!!!

Plot:

The plot takes place in the country of Armestris, which is basically like an alternate WW2 Germany. It is constantly at war for reasons that are less than just and is ruled by a rather nefarious government. read more
Jul 29, 2015
M0nkeyD_Luffy (All reviews)
Since I couldn't find any legitimate objective analysis in any of these fanboy reviews, I decided put my own review:

Here's why FMA:B and it's Manga counterpart don't work:

It's just a disjointed piece of art. The initial premise of the narrative: two young siblings that horrifically lose their mother and parts of themselves is incredibly dark and powerfully poignant. Their journey to find the philosophers stone is one that's objectively adventurous but the endpoint is still inherently adult and sophisticatedly gritty; especially as it delves into the implications of bringing a dead person back to life early on in the series.

So why is it disjointed? read more
Apr 12, 2015
Malighos (All reviews)
If one wishes to obtain something, something of equal value must be given, that is the law of equivalent exchange, the basis of all alchemy, the law that governs the world of Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood.

Brotherhood follows the adventures of brothers Edward and Alphonse elric , who have commited taboo and tried to transmutate their mother back from the dead. As a result alphonse is left without his body and stuck to a metal armor and ed with a metal arm and a leg thus the nickname fullmetal. Thus the two brothers embark on a quest to find the famous philosopher's Stone that is said read more
Sep 13, 2009
bakababe (All reviews)
I can't even watch the original FMA anime now that I'm currently watching Brotherhood! This is a NO FILLER anime it gets straight to the point with it's beautiful animation and amazing portrayal of the manga, everything is so different! Emotions are strong and there's more of a connection between characters then in the original anime, you immediately get dragged into this show within the first 5 minuets, this is honestly one of the most spectacular anime's i've ever laid my eyes on, it's definitely one of the best new shows of the last couple years. Its a definite watch, don't miss out!
Oct 27, 2014
Reimei-Chan (All reviews)
"We're not gods, we're only human. We can't even save a little girl, so what good are we?"-Edward Elric

Now let's talk about the best rated show on this website. Ever since its release, fans and critics alike have a mixed reaction to the show. Some of them say that the original show is better while others say this is better. I can't see why we can't like both. They each have things that really work about them. I think they are both masterpieces on a entertainment and artistic level. Some moments in the show will make you laugh, then the next question life, and then read more
Apr 17, 2015
crys-chama (All reviews)
One of my favorite anime of all time!

I was one of those people who thought that FMA: Brotherhood is the second season of Fullmetal Alchemist (2003). FMA Brotherhood has been popping up in Best Anime Lists on Youtube so it piqued my interest.

It follows, or rather it is more parallel with the story in the manga. The art and animation is magnificent, it stayed true to the characters' design but there was a more polished look. The fluidity of the movements during fight scenes are also a feast for the eyes.

I could not find a single flaw in this series (except I that I wanted read more
Mar 2, 2010
ryuu_zer0 (All reviews)
Now, this is a prime example of how to adapt an manga into an anime the RIGHT way. The original Fullmetal Alchemist, though well made and very popular, went into a downward spiral as soon as it diverted from the manga storyline and never seemed to recover. This however, shows that instead of trying to add their own story elements when adapting manga/visual novels etc., sometimes anime producers should just sit back and retell the great story that has already been written in the original.

This anime starts off at a breakneck pace. It shoots entire volumes of the manga in a couple read more
May 28, 2015
inuwasha (All reviews)
Story: Well this story is nothing short of amazing. It is so entertaining, and just interesting to watch. The comedy, and action are outstanding. It all blends in perfectly. Some moments are more breath taking than others, and I mean that in two ways. 1. The comedy often had me in tears, and breathless because of how hard I was laughing, and 2. Heart filled moments just hit you like a damn bus. 10

Art: Oh my god the art is great. I am sure there were some flaws, because there are flaws in everything, but honestly if there were flaws I never caught them. The read more
Oct 9, 2009
Rurouni_Tidus (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is only meant for those who haven't seen the original anime version of Fullmetal Alchemist.
What can I say about this show? I never even tried to follow the original anime.. I knew it was a big success and has a lot of followers everywhere. But it just didn't catch onto me like it did with so many others. With this renewed version, which follows the manga storyline a lot more precise than the first version, the team behind FMA: Brotherhood did a fantastic job.
The characters are instantly attractive.. what I mean with that is they are very well portrayed as people, read more
Nov 26, 2014
myrah (All reviews)
There isn't much more I could say with all the praise it already has, but I truly believe that Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood deserves every bit of it.

The pacing is phenomenal; filler is minimal to nonexistent and every episode serves as another step forward. I know a few people who thought that the first few episodes were not explanatory enough, but one of the great things about it is its lack of unnecessarily long narratives; it gives you just enough background information without petulantly walking you through it.

FMAB is also one of the only anime that I prefer the dubbed version over the subbed. The voice read more
Oct 24, 2014
Sahlin (All reviews)
I have followed both the anime and manga of FMA for years, simultaneously. The first anime adaptation was satisfactory, but left a bad aftertaste.

Enter FMA: Brotherhood. Now this is a spectacular adaptation worthy of the manga; this is the epitome of a masterpiece anime. The series is just the right length; the storyline never drags, or falters. Although FMA:BH is strung together with an incredible strong plot, the characters are the real highlights of the series; the majority of the cast is thoroughly fully fleshed out with dilemmas worthy of our attention. And while author places nearly all major characters in perilous decisions, and they read more
Jan 4, 2015
TheFlowingStream (All reviews)
This anime is going in the All Time Favourites List along with the other classics, you know like one piece, naruto, bleach, dbz and all that stuff.
I'm not comparing with them though. Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood (FMAB) is not exactly like them. It is not the usual 'go on an adventure' type with dozens of episodes and fight scenes that all look the same. FMAB is more story-oriented and tactical.

First, the story is very well wtitten and everything is properly planned out and coincides with each other bringing out every element in the right manner at the right time. The concept is really good with the read more
Nov 2, 2014
jacobjr1 (All reviews)
I'm going to be completely honest here... this is my favorite anime I have ever seen. Why you ask? Simple: (besides a few irritations) there is nothing wrong with this show.

The story follows two brothers who live in a corrupted country in a world where alchemy is possible. After their mother dies, they try to perform the ultimate taboo of alchemy: human transmutation. The transmutation backfires and the younger brother (Al) loses his entire body and the older brother (Ed) loses his left leg. In order to bring Al back, Ed sacrifices his right arm to bond Al's spirit to a suit of armor. Now, read more
Nov 10, 2014
Fanboy-kun (All reviews)
Ah, Fullmetal Alchemist, what an amazing ride through the world of alchemy, I'm not surprised at all it is #1 on MAL, since it also is, and probably will be, at least for a long time, #1 on my list.
If you're reading you probably came here looking to see if you should watch this anime or if my opinion is the same as yours, and please do not forget what this is, MY review.

Let us start with the best: The story - 10/10
Fullmetal Alchemist:Brotherhood's plot is the most incredible thing I have seen in an anime, seriously, If i could, I would go and read more
Jan 28, 2015
Otaku_Apologizt (All reviews)
To this day my writing is influenced by Fullmetal Alchemist. I read the manga about ten years ago, but I still remember most of the characters by name. The author's vision and its execution were not without flaws, but the overall end result was sheer brilliance. The themes of loss, sacrifice and transformation are seamlessly integrated into the plot and character backstories.

What makes this story exceptional is how universal its subject matters are. Everybody goes through growing pains, but in the case of the Elric brothers Edward and Alphonse, their transition into adulthood is nothing short of hardcore. The boys lost their mother, who they read more
Aug 25, 2014
KandaRainbowsoul (All reviews)
"You have to believe in yourself. Because if you don't believe in yourself, you will not only bring down yourself, but also many others that believe you and depend on you."

It may not be a quote directly cited from the series, but it is one of the things this series has taught me. This show was great from start to end, and despite knowing some spoilers beforehand, it still delivered to a 10 out of 10 rating - something that's not usually happening for a shonen anime because they tend to overuse a certain trope.

To kick off, I have been fairly reluctant to watch Fullmetal read more
Apr 20, 2009
Aceofplaces (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll start this by saying that despite being an adamant fan of Fullmetal Alchemist for a couple of years now, I've never managed to finish the first anime series. I've remained caught up with the manga as much as possible, however, and I'm very excited at where this series is going to go.

Fullmetal Alchemist, as I'm sure you know, is the story of the Elric brothers, Edward and Alphonse. Their story begins a number of years before the actual start of the series, with the tragic death of the boys' mother. Edward and Alphonse, child prodigy alchemists at the time, form a pact to resurrect read more