Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail
Synonyms: Black Lagoon 3
Japanese: BLACK LAGOON Roberta's Blood Trail

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 5
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 27, 2010 to Jun 22, 2011
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 33 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 9597295,972 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #654
Members: 171,720
Favorites: 856

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 20, 2011
Inushinde (All reviews)
The move from that of a televised anime series to an OAV format did its fair share of good for the crew of Black Lagoon. By allowing them to work without worrying about censorship, they could get the violence as visceral and hyper-sexualized as possible and create a no holds bar bloodfest the likes of which anime has rarely had before. Going into this, it should be perfectly evident from the name what you’re in for: A tale of carnage caused by everyone’s favorite former guerilla warfare enthusiast maid, Roberta. And boy does it deliver.

Our tale starts with a public bombing orchestrated by a contracted read more
Mar 20, 2011
KravenErgeist (All reviews)
Preliminary
The quality present in the original Black Lagoon anime series is taken up to a whole extra notch with this no-holds-barred OAV series. What I first thought would be a casual revisiting of a character notable seemingly only for fetish fuel turns into an in depth look into why Roberta earned the name "Bloodhound." Blood has been spilled, and Roberta's out for revenge, and with no television censorship to worry about, this series is free to show Roberta's Blood Trail in all of it's violent glory. The entire crime ring of Roanapur, from the Hong Kong Triad to the Hotel Moscow, to the Italian Mafia read more
Oct 12, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail
The third part of Black Lagoon eps. 25 to 29 after three years 5 OVA, 1 eps. every 2 months and a half, i can't imagine how the people watching at that time felt waiting so long for this, and for this big of a story, it should have been longer and better developed for the time they had.

Story
Just a little better than the previous parts, focused on one single story rather than in three, a story with flaws but entertaining in some way, bloody and dark, sad and disgusting at times, this time focused more in Rock and read more
Mar 30, 2012
ramimanify (All reviews)
Spoilers ahead

The only thing i am gonna give this show a credit for is art
other than that it was all a waste
I am actually quite glad that my previous reviews of black lagoon part 1 and 2 were of similar proposal
and all in all the show in itself sucked, the characters sucked, the director failed to deliver a sense of realism to it(sure everyone can die in the unforgiving hell of Roanapra but not one fucking main character dies how convenient), the tragedy implemented was a joke
and to top it off (U.S) army major actually cares about some stray kid with a grudge due to read more
Sep 29, 2012
MrFeline (All reviews)
For me Black Lagoon and Cowboy Bebop are two of my favorite series. The mixture of interesting and human characters, excellent (if over the top) fighting, and underlying and hidden discussions and opinions about life, people, etc. When I first started watching Black Lagoon I fell completely in love with the characters, the differing points of view conflicting, the psychosis, the struggles to understand each other and dealing with a wide variety of backgrounds and histories. And to top it all of was that they felt real and believable. Characters didn't just do things because the story needed them to, but because its what they read more
Feb 20, 2016
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
This OVA concluded the Black Lagoon anime series exceptionally well. Phenomenal work of art. Its a bloody masterpiece.

And in this one, on all counts, the art also added to the overall ambience of this OVA - remarkably so, considering that the previous 24 episodes of Black Lagoon had great art but not as involving or as metaphorically spot on as is the case here. The character of Roberta (The Bloodhound) is developed really well and in fact is the crust of the story. So much so that she is able to bring out the fearful elements of her inner struggles so fluidly (because of the read more
Jul 5, 2015
showandAG (All reviews)
I am not going to talk about the Black Lagoon characters, sound, art, etc.. because if you are thinking about watching this I assume you have seen Black Lagoon already (and if you haven't then watch it before you watch Roberta's Blood Trail).

Roberta's Blood Trail gives us a chance to experience more awesome Black Lagoon action. As far as excitement goes, it lives up to Black Lagoon. However, when I was watching this is did not enjoy the characters as much as in the first parts of Black Lagoon.

Overall this was still enjoyable (8/10) and I would recommend it if you are looking read more
Mar 7, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about Black Lagoon once before. For those of you who don't remember, it's an action series about a group of mercenaries. Dutch (who wears sunglasses at night), Revy (who shoots everything), Benny (who does machines) & Rock (the rookie). The first series aired in 2006. This OVA was released in 2010-2011. Judging by the title, we can safely say it puts the focus on the killer maid. So, let's look at Roberta's Blood Trail and see if it's as good as the first series of the anime was. Please tell me it also has an absurd engrish theme tune.

Story:

We open with a political read more
Mar 30, 2014
risingangel90 (All reviews)
So i began black lagoon one week ago mainly for the reason that i wanted to see a good action seinen anime. When i finished the First season i was sure that i had made the right choice the same feeling i had when i finished the second season but it was like that this anime was getting a real story and it wasnt only random story arcs for the anime fans to enjoy. Then Roberta's Blood Trail came and really made me to think again what this series wants to offer.

Roberta's Blood Trail continues right where the original show left off so it is read more
Jul 15, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
With this OAV series being focused around Black Lagoon's El Baile De La Muerte arc from the manga, the return of Roberta in crazed revenge easily had the potential at creating the best material to be seen from the series thus far. For four out of five episodes, the series does well at delivering its stuff. Roberta's carnage that she tore throughout Ronapour in the show's first season was but a small sample of how crazed she could be in committing to what she considers a just cause. Here in Blood Trail, the death of her elder master causes her to snap and each appearance read more
Mar 28, 2018
arekkusu_desu (All reviews)
Here's a summary for all the hectic folk with not enough attention span to read something longer than two sentences -
Story: 9 ; Art: 10 ; Sound: 9 ; Characters: 9 ; Enjoyment: 10 ; Overall: 10
Best girl: Roberta (obviously)

Still here? Great.

Black Lagoon in general is an exciting thriller, revolving around a group of pirates and their "wacky" adventures in the South Asian seas. This OVA is a sequеl, exploring the vibrant story of the beloved Terminator maid Roberta and aims to be a more fulfilling (temporary, because the manga is still ongoing) ending to the overarching story of these series. And boy, read more
Jun 12, 2013
Paulwillson26 (All reviews)
Roanapur is in a state of panic. There are rumours that Roberta, the killer maid from season 1, is back, mentally unstable and out for revenge. To make it worse hot on her heels is the US Army and FARC who are hell bent on putting the Bloodhound down for good. Who can stop her and stop the US Army putting Roanapur's criminal enterprises out of business, Hotel Moscow, the Triad, Colombians or Mafia?

The rumours are true and begins a brutal blood path in which even Roanapur's finest killers are unable survive in.

Roberta's Blood Trail feels like the Black Lagoon the producers wanted to make read more
Jul 13, 2015
DeathMaul (All reviews)
Black Lagoon was a great series to watch with an impeccable original story but this Roberta's Blood Trail ruined Rock and Roberta's character. Although they improved the way the Anime looks but that's about all i can say that is good.
Nov 1, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Black Lagoon is among the few anime titles released within the last 9 years I can look back on fondly. While the series on occasion can dip into the ultra fantasy with females appearing to be much stronger than what they should be. I simply cannot ignore the other things that grabs my interest on a high level. One of its main draws for me has been the tonal consistency and mature direction it manages to pull off on occasion. I enjoy its dark humor most of the time, and admire that it doesn't attempt to jam in random and absurd comedic moments simply to read more
Mar 24, 2018
DJM47 (All reviews)
Before I begin this Review this is going to cover both seasons and the OVA no spoilers. lets start the review the story I thought it was a good the story follows a Japanese businessman named Rokurou Okajima and one day he gets kidnapped by a group of mercenaries or hired guns what will happen next. that is the story with out giving to much away next the action. the action in this anime was fucking great it was unrealistic but if your watching an anime i doubt your going for realism. next the most critical part of making this anime amazing and that is read more
Apr 2, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
The Bloodhound lusts for revenge...

We're back with the Black Lagoon and Roberta has literally gone feral for bloodlust and shakes up Ronanpur to the point of the Russian, Columbian's & Hong Kong Triad and the Americans get mixed up in all this.

Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail by all accounts documents Roberta's "Blood Trails" aka. killing list for the revenge of his Master's father and though this OVA is dedicated to Roberta's rampage through Ronanpur, other players like LA aforementioned comes into the mix and plays a little game.

See after the incident in Tokyo, Rock has been in a rather deep stump as it were, unable read more
Mar 27, 2014
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
Dear God. This was amazing. It's one step up from the second season of Black Lagoon, Bringing Black Lagoon to the top of my favorite anime list. Now lets get into this review. There will be a few spoilers, so consider yourself warned.

The bad. I loved Roberta's character, though one thing bothered me. She shoots her sniper rifles one handed and side ways (I loved that aspect), she can survive nearly 20 RPGs shot directly at her, hitting her (Again, that was cool), and she comes out without even a scratch on her. But she doesn't get out of a jungle, where she has the read more
Jul 20, 2016
ComicConReviews (All reviews)
If you’ve finished ‘The Second Barrage’ chances are you will be hungry for more. There isn’t any real sense of completion to the second season. I don’t know whether this was intentional or because they wanted to leave the show open for a possible third season. So in this sense the OVA does technically give a resolution. We also find out the full story about Revy’s past. It was already previously mentioned that she had a difficult childhood so actually showing what happened doesn’t add anything to her character. Revy was interesting because of her wicked sense of humor and unapolagetic way of living. ‘Roberta’s read more
Oct 17, 2015
rednekdashie (All reviews)
So today I watched Black Lagoon Roberta's Blood Trail, it was good and left me wondering about myself and my own rage. Roberta's Blood Trail is an OVA which takes place directly after the end of Second Barrage.


It tells the tail of the aftermath of a NSA assassination which took out Roberta's master. Now if you have seen the original series you will know that Roberta would have killed everyone in Roanaper if it meant saving her master and his child. With the master dead, she goes after the NSA which have taken up residence in Roanapur for a little while. Garcia and another maid read more
Jun 12, 2017
S1apSh0es (All reviews)
Video Review of Black Lagoon as a whole here: https://youtu.be/DS0V83HPIu4

Black Lagoon wrapped up its second season in 2006, but four years down the road they switched to an OVA format for the next arc and over the course of about a year put out five expertly crafted pieces of animation that acted as a brilliant end cap to the franchise.

The family from the Maid to Kill arc of the first season is back and things have gone tits-up back home in Columbia. Vowing revenge for her master’s death, Roberta’s read more