Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yu☆Gi☆Oh! Duel Monsters


Alternative Titles

English: Yu-Gi-Oh!
Synonyms: Yugioh, Yu-Gi-Oh!, Yu-Gi-Oh!: Duel Monsters, Yugioh: Duel Monsters, Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters
Japanese: 遊☆戯☆王 デュエルモンスターズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 224
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 18, 2000 to Sep 29, 2004
Premiered: Spring 2000
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Nihon Ad Systems
Studios: Studio Gallop
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 129,759 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #444
Members: 214,190
Favorites: 2,979

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 2, 2013
Kyuutoryuu (All reviews)
I think the fact that YuGiOh (along with Pokemon) was the first anime I ever watched is enough to give this series a 10. That and the fact that this is one of the very few solid English dubs out there.

Great story, plot, ingenius card game (think about it, Kazuki pulled the entire YuGiOh ruleset out of his ass and it's incredible!), along with enjoyable dialogue make this series a 10/10. Honestly, if you've never seen YuGiOh and you're on MyAnimeList to decide if you should watch it, then go ahead and do it. You've been missing out.
Jul 12, 2010
sdfgq32234 (All reviews)
I, probably like many others, watched Yu-Gi-Oh: The Abridged Series without ever watching much of the original show. Since TAS is hilarious, I assumed the original show was just another bad kid's show. Something made me decide to watch it a while ago. I then realized the error of my ways. This is not a kid's show by any means. It is a show for men.

Story: 7/10

While the story is not perfect by any means, it's about fucking card games what do you expect? I'd give it a 10/10 but only women care about stories so an 7/10 is read more
Feb 15, 2010
Kathisofy (All reviews)
Yugioh is an anime about card games, that’s what most people see when they watch it. I’ve heard it called the best worst series ever. What people fail to see is the intense character development that happens over a course of 224 episodes. The series started out with no card games at all. The story is about a kid named Yugi who is shorter than average, insecure, geeky and picked on most of the time. For 8 years he works on a puzzle that his grandfather found in Egypt. Upon finishing it, He is possessed with an ancient spirit read more
Apr 26, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

Time for another highly nostalgic review! Today, I will be looking back on Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters, which was very popular during the late 1990s and early 2000s. This was the first Yugioh anime to be widely released outside Japan, but was actually the 2nd anime adaptation of Kazuki Takahashi's original manga. The first anime adaptation actually followed the manga faithfully and was later released as "Season Zero" in the West. Is an anime worse when it doesn't follow the manga? Honestly, the answer depends on what anime you're talking about. The first Hellsing anime was vastly inferior to its manga counterpart, so it was very read more
Mar 8, 2008
Jin_Kaze_Tsukai (All reviews)
Not another card driven game! That is what I thought going into this. I had just gotten over my Pokemon and Digimon phase. So upon seeing this I quirked an eyebrow. However I gave it a whirl and watched it, and by god I actually enjoyed it. The characters are so much more dynamic than most of these genre of shows. There is a plot behind all the games (read the manga for more). The most interesting twist to me was the Egyptian background. That intrigued me to no end to see how exactly that would play out. Surprisingly to me it played out nicely, read more
Feb 5, 2007
Nekokitsune (All reviews)
Now, when I say ‘Yu-Gi-Oh’, the first thing that comes to mind is probably the opening – with Yugi saying ‘It’s time to Duel’ and the D in Duel just echoes off into infinity… After all, silly little card games is all the show’s about right?

Ha ha…

WRONG.

Sixteen year-old Yugi Mutou (I’ll use their Japanese names if you don’t mind) inherits a golden box from his grandfather, inside are pieces that form a puzzle.

After eight years of struggle and determination, Yugi finally finishes this puzzle, but unknown to him are the deep secrets locked within it. Including a 3000 year old spirit, who looks just read more
May 5, 2008
Orion_Rising (All reviews)
I have one thing to say for anybody who has watched the show in English, or who hasn't watched the show at all: please, please, please, please watch the Japanese version.
The differences are astronomical. When I first starting watching Yugioh as a kid, I loved the American version - as I got more into my teenage years and more and more into anime, I started to watch the show in Japanese. That's when I truly fell in love with it!
I love the complexities in the characters and the niches in their relationship. While the story is really very good, it's the characters read more
Feb 11, 2010
rpn101 (All reviews)
First off this was one of the first animes i ever watched.Back then i didn't even know what anime was but it didn't matter to me the only thing i cared about was how it looked and how people at school were playing the card game.So the reasons for liking this anime is because the characters are well developed throughout the show and you get to see different views of the characters and i mean EVERY character for example Yugi (Yami or Atem) is the heroine of the story but we really don't know about his past until later on...

Anyway you eventually figure out how read more
Dec 6, 2017
ChivbagTalksalot (All reviews)
Preliminary
"This card has 1500 attack power"
"That means whenever I attack the enemy player with this card, they will lose 1500 life points."
"And thats a good thing because if the enemy player runs out of life points, I win the game!"
"Wow thats amazing, I guess that means that the enemy player will have to try his hardest to not get hit by your card."
"Thats right. It just comes to show how powerful this 1500 attack power card is."

*Match starts*

"Oh no, I'm about to get hit by that 1500 attack power creature."
"Aaaaahh, I've was hit and I'm pretending that being hit by a virtual creature in a read more
Apr 30, 2008
Nyoko_Miyamura (All reviews)
When I first heard of "Yu-Gi-Oh!", I wasn't that interested about it, but when I finally a few episodes, I wanted to know what happened next. Sooner or later, I became a fan.

The characters are very driven in their strengths and abilities and it doesn't center around the card game all the time. It centers around the themes of fate vs. destiny and mysteries of one's past. I found most of them quite intriguing and enjoyable to hear and watch.

The antagonists are the most interesting since they have their own motives and agendas, so it's a mystery to what their true objective is. The voice read more
Jun 23, 2014
HappyHarryHardOn (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review will be short and to the point.

Yu-Gi-Oh! was one of the very first ever anime titles I watched and I’m currently re-watching it. I have to say I’m surprised to find that it’s more enjoyable now than when I was eight years old probably seeing as I have a much better attention span now. This is my review.

Contains Minor Spoilers

Story
Yu-Gi-Oh! revolves around a game called Duel Monsters which is a card game where players summon mythical monsters and duel against each other. The plot is simple but the more you watch the show the more interesting the games become. The read more
Dec 12, 2018
SupremeLord (All reviews)
There are some shows that are clearly meant for a younger audience, shows that are clearly made with people with a specific demographic in mind. However, I am of the mind that a show that can only be enjoyed by that demographic is not a good show. Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters could’ve so easily been one of those shows, yet, it wasn’t… I mean, it’s flawed as hell, but none of that has to do with narrowing down to a certain demographic.

Since this is my first review of a long-running Shounen, I should note that the format for these reviews will be a bit different from read more
Sep 3, 2016
Lil-Bird (All reviews)
It's time to d-d-d-d—d-d-d-d-d-d-do a review! *checks that off the overdone memetic references list*

Every dubbing company has their golden goose: FUNimation has Dragon Ball Z. ADV Films had Evangelion. Animaze had Cowboy Bebop. 4KIDS had two: Pokémon and Yu-Gi-Oh!, although it was the latter that defined their dubs.

Yu-Gi-Oh! is most well-known for being about card games, although the series originally was just a dark shounen that used games in place of the typical shounen battles. Indeed, “Yu-Gi-Oh!” directly translates to “King of Games!”, and arguably it's kept that title, at least when it comes to game-related anime. The franchise as a whole had been in read more
Jan 6, 2012
MaiValentine (All reviews)
I absolutely adore this anime. I remember being 8 years old and rushing home from school to watch my VHS Yu-Gi-Oh! episodes that my mother borrowed for me from the library. I got teased for being a girl and liking this show. Actually, I still do! :)

Story - A teenage boy named Yugi Mutou solves the Millennium Puzzle, which is an ancient Egyptian artifact. The puzzle is possessed by the spirit of an ancient pharaoh (Atem, Yu-Gi-Oh!, King of Games, etc.) The pharaoh remembers nothing of his past, besides the fact that he previously resided in Egypt. Yugi's grandfather owns a game shop, so he read more
Jul 17, 2011
MonjaElisa (All reviews)
I actually started watching Yu-Gi-Oh! After having seen the GX edition to the series. The reason for this was actually, Yu-Gi-Oh! didn't air on tv here exept for GX.. But I loved it anyways and that made me check out this anime.
And I Must say I am rather pleased and glad I took my time to watch this.

What's mere fun turns into a nightmare in this classic Yu-Gi-Oh! Anime.
A Cardgame unidentical to any others..
Duel Monsters is the new cardgame created and probably the most popular one ever as there are held contests and tournaments about it.

Yugi Muto is just your average boy, Until one read more
Dec 6, 2009
chennette (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know how anyone can watch this show unless they are little boys. This is a sad excuse of an anime. When I realized that they were playing with cards and acting very serious, I just had to turn off my TV. I went outside and read a book and spent my time on better things. This anime is horrible. The art is ugly too. Not recommended at all.
Oct 30, 2013
StarfireDragon (All reviews)
Despite it being an anime about games, it has one of the most compelling stories, and some of the best character development I've ever seen in an anime. I mean seriously, watching the series again, and having a taste of what their lives where like before the series (Toei's version), I've found that each character has so much significance in the story, and every little detail, like the decks they use, reflect both their character's personality, and the overall arch of the story. And aside from saving the world from ancient magic and supernatural like that, The series invokes a quest for self-actualization, inspired by read more
Jan 10, 2009
MahadoKusanagi (All reviews)
Since I saw Dragon Ball for the first time in year 1993 on TV, I never had seen a better anime than that; besides I have watched Sailor Moon too during the same time. Nevertheless, Dragon Ball was my favourite anime for years until 1999/2000. Why? Well I saw Digimon, I don't know why, but this series, especially Digimon Adventures (Season 1), impressed me a little bit more than Dragon Ball. But then, then I saw the best anime ever. Yes I'm talking about Yuu gi oh (I write it "Yuu gi oh", isn`t wrong). I admit before I saw it, I thought it would read more
Sep 8, 2013
CallMeKurisuchan (All reviews)
Here's my review of Yu-Gi-Oh, hopefully you have a sense of humor. If not OH well... here's my review anyway!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So let's just recap what Yu-Gi-Oh is, this entire series is a show based on a kid with personality disorder and seems to like talking to himself. Will apparently save the word playing a children's card game!

Story - Good story I guess, save the world by skipping class to go play card games, Yugi gets into Duel Monsters, when his grandfather gets robbed by a rich kid with daddy issues, yes the rival Seto Kaiba! Throughout the whole show Yu-Gi battles other read more
May 17, 2016
LadyBeato (All reviews)
Like many others of my generation, I've been on a nostalgic Yugioh craze since learning about the new movie that was just released in April this year. While Yugioh will always hold a special place in my heart due to the impact it had on my childhood years, I have purposefully re-watched all 224 episodes of this show with a critical eye and sadly cannot bring myself to give it a higher score.

Unfortunately, Yugioh is a prime example of an amazing premise that suffers from poor execution.

(Also of note, my review will refer to the dub names/situations- although I am aware of the read more