Kaguya-sama wa Kokurasetai: Tensai-tachi no Renai Zunousen


Kaguya-sama: Love is War

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Kaguya-sama: Love is War
Synonyms: Kaguya Wants to be Confessed To: The Geniuses' War of Love and Brains
Japanese: かぐや様は告らせたい~天才たちの恋愛頭脳戦~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2019 to Mar 30, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance
Themes: PsychologicalPsychological, SchoolSchool
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 757694757,694 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #71
Members: 1,232,427
Favorites: 27,421

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2019
OG_Gattsu (All reviews)
Every season there is one entry the anime community overhypes beyond belief and this time it's Kaguya sama.

Story? There’s no story beyond two teen high schoolers failed love attempts at getting the other person to confess. Fans have dubbed Kaguya sama as the "Death Note of romance", which is laughable because the mind games here are pretentious, basic tactics.

The comedy is hit or miss most of the time, with the odd joke being able to crack a smile from me. The jokes and gags are repetitive and become stale e.g. the skit where the President and Kaguya gave love advice dragged on too long. read more
Mar 31, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Confessing love to someone is one of the most intimidating challenges we face in our lives.

Kaguya-sama: Love is War takes this relatable fear to the extreme. This anime isn't your average rom-com; it's a fight to the death between two stubborn geniuses in a battle of who will confess first. Kaguya Shinomiya is the wealthy heir to a corporate enterprise, a prodigy of course, but sheltered, with far more pride than common sense. Her adversary, Miyuki Shirogane, comes from a much more humble background, a workaholic to reach the top of his class, but unfortunately, he has little experience with anything else. Despite wildly read more
Feb 2, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Considering the circumstances that have lead us to these conditions, I conclude the state we're currently facing is refreshingly cuddly in a soothing manner.

I.e. How cute.

I don't really like A-1, but this time they are doing pretty darn impressive job. Even the character design which A-1 fucks up approximately 100% of the time is quality here. Unbelievable. Sure the stares and GAZES could deliver more, and the how cute moments can only be so cute, but otherwise this is a ridiculously high quality adaptation which success was unpredictable.

The first and last thing that stands out here is the directing. Those who have seen read more
Mar 30, 2019
dotta (All reviews)
To describe Kaguya-sama: Love is War as a battlefield of love, between two prideful geniuses, who see confessing as a sign of “weakness” is well—sort of misleading.

Not because these type of scenarios don’t happen throughout the show, but more so because I’m not entirely sure that it is accurate to describe the characters as “prideful” or even “geniuses”; and that might be the biggest issue the show has.

Kaguya-sama begins in a very direct way; the whole idea of the show, everything about Miyuki and Kaguya, and their relationship is thrown at us through a narrator. There is no build up of their relationship, we are read more
Mar 30, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Almost every time someone talks to me about a romantic comedy, they'd would mention how well the romance is delivered. Then along came this show called Kaguya-sama: Love is War that goes beyond than just being a romantic comedy. In a landscape dominated by recent isekai shows, there’s a need for fresh air. Kaguya-sama managed be just that.

Aka Akasaka is somewhat of a new author in the manga world. Prior to this series, their only work I was familiar with is Sayonara Piano Sonata. When Kaguya-sama began serializing, I knew there was something special about this series with the way it introduced its story read more
Feb 2, 2019
Quantum-Arc (All reviews)
Preliminary
A masterpiece that evokes every emotion I want to feel from a Romantic comedy.
President Miyuki and Vice President Kaguya are in love with each other, but both view themselves as the ultimate object of desire, and thus see no reason to confess, in fact when you are as perfect as they are shouldn’t it be the duty of other people to aspire towards you? However, this is quickly revealed to be a front used by two egotistical Teenagers who can’t quite work up the courage to ask out their crush. What follows from this is a sequence of over thought-out plans in order to force read more
Feb 2, 2019
LittlePaws (All reviews)
Preliminary
Disclaimer: This is a more critical view of Kaguya sama than something commented just on pure enjoyment overrall.
Kaguya sama is one of the newest and most popular comedy animes in the current times, be it due to simple jokes being shared or the dance in the ending that literally everyone decided to talk about, however, the overall quality of the anime itself should'nt be ignored because like everything else, it has it's flaws.
First of all, the anime is extremely episodic almost to the point of being predictable, it sticks to it's formula and never decides to change or take absolute advantage of being formulaic which read more
Feb 11, 2019
theodoris (All reviews)
Preliminary
I must be to old to like this anime.

There is no story, it`s all about 2 young students who are afraid to show their real feelings.
And then it`s only short stories, 3 or 4 in 1 episode.

It`s really boring, Chika is somewhat amusing although not really.
Maybe if the characters would evolve, but they don`t.

The main characters are showing bold and all knowing, but they are really as insecure as a little schoolgirl
Maybe i have seen to many of this genre, but it just doesn`t interest me at all.
Watch this if you like to see insecure students bumbling around, otherwise don`t waste your time on this

perhaps read more
Mar 30, 2019
HellLyter (All reviews)
This is one of those special anime that perfectly represents why I’ve been sticking with anime for so long. Love is War exudes brilliance with every fiber of its being. It has so much going for it, and offers something that practically everyone can enjoy. In simpler terms, it’s just so damn good bruh! What, don’t believe me? pfft, how cute. Let me lecture you on why this anime is pure excellence.

Psychological battles of wits have always excited me. It’s quite exhilarating to witness two characters going head to head against each other not physically, but mentally. Anime RomComs with interesting and dynamic read more
Mar 11, 2019
Shiraishiku (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is not good.

The whole show got popular and keeps getting popular thanks to a meme of a dancing lady. A lot of people consider it the best comedy show they have seen, and a lot of people dislike the fact this is called a comedy anime.

I'm on par with the last example, this whole show is extremely repetitive and predictable, you can pretty much predict what's gonna happen in the next 10 minutes, without the help of any spoilers, most of the jokes and comedic parts are hardly funny or as you would like to call it "sarcastic". It was a premise with the read more
Mar 30, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
“See, this show's what having a good director can do for your fuckin' show. You can make A-1 Pictures look like a competent studio. That's fucked up!” -DEEsidia from REVEL HOUSE, 2019

Pride is cruel and ignorance is bliss, and when love is war, feelings are the casualties. Kaguya-sama is this concept taken to a hilarious extreme, with two teenage egotists trying to manipulate each other into confessing their feelings as every idea they ever had gets trampled on. This show thrives off its comedic timing, with tons of audiovisual flair, character chemistry, and wild ideas for our main leads to plan around and exploit. read more
Feb 2, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Wieners sliced to look like an octopus! They really exist! I want to try one…” — Kaguya Shinomiya

“Ohh, gawd. Did I accidentally stumble upon Shokushu Goukan….(again)?!” — Krunchyman


Overt references to tentacle erotica aside, Kaguya-sama: Love is War is an anime about two people — Kaguya and Miyuki — who secretly love each other, but are unwilling to confess their affections in fear that the other person will gain the upper hand. This, invariably, commences a series of events in which Kaguya and Miyuki attempt to psychologically outmaneuver one another, generating a conglomerate of awkward/comedic circumstances. Whether or not these ventures read more
Feb 2, 2019
Mythologically (All reviews)
Preliminary
I despise A-1 Pictures. They either make average shows out of good source material or make absolute trash. You can imagine my disappointment when I saw that a manga with a score of about 8.65 was given to A-1. And judging by that 10 in the top right corner, you can imagine how pleasantly surprised I was when I saw the first episode of this show.

Kaguya-sama is the funniest anime I have seen since Tanaka-kun, which says a lot since the latter is my favorite comedy anime. The sheer ridiculousness of the plot is hilarious. Death Note-level mind games are woven into a story about read more
Mar 30, 2019
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
A random day back in December 2015 had me giving a chance to at that point very recent manga called Kaguya-sama after the cover grabbed my attention, not too many chapters after I already fell in love with it and it eventually became my favorite work ever and the one that I was waiting like crazy for an adaptation to happen, and when that time came… oh god, they couldn't have delivered harder!

The main duo of this story are Kaguya and Miyuki, the two students at the top of a highly renowned academy and the two most lovable tsunderes out there, consistently trying to outplay read more
Feb 2, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
2 geniuses trying to feel superiority by making the other confess first! This has got to be one of the best scenarios ever!

Art/Sound:
Let's get this straight, I don't love the studio that makes this anime and feel as though their animation is solid but not great, however, holy shit! The visuals in this anime are so impressive, it reminds me of something Shaft would produce which I love, most people are going to be pleasantly surprised at how great the animation and the art in general is! Sound wise, I have 0 complaints! Voice acting is spot on with a very underrated funky OP and read more
Mar 31, 2019
Gamer651 (All reviews)
Kaguya-sama: Love is War

As much as this show can be as stereotypical an anime can be, it wasn't a surprise to see the show using the same tropes used in the past, in these days finding out a new way to make a love comedy anime interesting is quite hard. So rather than focusing on changing the tropes, other aspects of the anime can be changed to make it alluring towards the viewer, and that's what this anime did.

Rather than focusing on the plot of the story, since hardly there is really no plot, it's focused more on the antics, plotting of read more
Mar 30, 2019
uehasu (All reviews)
"If I cover my ears, then my hands aren't free to protect my belly button!"
- Shoki no Chika

Reminder: this review does not include any element of comparison with the manga and contains just a little bit spoiler (not too much). Of course, I have read the manga and it is very good, but I'm not the kind of person who would want to compare an anime to its original source (it's kinda pointless to compare 3 hours of Grisaia to the 50 hours of its visual novel, for the sake of example); (and English is not my native tongue).

Because tradition dictates it, here is a read more
Mar 30, 2019
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
I’ve seen plenty of romantic comedy anime series that draw interest with their own sort of game, but never before have I seen such a series like this one strut their stuff and dance it out like this one.

Adapted from a seinen manga series published by Viz Media and Shueisha, produced by A-1 Pictures, and directed by Mamoru Hatakeyama (the very same person who contributed to the likes of SHAFT shows like Madoka Magica and Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko), “Kaguya-Sama: Love Is War” is a rom-com show that seems to be aimed more for mature viewers due to its rather unique and twisted take read more
Mar 11, 2019
DaveHs (All reviews)
Preliminary
I did not like the series, most people say that this series is innovative ... but I say, in what innovates? same composition of characters in any romantic novel (the 2 tsundere protagonists who like each other, but none dares to take a step to the point that it becomes annoying, secondary characters whose only function is to look silly on screens to make people laugh no deeper development).

In my opinion until the anime of ueno-san is better than this since at least does not have the typical composition among its characters.
In short, I do not see that people see this anime when there are read more
Mar 30, 2019
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
"O kawaii koto~"

Imagine if Death Note was a romcom. Imagine that Light and L were not trying to outwit each other with the world itself at stake, but rather just that they actually liked each other romantically but were too shy and awkward to just it outright. Do you think that sounds ridiculous? Maybe, but that's more or less the idea behind Kaguya-sama. Well, except it's not yaoi of course.

If you ever need a benchmark for how to do a romcom really damn good, then look no further than this. There really aren't many series within the genre out there that can manage to not read more