Sakura Quest

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sakura Quest
Japanese: サクラクエスト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2017 to Sep 21, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 3324033,240 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1170
Members: 117,984
Favorites: 430
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
P.A. Works has been experimenting with a lot of ideas in recent years. Shows that focuses on coming of age storytelling, collaboration projects that adds a touch of fantasy to its world setting, and even mecha from their recent 15th anniversary project. Advertised as an anime about a “working series” involving people and jobs, one can’t help but relate to their previous works such as Hanasaku Iroha and Shirobako. However, Sakura Quest is also very distinguishable on its own.

As an original anime running for a span of 25 consecutive episodes, Sakura Quest has plenty to offer despite the simple premise. The idea of taking read more
Sep 20, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
“A place is only as good as the people you know in it. It's the people that make the place.”

P.A. Works did it again! With a fresh and enjoyable concept Sakura Quest managed to distinguish itself from the regular seasonal shows through its original concept . With lovely and adorable characters, with an emotional and soothing atmosphere, Sakura Quest is an anime that focuses on promoting tourism in a rural area called Manoyama.

A story is always passed down from a person to another during the passing time. Sakura Quest makes no exception to this rule and each read more
Sep 20, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
Sakura Quest is one of many in the line of adult work life focused designed by PA Works. It's in the same vein as Shirabako and many who watch it draw comparisons between the two of them, however, they aren't all that similar and ultimately while Shirabako works, Sakura Quest doesn't.

Sakura Quest has a really neat idea. The idea of these young women all with different backgrounds coming together to help out this town is a good basis. It's not overdone and it works well with the story that Sakura Quest is trying to tell. However, the execution of that story was missing. While there read more
Sep 20, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Sakura Quest an anime that shows us the simplicity of the life. We don't need fights, powers, weird plots to like a story. We just need a connection with the characters and a story that creates a living relationship with us.

How many times have we confronted problems, challenges, and feelings that affect our decisions and all around us? Sakura Quest answers that question and gives us an example in a very creative way. One day we hate our work, and the next we could start loving it as happened with Yoshino and this group of women with unique skills that complement between them. The need read more
May 3, 2017
Arachnophobic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though just a fifth of the season has aired and it's far too soon to mete out judgement on anything, I'm writing this because I noticed a dearth of previews - I hope this can offer some insight on those who are wondering whether to pick this show up or not.

As one can judge by the cover, this show features an all-female main cast with designs very reminiscent of Shirobako, which is arguably P. A. Works' best title; they might be trying to re-create that magic, albeit in a wildly different setting. If you liked that show, and want more of Cute Adults Doing read more
May 8, 2017
Rizrak47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story : 9/10
Actually, this one based on a personal taste. I enjoyed to watch this anime because I like work genre anime. Especially if MC live and work in village or mountain area. Just like Hanasaku Iroha, Barakamon, etc. So the first story is nice, a girl who cannot find a job in Tokyo go to Manoyama to becoma a Queen in local area (Who can expect this one? lol), found some friends and interesting things with a job in there.

Art : 8.5/10
Who can deny this one? P.A. Works original anime art always attractive in my eyes. Remember Shirobako character art or Hanasaku Iroha read more
May 11, 2017
scottpilgrim10 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is a work in progress. Sakura Quest is a work in progress, and life is a work in progress. Sakura effortlessly illustrates the themes of the modern work environment, and the dilemmas of marketing a failed town, in such a way that a seemingly mundane premise utterly compelled me. Sakura Quest isn’t perfect, it doesn’t know all the answers to our questions. What do I want to work on? Am I putting enough effort into my work? Is this really the career path I want to head towards? What if I’m not passionate about this work? If I don’t continue down this path read more
Jun 23, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Can a clueless woman who failed about 30 job interviews revive a town?

I began this series entirely clueless and not knowing what I'll get. So what did I get?

Sakura Quest is pretty much the anime version of how Tourist Board ( workers ) work. It's pretty scary how realistic this is, but at the same time I'm also quite happy as these kind of stuff are hard to find. What's even better is the fact that this is 25 episodes.

Despite being categorized as comedy, this show wasn't funny at all. It was pretty serious most of the time and I never recall laughing read more
Sep 20, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
Reviving a town is your quest.


This was a great series, when I first heard it was about a girl that becomes queen of a town, but it wasn't what she expected I didn't know what to think. I thought maybe it was some story of a young girl that becomes queen of a real kingdom, or maybe even a isekai, but what I found ws something so so much better.

Story: at it's heart, it's about trying to help make a town better, one that is slowly disappearing as more people leave, and five people trying to help the town and journey read more
Aug 27, 2017
black0678 (All reviews)
Preliminary
For people who really liked to watch anime and always watching anime every season im sure they can tell just from the cover, art design and the title that this anime are done by P.A works. Its just give this unique vibes just from looking from its cover and style. And just from that you already know that these guys are the real deal and everybody knows that P.A works are one of the best in this industry.

The story,art,sound,enjoyment,etc are 10/10 from me just the first 3 episode you will understand that all of your expectations gonna be fulfilled(if you like slice of life and read more
Sep 21, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
What does it take to revive an nearly abandoned town?

P.A Works is at it again with their working girls...working this time for the tourism industry and looking at the lives of 5 girls, one a "queen" and 4 ministers to rejuvenate an almost abandoned town.

Those 5 girls are the queen Yoshino Koharu wanting something special and failing to get a job in Tokyo accidentally gets hired for a one year contract to Manoyama. Sanae Kouzuki voiced by Mikako Komatsu who is a fellow Tokyonite and is efficient in IT-related works, Maki Midorikawa voiced by Chika Anzai, an actress with broken ambitions and had read more
Sep 20, 2017
Ozzy_overdrive (All reviews)
As a fan of P.A Works both as a studio and as a company, I must say this show features many of the studio's own personal values which is why I belive this is one of the best shows P.A has put out there.

Story:9/10
The story features five young adult girls working in the tourism board of a small rural town trying to revive both the town and the local tourism. It has this Shirobako thing, but here is where P.A portrays its own values the most. The studio is one of fewest who doesn't have their headquarters in Tokyo, their headquarters is located in Nanto read more
Nov 23, 2019
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
Make no mistake, as Sakura Quest is not one of the best anime from its season. It's not particularly attractive and touching either. But as the unnamed town itself depicted, things can be simple and yet you will never forget that feeling.

Sakura Quest is a small story that enclose a big dream revolve around changes that none would want to make and changes that shape the characters' life, perhaps forever. It is indeed a long quest to get attached to the story but it is a journey that is worth the ticket. To understand that dream is more than just a dream and to work read more
Sep 27, 2017
RealityRush (All reviews)
Summary: If you simply want a spoiler-free recommendation about whether or not to watch this show, I will provide you with this brief summary. If you enjoy workplace Slice of Life shows, especially of the much more low-energy, laid-back variety with plenty of well-timed humour sprinkled throughout yet still present with emotionally compelling themes, this is your show. If you enjoy watching a show about young adults trying to find their way in life like Shirobako (which may have led you here, but don't expect the same high-energy intensity), especially via strong bonds of friendship forged through mutual struggle, then this is your read more
Sep 23, 2017
brainiac1530 (All reviews)
Sakura Quest is a show which lacks for nothing but marketability. Thankfully, this doesn't actually affect viewer experience. It only serves to get things noticed in a crowded market. One may ask, "How does an anime outside the usual, marketable trends get made in the first place?" That has everything to do with the production team behind it, you see.

Progressive Animation Works (hereafter P.A. Works) has a very indicative name. It's clear from the name alone that the intent of the studio was to push the medium forward. One can see several of the latest trends in anime production read more
Sep 22, 2017
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
Story: In the beginning it's focus on Yoshino and the miscommunication from Manoyama was a good start to this show. Add in the other characters backstories throughout the series and you got a really good story.

Art and Animation: Really beautiful at times. You can tell the quality went down for some episodes and some parts but they were easily overlooked.

Sound and VA's: Honestly I wasn't a fan of any of the ops and eds but the BGM was really good. The VA's did a really good job. No problems at all.

Characters: Really enjoyable cast. Very relatable on all parts.

Enjoyment: Really enjoyed this anime. Fantastic read more
Sep 30, 2017
BlueSkylark (All reviews)
Sakura Quest

3/5 Story

- certain things are to convinient

- Original setting for a workplace show

- told through smaller arcs that are heavily focused around each of the main 5 girls at
first

- interesting themes like keeping things the way the are or how to improve a town
without it losing it's identity

- some episodes dragged a bit

- lack of a clear endgoal up until 2/3 into the show

- from small to bigger


4.5/5 Characters

- all of the 5 main girls feel relatable

- Yoshino has the most screentime, while the other 4 share all an equal amount of
screentime

- other characters with read more
Sep 20, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
"What do you want to be when you grow up?" It's such a simple question that often times has no answer because many people just honestly don't know what to do with themselves.  It's here where P.A. Works brings their storytelling flair to answer that question, giving us Sakura Quest, a journey of one girl and her friends to save a dying town.

Story: Koharu Yoshino is a girl with a dream of finding something special.  Leaving her countryside home for the big city, she finds herself in a rut unable to find anything stable.  With one last chance given to her way out in the read more
Nov 12, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

I no longer live with my parents; it’s been that way for quite a while now.

Having grown up in their home for so long, though, I can still picture it clearly to this day. The layout of the kitchen. Which floorboards creek. That cool sensation of the basement on a hot summer day. While nothing too extraordinary ever happened in or around the area, its own charm bursts forth all the same.

This sentiment could very well be nostalgia talking. But I’m pretty sure that Sakura Quest would agree with me to some extent: that such read more
Dec 22, 2017
EvanLoh (All reviews)
<SHORT REVIEW>

PROS:
1. CONSISTENT VISUALS
2. REALISTIC SETTING
3. RELATABLE CHARACTERS
4. RELAXING MUSIC

CONS:
1. NOTHING PROGRESSED
2. CAN BE BIT BORING IF YOU ARE NOT INTO SLICE OF LIFE

<LONG REVIEW>

Sakura Quest is a breathe of fresh air compared to a lot of anime we received lately. If you don't know, Sakura Quest is an anime following the daily lives of a group of girls working in a traveling agency. It's very Slice of Life so if you aren't a fan of Slice of Life anime, skip this.

Well, if you are one, then the Slice of Life in this anime is kinda different compared to other series in the same read more