Sakura Quest

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: サクラクエスト
English: Sakura Quest
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2017 to Sep 21, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 3746337,463 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #20032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1323
Members: 132,091
Favorites: 457

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
P.A. Works has been experimenting with a lot of ideas in recent years. Shows that focuses on coming of age storytelling, collaboration projects that adds a touch of fantasy to its world setting, and even mecha from their recent 15th anniversary project. Advertised as an anime about a “working series” involving people and jobs, one can’t help but relate to their previous works such as Hanasaku Iroha and Shirobako. However, Sakura Quest is also very distinguishable on its own.

As an original anime running for a span of 25 consecutive episodes, Sakura Quest has plenty to offer despite the simple premise. The idea of taking read more
Sep 20, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
“A place is only as good as the people you know in it. It's the people that make the place.”

P.A. Works did it again! With a fresh and enjoyable concept Sakura Quest managed to distinguish itself from the regular seasonal shows through its original concept . With lovely and adorable characters, with an emotional and soothing atmosphere, Sakura Quest is an anime that focuses on promoting tourism in a rural area called Manoyama.

A story is always passed down from a person to another during the passing time. Sakura Quest makes no exception to this rule and each read more
Sep 20, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
Sakura Quest is one of many in the line of adult work life focused designed by PA Works. It's in the same vein as Shirabako and many who watch it draw comparisons between the two of them, however, they aren't all that similar and ultimately while Shirabako works, Sakura Quest doesn't.

Sakura Quest has a really neat idea. The idea of these young women all with different backgrounds coming together to help out this town is a good basis. It's not overdone and it works well with the story that Sakura Quest is trying to tell. However, the execution of that story was missing. While there read more
Sep 20, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Sakura Quest an anime that shows us the simplicity of the life. We don't need fights, powers, weird plots to like a story. We just need a connection with the characters and a story that creates a living relationship with us.

How many times have we confronted problems, challenges, and feelings that affect our decisions and all around us? Sakura Quest answers that question and gives us an example in a very creative way. One day we hate our work, and the next we could start loving it as happened with Yoshino and this group of women with unique skills that complement between them. The need read more
Apr 19, 2021
Kumomeme (All reviews)
This anime totally underrated gems. it is different that usual setting. no high school girls, no fantasy, no romance etc all is focused on adult main character in realistic life. Actually just rewatched it again after 4 years and overall from production quality to storyline all still hold up well even up against latest anime. I'll try to elaborate without too much spoilers.


This anime bring few of notable parallel theme that contrast each other, being playout through whole season where it touch stuff that people could related to our real adult life. whats great more is both side of contrast is not wrong.:

1. Abnormal vs read more
Jun 23, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Can a clueless woman who failed about 30 job interviews revive a town?

I began this series entirely clueless and not knowing what I'll get. So what did I get?

Sakura Quest is pretty much the anime version of how Tourist Board ( workers ) work. It's pretty scary how realistic this is, but at the same time I'm also quite happy as these kind of stuff are hard to find. What's even better is the fact that this is 25 episodes.

Despite being categorized as comedy, this show wasn't funny at all. It was pretty serious most of the time and I never recall laughing read more
Jan 2, 2020
Diehl78 (All reviews)
I'm not a big anime watcher, to be honest, I probably watched less than ten animes during my life. Among those animes I've watched, the majority of them was about fighting, magical powers and this sort of stuff. And that's probably the reason why Sakura Quest had such a different impact on me.
Sakura Quest is not about great and powerful people, goddesses, or anything, it's a show about "normal" people and how they struggle to find their way in life.

The plot is really simple, yet imersive, it's just about a group of very different girls trying to find their way in life. Sakura quest has read more
May 3, 2017
Arachnophobic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though just a fifth of the season has aired and it's far too soon to mete out judgement on anything, I'm writing this because I noticed a dearth of previews - I hope this can offer some insight on those who are wondering whether to pick this show up or not.

As one can judge by the cover, this show features an all-female main cast with designs very reminiscent of Shirobako, which is arguably P. A. Works' best title; they might be trying to re-create that magic, albeit in a wildly different setting. If you liked that show, and want more of Cute Adults Doing read more
Sep 2, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
An anime about what it means to be invisible-- which leads to well-earned tears and beautiful discovery.

It feels like a travesty just even bringing up the fact of which Sakura Quest is one of the most (if not THE MOST) underrated creations out there as it feels like describing something that really is not what it is. However, it is better to dissect Sakura Quest not as a hidden gem but as a piece of narrative dealing with a relatively uncharted subject matter. The whole narrative revolves around a college fresh graduate named Koharu Yoshino who just can't score any first paying job at all. read more
May 8, 2017
Rizrak47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story : 9/10
Actually, this one based on a personal taste. I enjoyed to watch this anime because I like work genre anime. Especially if MC live and work in village or mountain area. Just like Hanasaku Iroha, Barakamon, etc. So the first story is nice, a girl who cannot find a job in Tokyo go to Manoyama to becoma a Queen in local area (Who can expect this one? lol), found some friends and interesting things with a job in there.

Art : 8.5/10
Who can deny this one? P.A. Works original anime art always attractive in my eyes. Remember Shirobako character art or Hanasaku Iroha read more
May 11, 2017
scottpilgrim10 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is a work in progress. Sakura Quest is a work in progress, and life is a work in progress. Sakura effortlessly illustrates the themes of the modern work environment, and the dilemmas of marketing a failed town, in such a way that a seemingly mundane premise utterly compelled me. Sakura Quest isn’t perfect, it doesn’t know all the answers to our questions. What do I want to work on? Am I putting enough effort into my work? Is this really the career path I want to head towards? What if I’m not passionate about this work? If I don’t continue down this path read more
Jul 1, 2019
Arisseos (All reviews)
Sakura Quest is a show about two major themes, which it manages to balance incredibly well: firstly, the slow death-spiral of small towns and their way of life as massive urban sprawl sucks away both resources and people. Second, that growing up and becoming an adult and dealing with the issues of self-image and worth that come with entering the workplace can be both a difficult rite of passage and something to be enjoyed.

When this show aired, I was still in college. Having left school and looked for a job since then, I relate more than ever to Yoshino's struggles: her difficulty in spreading her read more
Sep 21, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
What does it take to revive an nearly abandoned town?

P.A Works is at it again with their working girls...working this time for the tourism industry and looking at the lives of 5 girls, one a "queen" and 4 ministers to rejuvenate an almost abandoned town.

Those 5 girls are the queen Yoshino Koharu wanting something special and failing to get a job in Tokyo accidentally gets hired for a one year contract to Manoyama. Sanae Kouzuki voiced by Mikako Komatsu who is a fellow Tokyonite and is efficient in IT-related works, Maki Midorikawa voiced by Chika Anzai, an actress with broken ambitions and had read more
Sep 20, 2017
Ozzy_overdrive (All reviews)
As a fan of P.A Works both as a studio and as a company, I must say this show features many of the studio's own personal values which is why I belive this is one of the best shows P.A has put out there.

Story:9/10
The story features five young adult girls working in the tourism board of a small rural town trying to revive both the town and the local tourism. It has this Shirobako thing, but here is where P.A portrays its own values the most. The studio is one of fewest who doesn't have their headquarters in Tokyo, their headquarters is located in Nanto read more
Sep 27, 2017
RealityRush (All reviews)
Summary: If you simply want a spoiler-free recommendation about whether or not to watch this show, I will provide you with this brief summary. If you enjoy workplace Slice of Life shows, especially of the much more low-energy, laid-back variety with plenty of well-timed humour sprinkled throughout yet still present with emotionally compelling themes, this is your show. If you enjoy watching a show about young adults trying to find their way in life like Shirobako (which may have led you here, but don't expect the same high-energy intensity), especially via strong bonds of friendship forged through mutual struggle, then this is your read more
Sep 20, 2017
wolfwing (All reviews)
Reviving a town is your quest.


This was a great series, when I first heard it was about a girl that becomes queen of a town, but it wasn't what she expected I didn't know what to think. I thought maybe it was some story of a young girl that becomes queen of a real kingdom, or maybe even a isekai, but what I found ws something so so much better.

Story: at it's heart, it's about trying to help make a town better, one that is slowly disappearing as more people leave, and five people trying to help the town and journey read more
Sep 22, 2017
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
Story: In the beginning it's focus on Yoshino and the miscommunication from Manoyama was a good start to this show. Add in the other characters backstories throughout the series and you got a really good story.

Art and Animation: Really beautiful at times. You can tell the quality went down for some episodes and some parts but they were easily overlooked.

Sound and VA's: Honestly I wasn't a fan of any of the ops and eds but the BGM was really good. The VA's did a really good job. No problems at all.

Characters: Really enjoyable cast. Very relatable on all parts.

Enjoyment: Really enjoyed this anime. Fantastic read more
Feb 3, 2018
Aradeid (All reviews)
It may not be the anime of the year, or of the season. It's not even on my list of favourites, but it was a great show, one that I will cherish for a long time.

The characters were foolish, naive, full of empty enthusiasm, yet that's exactly what made them human, what made them relatable.

The plot structure showed me that you don't need a development arc for each character, instead the characters are growing all the time, learning new things, improving themselves. A human doesn't just grow for 5 days per month, he grows constantly, and that's what this show did to its characters, even read more
Aug 27, 2017
black0678 (All reviews)
Preliminary
For people who really liked to watch anime and always watching anime every season im sure they can tell just from the cover, art design and the title that this anime are done by P.A works. Its just give this unique vibes just from looking from its cover and style. And just from that you already know that these guys are the real deal and everybody knows that P.A works are one of the best in this industry.

The story,art,sound,enjoyment,etc are 10/10 from me just the first 3 episode you will understand that all of your expectations gonna be fulfilled(if you like slice of life and read more
Sep 23, 2017
brainiac1530 (All reviews)
Sakura Quest is a show which lacks for nothing but marketability. Thankfully, this doesn't actually affect viewer experience. It only serves to get things noticed in a crowded market. One may ask, "How does an anime outside the usual, marketable trends get made in the first place?" That has everything to do with the production team behind it, you see.

Progressive Animation Works (hereafter P.A. Works) has a very indicative name. It's clear from the name alone that the intent of the studio was to push the medium forward. One can see several of the latest trends in anime production read more