Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Orange


Alternative Titles

English: Orange
Japanese: orange(オレンジ)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2016 to Sep 26, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 99,750 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #246
Members: 229,039
Favorites: 1,876

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2016
Captain220 (All reviews)
It’s a well known fact that shoujo anime have never been the most original pieces of work. They follow a very basic and straightforward structure, and more often than not end up feeling way too dramatized and overly-melodramatic for no apparent reason. Once you've seen one you've seen them all, right? Some people would beg to differ, and as to disprove my claim the adaptation of Orange reared its ugly head out of the deepest depths of shoujo hell itself to quickly rise to the top of this season's charts, smirking all the while it does it. Watch as the magnificent story of Orange unfolds, read more
Sep 25, 2016
R_TF (All reviews)
[CONTAIN SPOILERS]

_INTRO_
School life is so fascinating and a typical shojo romance without a setting in high school isn't common, "orange" is no different but there's a lot more to it than just being your every day's anime.

__PLOT___
The plot is quite open from the first episode itself,nothing much of suspense.we're being introduced to Naho a 16-year-old girl,about to attend her second read more
Sep 25, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Adorned in lush textures of green and wrapped up in the endless blue horizon of the summer sky, Orange rests softly on the lips like a faint drop of nostalgia just waiting to be recollected. Approaching the quiet slice of countryside that remained dormant over countless winters, we're flung back 10 years to where it all began. The place where two paths collided but only one was allowed to move forward. A place tucked away behind walls of foliage, cradled in a valley older than time itself. There it resides, a small town that carries with it a sense of cultural simplicity that only the read more
Sep 25, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
"Sometimes it's better to learn from the past than to try and go back changing it all... But if given the chance, what would we really do?"
-Anonymous

Have you ever regretted something so much you'd do anything possible to change the outcome? Maybe it was something as trivial as not asking that one person out, forever leaving the question out there of "what if?" Or perhaps you even knew of someone hurting internally from depression, and didn't give your best effort to help them cope, with the worst possible outcome reaching fruition. At times, this can make us feel helpless, responsible or even apathetic. Hindsight is read more
Sep 25, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Tell me, dear reader, why do you think this series is called Orange? Is it because of the symbolic orange juice from episode three? Is it because the main character’s hair looks rather orange in the sunlight? Both are interesting and passable theories, but I would like to present my own:

It’s because the main character has the intelligence of an orange.

Orange is one of those common scenarios where the show starts off pretty well but then fizzles out towards the end, but not really because it has strong drama in the beginning that falls apart later--in fact, the first episodes are not particularly overwhelming. But read more
Sep 25, 2016
Wyatt (All reviews)
You ever read or watch something extremely popular, and as time goes on, it gets more and more relevant and more and more popular, yet, you don’t like it? Maybe you’ll detest it so much, and it will remain so beloved, but no one ever explains why it’s good? For me, that series is the manga Orange, which was recently adapted into animation, giving me an excuse to re-review it.

The character designs in Orange are quite boring, having traditional “shoujo hair” and generic school uniforms. The lips and facial structure do look a bit more human than normal; however, it falls right into the uncanny read more
Oct 9, 2016
ItsSebPlease (All reviews)
Aw, those sweet teenage years, your first crush, those sunny afternoons hanging out with friends, that hot suicidal boy your future self told you to hook up with… Wait, wut?
Introducing Orange, an anime that will challenge your patience with a super original game of Will they, won’t they? and ultimately makes you wish that not only the angsty-but-kind-at-heart Kakeru, but all the rest of the cast dies in the end.

Story
I have to admit, I really enjoyed the first two episodes of the show. We’re introduced to a bunch of friends and their sweet dynamics, everything feels super sweet and lovely. The main character, Naho, receives read more
Sep 26, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
"Life comes in twists and turns" - a line from Orange

LA couldn't said it any better...

Orange was one of the more prominent and known drama anime to come out of Summer 2016 and for the most part, the popularity of this show is justified, however there were something that irked LA by the halfway point to it, as most media do, they have subjective and objective flaws no matter what.

Orange is another one of the anime with the trend of "time travel" used, but for the majority of Orange, the "time travel" is a small element and "speculation" to the plot that a major focus read more
Nov 17, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
You know, I thought I was immune to being disappointed by anime at this point of my life, but apparently the medium still hasn't lost it when it comes to getting my hopes up, only to crash them back down with more impact than Icarus hitting the ocean after he flew too close to the sun. I mean obviously I'm not a fan of the manga having never read it, but Orange really looked promising based on the limited research I did. A shoujo romance that was only five volumes long and critical acclaims across the board with a premise that goes beyond the usual read more
Sep 29, 2016
chilon (All reviews)
Detestable main character drives a ridiculous/boring plot through her constant ineptitude and mistakes. She embodies the "shy purest of maidens" stereotype so the two main male characters fall in love with her when what she really deserves is a stern talking to.

One of the main characters suffers from depression so the rest of the characters try to fix him by being overbearing.

There are a few moments here and there when the show isn't terrible but the characters and plot are so badly thought out I can't believe anybody wrote it, or bought it, or decided to make an anime out of it. And now we read more
Sep 26, 2016
Kurosakimaru (All reviews)
Orange strikes me as a typical over-dramatic romance Shoujo with a bit of spicy added to it.


STORY

Orange starts off a bit different when comparing it to other Shoujos. One evening, our MC Naho gets a letter with information written to herself from her future self. The letter contains the exact events of the day, including the fact that there will be a new transfer student in her class. The Naho of the future gives the present Naho plenty of instructions on what to do, so that she will have no regrets.

My first problem begins with the time traveling aspect. If the future is read more
Sep 25, 2016
XxShynixX (All reviews)
*No spoilers*

Orange is a nice anime. If you're looking for an anime that's fast-paced, comedic and unpredictable, then you should definitely look elsewhere, but that, in no way, means that this anime is bad.

Orange is a simple, slow paced high school drama, but, unlike many others of it's kind, it remains realistic. Of course, these are still teenagers, so it isn't unlikely for the viewer to get frustrated by a few actions (or lack there of) caused by misunderstandings and teenage insecurity, but the drama makes good use of these moments for character growth and other such things.

Orange is an anime makes you feel all read more
Sep 25, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Often times, the shoujo genre focuses a lot on the romance, relationships, and drama. Orange doesn’t exactly stray from that either considering romance is part of the show. However, the series adds a bit more of a twist in the form of time travel. You heard right. Time travel. It’s a plot element used in the series to forge the overall story as we see how events of the past really can affect events in the future.

Adapted from the manga of the same name, this series seemed overdue given the context and something that can easily fit within the anime medium. It has already received read more
Sep 25, 2016
tigermaskshinobi (All reviews)
What if one day you recieved information about a certain tragic event that will take place in the future, you know it's gonna happen..how are you gonna change it? what if something you do only makes it worse? what if changing it affects someone else? there is no way to know for sure, you never what could happen unless you act...maybe that's why the show is called "Orange" (?) you know it has a taste but it is unpredictable, it could sweet,sour..you never know unless you take a bite. I don't know, I could very well be wrong here.
This is story of "Orange", One morning read more
Sep 25, 2016
brittanyteele (All reviews)
In a world where tragedy happens, do you think you could change it?

The final episode was just released so I wanted to write a review while it was still fresh in my mind. I should also note that this is my first review.

Lets get right into the story. Orange, in my opinion, is much more than a typical romance, high school drama. It tackles the touchy subject of death, and how it can effect even the smallest thing. From the beginning you learn that something tragic happens in the future, so with this in mind you are rooting for the MC (Naho) the entire time, read more
Oct 13, 2016
BlueKite (All reviews)
Everyone has the desire to turn back time to do things that they should have done instead. The future self filled with regret vs. the present self filled with ignorance. What happens when the two collide? Enter the story of Orange, presented as a romance drama with a time-travel twist yet it finds a good balance between them.

The story starts out with Naho receiving a letter from herself 10 years in the future. It details about the incoming arrival of Kakeru in her life and how she must save him because he’ll die in the future. What I like about this predicament is that Naho read more
Oct 9, 2016
Nunnally03 (All reviews)
Here's what I think about this anime.


Story: 8/10
There's a saying that "first impression is important" and for me, the author did a really good job in giving this anime a good first impression to it's viewers. It's almost impossible not to be intrigue with the story and not be curious about 'what will happen next, what happened to kakeru?, what will happen to him, Naho and the rest?, will they be able to save him? how are they going to save him? will the future the change? what will happen if they keep changing the past? - These are the questions that will definitely be read more
Sep 25, 2016
Tomorix (All reviews)
So for the past three months or so, I have been watching Orange every Sunday. At first, it was an enjoyable experience- bittersweet- like the plot intends for it to be. After Episode 5 or 6, however, things begin to take a weird turn. You see, I read the manga a few months before the anime started airing because I wanted to see the story unfold in its original creative form and enjoy the characters, plot, etc, just in case the anime adaptation ruined it.
Did it?
In a way, yes.

~~ Story (8/10): ~~

As far as the story goes, it stays the same as the read more
Sep 25, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Suicide and other mental conditions like it are a difficult subject to comprehend when you aren't the person who is having the thought or desire to kill yourself thinking that the world would be better off if your existence was wiped from it. It's something that many people face and it becomes a difficult barrier to overcome when one doesn't have someone there to try and help. So, we have Orange, a...confusing series that despite having such themes and a plotline revolving around it, doesn't actually do it very well.

Story: Takamiya Naho one day finds a strange letter addressed to her in her read more
Sep 25, 2016
DoctorWhoops (All reviews)
WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SLIGHT EPISODE 1 SPOILERS!

Regret is the weakness and pitifulness of you in the past. What you did, and what you didn't do. You will regret. ~Takamiya Naho (Orange).

Orange is the recently finished Summer 2016 Anime by studio Telecom Animation Film, it's 13 episodes long and the adaptation of one of the highest rated Manga on MyAnimeList. It's an engaging story about Depression, Regret, Love and most importantly: Friendship. It does a beautiful job of putting forward these aspects of the show, but does show some flaws along the way. But let's start by quickly going over the show's premise, characters and read more