Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bungou Stray Dogs


Alternative Titles

English: Bungo Stray Dogs
Synonyms: Literary Stray Dogs
Japanese: 文豪ストレイドッグス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2016 to Jun 23, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 201,084 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #146
Members: 427,815
Favorites: 6,274

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
"Stupidity is a talent for misconception"
-Edgar Allan Poe

We've all heard the famous phrase "I'd rather be a Jack of all trades than a king of one", but what happens when you try to be at Jack of too many trades? Well, that's where you get a show like Bunguo Stray Dogs. The second anime to be produced by bones this season, Stray Dogs is an edgy, ambitious story of an abandoned orphan who finds his place with a detective agency solving crimes and battling the notorious Port Mafia. The synopsis is what really had me hyped for the show, because on the surface it sounds read more
Jun 22, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Dramatic, mysterious, & fun to watch.

Initially, I wasn't too excited or hyped up about the show because I didn't feel any type of enjoyment. Most of the times the humor felt forced along with most of the drama however during episode 3, that was the biggest turn around for me. Everything after that episode had me completely anxious, and excited to see what's going to happen next episode! Before I knew it the damn show was over. The story itself is really engaging. I think that the biggest part of Stray dogs that I enjoyed most, was the shows well delivered, strong, dramatic and read more
Jun 22, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
Bungou Stray Dogs had a somewhat interesting premise, yet was ultimately disappointing. This anime could be easily summarized as an average battle shōnen with arguably sub par comedy: not exclusively because the comedy is bad, which is hit and miss, but because of its implementation in the most inappropriate moments. This does not mean the anime as a whole is terrible, it is simply lacking as hardly any progression was made throughout its airing time making it as a whole just average.

The story of Bungou Stray Dogs is centered around the orphan protagonist Atsushi who was kicked out of the orphanage because of mysterious incidents read more
Jun 22, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
What happens when you get together a special group of individuals based off famous literacy authors? The answer is Bungou Stray Dogs. Only this time, they have special abilities in a world where there’s mystery, crime, and all other sorts of dark phenomenon that will take your breath away. Based off the manga of the same name, this is a show that can be easily recommendable to almost anyone. But if you’re a fan of supernatural mystery, it’ll be an exception treat.

Bungou Stray Dogs is prime proof that supernatural fiction can still work in attractive fashion. The show stars a group of characters as part read more
Jun 22, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Before I settle into my oh-so-riveting review of Bungalow Stray Dogs, let’s clear two things up.

1. Atsushi got kicked out of an orphanage.
2. Kyouka killed thirty-five people.

I know this is a little confusing, but let me just break this down.

1. Atsushi got kicked out of an orphanage.
2. Kyouka killed thirty-five people.

Now, let’s move on.

While Bungee was a pretty fun show to come back to week by week, it kinda overstayed its welcome. With some interesting ideas came a rather formulaic, and otherwise inconsistent plot, that was only held up so much by the surprisingly comedic nature of the anime, as well as the good production read more
Jun 23, 2016
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Due to a recent string of mysterious incidents involving a great, white tiger, Nakajima Atsushi (Uemura Yuto) is evicted from the orphanage that has served as his home his entire life. Left both homeless and penniless, Atsushi happens upon a drowning stranger whom he rescues from a nearby river. The man turns out to be Dazai Osamu (Miyano Mamoru) who, along with his partner, happens to be searching for the white tiger responsible for Atsushi’s predicament. Dazai himself belongs to the Armed Detective Agency – a group of people possessing supernatural abilities that solve especially violent read more
Jul 31, 2016
Kadrian (All reviews)
The anime is overall very great and attracted my attention. It had just the amount of mystery, suspense and funny moment to make the show entertaining and interesting.
The Main Character is likable. He had very heroic moments like wanting to protect his friends, but what he didn't realized is that his friends are just so OP that he is the one needing protection.
Wondering if this anime is for you, then see my below list of what I enjoyed form this anime:
1) Action
2) Mystery/Detective
3) Funny moments
4) No Harem/ Reverse Harem / Ecchi
5) Without a lot of female characters
6) No pathetic highschool squealing girls that read more
Feb 10, 2019
chanchanbaek (All reviews)
"Diverse & Versatile!"

Warning: Spoiler Alert. This review is filled with typographical and grammatical errors waiting to be criticized. Do not proceed if bothered. I have read many reviews about Bungou Stray Dogs that contradicts and compliments my opinion but I came to show mine. I let my review speak for itself :)

•Tone/Mood:
First, let us break down its tone and mood. Bungou Stray Dogs is one of a kind series that does not settle down to a numbered genres. If you already watched it, you might have noticed that it switches from different tones and variations. I do admit I admire it's shapeshifting. read more
Dec 31, 2016
Akafection (All reviews)
Written by Kafka Asagiri, illustrated by Sango Harukawa and under Bones studio, Bungou Stray Dogs, an anime filled with supernatural action has totally made it for bring us cool characters and several unpredictable elements through it episode one by one. What can I say? I just sit and watch it with “good hopes” about the anime and believe it or not that hopes really fulfilled at the end. Although, the good hopes I mention in here not all of em are answered by this season, there are several reasons why I give 7 (seven) for this despite the fact of my desire to give it read more
Dec 10, 2016
Dune_1982 (All reviews)
Preliminary
For me, there came a point where not only did I no longer care how the show resolved, but I felt if I watched any longer it would be in insult to my emotional and intellectual capacity.

The backgrounds are very pretty and the sounds & music fit the scenes!

The humor of this show is sophomoric & uncomplicated.

The plots for each episode seem to comprise 8 minutes of the show, the rest being aforementioned humor and "character development"?

The characters can, seemingly, only be as smart as the writer(s) are. This series is a fine example of that depth.

80% of the budget for animation appears read more
Apr 19, 2019
laelume (All reviews)
There's just a certain something to this show that keeps me coming back to it!

The plot and characters' personalities are interesting, no doubt; most are quirky and "likeable" but not too overdeveloped. I also love the cross-literary references that get all tangled up but somehow stay connected (even though I wish they weren't so western-focused).

But I think what really makes this show great is the way it touches on a range emotions that often stay below the surface. In particular, concepts related to the fear/comfort of aloneness, not an uncommon theme in general. This show dives right in, opening a conceptual conversation about read more
Jun 24, 2016
crispyn64 (All reviews)
All Bite, No Bark? - A Bungo Stray Dogs Review

Bungo Stray Dogs is about a detective agency made up of “gifted” and eccentric individuals. Most members of the Agency wield their own unique, supernatural ability, and together they make a mighty force to combat the mafia. Also, only one of them is an actual detective.

Now that I’ve filled you in on the basic plot of the show, let’s get right to the heart of the matter. Bungo Stray Dogs is, at times, a mess. Through a series of awful setups that only lead to decent and sometimes good payoffs, Bungo Stray Dogs shows its read more
Jun 22, 2016
kissmyanime (All reviews)
Bungou Stray dogs
When i watched the first 2 episodes of this anime i had really really big expectations about it but in the middle of the series it kinda went down. Here’s why:

Story 7/10:
Honestly the plot is really interesting and the fact that the names of the characters are actual authors and that the name of their powers are the names of the books they made It’s something unique for me and I really liked that. The problem is that as I watched the first episodes I expected mystery and action and what I got was A LOT of comedy. This show is like 30% read more
Jun 22, 2016
shirley898 (All reviews)
SPOILER FREEEEEEE
I just finished episode 12 and I just could not stop myself from writing a review.

Lets just talk about the character designs and the art style.
I try to never judge an anime or manga by its art style but, I gotta say that one of the things that attracted me to watching this series was the unique art style. The eyes, they are just one of the best things about this anime’s art style. It’s very original and soooo pretty. All the characters were designed so well, it suited perfect with the character’s personality.

The voice actors? Did a good job, honestly I read more
May 10, 2018
canyouread (All reviews)
I ended up getting so tired of hearing Atsushi's flashbacks about his orphanage days..."oh wow, they slapped you and said you were worthless", its not like you repeated the VERY SAME SCENE FOUR TIMES IN THE PAST 10 MINUTES!!!!
Small nuances aside, it was a very enjoyable show. Although I didn't really understand the character's inspirations until reading some other review's, I didn't feel that was necessary background in order to understand each character. The comedy, although at times misplaced, was good, and I laughed (or snickered) at most of the gags. Having one episode dedicated to explaining each Agency member was nice, although I would read more
Jun 22, 2016
Adi (All reviews)
With another season of anime, comes another supernatural-action title that attempts to be unique, different and original while keeping faithful to its genre. Bungo Stray Dogs (BSD, from now on) is most definitely unique arguably ingenious, but has several, painful shortcomings that unfortunately add it to the vast collection of mediocre supernatural-action anime.


Before anyone watches this anime, I highly recommend you watch The Canipa Effect’s great video on the characters of Bungo Stray Dogs. You will appreciate the ingenuity of the story and understand the characters better once you learn about the Japanese literarians they’re based on.


STORY: Quickly said, BSD is a poorly read more
Jun 19, 2018
Sakurai_Aoi (All reviews)
The story's really good and I like how it progresses. It can surprise you at times but it can also be kinda predictable when you take a closer look at things...or just consider what the most shocking outcome would be. Anyway, the episodes are a bit episodic. I'm ok with this though since, as a detective agency, they have to handle lots of different things. There's also one thing that can be seen as repetitive...and that's Atsushi's backstory. They basically show the same scene every few episodes and sometimes more than once each episode. This may be their way of showing us that the memory read more
Jul 5, 2016
yoshihiro56 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So what happens when you have a buncha people with powers get together and form a detective agency? You get an unstoppable force. Seriously these guys are so strong like nobody can even do anything to them. They're against the mafia and others but damn they're so strong. And this show had a lot of badass characters with cool powers. They're not your standard ki blasts or whatever but pretty cool stuff. This show is pretty funny though and comedy might be one of it's best traits. And Dazai is the best. His power can neutralize any power and he's always messing with everyone and read more
Jun 27, 2016
Bersemburit (All reviews)
By all means this show can't be compared to the greatest ones you've seen, however i believe it's pretty damn solid and i can easily recommend you to watch it, considering you're interested enough to read a review of it.
Now, lets break the whole thing down in parts:
Story - 7
The whole world setting is pretty simple - some ppl have superpowers, god knows why - doesn't matter. The story is pretty interesting, so if you might like the combination of genres 'Action, Comedy, Mystery, Seinen, Supernatural', then you won't be disappointed. Altough i would call this show a Shounen rather than a Seinen (the fact read more
Apr 16, 2018
valiantchase (All reviews)
If Naruto and 91 Days were to have a child, Bungou Stray Dogs would definitely be their one true child.

Bungou Stray Dogs delves into the world of mafia and supernatural powers, which is rarely seen in the industry, the closest the anime that resembles those features would be like Mushishi, which enjoyed notable success.

The plot is engaging with very little dead moments, bar the first episode which took a while to fully captivate me into the series. Foreshadowing was brilliantly utilised giving the storyline a better depth that entices the viewers to ponder and think of what is going to happen next. In terms read more