Bungou Stray Dogs


Bungo Stray Dogs

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Bungo Stray Dogs
Synonyms: Literary Stray Dogs
Japanese: 文豪ストレイドッグス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2016 to Jun 23, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, MysteryMystery, SeinenSeinen, Super PowerSuper Power, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 315753315,753 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #120
Members: 658,347
Favorites: 12,492
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
"Stupidity is a talent for misconception"
-Edgar Allan Poe

We've all heard the famous phrase "I'd rather be a Jack of all trades than a king of one", but what happens when you try to be at Jack of too many trades? Well, that's where you get a show like Bunguo Stray Dogs. The second anime to be produced by bones this season, Stray Dogs is an edgy, ambitious story of an abandoned orphan who finds his place with a detective agency solving crimes and battling the notorious Port Mafia. The synopsis is what really had me hyped for the show, because on the surface it sounds read more
Jun 22, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Dramatic, mysterious, & fun to watch.

Initially, I wasn't too excited or hyped up about the show because I didn't feel any type of enjoyment. Most of the times the humor felt forced along with most of the drama however during episode 3, that was the biggest turn around for me. Everything after that episode had me completely anxious, and excited to see what's going to happen next episode! Before I knew it the damn show was over. The story itself is really engaging. I think that the biggest part of Stray dogs that I enjoyed most, was the shows well delivered, strong, dramatic and read more
Jun 22, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
Bungou Stray Dogs had a somewhat interesting premise, yet was ultimately disappointing. This anime could be easily summarized as an average battle shōnen with arguably sub par comedy: not exclusively because the comedy is bad, which is hit and miss, but because of its implementation in the most inappropriate moments. This does not mean the anime as a whole is terrible, it is simply lacking as hardly any progression was made throughout its airing time making it as a whole just average.

The story of Bungou Stray Dogs is centered around the orphan protagonist Atsushi who was kicked out of the orphanage because of mysterious incidents read more
Jun 22, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
What happens when you get together a special group of individuals based off famous literacy authors? The answer is Bungou Stray Dogs. Only this time, they have special abilities in a world where there’s mystery, crime, and all other sorts of dark phenomenon that will take your breath away. Based off the manga of the same name, this is a show that can be easily recommendable to almost anyone. But if you’re a fan of supernatural mystery, it’ll be an exception treat.

Bungou Stray Dogs is prime proof that supernatural fiction can still work in attractive fashion. The show stars a group of characters as part read more
Jun 22, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Before I settle into my oh-so-riveting review of Bungalow Stray Dogs, let’s clear two things up.

1. Atsushi got kicked out of an orphanage.
2. Kyouka killed thirty-five people.

I know this is a little confusing, but let me just break this down.

1. Atsushi got kicked out of an orphanage.
2. Kyouka killed thirty-five people.

Now, let’s move on.

While Bungee was a pretty fun show to come back to week by week, it kinda overstayed its welcome. With some interesting ideas came a rather formulaic, and otherwise inconsistent plot, that was only held up so much by the surprisingly comedic nature of the anime, as well as the good production read more
Jun 23, 2016
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Due to a recent string of mysterious incidents involving a great, white tiger, Nakajima Atsushi (Uemura Yuto) is evicted from the orphanage that has served as his home his entire life. Left both homeless and penniless, Atsushi happens upon a drowning stranger whom he rescues from a nearby river. The man turns out to be Dazai Osamu (Miyano Mamoru) who, along with his partner, happens to be searching for the white tiger responsible for Atsushi’s predicament. Dazai himself belongs to the Armed Detective Agency – a group of people possessing supernatural abilities that solve especially violent read more
Jul 31, 2016
Kadrian (All reviews)
The anime is overall very great and attracted my attention. It had just the amount of mystery, suspense and funny moment to make the show entertaining and interesting.
The Main Character is likable. He had very heroic moments like wanting to protect his friends, but what he didn't realized is that his friends are just so OP that he is the one needing protection.
Wondering if this anime is for you, then see my below list of what I enjoyed form this anime:
1) Action
2) Mystery/Detective
3) Funny moments
4) No Harem/ Reverse Harem / Ecchi
5) Without a lot of female characters
6) No pathetic highschool squealing girls that read more
Feb 10, 2019
chanchanbaek (All reviews)
"Diverse & Versatile!"

Warning: Spoiler Alert. This review is filled with typographical and grammatical errors waiting to be criticized. Do not proceed if bothered. I have read many reviews about Bungou Stray Dogs that contradicts and compliments my opinion but I came to show mine. I let my review speak for itself :)

•Tone/Mood:
First, let us break down its tone and mood. Bungou Stray Dogs is one of a kind series that does not settle down to a numbered genres. If you already watched it, you might have noticed that it switches from different tones and variations. I do admit I admire it's shapeshifting. read more
Dec 10, 2016
Dune_1982 (All reviews)
Preliminary
For me, there came a point where not only did I no longer care how the show resolved, but I felt if I watched any longer it would be in insult to my emotional and intellectual capacity.

The backgrounds are very pretty and the sounds & music fit the scenes!

The humor of this show is sophomoric & uncomplicated.

The plots for each episode seem to comprise 8 minutes of the show, the rest being aforementioned humor and "character development"?

The characters can, seemingly, only be as smart as the writer(s) are. This series is a fine example of that depth.

80% of the budget for animation appears read more
Jun 24, 2016
crispyn64 (All reviews)
All Bite, No Bark? - A Bungo Stray Dogs Review

Bungo Stray Dogs is about a detective agency made up of “gifted” and eccentric individuals. Most members of the Agency wield their own unique, supernatural ability, and together they make a mighty force to combat the mafia. Also, only one of them is an actual detective.

Now that I’ve filled you in on the basic plot of the show, let’s get right to the heart of the matter. Bungo Stray Dogs is, at times, a mess. Through a series of awful setups that only lead to decent and sometimes good payoffs, Bungo Stray Dogs shows its read more
Apr 19, 2019
laelume (All reviews)
There's just a certain something to this show that keeps me coming back to it!

The plot and characters' personalities are interesting, no doubt; most are quirky and "likeable" but not too overdeveloped. I also love the cross-literary references that get all tangled up but somehow stay connected (even though I wish they weren't so western-focused).

But I think what really makes this show great is the way it touches on a range emotions that often stay below the surface. In particular, concepts related to the fear/comfort of aloneness, not an uncommon theme in general. This show dives right in, opening a conceptual conversation about read more
Apr 11, 2020
Blazeisachicken (All reviews)
Not only do I think that Bungo Stray Dogs is one of the best anime from Studio Bones, I think it is one of the greatest anime of the decade. Right up there with AOT and JOJO.
The story is about a group called the armed detective agency. They get wrapped up with the Port Mafia and, later, the Guild. Every member of the groups has superpowers, think My Hero Academia. The superpowers aren't as prominent in the story or integrated into the world as something like MHA, but it is an insanely well done system, taking the characters, their personalities, and their real life roots read more
Apr 3, 2019
Waser (All reviews)
The reason why I disliked this anime was because it was too goofy and had way too many "joke moments", it took away from the action that was supposed to be going on. The art is good and looks well designed but because the show lacks plot and character it throws the whole show off balance. I think this anime is more suited for a younger audience than a 18+ one, at least in my opinion. Plus I felt like the plot was all over the place for my taste! If it was more fighting and less jokes I would have liked it way more.
Jun 22, 2016
shirley898 (All reviews)
SPOILER FREEEEEEE
I just finished episode 12 and I just could not stop myself from writing a review.

Lets just talk about the character designs and the art style.
I try to never judge an anime or manga by its art style but, I gotta say that one of the things that attracted me to watching this series was the unique art style. The eyes, they are just one of the best things about this anime’s art style. It’s very original and soooo pretty. All the characters were designed so well, it suited perfect with the character’s personality.

The voice actors? Did a good job, honestly I read more
Dec 31, 2016
Akafection (All reviews)
Written by Kafka Asagiri, illustrated by Sango Harukawa and under Bones studio, Bungou Stray Dogs, an anime filled with supernatural action has totally made it for bring us cool characters and several unpredictable elements through it episode one by one. What can I say? I just sit and watch it with “good hopes” about the anime and believe it or not that hopes really fulfilled at the end. Although, the good hopes I mention in here not all of em are answered by this season, there are several reasons why I give 7 (seven) for this despite the fact of my desire to give it read more
Feb 24, 2020
hacker09 (All reviews)
You will need to watch the anime from the beginning to end, in the beginning I did not like the anime, but because I watched till the end, I really enjoyed this anime. Before the last episodes I was thinking that this anime was just like trigun, because the design and story was "ugly" and nonsense and wasn't thrilling at all. I really liked the musics of the anime and there are some really nice images "kind of pictures", I liked the ending the best.
The anime is based in detective cases, so it's like death note and hyouka too, there are some really funny scenes, read more
Apr 30, 2019
KyasutoNaito (All reviews)
Bungou Stray Dogs Season 1 Anime Review
By: Asagiri Kafuka
April 23, 2019

Overall: 10

Plot: 10

It's very rare for me to see an anime where I get really into it only by seeing the first episode. This series is one of them. This story is about gifted human beings with different abilities since they were born. The protagonist found himself alone, dying of hunger. That is when the time a special operative help him and coincidentally the one they are looking for. Along this season, different characters and abilities was introduced. Mainly, it was shown how the protagonist choose to survive on the harsh world he's in with read more
Jun 22, 2016
Adi (All reviews)
With another season of anime, comes another supernatural-action title that attempts to be unique, different and original while keeping faithful to its genre. Bungo Stray Dogs (BSD, from now on) is most definitely unique arguably ingenious, but has several, painful shortcomings that unfortunately add it to the vast collection of mediocre supernatural-action anime.


Before anyone watches this anime, I highly recommend you watch The Canipa Effect’s great video on the characters of Bungo Stray Dogs. You will appreciate the ingenuity of the story and understand the characters better once you learn about the Japanese literarians they’re based on.


STORY: Quickly said, BSD is a poorly read more
Dec 28, 2019
pauleyii (All reviews)
Truly amazing show. Development of characters is great and the fact that they are based on the real authors is adding something special. It's interesting to see all the references to books that authors wrote. The story itself is also amazing and keeps viewer interested. I really enjoyed every single episode and I'll definitelly come back to this anime one day. Plot is basically never boring and there is not a single one "empty" part. Sometimes it may not seem like it, but every small detail or any scene that is less action is usually realy important for story. Bungou Stray Dogs series are really read more
Oct 1, 2019
shoxs84 (All reviews)
I started this anime without knowing anything about it. Little did I know then that this would come to be one of my favorite anime series and it has my second favorite anime character of all time.
To help anyone decide whether to invest you time on this series, I will do my best to keep it short and relevant.

Story: from episode 1 of season 1 till the last episode of season 3, the flow is so brilliantly that I cannot do justice without spoilers so I won't. I would however state that the movie and the OVA are all original content which simply makes the read more