Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch R2


Alternative Titles

English: Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion R2
Synonyms: Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch 2nd Season, Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch Second Season
Japanese: コードギアス 反逆のルルーシュ 続編

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2008 to Sep 28, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.941 (scored by 628,644 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #25
Members: 932,544
Favorites: 50,468

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 26, 2009
Plun (All reviews)
As this is a review of a sequel, I believe that the reader is already familiar/has watched the first season of Code Geass.

Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch R2 is both more of the same and yet a departure for the series in several ways. On one hand, it’s often even more ridiculous and over the top than its predecessor, and on the other surprisingly dramatic, with an emotional resonance not found in the first season. This results in the show feeling more like a reboot/reimagining of the series rather than a simple continuation of the storyline. Now to be sure, many of the classic Geass read more
Jul 30, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
Code Geass is the dumbest show to ever take itself seriously. It is essentially a hackneyed amalgamation of clichés and overused plot devices that clumsily attempts to disguise itself as something greater. Hell, it stole Death Note’s whole shtick, and ruined it completely, before the anime version even finished airing. It blatantly stole from Evangelion, the most popular mecha anime and deconstruction there is, to make one of the weakest and most cliché mecha series ever. Both of the series Code Geass stole from were dark and had at least some depth; Code Geass, on the other hand, juxtaposes pseudo-dark scenes with light school-life harem read more
Nov 19, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
Put on your seatbelts and brace yourself, for you will be taken on a rabidly-paced and concluding journey, slaloming through plot twists and character development at a tempo that will leave you longing for a new episode at the end of each one. Save a lot of time, for this is obnoxiously addictive. This is... Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch... R2!

Did it jump the shark? Was it flawlessly executed? Could it have been improved on? Was it outright horrible? That I will not answer; such a question is for you to answer yourself. To me, it was great. It was awesome. While reluctant at first, read more
Aug 31, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*A great sequel to Code Geass, but not quite a masterpiece.*

"Jaw dropping plot twists. Wonderful animation and soundtracks. Skillfully woven storyline with the first season. Cleverly executed ending."

Code Geass - Hangyaku no Lelouch R2 is the long awaited sequel to the masterpiece Code Geass - Hangyaku no Lelouch. Although it was generally perceived as a piece of trainwreck, especially during the latter half of the show, there is absolutely no doubt that it has made its mark in the anime industry. To be honest, I was pretty depressed after reading some of the interviews with director Taniguchi. He acknowledge the fact that Code Geass R2 read more
Oct 1, 2008
Eclesis (All reviews)
On the surface, this looked great - promising setting, themes, characters, world. Unfortunately, all things that were clever about Season 1 were scrapped in favor of... well, I don't know, really. Shocking the audience? Misplaced fanservice?

The most glaring and obvious problem is that the cool antihero protagonist that was so refreshing in the first season got derailed into a wangsty Canon Sue. No clever tricks, determination, character growth or development, nothing but the endless loop of Oh Noes Nunnally over and over. And yet for some reason the camera refuses to leave his immediate proximity, so while the other characters and settings might have interesting read more
Mar 2, 2010
Sa_De_Me_Ta (All reviews)
Code Geass R2 is, in essence, the most resounding travesty in the history of Japanese animation, and proof that anime fans will watch anything if it panders to them enough. It is to anime what Heroes is to US television, except that when Heroes became terrible midway through the viewers abandoned the series. This monstrosity only got more popular in the same situation. It's truly baffling.

To start, the story picks up right from R1(and by "pick up", I mean reset the whole plot), but manages to go absolutely nowhere for at least 10 episodes. The titular "rebellion" is cast aside into the domain of minor read more
Jul 4, 2013
wumbmasta (All reviews)
Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion Review:

Firstly I would like to say that this review is for the entire series as a whole, NOT just for season 2. Now then....
I am not a fan of mecha. There, I said it. This was the main reason why I ignored all of the suggestions and decided to put off this show for so long. However, this decision of mine to put off this show was just plain stupid and I now realize why everyone likes this show. Code Geass has become one of my favorite shows of all time and has joined Clannad and Steins;Gate on the read more
Oct 21, 2008
GolbeztheGreat (All reviews)
Code Geass R2 has provoked conflicting reactions among the fan base, just like the original series did. Viewers still loved or hated it outright, even as many others laughed, and once again it's not hard to see why.

I think R2 was a disappointment but not without redeeming qualities. It is an enjoyable sequel that could have used more foresight and additional planning. Maybe a little less ambition, a smaller cast of characters or better pacing would have been very welcome improvements. In the end, I appreciated Code Geass as a whole in spite of its flaws. Not the best show out there, but then again read more
Dec 5, 2009
slax (All reviews)
I'm going to write a review about R2 that may not be well liked among Geass fans, for the low score I give it, but I ask the reader to hear me out and read this in an impartial light.

First off, I would like to say that "R1" was an amazing premise, with massive twists, good characters, good plot, interesting premise and overall good execution. I did honestly like R1. R2 keeps the crisp artwork and sound style of R1, so I give those a high score, but R2 has some deep recurring flaws that pretty much butcher the series in my opinion.

All read more
Apr 26, 2008
Playboy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Code Geass Hangyaku no Lelouch is extraordinary intelligent and a master of entertainment.

STORY
Season one of Code Geass ended with a cliffhanger, which sets the stage of season two. The story is past-paced and compelling, in no argument it is the best factor of this anime. Code Geass R2 is filled with complex plots and subplots along with its story line that will keep you hook until the very last episode.

The setting is set in a sort of near-future war set on earth. The Holy Britain Empire, a dominate power that holds control read more
Oct 26, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
The sequel outdoes the original!

I know a lot of people are hating on R2 claiming it has veered far away from the original greatness of the first season, but I beg to differ.

There was better action, better drama, better characterisation, better EVERYTHING about this sequel.

The story is intriguing and is nail-bitingly good; so many plot twists hitting you one after the other. It is here we see the revolution come full circle. I know there are a lot of complaints about plot holes, and some extreme plot twists, but I did not see reason to complain. In anything, the impossible can be made read more
Nov 1, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
I've been trying to review this series since it ended, but it's proven difficult because while I want to treat it as impartially as possible, there are a lot of factors that went into the decision-making of the series that make it hard to judge in just one way. I'm sure that that's true for a lot of series, but it's simply that I've been made all too aware about everything that had to do with this one. Being a huge fan of the first season doesn't help either.

This review may contain spoilers for the first season of Code Geass.

STORY - A lot has been read more
Sep 28, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
NaNoWriMo is an annual event in which the goal is to write a novel in 30 days. Anyone can do it, but in order to reach your goal, you often sacrifice editing, plotting a narrative, and forgetting certain character developments you meant to make. The reason I say this is because Code Geass R2 is an exact reflection of the NaNoWriMo story down to the last detail.

The first season, having been made famous by it's constant barrage of out-of-left-field cliffhangers, is constantly one-upped in the second half of anti-hero Lelouch's quest to change the world to his ideal. All questions regarding the first season's excruciatingly read more
Sep 1, 2008
Erodar (All reviews)
Well, I'm not going to be very positive about Code Geass R2. Since the first season was actually pretty good, I started to watch CG R2 in the hope that R2 would be just as great.
Oh, how I was dissapointed.
Even though I learned that this season was 'NOT AS PLANNED', it's...bad. It's just a bad continuation on the first season. VERY bad. The start wasn't that bad, but the further the serie progresses, the more stupid it becomes.

Story : 1
Oh come on. EVERY episode there's a dumb plottwist. They have destroyed the entire story the first season built up. Next to that there's a read more
Oct 12, 2008
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
After a hugely successful season 1, we have the highly anticipated sequel, Code Geass R2.


Story: 3
The story involved a reset but kicked off to a very strong, solid start with Lelouche as cunning as ever in getting his ways. However, around 1/3 into the season it all starts falling apart. We start getting rather outrageous, unplausible plot twists and sequence of events. While this has happened in Season 1, R2 takes "outrageous, unplausible" to an entirely new level which continues right until the end of the series where finally, the ending had a very good twist to it.

The mecha battles have also read more
Sep 28, 2008
swedishfish826 (All reviews)
All the world's a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts...
- Shakespeare

STORY(10):
I felt that this quote was the best way to sum up this show overall. There were numerous plot twists, most of which significantly alter the story line and circumstances of the main characters. It follows the classic formula of best friends as the best kind of enemies and keeps you guessing. However, one of its strong points is that some of the twists can be predicted if one is observant enough. read more
Nov 1, 2008
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
Generally I review only the anime that haven't been reviewed but Code Geass R2 affected me so much I had to write a review. RL Context: Work and other RL obligations had kept me from anime for a while. Coming back to anime and starting with .Hack/Sign wasn't the smartest thing to do. Thank god the next anime I saw was this one, or I would probably have gone on another anime hiatus.


Story

This anime is quite difficult to describe without spoilers since the plot is one of the best I've seen to date and each episode has many talking points - just look at read more
Sep 28, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Code Geass R2 is one of the most highly anticipated anime sequels and it certainly manages to please the fans of its original Supernatural, Mecha, Drama, Action anime. Nonetheless it is easy to compare it to its more well-thought-out prequel.

The story continues a year after the events of the Black Rebellion and it begins in the same manner as before; setting the scene with 2 intense, action-packed episodes. After that it takes a while for the story to gain some momentum, so you just have to get through the first couple recycled episodes until things get exciting. Lelouch still has the same motivation to put read more
Jan 31, 2015
vampalchemist (All reviews)
Code Geass from top to bottom passed all check marks that make up not just a great anime but a masterpiece.

The goal was simple. Avenge mother and create world peace for the sake of your sister, only it's never that simple. Along the quest for world peace there was a lot of manipulation, deception, twist, and turns that leave you in awe every step of the path.

We have our main protagonist Lelouch Vi Britannia the teenager with the power of geass who plans to overturn Britannia's rule over the Japanese even though Lelouch himself is Britannia. This is what makes the characters so complex, they read more
Mar 14, 2014
jgomezg (All reviews)
Code Geass R2 is one of the best examples of how a very theatrical and over-the-top show that doesn't take itself too seriously can succeed by maximizing entertainment value. It is a series that shamelessly and knowingly appeals to the masses yet, surprisingly enough, somehow manages to keep a few thematic strengths beneath the surface to make the results worthwhile.

For you see, Code Geass in general is more than the sum of its parts. It's got flaws, sure, but I would argue they are almost besides the point. Well, at least as long as you're willing to play along with what the staff intended to read more