Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu


Alternative Titles

English: Parasyte -the maxim-
Synonyms: Parasite, Parasitic Beasts, Parasyte
Japanese: 寄生獣 セイの格率

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2014 to Mar 26, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:29 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 314,865 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #44
Members: 517,979
Favorites: 12,722

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2015
Ra (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

The truth is... this show is overrated. Overrated does not mean bad, it simply means overrated. "Oh you're just not intelligent enough to grasp all the deep concepts hidden within the philosophical plot!" No. It's just not as deep as you might want to believe it is. The series definitely doesn't stay true to the "meant-to-be" dark-premise of the manga, especially towards the end.

The story starts off with what everyone believed was going to be a philosophical story between the meaning of life and death, and humanity vs reality with the introduction of a species higher up in the food pyramid read more
Apr 23, 2015
Decoys (All reviews)
I'm the type of anime watcher that likes to wait for the anime to be completed before watching it; so I can either marathon it in one day or finish it in a few days - am I the only one who does this? Parasyte or Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu was one of those anime I've completed in a day. With the cliffhangers that leave you at the edge of your seat at the end of the episodes, to the humans that can morph into blades and mold their faces/ bodies for creating massacres; it's the perfect formula for binge watching. I would have been read more
Mar 25, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
You’ve probably heard of them in classic sci-fi stories before; the very idea of alien creatures who can snatch bodies to impersonate a human and walk among our society. Build on the foundation of a science fiction and body horror, Kiseijuu (also known as Parasyte) takes a full swing with its premise. It’s simple actually. We have a case of alien invasion by mysterious beings who can infect us through parasitic means. By inserting themselves into a human’s brain, the parasites can take full control and transform you into a monster. Not only does this kill the victim but now it can even add more read more
Mar 27, 2015
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
Based off of the award winning manga series written by Iwaaki Hitoshi, coming from the highly praised Madhouse studio, with all excitement and intense story, Kiseijuu constantly finished this season with its fineness.

The story set-up in a realistic world where an unknown organism invaded earth and take over human bodies, accidentally one of that organism is trying to enter into someone's body, a body of a sleeping boy named Shinichi Izumi, but the organism can only take over Shinichi hand only. The incident created a bizarre creature that lives eventually in Shinichi's right hand. Meanwhile, other organisms that successfully take over a human / animal read more
Jun 16, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
If Tokyo Ghoul is fast food then Parasyte is fine dining.

Stories that adhere to the "invasion of humanity" narrative is nothing groundbreaking by any means. It's been done many times over on the silver screen, from large-scale takeovers like 1978's Invasion of the Body Snatchers to more up close and personal ones like 2003's Dreamcatcher. The fear of an unknown sentient being that can challenge us intellectually is something that has always piqued the interest of moviegoers for decades. They're stories that could service a multitude of directions, and while not always intentional, they tend to bring up themes centered around the human condition and read more
Mar 30, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I remember hearing a lot of hype for Parasyte when it was first announced for an anime adaptation. Apparently, it was a really popular manga in the 90s about some kid who got his hand infected by an alien parasite – hence the name I suppose, although I’m not sure why the “i” was changed into a “y” – and must now learn to live with it whilst warding off other similar infected people who had the misfortune of being killed by these beings before having their entire existence taken over. Seemed like good body horror stuff as is, but then came the influx of read more
Mar 26, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

What's the first image that comes to mind when you hear the word "animal?" Is it a lion roaming the plains of Africa? Perhaps it's a shark swimming menacingly throughout the deep, dark ocean? Or maybe it's even a cardinal resting on a tree branch, contrasting starkly with a snow-laden field? Whatever the answer may be, something people often forget is that they, too, are an animal. And not just in the definition of the word; our actions can sometimes be rather animalistic in nature. Which leads to an even better question: are we really so different from read more
Mar 25, 2015
aerolyt (All reviews)
Parasyte is an anime unlike any other. It manages to not only meet its hype, but exceed it to boot. It handles itself masterfully at all times and for that reason I have awarded it such a high rating.

Story: 10/10
While this is most definitely a horror story of sorts, it's almost not in the way you would expect. There's no Invasion of the Bodysnatchers cliches here, no zombie-esque hordes overwhelming the world, no spacemen raining down lazers from above. While the ever-present, eponymous Parasytes do lace a sense of dread over the setting, they take a backseat most of the time. No, the true horror read more
Apr 5, 2015
kaizersaber (All reviews)
What makes a human? What makes a monster? Each of us have a bit of both in us, and it's up to you which one you want to be.

Parasyte The Maxim runs along many similar themes of many species-war animes, but it stands out from other man-eating titles because of its excellent discourse and exploration on the role, purpose and meaning of humanity, in light of our world and environment. Parasyte boasts a dramatic, thrilling and gripping plot, revolving around a solid male lead and the people around him, but in the end suffers from an entire host of underdeveloped supporting characters.

TL;DR
Story: 8/10
Art: 7/10
Sound: 5/10
Character: read more
Mar 26, 2015
Dandey (All reviews)
With a show like this, it's easy to see how much time and care has gone into making it succeed. Kiseijuu has so many genres and elements to it, however rather than it becoming a huge mess, it executes every single one perfectly.

Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu is about Parasytes that have invaded earth, whose main priority is to take over human bodies and use them as hosts, controlling their body and minds. Parasytes are fierce creatures who kill and feed on humans. The MC is a teenage boy name Shinichi whom one night is invading by a parasyte, but this attack somewhat fails as read more
Apr 12, 2015
Markezzo (All reviews)
Parasyte the Maxim is a story that handles questions about what makes us human, taking us on an unforgettable horror-adventure in the process.

Right from the start the show has clear and compelling conflicts, with our main character Shinichi facing both external and internal battles, be it the violent parasites he fights or his gradual and scary decent into becoming less human. With good pacing and a story that kept leading in directions that made sense, usually, Parasyte keeps you immersed in its story.

Where the show shines the most is its main character, one of the most fleshed out and developed examples I’ve seen in some read more
Aug 4, 2015
Ariscottle (All reviews)
There are a few categories of anime that tend to gain mass appeal simply because of what they are. Examples include run-of-the-mill Shounens, Key adaptations, “Oh no I’m trapped in a video game!!” series, and action-horror anime that are filled with gore for good measure. Due to the recent disaster known as Tokyo Ghoul, I initially brushed Parasyte to the side dismissing it as another horror clone. For the first 12 episodes or so, I held my pinky in the air and avoided Parasyte like the plague. However, I finally caved to the hype. After marathoning the first half read more
Apr 19, 2015
Viperrr (All reviews)
Parasyte: The Maxim or Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu is about the invasion of an alien species that survive through burrowing themselves inside humans and taking over the brain. It follows a high school student named Izumi Shinichi after he becomes a host of one of these creatures that actually fails to seize his brain and is able to avoid complete domination. The two soon learn to coexist and the story is about them not only trying to survive but to also eliminate the other parasites.

Story [8/10]

The plot itself is seemingly unique and an interesting concept. It has a couple of good arcs that bring great read more
Mar 26, 2015
AbsarNaeem (All reviews)
Parasyte, a really hyped about anime when it started airing. Is the hype worth it? or is it just another exaggerated anime? I can't say. But as far as my biased opinion about this anime is concerned, I think this is a pretty good anime as far as story, setting and a new idea is concerned. Horror, there isn't much of it, just some people getting sliced up.

When I saw it's promotional video, I thought it would be really cool and indeed it was, for the first half of the series but after that it mellowed down to something that's mostly drama with a bit read more
Mar 25, 2015
Soire (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

Wednesdays won't be the same anymore without Parasyte.

Parasyte has a pretty cool story— its action packed, gory, and has morals. It follows through and there aren't many faults in the storyline. It also touches on political and philosophical issues like comparing humans to animals, our ecosystem, global warming, and such.

Madhouse did a great job with the art. They made the characters more modern looking compared to the manga. The fight scenes are great. They're intense, fluid, and they don't censor anything.

The sound is alright. Nothing special, but fitting. I can't believe the opening is mostly in english, still.

The characters were pretty likable, read more
Apr 12, 2015
Lord_Odous (All reviews)
Parasyte: the maxim is an intriguing anime. It questions the viewer on what it means to be human, what makes humans different than other species, and slaps the truth of human cruelty onto the face of viewers.

While writing this review, I will be using references from the lyrics of the OP “Let Me Hear”, performed by Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

Do you know the food chain theory? We, humans stand high and firm at the top of it, we are the absolute predators, with no enemies which can pose a threat to us. Our main means of dying are either from old read more
Mar 25, 2015
Somebody101 (All reviews)
When this anime was airing, I had over 10 different animes that I was watching, and during that time this anime was my most favorite one. Even for a harem genre lover such as myself, I would be lying if I said I didn't enjoy it as I watched despite the lack of nosebleeds.

Story: 10
I rarely ever give a story a 10, but there were several factors that gave this anime the god score. First, the originality in the overall plot was a thumbs up as most stories nowdays unfortunately have similars to some other type of story, whether intentional or not, but this anime read more
May 2, 2015
taylorswift4life (All reviews)
I watched the anime after having read the manga, so I tried to focus more on presentation rather than depth of plot or depth of character.

Story: 9/10
Having read the manga, I already knew the story--all its twists and turns, who would die, what characters would show up when and so for me--this anime was less about being surprised and even more about being immersed in the world. While being new to the plot would have definitely helped immersion, it isn't a necessity. The story was nothing amazing to me in the first place: another anime high school student (who really doesn't go to read more
Mar 30, 2015
GeeksOasis (All reviews)
In depth review #7 - Parasyte: The Maxim

Parasyte, without a doubt, was an amazing experience. Anyone who had watched the anime can agree with me in saying that this show was very entertaining. The brief but appropriate action scenes, the frequent cliffhangers at the end of every.....episode, and the amazing character development kept me coming back for more every week. However, the way the anime concluded left me a little disappointed. A show literally oozing with potential in the beginning of the show, felt rushed towards the last 7 episodes. Its also worth mentioning the scope of the story was very isolated. They could read more
Mar 30, 2015
DJNOSTYLE (All reviews)
"Flies know how to fly without being taught. Spiders know how to spin webs without being taught. Why is that? Here's what I think: Flies and spiders are simply following an order. I believe all lives on Earth have received orders of some kind. Don't humans have any directive? When I took over this human's brain, I received a directive. It said, Devour this species." - Tamura Ryoko

What does it mean to be human? Is it our DNA that sets us apart from the other creatures that inhabit the earth? From a scientific standpoint, the answer to that question would be "Yes". However, we are read more