Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Lodoss-tou Senki


Alternative Titles

English: Record of Lodoss War
Synonyms: Record of Lodoss War OVA
Japanese: ロードス島戦記

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 30, 1990 to Nov 23, 1991
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 16,689 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2006
Members: 42,196
Favorites: 413

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 18, 2008
JTurner (All reviews)
Of all the Anime series that I have viewed, Record of Lodoss War holds a special place in my heart. If you happen to be fond of fantasy adventure videogames as I am (or great literature such as J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings), then this 13-episode video series is a very clever hybrid of these two great works of art. It's got everything fans could ask for--dragons, elves, dark gods, unlikely yet compelling heroes, villains you'll either hate (or love, depending on who you side with), action, suspense, romance, a small dose of humor, and an engaging feel to keep on watching read more
Aug 7, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Record of the Lodoss War was a HUGE hit when it came out in 1990 Japan. It also gained strong popularity among the tiny US anime fandom of the early 90s. Unfortunately, this anime has not aged gracefully. Normally I hate using the phrase "aged poorly". It's something that young punks use too often to just shit on anything over 10 years old. In this one instance though, I'm afraid it's kind of unavoidable.

Background:

Record of the Lodoss War was a 1990 OVA based on a Japanese short novel... based an a Japanese tabletop RPG...which was a ripoff of Dungeons and Dragons. Take the most cliche read more
Jun 3, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
Knights, clerics, elves, dwarves and dragons occupy some of our biggest inner-nerd imaginations. Some of my fondest memories were playing old school dungeon-crawler video games on the PC, and interacting with this type of fantasy lore. Lord of the Rings, Willow and the Chronicles of Narnia all come to mind when reminiscing of some of my favorite fictional fantasies, and there’s plenty of anime out there that scratch the itch. Legendary anime studio Madhouse attempted to tackle Record of Lodoss War in the early 90’s, a time when fantasy novels and movies were undoubtedly on the rise. It has a palpable Dungeons and Dragons feel, read more
Nov 3, 2008
WiikendWarrior84 (All reviews)
Story:

Overall though this was a good OVA. However, the Story is very scattered and doesn't have proper closure. The completest in me tells me I have to at least see the TV series that follows. I haven't had any luck finding it, however. This anime has a special place in my heart due to the nostalgia factor. I only hope that the TV series that follows this up somehow gives better closure. And one minor gripe, I think all of us understood the backstory of Lodoss by the 3rd episode so it really wasn't nessesary to retell it prior to every episode.

Art:
It's very good looking read more
Aug 14, 2015
Dwarfking45 (All reviews)
Going into this anime, I didn't have very high expectations, but it was part of one of my favorite genres. Also, this is one of the anime where I had some of the hardest time actually deciding on how to rate it. Then, I realized that it is probably going to be just above average. And it did just that.

Story:

It revolves around the wannabe swordsman named Parn and his fellow adventurers who are trying to avert further warfare and save Lodoss from the oncoming evil. This is a setup for a good anime, and I liked it. However, there were many plotholes that could read more
Sep 10, 2018
Hanakotaba (All reviews)
A classic by definition is used to describe a certain piece of media that had stand in a test of time for its insurmountable quality. Record of the Lodoss War, for its time in the 90s, had a cult following with the high fantasy genre booming in the West and Japan taking heavy influences of these genres such as space operas and of course, high fantasy. Record of Lodoss War's blatant influences can be stemmed from the 1974's tabletop RPG, Dungeons and Dragons and certain elements from the publication of J. R. R Tolkien's Lord of the Rings are implemented into the 1990 OVA series. read more
Dec 13, 2013
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
This is one of anime's most beloved titles, even though I never learned about it until this year on TVTropes. Plus I felt bored of watching nothing but Pokemon and Sword Art Online all throughout the semester, so I figured I might as well try something I've never seen before. This has gotten a lot of praise from fans, and I thought I'd like it. To an extent, I did, but...honestly, I can't really see why people like this. Now don't get me wrong, it's not a BAD anime. Heck, I'd watch this over every ecchi anime in the world! However, there's just too much read more
Aug 28, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This one is a little bit serious. If you want to talk about this in DnD perspective, these are the guys that take everything serious and say that you can’t talk out of character and all that. Sure there is a little comedy but it is pretty much ether nurd-ifide or magically complicated. Maybe this is why I don’t really get along with the serious people… because I didn’t much care for it. Now this doesn’t mean that it is bad, oh no. It’s far from bad even to today’s standards. It just takes a lot of talking and standing around before anything really significant read more
Dec 20, 2010
Bankaieater12 (All reviews)
An excellent job of sword and sorcery, that has become an everlasting classic for anyone to enjoy. Many others like it fail where this anime grabs you and truly enthralls from the very beginning. Its character progress is a defining aspect that leads to a wonderful adventure. It has everything in just the right dosage, not too mention great character interaction. The art work for its time is sure a landmark in anime. If i had never seen this great masterpiece i would have never acquired my addiction for all things anime.
Mar 6, 2017
TevishSzat (All reviews)
Once, a young man toured the empty, echoing halls of an ancient dungeon, a place abandoned by time and now slowly, painfully grinding towards a final collapse named "Blockbuster Video". A few petty coins were left behind for his prize, a priceless treasure known as "Record of Lodoss War"...

OK, enough of that, you want to see a review of the 13-episode OVA series Record of Lodoss War. So, right off the bat, here's my objective opinion: This is a flawed, often deeply-flawed series, but one that has a lot of high points to go along with its flaws. Personal opinion, though? read more
Jul 28, 2017
foshisan92 (All reviews)
This OVA is Considered An Underrated Masterpiece!! Yep!! The characters are Well developed. Parn & Deedlit's Relationship is way better than generic Anime relationship. The Music Of This Anime IS FREAKING ORCHESTRAL-LIKE MASTERPIECE. The Story is Reminded Me Dungeons and Dragons With Mix elements with Lord Of The Rings(BTW, I Didn't Watch Lord of The Ring movie trilogy yet, Surely I Plan too). The Artstyle is Unlikely Generic Fantasy light novels yeah!! This Artstyle Looks Mature Period. Animation is The Best If you watch in Blu Ray Version. This Could Be Everyone's Favorite & Became My Favorite OVA. Also English & Japanese audio Are Great. read more
Apr 5, 2013
Iron_Leopard (All reviews)
I'll go ahead and get the inevitable comparison out of the way. Record of Lodoss War is The Lord of the Rings of anime. Maybe not as highly regarded as Tolkiens fantasy trilogy but still a spectacular addition to the genre.

One of the very first OVAs I was introduced to back in the late 90s ROLW was everything I'd ever wanted out of american animation but never recieved. A dark and serious fantasy adventure that touched on all the familar qualites that the genre is known for. Knights, Elves, Dwarves, Dragons, Wizards, and epic bloody battles. This was a show strictly made for Fantasy fans.

The read more
Dec 16, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
First of all, i can slap myself for not watching or seeing it as an kid, though i noticed it decades ago the collection in the VHS store´s, but i had no idea about it until recently and its MAGICAL.
This ova serie´s that i think a side or continuation of the t.v serie´s ( 1990) that was a cornerstone for fantasy anime till this day with exception of Y´S ( 1989).
But there is a catch if u watch it for the 1st time ever, and its that u have to watch the epidose´s in the right order, start with episode 2,3,4,5 after that read more
Nov 20, 2018
MKSTEEL (All reviews)
A fantastic piece of fantasy anime that feels like it brings alive the lore of a Dungeons & Dragons in the medium of Japanese Animation. I really liked the heroes who were all well-drawn personalities despite their fantasy archetypes and the villains were well imagined as well with several morally 'grey' entities inhabiting the moral ground between the armies of Darkness and Light struggling for Lodoss such as the Grey Witch Karla and wildcard Dragons. With even secondary characters like the Good King Fahn and the Dark Emperor Beld receiving some impressive development the series has a sense of history and worldbuilding that helps create read more
Aug 5, 2017
Rage-The-Dragoon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh Boy...I Wish I liked you More Lodoss...

Ahem, Lets get this out of the way, The art, Sound and animation are for the most part really great. but as soon as we come down the Characters and cinematography, problems start to arrive in Spades.

I see what Lodoss is trying to do with their limited 13 episodes and only giving us the nessesary bits and pieces to link the story together. but because of this it feels like the anime lacks a lot of focuss on what it actually wants to tell. and this effects the relation between it's main cast members the most.

some of the read more
Oct 26, 2018
xcomprr (All reviews)
Thousands of years have passed since the war amongst the two gods of dark and light had ended which, broke off a piece of land from the main continent and the island "Lodoss" was formed. Now the forces of darkness brews once again as the dark ruthless armies of Marmo begins to invade and threaten the inhabitants of the island. After his village is attacked by a a horde of strangely behaving goblins, the badly untrained and rash Parn is sent out to investigate the source of the darkness. Joining him is an unruly party of six each journeying for their own reasons - his read more
Apr 19, 2018
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
Record of Lodoss War was recommended by a classmate back in university, during a time when VHS was still a thing. Anime releases in North America back then were generally abysmal, favoring titillating shows or big productions over diamonds in the rough, and you usually were stuck with shows with low-budget dubbing, replacing passable or overacted Japanese acting with terrible acting by unknown actors or extras furiously trying to stay in sync with the animation.

When I watched this in the university dorm (complete with so-so fan subtitles), I couldn't wait for the next episode. And the next. Great shows always leave you wanting more (terrible read more
Apr 15, 2018
Sobornost (All reviews)
Lodoss-tou Senki (Record of Lodoss War) is a very western-style fantasy story. The protagonist is a village-boy-turned-swordsman, his love interest is an elf, they’re joined by a priest, a wizard, a dwarven warrior, and a thief. They fight against evil wizards, dark elves, orc-like beastmen, and ultimately an evil kingdom, all of which are in service of resurrecting an evil god. They meet various allies throughout the series, including kings, lords, and mercenaries. They explore ruins and travel the land.

If you’re a fan of fantasy novels or video games, all of this probably sounds fairly familiar. I don’t know what Japanese audiences would have read more
Nov 6, 2017
GreenEmu (All reviews)
The age of this series shows, but the OVAs still hold up today as a classic high fantasy anime. The story itself isn't anything special and plays out like a D&D campaign, and the characters are pretty much ripped out of a D&D session as well. But that's the charm of it, It's just a straightforward high fantasy story. I'll also admit the influx of the "Isekai" genre has influenced my review as the most generic fantasy plots are masterpieces compared to that garbage.

Animation and sound wise it still holds up fairly well for something it's age, and the first episode in particular read more
Apr 4, 2015
TwoSevenTwo (All reviews)
Lodoss follows in the tradition of D&D rather than literary fantasy, and it suffers from it. It has a nostalgic appeal, but only because back in the 90s, we didn't have many options for medieval fantasy anime, and this scratched that itch. It does have its good moments, but it is otherwise forgettable.

Let's get this out of the way first: "Record of Lodoss War" is an adaptation of a D&D campaign run by the author. No attempt is made to hide it. The grand back story and world building by the DM/author are used for flavor and to motivate events, but read more