Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kono Sekai no Katasumi ni


Alternative Titles

English: In This Corner of the World
Synonyms: To All the Corners of the World
Japanese: この世界の片隅に

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 12, 2016
Licensors: Shout! Factory
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Duration: 2 hr. 6 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 9,170 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1740
Members: 38,508
Favorites: 201

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 23, 2016
GohanwaOkazu (All reviews)
A "Slice of Life" in Kure and Hiroshima in 1940s, Involving Love, Laughter, Fantasy, Hope, and Death.

The protagonist is a nonchalant (at least on the surface) and a bit dreamy ordinary girl who loves to draw and paint. She is raised in Hiroshima and marries into a family of a young man employed in the naval town of Kure,

The movies goes into great detail showing the life of an ordinary family of that time. It starts as a great slice of life, of her old-style marriage with a new husband, sharing life with in-laws and communicating with neighbors. There are happy, sweet, and tender read more
Jan 3, 2018
_Blase_ (All reviews)
I'll begin by stating my strongest gripe: the show feels disjointed due to the abrupt way it cuts the scenes and how little time is dedicated to deal with certain problems within the story. My guess is that they were trying to create this monotony that most people experience in their daily lives. It makes sense considering the show is a sort of "mundane" approach on the issue of living under bombing raids and military pressure. Still, everytime a work attempts to present a lighthearted atmosphere in the middle of such overall grim situation, I can't forgive but to think it's limiting itself by not read more
Sep 26, 2017
WhyZigle (All reviews)
War. A strong word that could be described with multiple meanings. A word that brings joys to the winner while also brings miseries for the lost one. A word that brings dooms, sufferings, starvations, destructions, loss, and fears to people that live in that zone. A word that makes me ask, what is actually a word called justice? A word that makes me wonder, is the word of "peace" just a lie that disguised as a beautiful dream? Are humans actually equal , just like what people always tell? That is me, an ordinary person that ask this question. Just imagine to live in a read more
Aug 11, 2017
moonbell (All reviews)
This is another film I saw at Annecy, and a considerable part of my review is going to focus mainly on the audience's reactions to it since I think they were pretty telling. I will also be reviewing this as a person who has not read the manga the film is adapted from.

I was fortunate enough to go to the very first screening of this film at the festival, which featured a short talk by Mr Katabuchi and, needless to say, the audience was very excited to watch the film. French isn't my best language but what I got from it was that Katabuchi believes read more
May 31, 2017
SirMarmelady (All reviews)
War is never beautiful and I can't decide where you'll see the most damage. The battlefield itself, where the wreckages of men still cry over their fallen comrades, the foolishness and betrayal of being promised glory and fame ending with nothing but pain and loss, wishing and praying they could go home. Or is it the home itself? Father is off in a foreign land fighting, and the women must pull through together with the old yet they do not escape unharmed, with countless bomb raids disturbing their sleep after a hard day trying to make ends meet. A slip or absence of vigilance and read more
Oct 27, 2017
Injenss (All reviews)
Kono Sekai no Katasumi ni is yet another shining example of how much more critical the story is to anime than actual animation. When I first began watching it, I was immediately turned off by the animation. I thought it simplistic to the point of where it was similar to Charlie Brown. It actually looked very childish to me. However, experience has taught me to overlook poor animation and wait for the story. By the end of the anime, as usual with unconventional drawing styles, you aren't even paying attention to how its drawn, rather than what is being drawn read more
Apr 13, 2017
tenjor (All reviews)
TL;DR: Watch this movie for the love, loss, and war you can expect in Japanese war movies. If you've seen any, like for example Barefoot Gen, you should know kinda what to expect walking in.

Right after the overall score is the "should you watch it" chart.

There is also a spoiler section at the very bottom for detailed commentary. Most people would not consider these spoilers, but they may hint at plot developments indirectly. Whether or not you wish to view them is up to you.


Story: 8/10

This movie takes place mainly around World War II, and talks about a ditzy and dreamy little girl called Suzu read more
Jul 14, 2017
Lord_Odous (All reviews)
Kono Sekai no Katasumi ni (I will call it KonoKata from hereon) is a slice-of-life, historical movie that details the life of a normal Japanese citizen during the latter days of World War 2.

For an average citizen, war is a very undesirable thing. It disrupts the peaceful routine that makes us very comfortable with our lives in the first place, food has to be rationed and thus you won't be eating much and deliciously for a while. Air raid alerts are very frequent and may happen anytime so chances are you won't be getting much sleep if an alert blared off in the middle read more
Sep 25, 2017
ShrinePriest (All reviews)
Some spoilers below, be you warned.

There are several ways in which one can engage in criticism.

There are objective determinations on which one can base their criticism. There are also criticisms that come from biases and presumptions that one as an individual have and want to see, presumptions and biases which others might not share. To some extent, there's overlap and ambiguity in the delineation between these two styles of criticism. In a trivial way, what is typically seen as objectively bad writing might not bother someone else out of apathy. For instance, a central drama or conflict which becomes resolved without any proper build up read more
Jul 21, 2017
Aidan (All reviews)
In This Corner of the World is a fairly decent anime about a woman as she grows up in pre-war Japan and how her life changes during the later years of World War 2. This anime’s undoing, however, is due to the fact that it focuses on a specific niche of people and this niche is one that is not very prevalent in the anime community.

The movie itself takes a look at the effects of the war through the eyes of a young bride named Suzu who claims she is always dreaming. This dream state, however, can lead to some confusion as several of read more
Jun 28, 2017
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
You were brought to this foreign land.

In this Corner of the World is a Japanese wartime drama set during the second world war but plays out more like a slice-of-life show if you were to examine it closely. The movie features around a young girl named Suzu Urano who spends her childhood in Hiroshima. She is suddenly shipped off to another family as a product of arranged marriage to meet her would be husband Shuusaku Houjou who is the successor of the household.

A significant portion of the movie centers around the household activities that Suzu is soon accustomed to. She is for the most read more
Oct 23, 2017
kiki-jiji (All reviews)
Story 8/10

I saw a gif from the movie and decided to watch it. It is a very slow burner kind of movie that mostly drew me in from the comfortable vibe. I should mention the first half of the movie actually isn't about the war, and is more about Suzu meeting her husband. The second half of the movie is very emotional and I thought it told Suzu's story very beautifully. I appreciated that the ending was focused on recovery and moving forward. I would have given it a ten but I didn't really understand the part with the monster putting the kids in the read more
Sep 30, 2017
Graylia (All reviews)
Recommended – Yes.
Read the Manga – No.
Best Characters – All.
Worst Characters – n/a

PLOT ❻/❿
This anime focused on the micro aspects of war – how life goes on in wartime, the effects of war on everyday life, and how the people at home are facing their own share of problems. The amount of loss and sadness is appropriate for a war-time anime, yet the movie overall remains optimistic. Rather than focusing on the politics and combat aspects of war, which seem remote and irrelevant to a normal person, this movie focuses on the relatable sentiment of wanting to protect one’s loved ones and the peaceful days read more
Sep 28, 2017
rainyland (All reviews)
MINOR SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW

"A dragonfly flitted in front of me and stopped on a fence. I stood up, took my cap in my hands, and was about to catch the dragonfly when..."
-Hiroshima Peace Memoral Museum

In the coastal town of Kure, just outside of Hiroshima is where we find the characters of Kono Sekai no Katasumi ni. We follow Suzu and the family she marries into at the age of 18 as they live during the Pacific War of World War II. The majority of the plot takes place between 1943 and 1945, a turbulent time in Japan as we know from history. The characters read more
Sep 7, 2017
WaddleBuff (All reviews)
No, this is not another Grave of the Fireflies. No, this is not another Barefoot Gen. No, this is not a Hiroshima movie, and it barely is even a movie about WWII.

In This Corner of the World is merely a snapshot of a woman's ordinary life with an ordinary family. It just so happens to take place in the Hiroshima prefecture during WWII.

From the promotional material, it definitely seemed like just another tearjerking tale dealing with themes of loss, death, and the horrors of war. And yes, although the film does have those themes, they are all naturally introduced during the runtime as incidental, never read more
Aug 24, 2017
phillyj_97 (All reviews)
I'm not surprised that this was highly praised after watching all of it.
Its a history movie well-drawn, well-structured, and VERY impactful.

To be honest, after watching anime, Japan and its culture, and reflecting the past, I wondered what WW2 looked like on their end.
I wasn't prepared on what to say after all those eventa that happened in these "fictional" animations. I quoted "fictional" because mind you, this was real, including all the emotions that they made after such....unregrettable moments..

Story=10
Art=11
Sound=10
Character=9

I...couldn't relate...to the story at all, but all of it left me reflect so much....
A beautiful, unique autobiography of Suzu Urano, growing into the world that she never read more
Jul 8, 2017
dgg32 (All reviews)
I visited Hiroshima May 2016. It was a bleeding experience that I can only relunctantly reiterate.

The city nowaday is a vibrant metropolis, a dramatic contrast to its own 1945 past. As busy as other mega Japanese cities, Hiroshima stands in a profoundly solemn atmosphere, a city still mourning, especially at the Peace Memorial area. You can hear the Peace Bell, you can see the Peace Flame is still on and it will be on until the last piece of nuclear weapon is destroyed, you can visit the Children's Peace Monument and count those thousands upon thousands of origami cranes for Sadako Sasaki. And you read more