Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure
Synonyms: JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken (2012)
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2012 to Apr 6, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 275,072 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #120
Members: 491,442
Favorites: 17,386

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Nearly every review of JoJo 2012 praises it as a MASTERPIECE, because it represents a triumphant return for the macho manly anime of the past. I have a slightly different perspective than most critics on MAL, so unsurprisingly my conclusion was a little different as well. If I was born between 1995 and 2000 and grew up during the "sparkling kawaii desu moe" era of anime where every male protagonist is a whiny pussy, I too would be inclined to give Jojo a 10/10 out of sheer novelty alone. However, I was born in the 1980s and I actually remember the GAR days of manly read more
Apr 7, 2013
gaptoothsailor (All reviews)
This is my favorite series ever, and it finally got a real weekly anime adaptation after 25 years—the ‘94 and ‘00 OVAs and the Phantom Blood movie, which never saw DVD/home video release do not count—there is definitely some bias in this review. That said, there’s a reason I still didn’t give it a perfect score, and it’s because I’m still trying to keep a hint of objectivity in here.

Art - 8/10

I suppose I’ll start off with how it adapted the source material. Unlike the OVAs and Phantom Blood movie, there were no cuts in content, and it actually adapted parts 1 and 2 of read more
Jun 17, 2015
Rage-The-Dragoon (All reviews)
The keyword "Bizarre" in it's title is more then appropriate.

And considering the many details the show has it's difficult to find a point to start talking about it to explain everything, but I'm going to give an attempt.

The First thing to address is probably the story and the storytelling of JoJo.
where it basically does everything wrong in such a way that it becomes hysterical to watch and not to mention the big layer of 80's cheese that covers it all.

JoJo tells it's story through the worst way possible "exposition". and not just a little bit. The characters will explain literally EVERYTHING that is happening in read more
Nov 6, 2012
Gan_HOPE326 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First, a premise: I am NOT a Jojo fan from any previous series, nor I ever read the manga. When I approached this new anime, I did it only out of advice from an online friend, knowing that Jojo's Bizarre Adventure was... kind of a milestone and a very famous manga? Really, that's it. I had no idea what was expecting me. Which actually made it all the more enjoyable.

Now, TO THE REVIEWMOBILE!

Story: 8

The story so far, if not complex or especially well written, is fun, thrilling, and chock-full of action and awesomeness. The first impression I got from Jojo's Bizzare Adventure was that this read more
Apr 6, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
It's time to take a trip back to the 1800s, an age of time when the Napoleonic era and the rise of many colonies took place among various empires. History isn't easy to trace with certain origins but Jojo's Bizarre Adventure has its origins traced back with its original series. The fantastic journey finally begins! Yup, it's here and and this series suddenly is one hell of an anime that will not only bring some nostologia but excitement to you. Join Jojo Joestar and his many bizarre adventures as he embarges on a journey and learn about the wonders of the world.

Jojo's Bizarre Adventure (2012) read more
May 17, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
This adaptation of JoJo covers Part 1: Phantom Blood & Part 2:Battle Tendency. Both parts are unique 80's horror shonen filled with MANLINESS! The following will be split into two reviews per part below. The reason for this is that every JoJo part should NOT be skipped as each have their own tone. Examples include: Phantom Blood being a classical vampire hunter story while Battle Tendency feels very much like an Indiana Jones film. However, both animes are filled with stylish colors, great characters & outstanding music!!

PART 1: PHANTOM BLOOD (EPS 1-9)

The beginning of JoJo seems a bit rough at first but manages to give read more
Feb 14, 2015
TheShikiMaSTER (All reviews)
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure isn't just about silly glitz and glamour that some people seem to assume upon viewing. When watching it,
It almost gave me that first impression, but to my curiosity and interest it became something more than just this being a generic show.

It is an undeniably fun series first of all.

Secondly, it is a shounen that is unique and different to a hell of a lot of shounen animes out there today that I feel bring an interesting blend of Dark comical yet a wacky and serious tone to viewing and the thing I love the most about this show is that read more
Mar 22, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
For veteran viewers that's been around long enough to notice it, the manly man protagonist has become something of a dying breed. A relic of anime's past that has been dwindling away year after year with no signs of slowing down. Many saw the change as a product of the times. Something that should simply be accepted as a predestined occurrence. The manly man was no longer marketable. Their role as a protagonist was brought to retirement, reduced to being a part of the growing collection of side character archetypes, stockpiled for future use as high school delinquents and muscle-bound uncles with far too much read more
Nov 10, 2013
vedatsvet (All reviews)
Jojo's Bizarre Adventure is popular for it's manga and I had no idea what to expect when picking up this anime. Manga is not my means of entertainment but the anime as it was presented to me intrigued me to watch it. It was recommended to me as a masterpiece, a must watch and as one of the best shounen with intelligent fights. So is it a masterpiece? To put it objectively, yes and no.Please evaluate the review after you have read it, thank you. Keep reading.

First of all for those who have no idea what this is about let me clear this up for read more
May 3, 2016
GamerUnglued (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNING: MOST WILL NOT AGREE WITH ME. IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE A BABY BECAUSE I DON'T SHARE YOUR OPINION, DON'T READ.

Life occasionally gives you things that you don't understand. Sometimes its people, or school work, and sometimes, its why something is popular. Jojo's Bizarre Adventure was recommended to me by so many people who regarded it as one of the best series ever. Upon watching it, I realized that to enjoy the show, you must turn your brain off and just take it in. As such, I did, yet I still ask the question: WHY THE HELL IS THIS SERIES SO POPULAR!!!????????? That's read more
Apr 26, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
If I had to describe JoJo's Bizarre Adventures with one word, that word would be, without a doubt, passion. A story of young and righteous men and their fight to secure a safe future for their families, friends, and ultimately, the world. A record of a fierce rivalry between the ultimate evil and a man who serves the side of justice, and the legacy they leave behind. A tale of fleeting romance, brotherly bonds, and, of course, hot blooded battles. This is the epitome of JoJo, one of the most unconventional, interesting, and captivating shows I have had the pleasure of watching thus far.

JoJo's Bizarre read more
Apr 6, 2015
TokyoSanchez (All reviews)
Quick Disclaimer. I have a ton to say about Jojo's, so this review will be very long, which is saying a lot since my other reviews are crazy long to begin with, so read with your own discretion.

Battle shounen have a bad rap in the anime community, and in my opinion, it is mainly for good reason. They are overly repetitive, extremely long in running time, and have extremely archetypal characters that develop very slowly because of said running time. However, this is only because the shows of the genre that are like this are by far the most popular (The Big 3, Fairy Tail, read more
Sep 19, 2016
BlancaXLobo (All reviews)
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is probably right now one of the most praised titles on this database, but is this actually deserved?

Well, after an era where moe has overtake the industry, with shows trying too hard to be cute that ended up being annoying, plus the overexpose of those titles, it's no wonder a show that pander to old school anime fans, when the anime was good, and was full of GAR male and manly protagonist and not loser and pussies. But nostalgia is one of the best liars, and actually, the old school anime is, most of the times, ultraviolent OVAs without any substance, with read more
Mar 31, 2018
Hakkai_Requiem (All reviews)
Many people suggested JoJo to me and I probably came to watch it expecting too much. This is a very generic shounen anime, with cool masculine elements added to it. Art is cool (even if I prefer the illustrations made by the author much more than their anime counterpart) and sound too. Story however is poor and the main reason is that characters are poorly written. The first arc features a bland protagonist with absolutely no depth behind his sense of justice and an even less deep villain who has at least a nice character design, but is just evil for the sake of read more
Nov 7, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken
I'm new to Jojo, i haven't read the manga so i didn't knew what i was getting into, nor i was expecting more than one protagonist, i instantly thought it was similar to Hokuto no Ken with a Castlevania type of vampires, and that was great, i was really surprised at everything this anime had to offer.

Story
The story has two parts, Part 1 is Phantom Blood and Part two is Battle Tendency; Part 1 starts with the story of two young boys that met in their youth, Jonathan Joestar (JoJo) a boy from a wealthy and respected family and with a read more
Jan 8, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
This first series of recent Jojo adaptations adapted two story arcs from the manga, Phantom Blood and Battle Tendency. With that being said, I will be reviewing both arcs to the series separately since their quality varies between both.

Phantom Blood's role is to introduce Dio Brando and how he would become entangled with the Joestar family bloodline for later installments of the franchise. The storytelling here is rather bland to a good extent as it lacks the energy found with later story arcs of the series and our lead protagonist, Jonathan Joestar, is rather cliched with his typical pure-hearted personality. Ruthless parenting and strained sibling read more
Dec 7, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Nothing on this planet exists quite like the notion of family. Mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, and grandparents; everyone has or has had them. And while we may not always get along over the dinner table, deep down the connections we share with our family are unlike anything else we know. Many times, these bonds are tested, often verging on the point of breaking. But with a careful hand (and maybe a bit of Hamon), the ties that bind us can truly never be broken. Such is the tale of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure, and what a tale read more
Apr 22, 2019
ShallotTheDoomer (All reviews)
Let me just say, FUCK YES.

After putting off JoJo for years, I finally watched it. Finally, I've seen what everybody has been talking about. For the first time, the crowd is right. This anime is a fucking masterpiece. Holy shit.

This anime starts off on the wrong foot. The first part is pretty lame, slow, and would have caused me to drop JoJo's if I wasn't already dead-set on watching it in full. As a warning, don't drop this anime thinking it won't get better. It does. It gets so much better. This is now my favorite anime.

Everything becomes godly in part 2. The art is read more
Aug 19, 2017
Artrill (All reviews)
[6.0/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Starting reviews with a quote is often cheesy and forced, however, I figure i'd fall in line with the series if I do, so...

"Mama Mia!"

That was Jojo's Bizarre Adventure's first season and it was indeed bizarre and quite the adventure, with a sprawling cast of characters and two massive arcs that end up giving more than they take. What felt like a generic action shounen, which I am strictly not a fan of, ended up transitioning into something just a little bit more... bizarre. Perhaps not quick enough, though, but the end result here is undeniably fun. I think that's the easiest way to read more
Mar 5, 2016
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
Imagine if Dragon Ball Z was actually good, or if Kill la Kill wasn’t so weird.

I feel sorry for this anime. It takes a stupid, pointless idea and makes the best of it. The world has dozens of stories about macho dudes beating up other macho dudes because they don’t agree with their morals. In the worst cases, these stories are filled with overcomplicated fight systems nobody cares about, and silly monologues.

The world of macho dudes who never really die, where time doesn’t exist is a bit tired now. Franchises like Naruto, One Piece and Dragon Ball will outlast the heat death of the universe. read more