Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Inukami!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Dog Gods!
Japanese: いぬかみっ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2006 to Sep 28, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 23,938 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1614
Members: 57,758
Favorites: 218

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 3, 2007
Archaeon (All reviews)
Well here's somthing I didn't expect.

When I first saw a screenshot of Inukami, and read the synopsis for the show, I thought to myself "it's just another harem based rom-com". Oh, how wrong I was.

If you don't laugh at this show then you've probably missed the point (or you're not human). No other show will drop the lead character naked in the town square just for looking at women, or let him spend a night in a police cell surrounded by perverts (who believe he is their king I might add). If you're expecting a lot of fanservice then you're watching the wrong show. read more
Sep 11, 2008
Skadi (All reviews)
Inukami! is a difficult anime for me to write about. On one hand I really loved many aspects of it but on the other there were things I absolutely hated. This show is not for everyone. It features some pretty crude, perverted, and offensive humor but most of the time you can’t help but laugh anyway.

Story wise Inukami isn’t all that special. It is much better towards the latter half of the show and really did a lot to save the series for me. The main problem and the reason I overall don’t rate this show that high is because read more
Mar 8, 2008
Flame_Haze (All reviews)
Anime is not always what it appears to be. Truthfully this shows that any anime that is created with passion can be a joy to watch. The hook for this anime for me was the unique comedy and wanting to find out what situations the characters manage to get themselves into.

Story: The story follows some clichés but is extremely original at times in episodes that are stand-alone. I liked that there’s a healthy portion of the series that didn't use cliffhangers to keep you hooked which allowed me not to feel guilty by stopping and picking up later. I’m impressed that they turned read more
Dec 4, 2007
altergenesis (All reviews)
Highs: Hilarious, light-hearted fun; character interactions; surprisingly good plot
Lows: Romantic moments are out of place; thin characters; comedy not for all; unsatisfying conclusion; repetitive at times;

Review: Girls? Nudity? Fanservice? Check. If this is content you wholeheartedly enjoy, then you might as well stop reading this review right now. Yes, faithful reader, Inukami fulfills all of your dormant inner desires. But I digress, for the audience who want a little meat with their potatoes, you may continue reading. To be blunt; Inukami is hilarious. Maybe I have become so desensitized to risque comedy that I am no longer embarrassed to be caught watching it.

The character interactions read more
Mar 27, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
The anime I'll be looking at this week is based on a series of light novels by Arisawa Mamizu, who I've never heard of before this, with an anime adaptation by Seven Arcs... Wait, the studio behind Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha? That's got to be a good sign. This is Inukami.

There is a story, but it only really starts in the last six episodes or so. Everything before that focuses more on setting up the scenario and attempts at humour. The scenario is simple. Our protagonist is Kawahira Keita. He comes from a family that works with Inukami in order to protect the peace read more
Sep 20, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
Inukami are dog spirits, and Keita comes from a family that uses these spirits along with their own spiritual powers to rid the world of evil. Youko is Keita`s Inukami, but she`s not like the others. Not obedient nor respectful, she is a big burden on Keita financially. Youko does, at the very least, love him. She is prone to jealousy though, and extremely possessive, not to mention starved for attention, but Keita is a free, perverted soul who does his best to escape her grasp and hit on all the women he comes across. It`s too bad for him that Youko can teleport and read more
Feb 2, 2009
outlaw98 (All reviews)
At the time I first watched this anime, I was just randomly picking animes on myanimelist and watching them regardless of their score. Inukami in particular didn't look like anything special, but it turned out to be the shining gem buried in a pile of shit.

Story and Art were good. At times the story didn't follow the story arc format, and each episode possessed its own individual stories, but closer to the end of the series, Inukami does turn into a story arc show.

This show looked like just another ecchi comedy anime, but I was greatly mistaken with this judgment. While the humor is perverted read more
Mar 28, 2009
gdavge2003 (All reviews)
Inukami! is a slapstick comedy following the adventures of Keita and Youko as they face enemies and spirits that must be vanquished. After 26 episodes, I must admit I was a bit bored with the episodic, repetitive style Inukami! follows, but the comedy throughout each episode was worth watching.

There's very little character development, even among the main characters. Inukami! is meant as a pure comedy anime, and as such, things such as story and characters are definitely not strengths here. The reason for watching is to enjoy and laugh at the hilarious situations that come up.

The art is well done. There is very little CG read more
Aug 17, 2008
Aphiel1 (All reviews)
In the end my evaluation of this series when my friends asked me about was that if you don't mind like a thousand penis jokes then go ahead and watch this series. That's right so sue me if that's wrong but that how I felt.
Story- The story itself is a new twist on numerous generic plots those being the animes where there is a master slave scenario (though not in the evil hurting way and more cutesy pokemon way), there is a play on the spirit world/spirit hunter type of anime, and of course your basic girl meets guy plot with a harem scheme thrown read more
Jul 14, 2008
EcchiEcho (All reviews)
This show is all around pretty good. Its funny. But it can be very serious. It has romance. But also some ecchi. The fighting is done well. The characters are very realistic and likable. The only bad thing I have to say about this show is. The amount of MALE NUDITY! really disturbed me. You will see ten times more naked men in this show than any other. Ya that part sucks. they should have shown more girl nudity. but oh well. the girls in the show are really hot. so in conclusion. If you can stand some male nudity than you should defineatly watch read more
Aug 13, 2010
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
Seven Arcs is amazing... with classic works such as Magical Lyrical Nanoha, (in my opinion) Sekirei and a few other famous shows I've yet to seen.

Inukami reminds and far surpasses a lot of other shows I've watched, e.g. Kanon (2006), Zero no T, ToraDora, Lovely Complex etc.

It consists of several genres, such as comedy, supernatural, slice of life, action, shounen, tragedy, romance etc., and does very well in all of them. There is not one genre that is dominant (if there is it would be comedy) and there aren't significant one-path arcs (unlike Princess Lover!, first 6 vs last 6 eps), except the ending read more
Dec 23, 2017
MK_Alex (All reviews)
I just had to write a review for Inukami!

Let me just start by saying that this is one hell of an anime any way you look at it. I'm certain my judgement of its flaws are clouded by how much fun I had wa tching it, but what can I say. It was a joyride. The whole layput of the anime is a bit weird so I will split my review into 2 halfs and judge them semiholistically rather than going over character, story, art, and all that crap.


The first bit is full of carefree standalone or 2 part episodes that really just feature the read more
Mar 8, 2016
nightcrawlercyp (All reviews)
The best way to describe it is a romantic comedy. And for everyone that hoped for an ending were Urusei Yatsura characters Lum and Ataru finally admit their feelings and start acknowledging each other then this is the anime for you. Although it has a lot of fillers there is a pretty solid (and funny) main story and a sort of resolution at the end. There are plenty of questions left unanswered (that is why it gets just 9) probably because they hoped for a second season or because they did not know in what direction to go with the manga still unfinished. Regardless of read more
Oct 5, 2017
nitwitsworld (All reviews)
I give this series an 8000 outta 9000! And lots of kittens too. And doggies are cute in this show. I love how the chocolate plays a role in the series. Truly a masterpiece children will watch for years to come. :) Many of us will look back on this series and be like "why haven't I ever heard of this fine work of art?" It's so good that you will be dropping your PS4 Crash Bandicoot N Sane Trilogy playthrough and watch 26 episodes and a movie of this show back to back for 24 hours a day seven days a week. Screw One read more
Nov 27, 2009
XRaikiriX (All reviews)
Good animes are the ones that bring you back that you watch again later on
This anime is Very good

I liked the funny beating of keita when he did something perverted and how he did all these things but was overall a great guy

I reccomend to any who are thinking about watching this anime to watch it