Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kizumonogatari I: Tekketsu-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Kizumonogatari Part 1: Tekketsu
Synonyms: Koyomi Vamp
Japanese: 傷物語〈Ⅰ鉄血篇〉

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2016
Producers: Aniplex, Kodansha
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr. 4 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.431 (scored by 127,785 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1342
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #358
Members: 272,236
Favorites: 1,711

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 27, 2016
ChaoticThinker (All reviews)
Shaft opens up with their Pro - GAME for the Kizumonogatari: Tekketsu-hen, Part 1 out of Three. The other two being Nekketsu-hen and Reiketsu-hen.

I've been a fan of The Monogatari Series for quite some time and honestly like every fan out there who seen this series back when this movie was being announced on 2011 - 2013 Gap. We've been SHAFTED 3 times after all and each one those hurt a lot for us fans.

I almost teared up as I found myself dumbfounded sitting down waiting for the show to finally begin. Suddenly filled myself with reminiscence of the entirety of the read more
Mar 5, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
It's getting increasingly hard to care about Shaft as an animation studio. Ever since Madoka Magica, they've done nothing but play it safe, churning out sequels to their popular stuff again and again until they became the anime studio version of Nintendo, whilst all their new IP have been so mediocre that with the exception of Nisekoi, nobody remembers them anymore. Not helping is the fact that after so many years, they STILL haven't ditched that outdated Shinbou-animation style that quite frankly looks about as exciting to watch as the same tech demo done on Unreal Engine. Sure it's pretty to look at, but it read more
Feb 29, 2016
heyheyhey13 (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari Tekketsu-hen is a truly sublime experience, an expertly crafted intense mood piece that encapsulates the ideological perspectives and meanderings of the coming-of-age character, such as is Araragi Koyomi; this is all portrayed in a very bloody folklore/supernatural tale complete with limbless vampires, a deus ex machina Hawaiin shirt wearing dude, head-patting, burning corpses, porn magazines, train metaphors, lots of crows masquerading as metaphors, and through sexualized imagery of PANTIES!!!

In this light novel adaptation of NisiOisiN's popular series, Bakemonogatari director Oishi Tatsuya returns (!!!!!!) to present the true beginnings of the Monogatari series in cinematic form (a first in the long running series). It's read more
Mar 14, 2016
skuldier (All reviews)
Ok, I'm not sure what movie the majority of reviewers online watched, but Kizmonogatari (Part 1) was AWFUL. Basically it was boobs bouncing, Araragi sweating/screaming/running, and a bunch of 3D backgrounds that didn't look right with the 2D animated characters. It honestly feels like the creators said "Ok, time to stretch 20 minutes of plot into 60 minutes. Let's make Araragi gasp and scream and flail for a 20 minute scene." They wasted so much time under the guise of suspense that when the "thing" actually happened, I was bored, not intrigued or excited. By the time the movie actually got interesting, it was over. read more
Feb 27, 2016
spicychile (All reviews)
I remember right after watching the first episode of Owarimonogatari that the trailer for this movie had finally been released. It looked really good from what I could see, as expected of Shaft. However, it turned out that Kizumonogatari would be split into three movies which either meant that the studio was trying to do the story justice by giving the full adaptation. Or, that Shaft was simply only trying to milk the series for what it was worth giving the amount of hype built up over the last couple years. After watching the movie, I can gladly say it's more read more
Jan 5, 2017
nightcrawlercyp (All reviews)
So before I start this my overall view of the show is that a fan of the monogatari series should see it but not pay any money for it because it is bad, really bad. As someone else said there actually 15-20 minutes of actual content stretched over one hour. The main impression the movie made on me was that of young art school student who tries to impress too much. So without delay these are my points against this movie:

1. the drawings are extremely different from the rest of the animes related to Monogatari. And different in a bad way. While in the rest read more
Jun 17, 2019
Lemmy7003 (All reviews)
I’m in a unique position, in relation to how people usually view this franchise. I’ve seen pretty much nothing of Monogatari as a series, sans a few early episodes of Bakemonogatari. All I know is that Kizu takes place at the very start of the series, and features a somewhat different style and approach the series overall. I'd heard about how good the Kizumonogatari films were meant to be, and I've always been a little drawn to anime films rather then TV series - so, I dove in, expecting just a feature-length version of what I'd seen in Bakemonogatari.

Man, Kizumonogatari is really something different.

The biggest read more
Mar 10, 2018
Ixti (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari was probably the most original and entertaining story about vampires that I read in my life. I did not read much of them. But most were similar. And now finally we have a screen version of the novel.

What do we have here?
Characters designs ruined, ugly rotoscoping animation, irrelevant backgrounds work, monstrously prolonged scenes, they threw out half of the dialogues, but added lo-o-ong and absolutely pointless scenes and details that were not in the novel.

Apparently, this is an exhausted, long-running project, many times changed the director, and released from the consideration "just to finish it."
Or an eloquent demonstration of bad taste, lack of talent read more
Feb 5, 2017
DarkChaplain (All reviews)
After putting it off for so long and reading (and listening to) the Light Novel a few months ago, I am utterly disappointed and shocked by this first part of Kizumonogatari.

The amount of inconsistencies not just with the light novel original but also depictions and styles from the rest of the animated series is staggering. CG and hyperrealistic backdrops everywhere, and evencharacters are CG-animated in places.

Environments were changed for the heck of it, with no real point to them. Instead of having a localized lack of electricity around Kiss-shot on the street, we get almost a full-blown outage, just that she's lying in the subway read more
Mar 1, 2016
jpenobagel (All reviews)
Few spoilers ahead**

Kizumonogatari is something that's been teased by Shaft ever since the very first episode of Bakemonogatari (where the entire intro was basically a highly condensed version of this movie). Having read the novel the anime is based off of, I had some expectations, but I also knew that anime is a different medium from text and that Shaft tries to make full use of that in their adaptations.

To begin with, let's go over the positives of this movie. To be frank, every single aspect of this production was top-notch. The animation quality was a clear step-up, the CG replacing the usual flat read more
Mar 12, 2016
crispyn64 (All reviews)
Bloody Brilliant – Kizumonogatari Part 1

“SHAFT is perfect and creates nothing but masterpieces. Anyone who disagrees is wrong.”

Noir

I could watch this movie without any dialogue whatsoever and still be kept thoroughly engaged from beginning to end. That’s my untested hypothesis, of course. Needless to say, Kizumonogatari is visually stunning. Gorgeous. Magnificent. Ravishing. Sensational. Out of this world. I just want to keep listing off words to describe how fucking beautiful this movie looked. As is the SHAFT guarantee, there’s never a dull moment. Whether it be the playfully unique changing of camera angles to the cuts of text, or how it manages to take read more
Aug 16, 2016
Artrill (All reviews)
(8.5/10)

"Welcome to a world of darkness," Shinobu tells Araragi as he just discovers his combustible vampirism.

In the first film of the trilogy, we explore the backstory of Araragi and Shinobu. Its been a long time coming, too, since their backstory has forever been teased but never fully fleshed out until this was released.

Admittedly, I was a little sad going into the film knowing it won't be a continuation of the jaw-dropping conclusion Koyomimonogatari had; but my sadness quickly vanished. Here we get the unreliably narrated first part of a story about Araragi meeting our favorite donut-loving vampire loli.

_________________________________

[PART 1] : An Explosive read more
Mar 5, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
Engaging, self-aware, dialogue driven: These are the three things to best describe the Monogatari Series, and this film carries those themes well. Not once was I bored from certain events that took place, be it a stroll by the river or an over-emphasized internal conflict (something we've seen a lot by now in this show).

Quite honestly, there isn't much to say beyond this. It's unfortunate, but the film isn't very long and nothing happens that I didn't already know about from watching the series, so the film in itself is like one giant exposition. That is not to say it isn't a boring exposition, but read more
Jul 30, 2016
Apdo1 (All reviews)
SO YEAH. I've watched the Kizumonogatari series. Not in the Cinema. Or brought the DVD from the DVD store and shit. But I've watched it on kissanime today, July 30 2016.

And due to seeing people getting extremely disappointed with the film for being too short, for having only 7-10 things happening in the first film, and in the entire 1 hour and 3 min. In term of the scenario, situation, or the interaction scene between characters. It's justifiable for those to criticize this movie for being mediocre, or slow pacing to the point where you would feel like the long wait for the kizumonogatari series read more
Dec 21, 2017
Estheliel (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER-FREE

Story :

The first movie, much like the rest of the trilogy is set on Japan, centered around a high-school student, providing a backstory to the ever-so-popular Gatari series main character Araragi.

The opening of the movie is a flashforward scene, raising questions for the viewers about what is going on. This is made to pique interest very early on and generally helps to follow a very good pace throughout the storytelling.

This is definitely an area that could be done better in this movie. Between the flashforward and the rest of the story - I felt there was a missing scene, disconnection these read more
Mar 22, 2016
AvidAnimeViewer (All reviews)
Okay, I'll start by saying that there is a lot to say about this movie because it is so vastly different from everything else in the Monogatari series:

First thing you'll definitely notice - The animation:

Character designs:
The character designs in this movie very much resemble those in Mekakucity Actors, in the way that they lose their sheen and smooth polish used in the anime series. Personally I think this is actually pretty neat, there isn't much change from the characters characteristics apart from Hanekawa being even more well-endowed (if you think this is a problem you're lying to yourself). The only complaint I had was the read more
Oct 24, 2017
ItsJustHolo (All reviews)
Having watched the Monogatari series in release order during the last few months, I was looking forward to this very much. Finally getting to see, how araragi and shinobu met in the frist place. The Monogatari series is now (still, despite of this monstrosity) one of my favourite Anime series, with all the arcs up until here ranging somewhere between 6/10 (nadeko snake) to 10/10 (tsubasa tiger, hitagi end, suruga monkey,...).

That said, it is hard to believe, how terrible this movie is. The visuals are mostly okay, but everything else went wrong:

Characters:
This is my biggest issue. Araragi in this movie is not araragi. The same read more
Apr 30, 2018
Decibelle (All reviews)
For those who have stuck with the Monogatari series for the long haul (in particular the anime, as that is what I have the most experience with), it's no surprise that one of its biggest strengths is the atmosphere it creates. A broad concept, yet fulfilled in many different ways. The dialog-heavy conversations between characters (the point where entire episodes have consisted of only two distinct conversations), soundscapes underpinning moments of both comedy and drama, slightly-heavy faces with odd animation that admittedly got better as the series went on, setpieces and places emphasizing tension and characterization... take your pick. Each season creates its own atmosphere read more
Aug 13, 2019
Falco2424 (All reviews)
Wow. You definitely don’t see something like Kizumonogatari I every day. It is essentially Monogatari on steroids. Kizumonogatari I is like adding lighter fluid to the Monogatari series fire. I don’t even know where to begin talking about something like this. Let’s start with the obvious I guess: how it looks.

I’m actually surprised to see that Kizumonogatari I is made by the same studio that made the rest of the Monogatari series. It is uniquely different. Kizumonogatari I is still clearly Monogatari, but mostly by feeling now. The awesome cuts, shot composition, directing, pacing, and attention to detail are all still there, but everything, read more
Sep 18, 2016
varmala (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari is the first and only installment of any -gatari series I've ever watched. Being very familiar with Shaft's production and somewhat familiar with the running theme of this series, it's not that I didn't think it'd be worth watching, it just wasn't a priority.
However, this prequel piqued my interest.

The animation is highly stylized with some scenes that were far more pleasing than others. Of my favorites were those featuring Kiss Shot who, putting it simply, just looked cool.
Overall, the animation is highly reminiscent of titles put out by Studio 4°C...10 plus years ago. To make matters worse, 4°C is hardly the read more