Fumetsu no Anata e


To Your Eternity

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: To You, the Immortal
Japanese: 不滅のあなたへ
English: To Your Eternity
German: To Your Eternity
Spanish: To Your Eternity
French: To Your Eternity
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 20
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2021 to Aug 30, 2021
Premiered: Spring 2021
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:50 (JST)
Producers: NHK, NHK Enterprises
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, DramaDrama, SupernaturalSupernatural
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.391 (scored by 275937275,937 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #232
Members: 686,501
Favorites: 11,680

External Links


Streaming Platforms

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 19, 2021
Marazaroth (All reviews)
Preliminary
So this is going to be a controversial review given the countless number of reviews giving the series a rating of 10.

Something didn't click for me. What's not clicking, you ask? Good question. I wish I knew.

Maybe it's the way that stories are disjointed. Maybe it's the way the story expects us to care about characters that we only knew for 2 episodes. Maybe it's the way that the world is hardly explained. Maybe it's the fact that Fushi is painfully slow for the creation of a 'god'(?). Maybe it's the fact that every time the narrator speaks, all I can imagine is read more
Aug 30, 2021
Stark700 (All reviews)
Anyone who has read or seen Koe no Katachi (A Silent Voice) will recognize the name, Yoshitoki Ooima. To Your Eternity is her latest work that combines her artistic talent woven into a mesmeric story. To describe To Your Eternity is not simple. It's more than just a supernatural drama. It casts an emotional journey following an unique character And without a shadow of a doubt, To Your Eternity is among one of the best series I've seen this year.

When I first read the manga before the anime adaptation, I had anticipated various degrees of emotional drama. The author has been known to amplify human read more
Aug 30, 2021
AdolZeppeli (All reviews)
***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS***

"Fumetsu no Anata e", or "To your Eternity" (which I'll be calling TYE from now on) is an anime that perplexes me, it has the ideas to be a great series, but ultimately the execution of it fails horrendously, the final products ends up being a hideous joke. TYE has several problems and I'm going to point most of them out:

1- Tonal Shifts
2- Annoying Characters
3- Cheap drama
4- Pacing
5- Plot Conveniences
6- Plot Holes
7- Inconsistency
8- Pointlessness
9- Identity Crisis
10- Visuals

Starting with Tonal Shifts, this anime suffers from a thing most dramatic anime I've seen do: Creating a tense or dramatic situation, just to make a read more
May 17, 2021
Trump (All reviews)
Preliminary
To Your Eternity is beautiful. Not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is a journey. A journey about an empty shell. A journey that delves into the brutal yet alluring qualities of human life. A journey filled with both joy and pain. The show starts off with one of the most beautifully condensed episodes, giving a taste of what it has to offer. It's emotional soundtrack compliments the intention of every scene, leaving a memorable impact for viewers. Brain's Base does an exceptional job in creating animations that fit the melancholic yet captivating setting. The subtle themes brought into the show only compliment read more
Aug 30, 2021
RebelPanda (All reviews)
If you’ve ever experienced the death of a loved one, you know the feeling that To Your Eternity seeks to evoke in its audience. Several times I found myself sobbing, and it gave me an outlet to release the pent-up sadness I’ve held from the deaths of people I loved.

To Your Eternity follows an immortal being named Fushi who assumes the form of dead humans and animals he encounters along his journey. He can transform into them at will. A few are a giant bear, a girl who can climb trees, and a wolf. Though he is immortal, he has fears and things to read more
May 18, 2021
udayanand (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler warning for 6 episodes]
To start off, I just want to say I am glad I started watching To Your Eternity. Its beautiful.

Story (10/10) -
The premise of this new series is one of the most creatively unique I have seen. Your average anime might have a completely realistic setting, or a completely surreal one, with a magic system and its whole world shaped by it. To Your eternity places an orb, a character of such a surreal world, in the real world. This premise is so creative, unique and inspiring, as it as so much potential, with its world, its inhabitants and the themes which read more
Aug 30, 2021
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
Any anime fan should know very well that with any piece of fiction, emotions can be a wonderful thing and make a series amazing, and the anime industry is well aware of that. When any story is able to effectively utilize many different kinds of emotions, it will definitely succeed. With that being said, To Your Eternity’s unique style is quite appealing, and most people get interested in this, hence its high popularity and reception, but it’s that very same characteristic that also brings it down. As someone who’s watched A Silent Voice from the very same author of this series, I’m shocked by how read more
May 18, 2021
Matchiu (All reviews)
Preliminary
SPOILER ALERT

Right from the title of the film, we have felt somewhat the mystery and magic hidden deep in its content. Not following any of the paths of fantasy-genre anime that chew on the same script over and over again, each frame that appears throughout the anime maintains a stable quality enough to attract viewers to an open world without anyone has ever aspired to travel through space and each character in the film, whether major or minor, has its own mark, has a certain depth to impress the audience with their presence. So what specifically must be so impressive that anyone who has watched read more
Aug 30, 2021
NextUniverse (All reviews)
To Your Eternity is a story about life. The struggles, the memories, the people we meet.

As a whole, To Your Eternity initially does a solid job at presenting such events and ideas, from what I have seen of it in the past, it plays well with this whole journey concept it has going for itself. It doesn't feel half-hearted, the characters are believable, and for the most part, it was something to look forward to as you sway your way into the oncoming episodes. This, however, is true until it isn't. The latter half of the story sure goes on the same initial path as read more
Jul 18, 2021
HanAsparux (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers ahead!

So I have to say that this is a pretty unique anime in terms of the fact that it's so popular right now and rated high, because the beginning was quite strong. And I think that has to do with the innate nature of humans to want to evolve by seeking stimul. So the opening episode was great, it set up quite the adventure! And from there it was a slow spiral towards boredom.

The problem is that the main character, Fushi, lacks almost any motivation. I just finished watching episode 13 where the new prison arc begins and he(it?) still feels like a very read more
Aug 30, 2021
g1l (All reviews)
To Your Eternity is not a great anime, nor is it necessarily a bad one. It’s stuck at an awkward in between, with interesting themes and a refreshing story being weighed down by clumsy and often boring writing. The blend of adventure and drama sets it apart from other anime like it, and as disappointing as some moments in the series can be you can understand why many people will find them emotional.

There are three main arcs throughout the 20 episodes, four if you count the first episode. Each one offers a new cast with new experiences for our immortal main character, Fushi. On their read more
Sep 2, 2021
Fotsuan (All reviews)
It is fundamental to express emotions in order to make a work of fiction great – that’s something the anime industry knows very well. Sad and depressing emotions are frequently seen in anime works, but the real key to success is to combine them with pleasant and hopeful emotions. Thrill, suspense, compassion, excitement and enjoyment; all of them are important to form a good show. Fumetsu no Anata e has its unique style, which most people like – considering its global appeal and popularity - and others do not. But this style is what really prevents it from standing close to “top tier” anime, and read more
Aug 30, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
A foreword for this extensively long review: this review will have some spoilers, and I've tried my best to keep it vague as best as possible not to sway off all who read this and wanting to try the anime for yourselves. You have been warned.

"At first, it was an orb. Not just any typical orb. It could change itself by imitating the form of all that may and does exist. I decided to throw the orb upon this land to observe the various mutational forms of this immortal to see how it tries to adapt to the environment around it. There is but one read more
Sep 3, 2021
Scordolo (All reviews)
Note: Spoilers in the marked section. There will be no spoilers where there is no warning.

Laughter, sadness, pain, anger, fear, and hatred. These are all the emotions that a typical human being should know to make someone truly humane. At first, a human is born in the form of a baby, crying is the first form of emotion they experience. Then later they experience all sorts of different emotions. To your eternity is exactly that except, the protagonist we'll be following is actually an orb. That's right, it's an "it'. That is, it doesn't experience any form of emotion but it does stimulates read more
Aug 30, 2021
halfaspider (All reviews)
“Waste of time” is not a critique I like to give to a piece of fiction, but “To Your Eternity” really pushes it. My view is generally that if you try, you can usually find some redeeming quality to something you otherwise dislike. An optimistic media enjoyer should be able to find something of value to walk away with; be it an exciting plot point, a character you liked, an interesting/well executed setting or premise, good music, or beautiful art/animation. Though there is a second season announced, as a stand-alone product, To Your Eternity S1 unfortunately delivers a general lack of redeeming qualities while also read more
Jun 28, 2021
jkid555 (All reviews)
Preliminary

Rating: 6/7

I know the series is not over yet, but the way it is going now I will have to give it somewhere between a 6 or a 7.

I had high expectations with the first 3-4 episodes of the anime and was excited with the initial premise, but as with many other anime these days , it has kind of fallen flat as the series has progressed.

The mystery of the main character to start off with was very intriguing but the more that becomes revealed, the less and less interested I become.

The main villain of the story so far is still shrouded in mystery read more
Aug 30, 2021
Reiikaza (All reviews)
SPOILER-FREE ANIME REVIEW


Yoshitoki-san's recent Manga, Fumetsu no Anata e is by far one of the "Anime of The Year" candidates for me, along with Mushoku Tensei. Though it hasn't got much popularity as the other animes this year. It provides a good supernatural story that's sure will become more interesting as the show continues.


Story:
As the title says 「不滅」, It's about an Immortal being in a form of an orb-like thing that's unknown aside that it can take the shape of something. A creature without an instinct nor personality. It landed on a stone and take its form as an actual copy. As time passes by read more
May 17, 2021
girltokyo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show with just watching the first episode is able to show this will truly be something special.

story:
I can say this show is giving me the same feeling Dororo did but even still it's pretty different and I really am enjoying what is being presented so far. We are taken on a journey with this orb who is emotionless, and takes on the form of different things, over time it becomes a wolf and becomes acquaintances with a boy. You can see the attachment grow after they spend time together and you get to learn what the boy desires most. After a while the boy read more
Aug 30, 2021
GrimmNightmare (All reviews)
With a stunning first episode that easily seized my interest, Fumetsu no Anata e was one of my early favorites of the year. Sadly, that sentiment did not last as the episodes kept being released. An anime that for me started as high as an 8/10 slowly but surely dropped all the way down to a 5/10. What happened? Well, that's what this review is for!

Spoilers ahead. If you don't want to read the full review there's a tldr at the bottom with no spoilers.

A story that centers around Fushi's growth from an "it" to a human-adjacent being would undoubtedly be filled read more
Aug 30, 2021
RPWPA (All reviews)
DO NOT WATCH THE OPENING SONG. I REPEAT, DO NOT WATCH THE OPENING SONG. It's a great one I know but it will spoil almost everything that will happen.

Now that we have that out of the window, let's go on with the review.


----------------------------THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS----------------------------

Fumetsu no Anata e or To your eternity as you would call it in English, has been an anime that far surpassed what I was expecting. What I thought would be an anime aimed to manipulate your emotions in a way similar to Violet Evergarden for example, turned out to be a much more sinster anime.
read more