Lord El-Melloi II Sei no Jikenbo: Rail Zeppelin Grace Note

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Lord El-Melloi II Case Files: Rail Zeppelin Grace Note
Japanese: ロード・エルメロイⅡ世の事件簿 -魔眼蒐集列車 Grace note-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2019 to Sep 29, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Notes
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: TROYCA
Source: Light novel
Genres: FantasyFantasy, MysteryMystery, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 3507335,073 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #20692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1288
Members: 100,104
Favorites: 277
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 27, 2019
h4xolotl (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is set in the same timeline as Fate/Zero which means it was an autopickup because it's finally a Fate show that isn't a spinoff. On the surface, the idea of Waver Velvet doing Sherlock Holmes things is genius. Remember how Waver discovered Caster's lair in Fate/Zero? This show promises more of that with adult Waver and more dangerous mysteries!

While this show is still worth watching if you're a Waver or Fate Zero fan, it's ultimately let down by it's mediocre writing that poorly emulates Detective Fiction. Detective Fiction is a genre where the excitement comes from the audience engaging in the same problem read more
Sep 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Like the sands of an hourglass, the Fate franchise almost seems to be timeless since it started. It’s 2019 and we now live in an age where another one of its light novel series gets an anime adaptation from the Nasuverse. Taking place years after the events of Fate/Zero, you have to wonder how the show will be able to keep up its hype. This is especially true with a protagonist like Waver Velvet, a professor from the Mage’s Association. But with a sigh of regret, I am rather flabbergasted at how this Nasuverse anime ended up being no more than mediocrity.

Watching Lord El-Melloi II read more
Sep 28, 2019
rironka (All reviews)
In the world of mages, it doesn't matter who did it, or how.

I'll preface this short review with a quick statement about myself - I'm writing this review as a novice fan of Type-Moon lore. I have yet to reach a level of knowledge that could even be faintly construed as being an expert, and as a result I welcome any corrections to lore mistakes I may be making!
When I first heard that Lord El-Melloi II's Case Files would be receiving an anime adaptation, I was overjoyed. I have read a portion of Case Files before, and I am aware that Makoto Sanda is read more
Jul 27, 2019
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Diverging from the Fate franchise, is the tale of Waver and his apprentices in the London city.

The most memorable impression left by Fate/Zero is probably the powerful interaction between Waver and his servant, Rider. Their bond evokes one of the most touching scenes throughout both season, and it extends here on how Rider brought an impact to him with Rider’s ideals to an extent that he’s never imagined before. With the words “ live on ”, Waver embarked on many adventures and became more mature with greater magical abilities, embracing the spotlight as one of the professors in modern magecraft and became the Lord El-Melloi read more
Sep 28, 2019
CorkMars (All reviews)
"You've really done it this time Waver! What in the world is going on here?" My thoughts exactly Melvin. What in the world is going on in this series????

Ah, Lord El-Melloi II Sei no Jikenbo: Rail Zeppelin Grace Note, this is I think the first time ever I have given an episode 0 a higher score than the actual series!! I have long awaited this anime as a big fan of Fate anime series, and summer 2019 seemed like it was going to be an incredible season!! For nearly a year I looked forward to Lord El- Melloi, Vinland Saga, and Mo dao zu shi read more
Sep 28, 2019
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
Imagine a story taking place in the fate world except all the focus is on magician lore instead of hero lore and you got rail zeppelin. Set a few years after the grail war, Rail zeppelin is heavily focused on the exploits of a former master and his apprentice, specifically it is focused on a magical train where an auction on mystic eyes is held.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Story: 6
The main character is one of the surviving masters from Fate Zero, Waver Velvet, who is now a famous magician and one of the lords of the mages association. Most of the story is focused on read more
Jul 27, 2019
LightningComet (All reviews)
Preliminary
NO SPOILERS - check out my review of the prequel episode as well

TL;DR
First episode isn't quite as good as some of the others in my opinion, and the Engrish can be pretty weird, but it was my favorite show of its season, even if I ended up losing interest.

REASONS:
First, a brief plot synopsis: time has passed since the events of Fate/Zero, and Waver Velvet is back at it again as the Clock Tower's resident schmuc-- I mean detective!! Okay, in all seriousness, I like this guy. He's intelligent, but a bit too brash and serious for his own good. His companions, including the mysterious hooded read more
Sep 8, 2019
Sigsig (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is no crime without a motive.

In this anime, it doesn't matter who or how someone committed a crime. It is not your usual detective anime, unless you're very well-versed in the Type Moon franchise, it is often impossible to pinpoint the culprit.

However, that's where the fun is. Watching Waver solve mysteries and wondering why would the culprit do something like that is all part of the fun. Every episode feels short and I cannot wait for the next week's.

Sound and Art is a solid 10 for me. I enjoy watching the OP and ED every episode, and that says a lot.

Character read more
Dec 10, 2019
Traxdize (All reviews)
Story: 10
What a great story, none less expected from a series of the Fate Franchise. The story revolves around Waver Velvet. The first half of the season acts as a build-up until the eventual climax on the train. The ending scene really touched me.

Art: 8
TROYCA really did a great job with this series. The battle scenes are well polished. The character design is perfect, especially with Gray. The animation is smooth other than some stiff movements on certain parts.

Sound: 8
The seiyuu did a great job on this series. Waver's seiyuu did a really great job on his voice. I wouldn't say I dislike it, but read more
Sep 28, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
...are we done here?

No, seriously, are we done here? Have we, at last, reached the limit of how fucking ridiculous light novel names can get? Was it not enough to inquire after the morality of picking up girls in a dungeon? Were the rascals not satisfied by dreaming of bunny girl senpais? Didn’t we all suffer enough on the death march to the parallel world rhapsody? Must we now be tormented by this ungodly amalgamation of letters and symbols arranged loosely into some perverted fascimile of a descriptive title? What’s next? Are we going to start throwing in parentheses now? Percent signs? @ symbols, dare read more
Sep 29, 2019
Animeprophet951 (All reviews)
Let's start by pretending that this show isn't trying to be a mystery show, a task which itself is pretty difficult as "Lord El-Melloi II Sei no Jikenbo: Rail Zeppelin Grace Note" is 50% mystery and 50% fate sequel/spin-off. What's left of it?

Well, the art's great and polished like one would come to expect from the fate franchise at this point. The sound is eh...I don't think any insert theme stuck out, though the voice acting was definitely not bad (Waver's last line is so well voice-acted that it almost got me to bump the sound a little higher) and the intro was decently read more
Nov 17, 2019
KiddishBambino (All reviews)
Characters :10/10 Characters characters characters characters... yes yes yes yes!!!!!! It has been such a long and terrible time since I have come a across an anime with so many lovable characters. From Waver (Lord El-Melloi II) to Gray, to Karabo and everyone else. Every single character at least to me was absolutely amazing. Their motive their actions decision to choices all seemed so real and in character. I have seen hundreds of anime where characters do stupid shit or annoying or out of character garbage that makes no sense. I really wish I could write it down to explain it but I would much read more
Oct 18, 2019
Rich_n117 (All reviews)
Lord El-Melloi II Case Files, while not a Fate in name it quickly shot up my rankings to become my second favorite series of the franchise. Only beat by the longer and more actioned packed Fate/Apocrypha. Case Files is a lot of things, when I first heard about it I thought it would be a boring mystery spin off that really doesn’t add much to the franchise. And boy was I wrong, while the mysterious aren't some Sherlock type case and while it often involves Fate logic that flies over the viewers head they still keep your interest enough. And the real appeal of read more
Sep 28, 2019
jimfaindel (All reviews)
With each new entry, it becomes clearer to me that the Fate series has grown aware of its own shadow. Back when Apocrypha came out, I described it as a love letter to the entirety of the Fate canon. In contrast, I believe that Lord El Melloi II and his case notes are its shadow. And a shadow aware of its existence as such.

A war survivor following after the shadow of a king long gone, not one, but two different shadows of kings, dreaming with the shadow of a love they assume unattainable, yet worth fighting for. Lingering shadows from time past, and the looming read more
Sep 28, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
For Want of a Nail...

Lord El-Melloi II Sei no Jikenbo: Rail Zeppelin Grace Note is really a who's who of Fate characters especially if you'd seen OR played from the Fate franchise but for the most part it focuses on Waver Velvet or Lord El-Melloi II taking on supernatural cases while still being a teacher in the Clock Tower. It's not until halfway that the "Rail Zeppelin" comes into play and gives us an entire arc which focuses on Waver's main focus and goal come into play.

So for the first half of the anime, we see Lord El-Melloi (can we just call him Waver from read more
May 2, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Remember that one retarded kid from Fate/Zero? Waver Velvet? I do. He was probably the reason why I enjoyed Fate/Zero less. I don’t like his character. I don’t like it at all. So what is he up to now? Well...

He became a Lord of the clock tower. He turned more mature, grew, and now he looks even better than his old self.

This show is pretty much about the after story of Waver Velvet. “The Conan of The Fate Series, Lord El-Melloi II Sei no Jikenbo : Rail Zeppelin Grace Note.”

Honestly, this show wouldn’t be as fun as is if Gray wasn’t there. read more
Nov 24, 2019
Crazymallets (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first saw the announcement of this anime, I was absolutely ecstatic. Waver Velvet and Rider were my favorite pair in Fate Stay Zero, which also happens to be one of my highest rated anime to date. The possibilities of what one could do with his character as an adult seemed endless. Sadly, The Case Files of Lord El-Melloi II only serves as a continuation of the downfall of what was once revered as one of the greatest series of anime.

How do you take one of the best characters from arguable the best Fate series to read more
Oct 20, 2019
SennorPing (All reviews)
-Spoiler free review, because I couldn't spoil this even if I wanted to-
With a title that slips out of ones mouth as smoothly as corroded razor blades, Lord El-Melloi II Case Files: Rail Zeppelin Grace Note is a mystery thriller attempting to follow in the foot steps of it's much more successful and smarter step brother, Fate/Zero. Lord El-Melloi (I respect your time so I'm not going to use the full name) only fails to be smart, successful, and entertaining.

It is blindingly obvious that the people behind this project wanted to work on any of TROYCA's other upcoming shows, or do accounting work, or do read more
Oct 12, 2019
CrusaderElly (All reviews)
Awww! What a shame! I was so hyped by the idea of a miniseries that was cannon and followed Waver Velvet from Fate/Zero.

A nice little detective show with more background on the clock tower and characterization; no need for much fighting, just cool deductions and Waver being Waver and squeeaaa! ^_^

And y'know Waver was real cool. Glad to have his original voice actor back. It's amazing to hear him do the old-Waver (very fitting), but also still be able to do the young version every now and then where needed. I also love Waver as a character. He's bitter, filled with regret and guilt, hard read more
Oct 2, 2019
AmericanSomnium (All reviews)
El-Melloi as a series has a lot of things going for it considering it's a spinoff of a massive franchise. I mean that half sarcastically, everyone knows Fate at this point however that's only what draws people in. What keeps them are well developed characters and/or amazing visuals and battles. El-Melloi does both of these well, with a lot of visual and lighting effects that come off pretty well in most fights(a noticeable lack of CGI which I always love), and I genuinely want to see the development of the cast of characters. Waver returns from Fate/Zero in a strong upfront drive: to make his read more